Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 604 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 604 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • JacobWattenbach
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

Nice hostel in a great location. Great free wifi!! Very good value for what you get. Has a bit of a hotel feel than a hostel, with no bunks. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel! Comfy beds, clean, friendly and helpful owners, located 3 mins from the I site.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Great family run hostel in centre of town. Owners were lovely and extremely helpful. Ideal for couples/slightly older travellers, who want a quiet and comfortable place to stay. Facilities were great and place was very clean. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.6

Really nice hostel, great lounge for chilling out, good sized kitchen, right in the middle of town so easy to get everywhere. However, the WiFi was a bit temperamental while I was there, and atmosphere was a little too chilled for my liking, although that was probably due to the people that were staying there i guess, rather than the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
9.1

The Rotorua Central Backpackers is a very nice hostel. The visitors are welcomed at the reception with a map and useful information on close-by shops/places to see and given a quick tour over the hostel. The warm water pool is a great place to relax in after a long day of walking or visiting places around. The beds are comfortable. Wifi is free. Come here if you stay in Rotorua.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
7.7

Good points - a real cosy and comfortable hostel, small but very friendly and welcoming unlike large chains. The bathrooms are clean, there are two lounge areas and there is a hot tub outside. It was easy to meet people, the owner is very helpful in pointing out where to go and how to get to places. Not so good - perhaps the kitchen could be cleaner and another fridge would certainly help. The kitchen is not very big and when the hostel is fully booked, it gets very busy and messy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
8.3

The most comfortable bed I have slept on in 7 months of travelling. Staff was nice and friendly and always said hello. Kitchen is clean and hostel not far from most places

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.6

We ended up showing up later than our check in time but the staff was still super nice about it. There was a smell and it took us a while to realize that it wasn't the hostel it was the hot springs that were in walking distance. Everything does close early but even its still pretty to walk around the bionic gardens at night, I would stay away from the hot springs at night though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.1

We had a most enjoyable stay in this hostel. It was made particularly memorable by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Wifi worked extremely well and kitchen was always clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location with very helpful staff to advise on trips etc... large kitchen, hot showers, comfy bed. Would recommend and stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.