X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rowan Tree Hostel Reviews

Harmony Row, Co. Clare, Ennis, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1211 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The location is excellent. The attached Rowan Tree cafe lunch menu was just what we wanted for an early dinner. Rowan Tree lived up to the recommendations we had received from coworkers in the USA who had stayed there.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed at the hostel for only one night on our way from the Cliffs of Moher to Dingle. It is a very clean hostel, the room was large and the staff friendly. The atmosphere in the hostel was quiet busy during our stay and it seems to be easy to join other groups for a pub crawl. The location of the hostel is very good for exploring the city in short time and the whole bulding is very welcoming. For a short stay at Ennis, I can definitely recommend this hostel.


100%

It was really loud

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The Rowan Tree is the perfect spot to stay in while passing through Ennis. Its right at the heart of everything and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A short but very likely moment. Thanks for your kindness !

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

All the staff were pleasant and helpful, giving me advice on where to go and what to do, the dorms were clean and comfortable, as were the bathrooms and kitchens! The restaurant belonging to the hostel was excellent, with a great choice of food, and the location couldn't have been better- right in the heart of Ennis, and close to everything!!

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Couldn't fault this fantastic hostel. Wonderful. We had the most lovely room. Thank you everyone.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved my stay here. The staff couldn't have been nicer. My room was great and the whole hostel was comfy, clean and welcoming. Thank you to all of you. The other guests I met here were also very nice, and I liked every guest I met, including the families with children. P.S. I hope that one day the wifi will be available in the rooms. That would be great.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were outstanding and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay. It would be nice if the breakfast area were open a little longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your 5 star review we really appreciate it, we are also delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our free breakfast is from 7am to 9.30am but we will have a chat with the kitchen team to increase the time and of course we have free tea and coffee all day. Regards from all the team @RowanTreeHostel

100%

Dorm rooms are big and spacious so it doesn't feel too crowded. Bathrooms are very clean. Full equipped kitchen with a lot of working space. Overall a very nice and tidy hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your 5 star review, we really appreciate it. We have lots of great space and we aim to keep it as clean as possible. Regards from all the team @RowanTreeHostel

94%

My wife and I were thankful that we were able to reserve a couples' room as well as a family room for ourselves and four sons. We have always wanted to try a hostel, and by being able to get these private rooms, each w/ its own bath, gave us the opportunity to give it a try. The hostel as well as the rooms were very clean and quiet.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your first hostel experience. We have a great selection of rooms from single, double,triple, 4 and 6 bed family rooms and dorm rooms, so basically something for everyone. We have a lot of family's and small groups who like the hostelling experience but also want private rooms and our cafe bar is also very popular for guests and locals alike. Regards from all the team @RowanTreeHostel

91%

Rowan Tree was probably the cleanest hostel I stayed in on my trip, it honestly almost felt like staying at a hotel. The location was great with only a few minutes walk away from most attractions. I would just say that it's not the absolute greatest place for solo travelers looking to meet people, as I was alone in my dorm and the tv room whenever I went in there. If you're visiting Ennis, though, I would definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we have a great crew working here with us and our housekeeping team do a fantastic job. We are very fortunate to be in a super location in the centre of Ennis overlooking the river Fergus and the 13th century Abbey. We have just redecorated one of our chill out rooms and it seems to be a great place for guests to have a chat and relax. Thanks again for the recommendation from all the team @RowanTreeHostel

100%

The hostel was great. I loved the suite with a private bathroom. The staff couldn't have been more helpful for all of my needs. The location is great. Ask for the detailed map if you plan on walking about Ennis, as the town roads can be a bit confusing. Breakfast had plenty of options and I filled up for the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review and we are delighted that you like your room :)) our maps have been especially created to help visitors navigate Ennis's medieval streetscape and find your way to the many live traditional music sessions which are all within a 5 min walk from the hostel. Regards from all the team @rowantreehostel

100%

My stay at Rowan Tree was my first time staying in a hostel ever, and they truly surpassed my expectations! Super friendly and helpful staff, the location is smack dab in the middle of Ennis, and amazing ammenities. I recommend staying here for anyone visiting Ennis!

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review and we are delighted that you had a great first hostel experience. We are very lucky to be in a fantastic riverside location in the centre of Ennis and thanks also for the recommendation. Regards from all the team @rowantreehostel

97%

Amazing hostel, one of the cleanest hostels I have ever been to and the staff was very friendly.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review, we have a great crew here both in housekeeping and reception and they will be delighted with your review. Regards from all the team @rowantreehostel

97%

The staff here was great!! Very helpful at any hour of the day or night!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are very fortunate to have a fantastic crew working here with us and they will be delighted to get your feedback. Kind Regards from all the team @RowanTreeHostel

100%

It's one of the best hostels I have ever been! The whole building is very warm and confortable, it's big and huge .I enjoyed the bedrooms and the bathrooms ,all of them well kept .There is a common room where it's possible to stay 24 hours and a cosy lounge.there are lots of lovely wall paintings.just beside the hostel there is a café and restaurant .this hostel was a welcoming surprise!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your very nice review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us :)) Regards from all the team @rowantreehostel

100%

You run a fantastic place, keep it up that way. The only thing that could be improved in my opinion: the duvets are too short.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your 5 star review we really appreciate it. The next time you are coming back let us know and we will organise a bigger duvet for you :) Kind Regards from all the team @RowanTreeHostel

94%

This hostel was very quiet, clean, etc., and the attached cafe is a nice spot for a meal if you don't feel like walking (though there are plenty of other places at a 5min distance). Front desk was helpful with booking a tour and I enjoyed breakfast. Only drawbacks is the wifi is only on the ground floor (lobby/kitchen), but that's really not too bad and you can meet other people while sitting and checking your phone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our Cafe bar is also located in a beautiful 1740's building and is very popular with visitors and locals. we do try to encourage social interaction with our very friendly receptionists and other guests and we have great hi speed wi-fi. kind regards from all the team @RowanTreeHostel

80%

The one thing I really appreciated about this hostel is that our room had its own bathroom. The beds were decent, and the staff were nice. They had lockers for your stuff downstairs, but they were more trouble than they were worth as we were the only people in our room. The location was great, right in the middle of town. Ennis is small, so there's not a whole ton to do or see, but we did enjoy our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review,the next time you are back have a chat with one of us at reception and we will show you lots of unusual things to do :)) Regards from all the team @rowantreehostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Ennis Hostels

Please give us your feedback