Hostelworld.com

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
Rotorua Central Backpackers Located at 1076 Pukuatua St, , Rotorua.
Rotorua Central Backpackers
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1076 Pukuatua St
92% 427
-38.1370544 176.2546598
Rotorua Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Friendly and helpful staff. Super clean and the bathrooms were never busy. Nice and quiet but also really central. :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.4

A cozy hostel with soft beds and a good location. Staff was very friendly and offered great advice on Rotorua sights. I would definately stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the nice comments. Now it is getting cooler, we have the central heating on too :) Cheers Neil

9th Apr 2016
10.0

Lovely place!! Super clean environment, nice rooms, and comfortable beds! Staff are helpful and friendly, and the house has an extremely cozy atmosphere. Definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Had a great bunch of people in lately :) Cheers Neil

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Mar 2016
10.0

A warm welcome from Neil at Rotorua Central Backpackers awaited me, along with a proper bed (no bunk beds here) and a great little hostel. It's a beautiful building, carefully converted. Great kitchen facilities and a cosy lounge, plus a 40 degree Celsius hot tub! The showers and hot tub take their heat from the local geothermic water. The location is good for access to the town, supermarket and nearby attractions. I had a restful sleep in a mixed dorm - I would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our central heating come from the ground too - yeah Rotorua! Ta for the nice comments Neil

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.7

fantastic location, lovely staff and a very spacious kitchen. comfy bed and good sized room. parking plentiful and great at it was just outside. bathroom rules didn't really work as no one picked up the shower mat after they had showered but this is the only thing i could criticise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You know backpackers do not follow rules :) Glad a soggy mat did not ruin your stay, and thank for the nice comments. Cheers Neil

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
9.7

Great place to rest and recharge! Happy to receive a great rate on the currency exchange too. 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to oblige :) Cheers Neil

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2016
10.0

Arrived on Easter day, had great dinner here with people from all over the world. The couple runs the hostel is friendly and informative, making my spontaneous trip in Rotorua amazing. Fast wifi and unlimited. It is a quiet and safe place, which just on the opposite site of police station. Easy to get to i-site and most of the shuttle bus picking-up location are close by. Stayed 3 nights in female dorm, bed is soft, had great sleeps.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Choice! Neil

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.4

We hadn't stayed at a hostel in a long time, so were a bit apprehensive when we visited Rotorua, as we were mainly looking for a good nights sleep and a nice place to relax. Over all we had a great time! The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The beds were awesome! As others have reviewed, the beds are probably the best nights sleep you'll get whilst backpacking! The shower rooms were clean and had nice hot showers. The hostel policy is no noise after 11pm which we also appreciated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hope you go on to stay at many more hostels. Cheers Neil

23rd Mar 2016
8.0

Good place close to bus stop and town centre. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfy beds and liked the chill out areas. Great WiFi!! Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Been told we have the best wifi in NZ 3:) Cheers for that Neil

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.