Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rowan Tree Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
Rowan Tree Hostel Located at Harmony Row, Co. Clare, Ennis.
Rowan Tree Hostel
Ireland
Ennis Clare Harmony Row, Co. Clare
92% 1445
52.8462104 -8.9822888
Rowan Tree Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jul 2016
10.0

The best hostel by far in all of Ireland maybe the World. All the staff were great extremely helpful. Katherine was very nice and gave me a lot of tips for my stay. I could live in Rowan Tree Hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.0

I really liked this place, and thought the location was fantastic. Very easy access to Shannon airport from Ennis. I thought the kitchen could be better maintained, but overall, was still very happy with this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

We stayed in a private room, which had a lovely view of the river. The room was spacious and so was the ensuite bathroom. The welcoming basket in the room was a nice touch! Pubs and grocery stores are close by. We had dinner at the cafe next door and the food was delicious! Highly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Rowan Tree exceeded my expectations. It is quite possibly the cleanest facility on the planet. The cleaning staff swept, mopped, vacuumed, cleaned bathrooms and organized the dishes and magazines every day!!! That is tidy! The staff was courteous, knowledgeable and Irish friendly. I was able to talk story with John who was hard working and lively and supportive. And Sara was worldly yet she had local knowledge which was very appreciated since this was my first stay in Ireland. Awesome!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow !! Thanks a million for your fantastic review which I am sure everyone here will be delighted with. We are very fortunate to wrk with a fantastic bunch of people and we are delighted to have helped you adjust to your new surroundings. We hope you have a chance to come back and stay with us again soon. Kind Regards from all the team @rowantreehostel #rowan3

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.0

Seemed clean and friendly. Kitchen was large and well equipped. Free lockers were outside the room in a shared area. There was a dodgy person dressed like Eminen (before he was big and living on the street) staying in the room - not completely the hostels fault.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your review and we are delighted that you found our hostel clean and friendly. We have lots of lockers on the corridors as we don't want people disturbed by rustling bags etc when guests are leaving for early flights. I don't really understand re the Eminem comment but we are a multi award winning "tourist hostel" and our recption is open 24 hours we do not cater for people with other requirements. Kind Regards from all the team @rowantreehostel #rowan3

20th Jun 2016
9.7

The Rowan was a nice place to stay. Great location to the pubs in town. Our room was clean and the beds were slightly firm, but still comfortable. We got upgraded to a private room for free and they even left a brownie from their cafe and a nice note in our room. Did not use kitchen or other facilities but it looked fully equipped. We were there on a quiet Monday night so didn't have a chance to meet other travelers. I'm sure it livens up on the weekends. Wifi was good and work in rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel, wifi was good. Location was good in terms of Ennis and cliffs of Moher but otherwise not a whole lot to do if you don't have a rental car.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.6

Only stayed here one night. Didn't feel like there was much atmosphere. Breakfast was okay. Located pretty centrally to the main streets in Ennis. Knox pub was great to watch England v Russia game, eat, and have a pint. Cruises pub/restaurant was horrible. Walked out 10 minutes after walking in because staff were rude and then ignored me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
10.0

This was a great experience...John at the counter is awesome!!! He was very helpful in recommending local sites that fit perfectly with what I was looking for...great location for other activities...quaint town...highly recommended...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

Cannot fault this place. 8 of us stayed in one dorm. The beds were clean and very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was very good with unlimited coffee and tea. Ennis town was manic but the hostel, although in the town centre, was nice and quiet. Place was full of interesting people from French school kids to English grannies and grandads. My 5th or 6th visit and i wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.