X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Rowan Tree Hostel Reviews

Harmony Row, Co. Clare, Ennis, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1003 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel, lovely staff, spacy room and very clean .Very good location, close to the city center.. I can only recommend this hostel

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean and modern hostel, nice place to stay.


97%

If you want to find good hostel in Ennis, I would highly recommend you this one. Very nice and quiet hostel. I spent only one night here, so it is hard to write review, but I would like to mention that I really like the location of Rowan Tree Hostel. It is located not so far from city center (5 minutes), but at the same time it is separated from the noisy pubs by pretty bridge -- so it's a really quiet inside and you definitely will have a good sleep


100%

Great location. Great facilities. No complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we have a super location in the centre of Ennis 3 mins walk from all the traditional music in the pubs that Ennis is famous for. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

94%

Very comfortable beds and the rooms were spacious.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review, we hope you have an opportunity to come back again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

86%

This Hostel is great ! It's a nice place to stay not far from the Cliff of Moher and of the dolmen in Burren ! Corinne from France

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review, We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we have many guests who use Ennis as a base to visit the different area's of County Clare which are all very accessible from Ennis. Regards from all the team @ Rowan tree Hostel

97%

One of the more clean hostels. Good atmosphere. Nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

80%

A bus time table (844?) on a board was old, so I could not catch a bus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for taking the time to review us. Bus Eireann have recently changed the timetables and the new one is 843 which we have now updated on our information board. there is a bus almost every hour and also buses from Dublin to Ennis with Dublin Coach for only €15 up to 25 times a day. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

Fantastic hostel in the great town of Ennis. Wish I would have had a longer stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Ennis "Ireland's Friendliest Town" and the home of traditional music. Maybe next time you will be able to stay longer. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

97%

Best hostel we have stayed at in IRELAND for our trip so far. Very clean. Quiet. Good breakfast. We were very impressed.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million, we are delighted that you consider us the best hostel you have stayed at in Ireland, it is guests like you that have voted us to be the best hostel in Ireland in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014 nominee for Best Hostel in the World. We hope you have a chance to come and visit again soon. Regards from all the team at Rowan Tree Hostel

94%

An excellent facility, very well located, with a superb restaurant right on the premises.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an opportunity to visit our very popular cafe bar. We hope you have an opportunity to come back again soon. Regards from all the team at Rowan Tree Hostel

77%

Hostel was clean. They did not stock earplugs however and myself and my partner were kept up by people snoring until 5 in the morning. After our second complaint the night porter moved us to another room. The "continental" breakfast was a bit dissapointing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review, We have ordered a box of ear plugs which we will have available to our guests free of charge, when you are staying in a 10 bed dorm we can not gaurantee that there will not be a snorer in the room and we would rather not disturb people in another room by moving other guests in at 5am. Our breakfast of tea/coffee/juice, cereal, toast, fruit and scones from our cafe is available free of charge which most guests find satisfactory.Regards from all @Rowan Tree Hostel

86%

Nothing but positive things to say about our stay. I would recommend you to anyone visiting that part of Ireland.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for choosing us and for your recommendation, we hope you have a chance to come back again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

Reception was extremely warm and informative. Location on the river was convenient for walking and parking. Best hostel we ever stayed in!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review we have a great crew working here with us and we're delighted that you consider us the Best hostel that you have ever stayed in. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

The staff was very helpful when I asked about places to play music. (I had brought my fiddle from home.) They gave me a map and showed me how to find several places. They are within walking distance from Brogans pub and a great little music store. I did get to play in an Irish pub witch was amazing. The hostel is actually more like a hotel with a wonderful kitchen, nice common area, and great rooms. I enjoyed my stay very much!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are delighted that you had a great experience staying with us in Ennis "Ireland's friendliest Town" and the home of traditional Irish music.Brogan's is a popular favourite with lot's of visitors and local musicians and we have an up to date session list in the hostel for all our guests. Hopefully you will have a chance to come back and visit again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

71%

Our bed has squeaked the whole night allways if you move your self. Even if it is a little bit. and the mattress was very hard. And there is no possibility to park the car. only ~1 km away. Despite of this things i really enjoyed the stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for letting us know the bed frame has been tightened and the squeak is fixed. The mattress is high density memory foam and is designed to be firm and most guests are very happy with them. There is a car park either side of the hostel and is free of charge from 5pm until 9.30am and is €1.30 for 2 hrs at other times the free car park is 7 mins walk. We are very happy that you still enjoyed your stay despite the squeaky bed. Regards from all the team @Rowan Tree Hostel

89%

I would definitely stay again. If Rowan Tree is representative of hostels throughout Ireland I would look for more opportunities to use them in other urban centres. It was great having a high quality restaurant attached to the facility.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a million for your very nice review, we are very happy that you had a great stay and had the opportunity to dine in our very popular Cafe Bar where we serve a wide selection of locally sourced food. Regards from all the team at Rowan Tree hostel

100%

We only stayed here one night but it's a great place to stay. Clean and friendly and right in the centre of town. The best place we stayed in on our cycle tour. The bikes were left indoors in a secure place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are very happy that you consider us the Best place that you stayed on your cycling tour. Hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit again soon. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

97%

Only stayed one night on the way to Shannon airport. Great location next to City Centre -- lots of places to explore. Super quiet provate room and super nice set up for guests.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are the closest hostel to Shannon airport with great bus connections, we are also glad that you had a chance to explore Ennis " Ireland's Friendliest Town " and the home of traditional Irish music where there are loads of nightly music sessions. Regards from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

100%

Loved my stay here

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Ennis Hostels

Please give us your feedback