Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.6

The room had NO WINDOW. This was not mentioned anywhere before the booking. It was also tiny with 6 people crammed in. The AC was very loud and the air came in from the hall also without a window... The room was smelly and warm, you couldn't even sit up in the upper bunk bed because the ceiling was so low. There were skylights, couldn't be opened but rain came down loud on them. I spend a very uncomfortable night and was dissapointed, because I thought I had booked a good accomodation.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.7

The hostel is right next to the i-Site and was very central, you could easily walk to a lot of shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel with great atmosphere but saying it has 'parking' is misleading, you can only park outside the hostel till 9am and then you have to move and park a few streets away. The kitchen is also very small and the bed is by far the least comfortable I've slept in in New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Marinerk
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

The nicest staff I've ever come across in my travels !! So so friendly you guys were awesome :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Dec 2016
5.4

Very noisy.. Laundry next to bedroom. drunk backpackers coming in at night.. :-( crowded kitchen with no space to sit and hardly any cups and plates. wifi not working. Would rather pay more for a better place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.1

Great location. Just felt a bit unorganized and also the kitchen is super small and messy. Impossible to cook if you're more then 4 people in the kitchen. Nothing provided like salt/pepper/oil for cooking. The rooms upstairs were a bit better, toilet and showers good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed this hostel--small, so easy to meet people and hang out in the common areas. Nice location right in downtown Rotorua. Only stayed there one night, but would definitely go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.3

Good hospitality and staff were friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
7.1

My stay was fine here, I definitely wouldn't brag on the place but it was a cheap place to sleep. It's apparently near a bar or something because there was a band/music playing loudly until at least midnight. Wifi is only available in the lobby. The beds are metal bunks that don't seem the strongest and the mattresses aren't comfortable. If you don't mind those things then it's a pretty good hostel. :) The staff is friendly and they offer free pasta.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2016
9.4

Huge shout-out to the staff at Rotorua Downtown Backpackers! When my sister and I arrived in Rotorua without our backpacks, thanks to the ravges of checking bags at LAX, they went into mama-bear mode to make sure our bags made it back to us. They were so, so friendly, and helpful, and definitely the highlight of a great time in Rotoru!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.