X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Roscoe House by Urban Chic Reviews

27 Rodney Street, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
233 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hotel is very charming and well located, the staff's helpful and nice. I do recommend it

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The shower in 204 room did not work , room grubby and shabby, no breakfast, window broken, poor lighting in bathroom - all in all definitely not how it was described and not worth 117 pounds - very disappointed with the standard of this room and would not stay again or recommend to friends

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean bathroom! I'm all for clean and hygienic and this definitely ticked that box! 5 min walk to everything you need. Huge rooms!! Even had a grand piano in our twin room!!


89%

We really enjoyed our stay and when we saw our room, we were really impressed and positively surprised. Thank you. We'll be back :o)


91%

The water takes a while to heat up...this was explained by the man on reception when we arrived so no great surprise! The shower itself was a bit disappointing but this was a minor detail! Also we had to prop the window open with a bin...but small sacrifices for an otherwise lovely room ominous a great location for a decent price!

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A great stay and most valuable option for my group. We were elated to see such nice facilities at such a reasonable price. Thanks!


97%

Fantastic location, friendly staff, good value and comfortable rooms. Only positive comments from my stay.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Roscoe House was more like a hotel than a hostel, with lovely, private rooms in a quiet atmosphere. If you are looking for the student-oriented, activity-packed kind of hostel, this is not a place like that. Our room was enormous, for the very little we paid. We had a suite, with a bedroom, a study, a foyer, and a bathroom. Only thing was we didn't have a refrigerator or anything so we couldn't cook, but I hear some of the rooms have an all-inclusive kitchen,


100%

Incredible value for money. We book last minute and our room (that was the same price as a regular private room) was a fully equiped luxury studio with kitchen, table, tv, couch and 4 bed. It was quite a good surprise to find such a great deal. I don't know how it works exactly, maybe they just open reservations on Hostelwolrd when they have vacancies, but that was an incredible night.


86%

Shower was average, apart from that our room was great. Very spacious with a grand piano in it.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Sadly we had no opportunity to let you know about the hotel as we were unable to stay there! We were told on arrival that there had been a "plumbing" problem in our room and that we would be relocated to a sister hotel. This hotel was outwith the city center and being in the city center had been one of the reasons for our original choice . Despite the helpful staff at the other hotel it was not what we would have chosen and it's location meant our plans for the weekend were ruined.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

In 301 is one of the tree 'mini apartments' we had many things that were so useful, a sink, cooker, microwave, mugs, plates, cutlery, fridge/freezer, ensuite shower/toilet. The living space is HUGE. I live in a studio flat and 301 is much bigger and grander. Love the bed, we all slept well after a tiring day!! My 1 and a half year old thought it was great and was running about the place while we chased him! Staff were nice. Close to the big brown Cathedral,main shops, Liverpool One, Albert Dock.


97%

Very beautiful place to stay


37%

I was unable to stay the whole time, and Instead of only charging me 2 nights (as i broke the 48 hour policy) I was charged the whole amount of nights and told tough luck, and the manager was unreachable and always avoided my emails. Roscoe house will screw you over and say you must pay the full amount even if you don't stay there according to a 'company policy' which can't be found on hostelworld or on their company website. WORST PLACE EVER DO NOT RECOMMEND


83%

Really nice House. We had even a Piano in our bedroom and a bath tube. Near to all city attractions.


94%

We very much enjoyed our stay at Roscoe House. Room 201 was very good value: clean, very comfortable and beautifully furnished in accordance with the period when the house had been built. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely return there.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Roscoe House is absolutely a best accommodation for us! We have a lovely night in Liverpool. The staffs are nice and very helpful. They answer our questions nicely. The room was nice even though we got the room on the basement, but the facilities are good. The location is quite far from the city centre (you might need to take a bus to the centre) but there is a lot of cafes and restaurants nearby. recommended for all backpackers! :)


63%

Shower was awful, room smelt of damp and even though we booked a double room months in advance we felt we had booked last minute and been given the last room in the place. Why were we given a room with a second bed? Very disappointed and would not use again

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly and helpful staff, the room was amazing

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is basically like a hotel. The room was huge and clean, with it's own TV and ipod dock. We had a separate bathroom that was also huge. VERY great value for the money.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(159 results)


View all Liverpool Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback