Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2017
7.7

Nice small and cute hostel in the centre of town. Room was very spacious, and very quiet too, but that's just the way I like it. Only stayed for one night, so didn't check out all the place has to offer. But for short stay travellers I would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel is feally amazing! Very gold location, easy to go anywhere! Very comfortable bed, there are 2 sockets near every bed. Definitely gonna come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2017
9.7

The showers had much better situation with warm water than last year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, it was lovely having you back here at our wee hostel. Thanks for the great rating. We're constantly working on improving our hostel - glad to see you noticed the better showers. Hope to see you again soon!

9th Jun 2017
10.0

BRILLIANT hostel. Best I've been to in a while, and I've been to a lot of hostels the past few months. Very clean, good lockers, helpful and wonderful staff, nice breakfast, great wifi, comfy beds, great location right on the Mile. They have it all! I wanted to stay longer! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the fabulous review - great to hear you had a great stay with us here in Edinburgh! We'd love to have you back some time.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.7

AMAZING HOSTEL. AMAZING LOCATION. AMAZING PEOPLE!! Hair dryers and straighteners to borrow, loads of free cosmetics/toiletries in the bathrooms (some days more than others) and free food in the kitchen (again, some days more than others). Perfect location within easy walking distance to both hiking trails in the center of Edinburgh AND the most beautiful city sights. Also, the Edinburgh Pub Crawl finishes a two minute ealk away so that was mint. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we're happy to hear you had such a great time with us in Edinburgh - thanks for the lovely words! Hope to see you again some time.

4th Jun 2017
9.7

This place was lovely! In a super central location, low bed price and great dorm with a security locker, comfortable beds, hot showers and big rooms. I fell in love with Scotland and it definitely had to do with the place I was staying at, I felt incredibly safe...one downside...I did have a friend with me but otherwise I didn't think it was that social. But I 100% recommend it and would love to go back and stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review! It's great to hear you had a good time in our wee hostel. Sorry the atmosphere wasn't that social when you were here! In small hostels some days everybody really clicks and it's easy to meet new people and on other days people prefer to keep to themselves. Hope to have you here again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

The Royal Mile Backpackers was so good!! All the staff were soo friendly. The hostel is very small but it wasn't a problem! The wifi is really fast and accessed from all the rooms. The bathrooms are small but clean and enough to make no waiting line. The view from the rooms is incredible, straight down the Royal Mile, therefore the location is perfect, in the Centre! Only thing is the noise from pubs below but wasn't much of problem. Felt very safe here and didn't need to use the lockers in room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review and fantastic rating. We're happy to hear you had a good time with us. Sorry about the noise from the Royal Mile - the downside of our central location. Come back some time!

  • an_tonyrmt
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2017
9.1

The location of this hostel is definitely convenient. You're able to get to all major tourist attractions by foot. The rooms are on the smaller side, but the atmosphere is quite warm and cozy. The staff are very helpful and friendly. During my stay, this place was relatively clean, especially the washrooms which is a big deal to me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, good to hear you enjoyed your stay at our wee hostel. Thank you for the good rating and kind words. Our rooms come in all different sizes - sorry yours was a bit smaller. Hope to see you here again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
28th May 2017
8.6

Enjoyed my stay. Great location and the newly refurbished superheroes room was really nice! It's a bit noisy at night, but that's the trade off for being right in the heart of the old town I guess! Bring some earplugs and you'll be fine. I'd definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maikeklein3652
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2017
9.4

Everything in this hostel was perfect, but as it is directly on High Street, it is very noisy during the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you had a good time here in Edinburgh - thanks for the good review. Unfortunately the downside of our central location right on the Royal Mile is that it can get a bit noisy - sorry about that!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.