Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Jul 2017
4.0

There was a bed bug issue during my stay. I do not fault the hostel, as I know these thing happen, but I was not told about the issue and only the effected bed was cleaned, not the whole room. I felt the situation could have been handled better, and that I should have been told since I was staying another night in the same room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Jul 2017
9.7

Lovely clean hostel in a great location and with good facilities. The staff were really helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The internet was really fast and the kitchen was well set up. A few guests were noisy in the reading room but this is expected as it's a comfortable warm room to hang out in. Dated building but cozy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel! It felt like coming home, had a great atmosphere. Kitchen and bathrooms were clean. Staff was very helpful and always up for a good chat. Nice that the hostel had laundry facilities and a spa. Location was great, right in central Rotorua near the Polynesian spa. Would definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.6

The hostel location was ideal and Neil was very helpful in planning activities. However, Catherine was not very accommodating and occasionally rude. Overall the hostel is worth staying in, the rooms have comfortable beds, the bathrooms are clean and the kitchen was very functional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever been!!!! WiFi is free, unlimited and fast. Heating is amazing in winter. And the owners, Arthur and the people working there are REALLY kind. I strongly recommend this hostel!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
8.6

A very cozy hostel in an excellent location. There is a nice hot tub in the back yard. The common rooms are a bit out of the way, so sometimes it can feel a little bit quiet. Overall positive experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.0

The beds were amazingly soft and comfortable! When checking in we were givin a map and along with some suggestions on what to do around town, plus they offered discounted tickets for attractions and food which is always great as a budget traveller! Really good location, being within walking distance from cafes, shops, restaurants and other attractions!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
9.7

My stay was quick, but overall great time. Neil was very helpful in answering all my questions. Quick pros off the top of my head: free parking, warm pool in the back, comfortable beds, location. Not much of an "atmosphere," but if you're looking for a good, inexpensive place to stay at - perfection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
10.0

This place was the best hoestel I've ever stayed at! The staff was really very friendly and immediately started recommending local sights to see. The beds are more comfortable than any other hostel there is. There is complimentary parking in the back and plenty of free parking on the street (something the other nearby hostels don't seem to have). The kitchen is cleaned daily and is always stocked with soap. The hot tub/spa in the back is the best part, great place to meet people! 10/10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
9.7

Good hostel, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. Lots of tour bookings on offer and centrally located in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.