Hostelworld.com

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
Rotorua Central Backpackers Located at 1076 Pukuatua St, , Rotorua.
Rotorua Central Backpackers
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1076 Pukuatua St
92% 443
-38.1370544 176.2546598
Rotorua Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th May 2016
9.7

Probably my favourite hostels in NZ. The owners are very friendly and make you feel welcome. Love that there is no bunk beds and that you can have a bath. Every time I have stayed there has been such a nice bunch of people around making the atmosphere great. Its just few minutes walk from the bus stop and 5 minutes to supermarket. Its a quiet peaceful hostel and would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th May 2016
8.3

No bunk bed which is appreciated. A short walk from the iSite office - very central. If you don't drive in Rotorua, this is an excellent place to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emnaps
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

Great Wifi, nice rooms, great place to stay especially with friends. I was only there for a night but it didn't seem like a very friendly environment, there weren't any activities, also no lockers that I saw. If you're looking to meet people and make friends I would recommend somewhere else, but to just relax by yourself this was a great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow - not a friendly environment? We have a two separate lounges, a great kitchen & a 41 degree hot pool. Maybe it was the just the people in on the night you were here. We are finding that having fast internet that people are streaming TV & movies more that they used to. Cheers Neil

12th May 2016
7.7

Saw a roach crawl under my door. Every private room available was next to a bathroom or a stairwell. Otherwise, not a bad place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Whilst seeing a roach might have freaked you out enough to comment, I'm sorry but these things, like spiders will come inside from time-to-time. It has nothing to do with cleanliness, they are part of nature.. Neil

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2016
9.7

Great value for money, clean, friendly staff, free car park, I'd definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd May 2016
8.0

Booked the double room, very comfortable bed. Good WiFi, codes are given on arrival can always ask for more if you need to. Good showers, plenty dotted around the hostel so hardly ever waiting. Location is great, shops and the hot pools are pretty much within 10 minutes walking distance. A fire alarm did go off in the early morning hours, while no fire it's good to know it works!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
10.0

Central backpackers was a perfect stay in Rotorua! The staff was friendly and everything was clean. Everyone who stayed at the hostel was also very nice and I was able to meet people to do activities with, as I was traveling by myself. The location was also convenient and close to everything you'd need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Friendly and helpful staff. Super clean and the bathrooms were never busy. Nice and quiet but also really central. :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.4

A cozy hostel with soft beds and a good location. Staff was very friendly and offered great advice on Rotorua sights. I would definately stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the nice comments. Now it is getting cooler, we have the central heating on too :) Cheers Neil

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.