Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 640 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 640 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th May 2017
10.0

The hostel was just perfect and the staff amazing! Everybody was really helpful! We had some problems before checking in and all the staff understood and helped us lots! 100% recommend! Location is perfect, services are great, the wifi is the best wifi I've ever experienced in a hostel in New Zealand and the rooms don't have bunk beds and this makes the sleep soo comfortable! Loved the experience !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th May 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel, the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Perfect location, very clean, nice kitchen and cozy atmosphere. People at the reception helped with tours too. I would add lockers and maybe free tea, coffee and sugar as a suggestion.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
10.0

Excellent WiFi and good overall location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

I am normally a very fussy person but this place is just awesome and I can't think of anything to complain!! The bed is sooooo comfortable and the hostel is so clean and tidy. everything in the hostel is organized very thoughtful!!and it feels like a home instead of a hostel.. Will definitely come back next time. Best value for money!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.6

Stayed for the long weekend at Easter in a double room. Good parking facility, useful tour booking at reception. Room clean. Showers and bathroom could do with being renovated/deep cleaned. Kitchen good facility and although cleaned daily was quite dirty with sticky units and surfaces (sprite bottle on top of the units had clearly been there a long time and had small insects/flies attached to it!) but apart from that a very nice, quiet hostel with its own hot pool. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice environment. Our host Catherine and Niel was very thoughtful to give us female roomates despite our booking in mixed dormitories. They provided good info regarding weather and tourist attraction. Will definitely promote to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Apr 2017
9.4

Large dorm rooms with comfy beds. The place was quiet and clean and in walking distance of so many great spots. I enjoyed not having bunks and appreciated the number of bathrooms. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.1

Unless I was a bit blind, I couldn't see any security lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

Fab little hostel - no bunk beds, kitchen was super clean and had everything needed, location is a couple minutes walk from the isite. Perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Great place to stay, would highly recommend. The hot mineral pool, on-site laundry (with outside drying area) & right in downtown make this hostel worth the $. Beds are really comfy too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.