Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
Rotorua Central Backpackers Located at 1076 Pukuatua St, , Rotorua.
Rotorua Central Backpackers
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1076 Pukuatua St
91% 469
-38.1370544 176.2546598
Rotorua Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Everything at this hostel was great - one of the best hostels I've been to. Great location, great facilities, great beds/room, great everything. The perfect spot in Rotorua!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel - Neil and Catherine are lovely and so helpful, and they try to make the hostel very homely. Really enjoyed my stay and was sad to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Stayed for one night. Everything was clean and nice. Atmosphere was very cozy. You had your own bed not a bunk which is super nice. And best of all. Free super fast WiFi. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
7.4

Heater almost everywhere inside the hostel was definitely a top tier. In general, really good choice, only negative point would be the morning receptionist. Not very helpful, nor kind. But the arvo and night ones compensate.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.9

Ups: Clean and comfortable beds. Good location, very close to buses, supermarket etc. Downs: Mixed reception from staff, mostly very nice and helpful, but some seemed to wish they were somewhere else. One stovetop wasn't working properly in the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear about a mixed reception from staff. Would be interest in an email from you for details (I hope it wasn't me). Yes the sign says the gas hob was not working. The gas fitter say that Delonghi spare parts are notorious for taking a long time to deliver. Cheers Neil

27th Jun 2016
10.0

Great staff, old house with great atmosphere, comfy beds, phenomenal unlimited wifi (seriously, no hiccups whatsoever)--I could go on and on! This is my favorite hostel thus far (out of like five? Not much, but way above the others in my book). Very quiet and cozy, which jived with my personality quite well. I would go back in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

Great hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

Very clean and homey :) staff was super helpful and the beds were great. The location is great if you want to be within walking distance of the town but not have the stress of finding parking. Free wifi in all areas of the hostel, and free parking located around the outside of the building. Would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow - glad you enjoyed your stay! Cheers Neil

19th Jun 2016
7.7

Stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm. It was comfortable enough but it should have been a 5 bed dorm really. My bed - directly under the window so as soon as it got light I had daylight pouring into my face - was the only one in the room not to have any hooks or any plugs, so I had to wait until others finished using theirs and use their space to charge my stuff. No security lockers in the dorm or outside was a bit of a blow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry we did not meet your expectations. We though we were covered with 5 double plugs in that room, but will have to re-think that one. Our dorms are self-locking, so we normally have no problem with security, and theer is a large safe in the office which guest can use. Cheers Neil

  • matanorland8800
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Catherine and Neil are very nice and very helpful. The place has a good atmosphere, with a great kitchen and beds, at a great location for a great price. General theme: great. I would definitely go back if I pass through Rotorua again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love our beds too. Ta Neil

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.