Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 64 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 64 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

It might not be the most modern hostel but the hospitality is amazing. Kerry is so nice and he is always there to help. The atmosphere in general was really friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.3

Pros: staff super friendly and helpful. Location was close to Supermarket and shops, including the iSite, easy walk from bus stop and easy to walk to places to book day trips (like Hobbiton!) Cons: no atmosphere as most people seemed to be long term guests and refused to speak to other people. No security lockers. Dirty plates left in the room from previous guests, walls were covered in bugs and spiderwebs. Not likely I would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Lovely central Hostel, On street parking but free in most areas Excellect WIFI Comfy bed Great kitchen/facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel with mostly people living there. The receptionist is very friendly and happy to help. Rooms are slightly on the smaller side.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
8.9

Nice hostel with friendly staff that was willing to help you. In the city center and close to where you need to go. I enjoyed my stay, not the newest, most modern place, but it did the trick. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend for other travelers seeking an affordable option in Rotorua.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
9.1

The room was really awesome just like the staff. I just stayed one night but I would come back easily.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Highly recommended!! I was very impressed with planet backpackers, the location was good and Kerry the manager is the sweetest! I had to arrive very late and she stayed up waiting for me past 11pm! She was very accommodating: offered great advice on places to visit and buses there! The kitchen and bedrooms were very clean too. There were no lockers in the rooms but I still felt safe leaving my laptop. The showers were a bit busy, but free wifi and great people can't be beat! (Book over phone)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Great location. Fair price. Great staff. Very safe for female travellers. We would recommend to all our friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
8.0

Staff is amazing and the WiFi too. There are many students staying and not many backpackers when I was there. But it was perfect for one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.4

Everything is good. A quiet room and a nice owner who drop me free to the red wood forest. Kitchen is busy during night time but I enjoy sharing all the kitchen facilities with the long term redidents. Though we don't talk much, they are friendly and helpful by the way. One thing I'm not feeling comfortable with is the bed. It is too soft for me as I get used to hard mattress.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.