Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Royal Mile Backpackers Located at 105 High Street, , Edinburgh.
Royal Mile Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1SG 105 High Street
89% 1877
55.9504132 -3.1862282
Royal Mile Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Really cozy place with nice staff. The location is amazing, just in the city center. We enjoyed our stay in this cozy hostel and wonderful city :) Totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
10.0

Everything was fine for my stay. When leaving was told that I was welcome to leave my bag at the hostel until later in the day if required.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
6.3

£10 a night what do you expect

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.1

Had a great stay here! The place is small and homey, best location you could want, great staff. Two pounds for a basic breakfast but free (instant) coffee and tea all day! Only weird thing to me was the two bathrooms- one "girls only" and one "guys and girls". Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the great review - we're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. The reason for the bathroom situation is that we usually have lots more girls staying than guys and quite often girls need a bit more time in the bathrooms. Our girls' bathroom was always full and the boys' was empty before we changed it to a female and a mixed one. Hope to see you again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

The central location was perfect, the staff were great and the whole hostel was really clean. I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
10.0

It was my second time I stayed in this hotel. This time I came with my hisband. We're already planning our next visit and it will definitely be Royal Mile Backpackers! Everything is great about this hostel, especially the atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for the lovely words and the great rating. Glad the 2 of you had a good time and we're looking forward to having you back!

19th Nov 2016
2.0

The facility is very small and the staff is very unfriendly. I am a paying guest and did not underrstand there behaviour. They were telling people to clean up in a way that is not acceptable. I changed accommodation and received an email that I cannot move into the new accommodation altough no one did say anything in person to me. I was sitting in front of the reception waiting for my transfer and was approched with hard language telling me that I cannot sit there for longer (more than 1h).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was awesome all around! Staff was very nice, kind, and helpful! The location was perfect, right in the city, very close to the Edinburgh weaverly train station and right down the street from the Edinburgh castle. I loved the fire place! The hostel environment was very chill and relaxing. There is a restaurant located right next to the hostel that you get a discount at for staying at this hostel. I highly recommend this hostel and would def. stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words and the great rating! Glad to hear you had a great stay at our wee place and we hope to see you here again some time!.

  • saltysinner975001
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
9.4

Very nice and close to everything! The staff is lovely and the kitchen has everything one needs! Not only that but the rooms are v cute and they do laundry for 3£!! The only downsides are the noise outside from drunks until 3am, the lights blazing onto our dorm window, and the v creaky beds. Would def stay here again👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻💯

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you liked our wee hostel - thanks for the great rating! Sometimes there can be a bit of noise from outside - the downside of our location in the middle of Scotland's most famous street - sorry about that! Apologies for the creaky beds - we still have one room with the old beds but we will replace them in the beginning of the next year. Hope to see you here again some time!

3rd Nov 2016
8.6

Fantastic location, very clean and well kept. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for the lovely words. Hope to see you again some time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.