Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
Rotorua Central Backpackers Located at 1076 Pukuatua St, , Rotorua.
Rotorua Central Backpackers
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1076 Pukuatua St
91% 479
-38.1370544 176.2546598
Rotorua Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Aug 2016
9.7

Stayed here 3 nights. It reminds me of an old house in England. Beds were comfy. There was unlimited Wi-Fi. Kitchen was perfect. The lounge was cosy with a tv. Atmosphere was great. Very happy. Close to everything. Supermarket is just down the road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
7.1

A very nice hostel, comfortable beds and clean showers, plus parking if you've got a rental car. No bells and whistles here. The owners are very nice, but not very talkative about nearby attractions. They mostly refer you to the pamphlets on display. You do get a $5 off coupon at checkin for pig & whistle though, and that pub is delicious. There's also a $20 cash "key deposit" that we didn't know about. Wish that had been in the email.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.4

My first hostel experience was great! I stayed in the all girls dorm and everyone was so lovely. The receptionist gave me a guide of what to do around the area (most of the activities were free) and they provided discounts for the most of major attractions around the area. The bed was comfortable and clean and there was a very spacious kitchen. The bathrooms were tidy and separated by gender. The location is great, too. Very close to the lake, the spa, the bus station, and plenty of food places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing Hostel and the owners are really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Everything at this hostel was great - one of the best hostels I've been to. Great location, great facilities, great beds/room, great everything. The perfect spot in Rotorua!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel - Neil and Catherine are lovely and so helpful, and they try to make the hostel very homely. Really enjoyed my stay and was sad to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Stayed for one night. Everything was clean and nice. Atmosphere was very cozy. You had your own bed not a bunk which is super nice. And best of all. Free super fast WiFi. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
7.4

Heater almost everywhere inside the hostel was definitely a top tier. In general, really good choice, only negative point would be the morning receptionist. Not very helpful, nor kind. But the arvo and night ones compensate.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.9

Ups: Clean and comfortable beds. Good location, very close to buses, supermarket etc. Downs: Mixed reception from staff, mostly very nice and helpful, but some seemed to wish they were somewhere else. One stovetop wasn't working properly in the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear about a mixed reception from staff. Would be interest in an email from you for details (I hope it wasn't me). Yes the sign says the gas hob was not working. The gas fitter say that Delonghi spare parts are notorious for taking a long time to deliver. Cheers Neil

27th Jun 2016
10.0

Great staff, old house with great atmosphere, comfy beds, phenomenal unlimited wifi (seriously, no hiccups whatsoever)--I could go on and on! This is my favorite hostel thus far (out of like five? Not much, but way above the others in my book). Very quiet and cozy, which jived with my personality quite well. I would go back in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.