Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.7

Good points - a real cosy and comfortable hostel, small but very friendly and welcoming unlike large chains. The bathrooms are clean, there are two lounge areas and there is a hot tub outside. It was easy to meet people, the owner is very helpful in pointing out where to go and how to get to places. Not so good - perhaps the kitchen could be cleaner and another fridge would certainly help. The kitchen is not very big and when the hostel is fully booked, it gets very busy and messy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location with very helpful staff to advise on trips etc... large kitchen, hot showers, comfy bed. Would recommend and stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location...5 mins from the bus stop in central Rotorua. Great staff and loads of deals if you book tours with the hostel. Nice atmosphere in and outdoor dining. Beds rather than bunks are a nice change. Felt safe and secure would have liked lockers but doors lock instantly and everyone seems friendly plus when the doors open someone is always on reception

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
10.0

A very welcoming and helpful place. A good place to book activities. Check-in is early compared to most places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel with friendly staff. Seating in the hot tub would be good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.9

Very decent and well appointed hostel right in the center of town, walkable to everything that is in central Rotorua, including large supermarkets and places where many tours to area attractions start. Clean and comfortable, it was very quiet at night when I was there. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
10.0

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was here.The owners, Neil and Catherine,not only gave great recommendations, but helped us out at every opportunity.The beds were THE MOST COMFORTABLE hostel beds we have experienced.Everything was always clean, there were plenty of bathrooms, showers, and even bath tubs! Excellent kitchen area, quiet reading room, and lounge area with lots and lots of movies to watch after our adventure-packed days. The hostel's spa was perfect after hiking trips

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
9.1

Neil was really helpful in figuring out what to do around Rotorua. Although there weren't any security locks in the dorms I didn't feel that my things were in danger of being stolen. People here are more relaxed and very friendly (both the staff and those staying here). Wifi is very good. I'd stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Best hostel I've ever stayed in, had a very cosy and homey atmosphere and environment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • julesjames4888
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location, pretty standard hostel. Clean and tidy bug no real atmosphere, has a spa pool which is nice, laundry services and cheaper tickets to local attractions. The beds are uber comfy! Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.