X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rose Cottage Reviews

10 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
129 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

Double booked and kept our deposit.Avoid

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

NO HAIRDRYER IN ROOM I looked for in the bathroom, in the kitchen and in the lounge. Hairdryer was in no where. NO HOUSEKEEPING When I got back, I realised they didn't clean my room. Even public area as well, NO HEATING DURING AT NIGHT Yeah, they have central heater but that wasn't working at night. I was woken up couple of times cause the room was too freezing. NO HOT WATER IN EARLY MORNING I can tell u perfectly clear. DO NOT take a shower before 7am. There will b no hot water.

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The heating was on four hours you and your brother told me you were very happy with everything In the house there are two hair dryers locked in a press downstairs all you had to do was ask me for it I have to lock it away as they are been stolen regularly your room was cleaned perfectly when you arrived you stayed two days I did not enter your room the second day as you were staying two days you should have addressed any problems to my face and be straight with me Happy new year Angela

86%

very well situated little cottage. good value for the price.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Very very poor. Do not stay here as it is dirty unpleasant experience

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am shocked at your review firstly you booked for three people two of you arrived I had double rooms available I think this is why you. Complained as I supplied three beds as requested by you the house was cleaned from top to bottom you should. not have stayed if you found it so objectionable you told my employee that everything was grand she asked if you were happy with it you said you were what more. could I have done as you were not straight about your complaints when you booked

89%

It's a shared little house. Would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your positive comments it is much appreciated you will be welcome here anytime Kind regards

54%

There seemed to be a lot of confusion from the caretaker's part regarding the number of guests staying at the property, and we - and at least two other groups of people - came to a locked door and an answering machine on the phone which left us waiting between a half hour and an hour to be let in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Francis responded to your call the minute you rang her that's why there are two numbers that you can ring my employee Frances just lives a few doors away and came down the minute you rang there was no delay of one hour or a half an hour the other couple thatyou mentioned were never booked into the house they were staying in the centre of town and I drove them there nobody else called who were not booked in others came three hours later,than the time specified that they were due to come

91%

Very nice having the whole house to ourselves!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your positive comment glad you enjoyed yourselves



View all Kilkenny Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback