Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,854 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,854 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Royal Mile Backpackers Located at 105 High Street, , Edinburgh.
Royal Mile Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1SG 105 High Street
90% 1854
55.9504132 -3.1862282
Royal Mile Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was awesome all around! Staff was very nice, kind, and helpful! The location was perfect, right in the city, very close to the Edinburgh weaverly train station and right down the street from the Edinburgh castle. I loved the fire place! The hostel environment was very chill and relaxing. There is a restaurant located right next to the hostel that you get a discount at for staying at this hostel. I highly recommend this hostel and would def. stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words and the great rating! Glad to hear you had a great stay at our wee place and we hope to see you here again some time!.

  • saltysinner975001
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
9.4

Very nice and close to everything! The staff is lovely and the kitchen has everything one needs! Not only that but the rooms are v cute and they do laundry for 3£!! The only downsides are the noise outside from drunks until 3am, the lights blazing onto our dorm window, and the v creaky beds. Would def stay here again👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻💯

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you liked our wee hostel - thanks for the great rating! Sometimes there can be a bit of noise from outside - the downside of our location in the middle of Scotland's most famous street - sorry about that! Apologies for the creaky beds - we still have one room with the old beds but we will replace them in the beginning of the next year. Hope to see you here again some time!

3rd Nov 2016
8.6

Fantastic location, very clean and well kept. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for the lovely words. Hope to see you again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
29th Oct 2016
9.7

great hostel: perfect location, clean, spacious rooms, nice kitchen, friendly staff.... a few more showers and it would be perfect :) i definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for the lovely review. Sorry you had to wait for your shower - when we're fully booked it can sometimes be quite busy in the morning rush-hour. Hope to see you again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
9.4

The dorms were spacious, everything was very clean, and the lockers provided are big enough to fit a large backpack with room to spare

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel, nice kitchen, extremely kind staff, right on the Royal Mile in Edinburgh. Wish I could've stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the kind words and the great rating. Glad you enjoyed your stay at our wee hostel - please come back some day!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Oct 2016
8.3

Fabulous hostel, very homely and warming. Only suggestions- larger bathrooms, better shower pressure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, glad you liked our wee hostel - thanks for the nice review. We've been trying to increase the water pressure especially for the one female shower but unfortunately there's only that much we can do in our old and historic house. Same for the size of our bathrooms - sorry you found them a bit small! Hope to see you here again some time!

8th Oct 2016
8.9

Great hostel! Stayed here for six nights. The location is unbeatable. Right on the royal mile, only a few minute walk to all the sites. The staff was friendly. Okay breakfast for 2 pounds a day. Only thing is there are only 2 bathrooms for everyone at the hostel so it can get quite crowded. But the rooms were nice, and the beds don't squeak, so that's great. And the price is good. I'd recommend it :) !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed it at our wee hostel. Sorry the bathrooms were a bit crowded. Most of the time our bathrooms are enough for small number of people we can accommodate but unfortunately it can happen that there's a bit of a morning rush-hour when we're fully booked. Sorry!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
9.4

The staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. The lockers are high school sized and so have enough room for a standard sized bookbag with some room left over. My 40 litre bag would have been a tight squeeze but my daypack and valuables fit just fine. We were also able to leave our luggage in a locked storage room (for free!) after checkout in the morning so we didn't have to lug it around the city with us on the last day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks you for the great review - happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back some time!

7th Oct 2016
10.0

Great location, clean, comfortable bed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the fantastic review - great to hear you liked your stay at our wee hostel so much. Would be lovely to have you here again some day!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.