X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Royal Mile Apartment Reviews

Apartment 2F2, 17 Milton Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
41 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The charm of the place was that it had an arty feel to it and it was quite different to anywhere else I had stayed before. Jon was very accommodating and it really was like I was at home. Location was pretty handy too for my purposes (The Royal Mile) and overall it was a very relaxed experience.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi Mark, thank you so much for your excellent review. Anytime you are back in Edinburgh give us a call and come and stay again. The location here is great for Arthur's Seat and the Royal Mile. Happy you had a good time at the wedding at St.Giles Cathedral. We keep trying to improve the Apartment and any feedback is always appreciated so we can make more changes to improve the Apartment. Anyways, thanks again and Happy Christmas and a Fantastic New Year 2015!! cheers, Jon

100%

Great Host. Excellent Bathroom. Location is fantastic and only 5-6 mins away from the base of Arthur`s Seat (using the shortcut Jon will tell you) Location is close to the Queens palace , so your in good company. Definitely worth a visit.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Dipesh for your fab review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much. And New Zealand won against Scotland at the rugby maybe next time it can be a draw? :) Yeah it's really great living in Holyrood Park next to Arthur's Seat, the extinct volcano. I love living her myself as I agree this it the best location to live in, in Edinburgh. We also have the largest free parking spaces too right on our doorstep? I think possibility a gift from the Queen? Maybe? all the best & come back? Jon :)

100%

This was the first time that I stayed in a hostel in Edinburgh and it was by far the best experience. The location was perfect, right off the Royal Mill and close to the beautiful hike to Arthur's Seat. The host, Jon, was very accommodating and fantastic. He gave a local's perspective of the best places to go and was very friendly. He really made one feel at home and welcome. I highly recommend the Royal Mile Apartments to any one staying in Edinburgh. It was wonderful!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Kaitlyn for your very kind comments. And thanks for being such a warm and friendly guest. we are really happy you had a fantastic stay in Edinburgh at the apartment. And we are always striving to improve our apartments all of the time. Please recommend us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again sometime in Edinburgh. And thank you so much for leaving your lovely comments in the visitor book.... all the very best and happy trails to ya... peace and love Edinburgh, Jon

100%

The location was amazing -- it was on a quiet street yet only steps away from Holyrod Park, the Queens palace and a breathtaking view of Aurthur's seat. All this and there was free parking on the street. The place was extremely clean. The most important part of this hostel is the host, Jon, who made everyone feel at home. One evening he played his guitar and some of the guests sang folk songs. He is a native to the city and will be only happy to share information on the city with you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi Thomas, Thank you for your very positive review. And a big thanks for singing Kooks by David Bowie & other songs too...I had a great time when you were here and thanks for sharing your wine and beer with everyone too. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The on street parking is great and the location is superb! I love staying here too right on Arthur's Seat doorstep and sharing Holyrood Park... when your in Edinburgh again please come to stay again. peace and love, best wishes, regards, Jon

97%

Jon's apartment/hostel is cozy and quiet alternative to city hostels. Good location, clean, nice atmosphere, and Jon has been a friendly and accommodating host.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Dimitris for your very positive review. It was a pleasure having you stay and I wish you all the best in your new apartment in Edinburgh. All the very best, regards, Jon

100%

Jon's little flat is perfect if you are wanting a quieter alternative to a normal hostel; it's clean, homely (we especially enjoyed the fine art and selection of tea towels) and ideally located. More importantly, Jon (the host) totally made our trip to Edinburgh. We had a very comical evening in which Jon let us dress up in all sorts of Scottish attire and told us the equally hilarious stories that went with each outfit. Thankyou so much for your hospitality Jon, we had an absolute ball! :)

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello Julia (a.k.a. Jesse MacCleod) & Jordi (a.k.a. Jean Brodie) what can I say! It was absolutely delightful oor tweed and kilted theatrical excursion...am still chuckling here!! There are three types of folks in the world; 1. Spectators! 2. Participants and 3. Showstoppers! You Girls are 100% showstoppers! Thanks a million for coming to stay in ma wee youth hostel! Peace and love Always, Jon and of course..... FREEEEEDOMMM!!! haste ye back!!! a fun filled night! all the very best, peas&luv Jon

100%

Had a great experience here! Jon went above and beyond to make this a truly Scottish stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey Rory, thanks a million for your 100% rating! What can I say accept you are the best globetrotter out there man! Great to see that you are keeping it real! So throwing a 100% positive review right back to you! Sincerely hope that your week in Prague is fantastic too! Thanks for the great laugh with taking the photographs of the Kilted Revolution Theatre with the two fantastic girls from Australia. I will send them on to you by email and their posted on my Facebook Page..all the very best. Jon

94%

Great location and friendly owner: very quiet! The soft lights in the bathroom were wonderful: just enough to light the way for middle of the night toilet visits. Nice place to unwind on our last 3 nights of trip.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you both for being such terrific guests and the fab review. And thanks a million for the two cooks books you bought me, I will follow the cooking instructions religiously! :) Air B&B allow you to leave reviews on the guests also unlike Hostelworld... so I vouch for you guys 100% terrific guests! When your back in Auld Edinburgh again your very welcome to return anytime. Lovely to meet you both, till next time, bon voyage, Jon....

89%

My stay was really fantastic. That was my first experience staying in hostels. The difference is that I could able to have a chat with different people from different cultures. I enjoyed the stay there and hope the best of luck to Jon.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi , thank you for your review and the amazing Saudi dates! Irresistible! I hope your new job is going really well after your one year study in Edinburgh! And anytime you are back in Scotland please do give me a call and come and stay again. As reviews go: you are a 100% guest especially for leaving all the wonderful spices and herbs for future guests to share. It was a real pleasure to meet you and we became like flatmates for a short while! Hope to meet again, Salam, peace, Jon

94%

very nice and comfortable apartment, wasn't there for long but would definitely go back

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, Thank you for your positive feedback. We really appreciate this and need as many positive reviews as possible as a small growing hospitality serviced apartments provider! Apartments I think are much better than hostels and better than hotels. They are more private and also cheaper... who wants to stay in a dirty, noisy hostel? Anyways, hope you had a great forward journey back home to Oz and your very welcome to stay in any one of our centrally located luxury Edinburgh apartments,Jon

100%

The staff was really kind and friendly. The location was also good and safe. I enjoyed in Edinburgh. If I had a chance to go to Edinburgh, I would stay there again:)

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, domo aragato! Wow 8 x 5 - 100%.... Thank you so much. I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our apartment and Edinburgh. I was happy that you were pleasantly surprised that we have a Japanese Tatami mat along the wall for decoration, where you slept on the mezzanine floor on the super comfortable super king size memory foam mattress platform. The mezzanine is very cool and very private and quiet. Happy future travels and hope to see you in Edin. again, peace, Jon

100%

Really lovely apartment, an amazing place to live in a fantastic location - right next to Arthur's Seat !

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey , what can I say! accept thanks a million for your 100% review and fantastic comment. All our apartments are in great locations in Edinburgh but the one here is particularly great being right next to the extinct volcano, "Arthur's Seat", Hope you had a nice flight back home to Oz and getting prepared for your amazing Oz summer which is just around the corner! Anyway 100% review as a guest to you, a real diamond of a geezer, and we really appreciate your positive vibes, peace, Jon

100%

Jon was fantastic to stay with. He is very helpful and easy to work with. He helped me get a cab to the airport bus for my early morning flight. The place is nice and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for another 100% review! We will keep on improving all of our luxury apartments in the centre of the Auld town in Edinburgh. We really appreciate and need guests to leave reviews for us as a very new hospitality operator in our city, Edinburgh. We are now sitting at 92% so that is great maybe we can become 100% and sustain this standard? Hope you had a pleasant flight back home and do return to visit us! all the very best, peace, Jon. Oh and 100% as a guest you are! :)

100%

Yes yes yes! Cannot recommend this place enough. Were very helpful, accommodating and fun. Made the trip.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey Will, thank you so much for another 100% review!! Please do try and make it back to Edinburgh during the Edinburgh Festival 2015 and the Fringe or the Hogmanay New Years Celebrations from the 29th December 2014 to 2nd January 2015.... Hope see to see you in town when you have more time to hang around longer. We are hoping to add more apartments to our portfolio of great apartments in prime locations in the city centre of Edinburgh... thanks again all the very best, cheers, Jon

80%

Jon is a v nice, warm, friendly and welcoming host. He really enjoys having guests. I had wonderful times with him.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, se grande for your fantastic feedback and thank you for your singing and our jam session with the guitar. Oh, and not to mention that amazing rum cask whiskey that you shared with me! That whiskey was really something special! Please return anytime and I give you 100% as an impeccable and very understanding and friendly guest! We will take your feedback onboard and seek to improve our city centre apartments in Auld Edinburgh. Till next time, bon voyage, keep on singing! peace, Jon :)

100%

Nice autentic place. Really scotish.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi , thank you so much for your 100% review! It was a really exciting time when you visited with our Referendum for Scottish Independence! Unfortunately, this wasn't to be at this time! I like your comments and hope to improve our apartments and make them even more Scottish and take pleasure in building the best hospitality within the city centre of Edinburgh. As a guest I sincerely give you 100% review as a really friendly and charming guest. Please return anytime all the very best, Jon :)

97%

This hostel has a BnB feeling, as it also the home of the host. The only bedroom has 4 bed (including 2 double). Nothing to do with a Very Large Hostel, this is a small, friendly place where you can meet other travelers, and of course the host. Jon is real Scottish man, very friendly, and who will happily spend an evening with the guests and his guitar. The place is about 20 minutes from where the Royal Mile crosses North Bridge, with a stunning with on Arthur's seat along the way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thank you for your very thoughtful comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay! And I was very happy to do your song request, "Redemption Song" by Bob Marley on my guitar! Nice choice might I add! That was a great night we had singing with my guitar and Gildeon really enjoyed the night also! Its nights like these that make hosting guests really worth it all! You and Gildeon are 100% guests in my review book I must add! Hope our paths cross again soon! bon voyage, from Edinburgh, Jon

100%

Just a fifteen minute walk through a beautiful park and cobblestone roads from this beautiful boutique hostel and you are in the center of Edinburgh. It's very unique and private, warm and welcoming, quite unlike a giant hostel where everyone is a number. There are breathtaking views of Arthur's seat right next to this place, and once you meet the owner/host, Jon, you will have a true Scotsman friend for life.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
well, well, well, what can I say! ok I know! There are three types of folks in our world of ours! 1. Spectators.. 2. Participants.. and 3. Showstoppers! Danielle is a 100% fantastic traveler and undoubtedly an absolute showstopper of a traveler! And oh byetheway, thank you so much for your 100% review. Be great to keep in contact and maybe see you on the other side of the pond some day! It really was a lot of fun having you stay here in the Old Town Edinburgh, thanks a million, Jon :)

80%

Friendly atmosphere

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, Thanks a million for your positive review. And should you ever require accommodation in Edinburgh again in the future please don't hesitate to contact. us. We have several serviced apartments in the old town of Edinburgh. Thank you for being a 100% guest and all the very best. cheers, Jon

94%

Not recommanded to rent the room for couples in shared space.... But apart from that, original place and amazing people.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback and we have taken your comments onboard and have now improved our facilities for couples who come to stay. All the best and do book with us again when your next in Edinburgh. Our hospitality business relies on feedback so that we can improve our services. So thanks a million for taking the time to feedback to us... cheers, Jon

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Edinburgh Apartments

Please give us your feedback