Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Royal Mile Backpackers Located at 105 High Street, , Edinburgh.
Royal Mile Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1SG 105 High Street
89% 1815
55.9504132 -3.1862282
Royal Mile Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.1

This hostel was alright. Aside from having to shower in creepy closets and blow dry my hair in the kitchen room. The location is great and it felt secure. The top bunks do not have railings so that was a little terrifying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
9.1

Awesome staff, so friendly and so helpful. Having towels in the bathroom to dry your hands was fantastic and bathrooms were kept relatively clean. Love the names for the rooms and beds. Was slightly difficult to find but excellent location overall. Would definetly come back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.4

Our stay at Royal mile backpackers was of great value! We got lost trying to find our way to the staircase (it was hidden behind a sign on the sidewalk) You can't beat the location, and the staff is very helpful and generous. Woke up a few times to people on the street being wild, but that's what you pay in exchange for a good nightly price. The bed was more comfortable than my bed at home :( overall, it's a great option for the person on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great location, clean and complete facilities. I like that they have locker which is free to use; only need a refundable deposit. Also, they have female rooms with 2 level bunk beds (I always scared if I get the 3rd level bunk bed). The only drawback in my case is that it is located in 2nd or 3rd floor, whilst I was carrying a huge luggage, so it was a struggle to bring them up and the staff didn't help (which I can understand, only if they help, it would be an extra point).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel! Staff were awesome and helpful, wifi great, everything clean and comfortable plus great location. Attracts young and some middle aged travellers but we all got along well in the girls dorm. My only concern is the top bunks don't have any guard rail, but this is a typical design for two other Edinburgh hostels I stayed at so maybe it's standard. If you're afraid of heights just request a bottom bunk when booking and I'm sure the staff will be happy to help if they can.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Sep 2016
10.0

Such a cosy place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
9.1

My friend and I stayed in a 10 bed all female dorm. A pretty solid hostel overall, super friendly and helpful staff, a nice location, and a good price. The hostel is right off the Royal Mile, which means a lot of street noise at night. Also, no AC, so be prepared to be a little warm in the old building. A small, cozy place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your lovely review. Glad to hear you had a good time here at our wee place. Come back some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.1

Great location, right on the royal mile! Very secure;lockers in room. Staff friendly enough but could be more talkative, especially to lone travellers. But great at giving advice and information on anything when asked. Atmosphere not much to write home about; maybe due to staff. Very clean and tidy. Definetlt value for money-basic but lovely for a short stay. Facilities great-good showers and toilets; boxes of free tea, coffee,milk, sugar, toiletries of you need any. really enjoyed my stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry for not being more talkative - it's a very busy time here in Edinburgh and we have to keep up with the day to day running of a full hostel every night! Hope to see you again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.1

great small hostel right on the royal mile, highly recommend the Thursday night pub crawl

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the nice review - glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and our Thursday pub crawl. Hope to have you here again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
8.3

In terms of value for money and location, this is one of the best places to stay during the Edinburgh Fringe. There aren't many showers, so there was always a queue in the morning. I only had a hand luggage sized suitcase, but it didn't fit in my designated locker.Breakfast was cheap. staff were friendly and I was grateful for the short walk home at night.However, do bring earplugs!! They were a lifesaver at night - the mile doesn't seem to sleep!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write about your stay here with us. In the busy season when the hostel is full every night it can happen that people have to wait a bit to take a shower - apologies for that! Unfortunately the lockers are only designed for your more valuable possessions - most of our guests just leave their big bags under the bed in the locked bed rooms. The location right on the Royal Mile has its ups and downs - you couldn't be more central but it does sometimes come with a bit of noise to live on Scotland's most famous street. Sorry about that! Glad you enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.