Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rowan Tree Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1702 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1702 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Really nice, clean hostel. We went for a private ensuite, was as good a hotel - balcony overlooking the river, lots of space and even left a very kind note from the manager with some chocolates, a bottle of water and a bag of Tayto! Lots of families there so a little bit noisy in the morning, but nothing that should put you off. Didn't manage to get down to the cafe but looked nice. Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
7.7

No lockers in the rooms was disappointing. Other than that, great place to stay. Good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
10.0

Awesome friendly staff. We would definitely come again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
7.7

Glad that I could actually say a few things here. Great place Rowan Tree. I stayed here many times over the last 7 -10 years. Improvements with building, interior, rooms and access are fantastic! What I was a bit disappointed with were the costs. The hostel has gone up, and for the cost I think the overnighter should get some amenities like towels, key with locker for valuables - you used to have, a possible lift for ascending the stairs. More user friendly for older travelers. First floor

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
8.9

Another good stay at Rowan Tree. Good location, good price, has everything you need for a nights sleep. Only fault was the sockets beside our bunk bed was a bit dodgey. Only one socket worked, and that was only after a bit of fiddling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
7.7

The good: The hostel is in a great location, everything was clean and the staff were all very nice. The bad: the beds are metal & child sized so there is no room to move or sit on the bottom bunk and you will hit your head (we all did at some stage & one of my friends actually had to get stitches after bumping her head in the night). Also the en suite bathrooms are unusable while your room mates are asleep as the extraction fan goes on automatically and is loud enough to wake the dead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

One of the best hostel! Lovely town, great hostel and excellent staff. Located beside the river and 2 minutes walk to the town. Room is clean everything is perfect, no complaint!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Our stay at Rowan Tree was fantastic. My partner and I got a private room. On arrival the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They answered questions about things we wanted to do in the surrounding area, offered suggestions, and any help we may need. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The location was great and central to the historic downtown on the lovely river Fergus. We checked out before our train was scheduled and they stored our bags so we could explore more. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jul 2017
9.7

Super nice hostel - friendly and helpful staff. comfy atmospere in the hostel kitchen and living room, it's a good place to make new friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jul 2017
9.7

It is a very nice hostel, the room (dorm) is okay (only the beds were not that comfortable), there is a huge kitchen, dining area and living room with TV. The hostel is right in the center which is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.