Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Ran by the loveliest couple! I would recommend to everyone and would love a hostel like that everywhere I go 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2017
10.0

great location, friendly and helpful reception, the hot pool was and added bonus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel. Very clean. Nice and warm. good washing and kitchen facilities. Would definitely stay there again. I was really happy with it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel with a homely feel. Very centrally located (although rotorua is a small place). Very helpful check in process where we learnt about the essential things to do around town. Our private room was big and clean, and the bed was especially comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
8.0

Good location, quiet hostel. Beds were comfortable, regular beds and not bunks! No lockers in the 4-bed womens room which was a disappointment, though Rotorua seemed safe. The room key was a physical key. It's next to a hot spring though and it smells like hydrogen sulfide. Staff were relatively helpful. Accordingly there is a hot tub somewhere which my roommates recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.0

the hostel is clean. everything is good with a good price. not a crowded hostel. i had a peaceful time there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
4.0

There was a bed bug issue during my stay. I do not fault the hostel, as I know these thing happen, but I was not told about the issue and only the effected bed was cleaned, not the whole room. I felt the situation could have been handled better, and that I should have been told since I was staying another night in the same room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Jul 2017
9.7

Lovely clean hostel in a great location and with good facilities. The staff were really helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The internet was really fast and the kitchen was well set up. A few guests were noisy in the reading room but this is expected as it's a comfortable warm room to hang out in. Dated building but cozy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel! It felt like coming home, had a great atmosphere. Kitchen and bathrooms were clean. Staff was very helpful and always up for a good chat. Nice that the hostel had laundry facilities and a spa. Location was great, right in central Rotorua near the Polynesian spa. Would definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.6

The hostel location was ideal and Neil was very helpful in planning activities. However, Catherine was not very accommodating and occasionally rude. Overall the hostel is worth staying in, the rooms have comfortable beds, the bathrooms are clean and the kitchen was very functional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×