Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Route 66 Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 7.1
Route 66 Hostel Located at 1012 Central Ave SW Suite, , Albuquerque.
Route 66 Hostel
USA
Albuquerque New Mexico 87102 1012 Central Ave SW Suite
77% 180
35.0866371 -106.6588323
Route 66 Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Oct 2016
9.1

Everyone was really nice and helpful. The location was great and it was safe. It could have been a lot cleaner. There was a dead cockroach under my bunk the entire stay, live cockroaches in the kitchen, the bathroom and shower were never cleaned...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
4.3

The beds were broken and very old. Also the have cock roaches! My room was very dirty and the late night reception person was very rude!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
2.9

Hostel 66 is really disgusting. The entire place has a musty smell and it looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years. Another traveler said that she bought cleaning products to use in one of the bathrooms because it was gross and had a lot of mold. The kitchen is grimy and the bedrooms are very small and dirty. The bunk beds are not sturdy or safe and the mattresses were also incredibly old and uncomfortable. The individuals who work there were nice, but not very helpful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
8.3

I checked in after hours so some instructions were provided. The rooms were clean, the toilet was clean, but the shower needed some love. The facilities are a bit old, but the location is great. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you are coming after hours, bring a flashlight or have your phone torch ready :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
4.9

- Only 1/3 of the staff I spoke to were close to 'friendly', 'acknowledging', or polite. - When I arrived I was greeted by a homeless man peeking through the wide open dorm Windows. (Not their fault, technically, but it's not a good thing) - The small kitchen needs a bucket full of elbow grease and 5 gallons of bleach before I'd consider it fit for human consumption - Imagine a similar comment as above but for the bathrooms. - The beds were loud and uncomfortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.0

I'm glad I stayed, but glad my stay was short. Staff was excellent, house rather funky. The city is superb.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • helenoleynik9759
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.9

Nice good-old hostel. I've stayed there a lot and most likely will stay again. a safe cheap place to spend a night. the building is old, so kitchen and bathrooms COULD BE cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Jul 2016
6.0

Not the worst hostel but could deifnitely be better. It's in a very old house so everything's a bit run down. Beds in dorms are super uncomfortable, no air conditioning. However there is a decent breakfast included, it's a good location and the guys on the staff are great! Plus it's the only hostel in Albuquerque.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

The staff - particularly Angel - looked after me when i really needed it most. She was patient and kind and lovely. The dorm room was empty when i arrived, cool, clean and comfortable. They provide lots of free resources like cereal and fruit and are the nicest staff i've met in a long time. My stay here was great and it's a really close walk to downtown and oldtown. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.9

As with most places the experience is mostly about the staff. Route 66 hostel has one of the nicest staff members I've ever met!! He was visiting with guest when I arrived, he checked me in and gave me the tour. The hostel has a lovely front porch where guest and staff could visit. He gave me dining advice and richly increased the pleasure of my stay! I don't remember his name but the host/staff was from PA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.