Hostelworld.com

Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 43 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 43 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
Rotorua Planet Backpackers Located at 1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099, Rotorua.
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
New Zealand
Rotorua Auckland 3010 1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099
74% 43
-38.1362612 176.2535762
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Mar 2016
8.0

Staff were fabulous. They went out of their way to be accommodating, informative and interested.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2016
6.6

I have a good talk about maori culture with the maori cleaning lady. And the white kiwi in reception is very helpful too. Excellent locations

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2016
8.6

Nice hostel. Clean room and clean facilities. Big kitchen and friendly staff. I

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2016
8.6

Not a party hostel. If you're looking for a nice, quiet, and calm place to sleep this is it. Staff cleans bathroom/shower regularly. Ladies room was nice and clean. The men's not so much (not staff's fault, btw). Kerry, the manager, is a very nice and enthusiastic guy, who's happy to give you some hints on what to do around Rotorua.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2016
8.3

Nice quiet hostel in the centre of town. Perfect for couples or people who want to avoid the Kiwi Experience groups (book Base if you want a party hostel). Good facilities and staff were great although be warned the reception is only open for short periods of time. Deserves a higher rating than it has got. Seems to be a lot of long termers in there mind and it didn't seem too social a place when we stayed. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2016
7.1

The staff were very friendly and helpful with ideas on things to do and places to go. I stayed during the summer months and found the room to be very warm, even with a window open and they had no extra fans. A fan in the room would have been quite a help. Other wise, it was a good place to stay. Probably one of the best places I've stayed in regards to wi-fi!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2016
8.9

Good service. person in charge very friendly and helpfull. I just stayed for a night but the facilities were really good, clean and quiet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jan 2016
5.4

My boyfriend and I booked 3nights in a double room and 1 friend in a dorm. We changed our plans and we would like to cancel 2nights on arrival but they didn't accept to refund us so we have to stay there otherwise we will loose our money for the 2nights. The place was very old and not very clean, mostly Indians workers lives there. Our double room was actually a twin bed room not confortable at all, we slept very badly in, full of useless furnitures as 2desks, and no aircon or fan working!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.