Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

This boutique hostel is amazing. I loved it here. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Themed rooms were a great touch. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
7.7

I was in two different dorm rooms here- Hogwarts and Gotham City. Those are the names of the rooms- which in itself is kind of fun. Hogwarts is quite small- but it was clean and comfortable. Gotham City was a really nice room! I didn't want to leave. The hostel is nice- it's pretty central, the facilities are not bad. Some of the staff are kinda grumpy, but some of them are nice. I would recommend it :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
6.3

Excellent location. There is not much common space so it's quite hard to meet other travelers; I'd suggest staying at their sister hostel down the street. Much friendlier staff as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
9.1

The hostel has an ideal location to explore Edinburgh, it is clean and the staff is very helpful. It is a bit noisy at night but it is definitely good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2017
9.7

Cosy, friendly and an unbeatable location. My favorite place to stay in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
9.4

Great location on the Royal Mile; friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.6

Staff was very friendly and helpful. It's a small hostel, you feel like home. The location is right in the middle of the city center, 5 minutes walking form the train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your friendly words - sounds as if you liked your stay with us. Maybe see you here again some time!

18th Jul 2017
7.4

Great location. Plenty of outlets in the rooms. Hair dryers and straighteners available. Only complaints are the commons areas were lacking, which made it hard to meet other travelers. Also, some of the staff were really snarky and unfriendly, which was offputting. Price was great though, so I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a few words about our wee hostel. Sorry you found it hard to meet other travellers at our place - some of our guests say they find it easy BECAUSE we're such a small and cosy hostel. I really apologise that you found the staff unfriendly - we usually get good reviews about staff and I'm sad to hear that you experienced something different. Sorry! Hope to see you here again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.4

Would definitely stay again. Great location and lovely staff. Bathrooms cleaned regularly. Room was a good size with lockers and space under beds for luggage. Cute kitchen and dining space

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for the great review! Hope to see you here again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.9

Great little hostel in the heart of the old town and close to the train station. Good value for money, but it's very small! There were some long term residents staying there who weren't very friendly to guests, but I was able to socialise with some other solo travellers instead. I'd stay again cos it's cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a few words about our wee hostel. Yes, we're a very small hostel - thankfully we're able to use all the facilities of our much bigger sister hostel just across the street. We don't actually have any long term residents - the maximum stay in the summer season is 7 nights! But we did have a few returning guests recently. We also have some live in staff (receptionists and cleaners) but they are usually very open and friendly towards our guests. Sorry if any of them made you feel unwelcome. Glad you met some other guests to chat to.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.