X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rowan Tree Hostel Reviews

Harmony Row, Co. Clare, Ennis, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
981 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This Hostel is great ! It's a nice place to stay not far from the Cliff of Moher and of the dolmen in Burren ! Corinne from France

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the more clean hostels. Good atmosphere. Nice staff.


100%

Fantastic hostel in the great town of Ennis. Wish I would have had a longer stay!


97%

Best hostel we have stayed at in IRELAND for our trip so far. Very clean. Quiet. Good breakfast. We were very impressed.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million, we are delighted that you consider us the best hostel you have stayed at in Ireland, it is guests like you that have voted us to be the best hostel in Ireland in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014 nominee for Best Hostel in the World. We hope you have a chance to come and visit again soon. Regards from all the team at Rowan Tree Hostel

94%

An excellent facility, very well located, with a superb restaurant right on the premises.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an opportunity to visit our very popular cafe bar. We hope you have an opportunity to come back again soon. Regards from all the team at Rowan Tree Hostel

77%

Hostel was clean. They did not stock earplugs however and myself and my partner were kept up by people snoring until 5 in the morning. After our second complaint the night porter moved us to another room. The "continental" breakfast was a bit dissapointing.


86%

Nothing but positive things to say about our stay. I would recommend you to anyone visiting that part of Ireland.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for choosing us and for your recommendation, we hope you have a chance to come back again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

Reception was extremely warm and informative. Location on the river was convenient for walking and parking. Best hostel we ever stayed in!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review we have a great crew working here with us and we're delighted that you consider us the Best hostel that you have ever stayed in. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

The staff was very helpful when I asked about places to play music. (I had brought my fiddle from home.) They gave me a map and showed me how to find several places. They are within walking distance from Brogans pub and a great little music store. I did get to play in an Irish pub witch was amazing. The hostel is actually more like a hotel with a wonderful kitchen, nice common area, and great rooms. I enjoyed my stay very much!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are delighted that you had a great experience staying with us in Ennis "Ireland's friendliest Town" and the home of traditional Irish music.Brogan's is a popular favourite with lot's of visitors and local musicians and we have an up to date session list in the hostel for all our guests. Hopefully you will have a chance to come back and visit again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

71%

Our bed has squeaked the whole night allways if you move your self. Even if it is a little bit. and the mattress was very hard. And there is no possibility to park the car. only ~1 km away. Despite of this things i really enjoyed the stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for letting us know the bed frame has been tightened and the squeak is fixed. The mattress is high density memory foam and is designed to be firm and most guests are very happy with them. There is a car park either side of the hostel and is free of charge from 5pm until 9.30am and is €1.30 for 2 hrs at other times the free car park is 7 mins walk. We are very happy that you still enjoyed your stay despite the squeaky bed. Regards from all the team @Rowan Tree Hostel

89%

I would definitely stay again. If Rowan Tree is representative of hostels throughout Ireland I would look for more opportunities to use them in other urban centres. It was great having a high quality restaurant attached to the facility.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a million for your very nice review, we are very happy that you had a great stay and had the opportunity to dine in our very popular Cafe Bar where we serve a wide selection of locally sourced food. Regards from all the team at Rowan Tree hostel

100%

We only stayed here one night but it's a great place to stay. Clean and friendly and right in the centre of town. The best place we stayed in on our cycle tour. The bikes were left indoors in a secure place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are very happy that you consider us the Best place that you stayed on your cycling tour. Hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

97%

Only stayed one night on the way to Shannon airport. Great location next to City Centre -- lots of places to explore. Super quiet provate room and super nice set up for guests.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are the closest hostel to Shannon airport with great bus connections, we are also glad that you had a chance to explore Ennis " Ireland's Friendliest Town " and the home of traditional Irish music where there are loads of nightly music sessions. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

Loved my stay here

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I only stayed here for 1 night, I wish I had stayed for more. The staff is friendly and helpful and the bathrooms were clean. There was a computer available for internet access.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were happy with our crew and the facilities that we provide. hope fully you will be able to stay for longer the next time. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

The location is outstanding, right along the river across from the Ennis Abbey and along the historical walks that go through the old (read: medieval) town center. The staff is wonderful, I had to leave early on a bus for the airport, and they set breakfast out early for me. They also have an internet phone and allow you to call international landlines free (10 mins). Had dinner at the cafe attached, and the food was gourmet and delicious. Highly recommend this hostel if you're going to Ennis.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your excellent review, we are very lucky to be in a great location right in the centre of Ennis and overlooking the river Fergus ! Our Rowan Tree Cafe Bar is very popular with our guests and locals alike so we have a great mix of people enjoying our locally sourced food. We hope you have a chance to come back and visit again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan tree Hostel

94%

Really quiet amazing hostel in the middle of Ennis. The staff was helpful. They also had breakfast which definitely helps. Clean rooms. Pretty much a good hostel, definitely what anyone would want.


86%

This was my second visit to Rowan Tree Hostel and I enjoyed it much more the second time around. the location is great, breakfast is good and the price is great. Much quieter and calmer when not visiting on a weekend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, imagine what it will be like on your third visit !! We are very fortunate to have separated the private rooms and the dorm rooms on different floors so it helps for light sleepers. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree cafe Bar

97%

Thanks for a nice stay will definately be back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Ennis. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

Very nice place, especially liked that they had a box in the kitchen for leftover food, reduces waste and sometimes there was enough to throw together a quick meal!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review , our left over food box can be very useful and sometimes there are some nice treats in there :)) Regards from all the team @ Rowan tree Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Ennis Hostels

Please give us your feedback