Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
9.4

It is conveniently located right next to the Rotorua I-site center, perfect for intercity users! My impression of the employees and guests were very casual and welcoming. Since wifi only works in the main den seating space, most people hang out there giving everyone and opportunity to talk. The kitchen facilities were adequate and clean and the bathrooms were clean although a little dark in some corners and drafty. I also highly recommend the night market on Thursday nights!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paulaspassport
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
8.0

Bathrooms were super nice but are co-ed for the dorms. Kitchen was large and clean clean. Free breakfast but no non-dairy milk option for the cereal. WIFI worked great. Each room had a heater. Bar is loud at night and walls are thin you can hear people in the hallway. I would def stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
8.9

Great hostel, very comfortable, fast wifi and great staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.7

Great hostel. No complaints. One of the few tonhave a locker under the bed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.4

I couldn't lock the room from the outside. The atmosphere was not for me - lots of heavy drinking, loud music and general mayhem. The staff were lovely, but the guests let the place down! The bathroom facilities were acceptable although the shower took ages to get warm then stayed at a set temperature (a bit annoying and a waste of water). The kitchen was tiny, dirty and poorly equipped for the size hostel. I would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2017
6.9

Staff where lovely, very helpful. However the lounge and kitchen area was tiny! There was a skylight in our room which woke us up every morning the bathrooms were in need of cleaning and the showers didn't really work, plus side you get free pasta and rice :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • k-b143376
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.3

Really good location with good staff and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen was a bit small with nowhere to eat and the rooms a little cramped also. Parking is also only free between 5pm-9am However was still a good place and i'd stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

I had an amazing, free pasta and rice and on Wednesdays we got free drinks and pizza?! You can also get lots of discounts on activities (definitely do white water rafting if you can). Staff were lovely and it was so close to my bus stop and the centre of town so all good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×