Hostelworld.com

Royal Mile Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Royal Mile Backpackers Located at 105 High Street, , Edinburgh.
Royal Mile Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1SG 105 High Street
90% 1747
55.9504132 -3.1862282
Royal Mile Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.6

"Hot and powerful showers", more like "get wet, no clean"-showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
10.0

I couldn't have asked anything more from this hostel, everything was simply perfect. Thanks to Kate (front desk) for the nice welcome and the initial advice for the city! Showers good, rooms good, kitchen good and a nice and warm atmosphere. Oh and super cheap and located in the very centre of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the friendly words and great rating! We're happy to hear you loved your time with us. I will pass your review on to Kate :-). Hope to see you again at our wee hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.4

I stayed for 7 nights and beside the height of the top bunk, everything was perfect. The only complaint I would have is the top bunk is too high or there is not enough steps on the ladder up - very difficult for someone shorter to get up and down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.1

Great, except for the foam mattresses. A second handhold on the top bunk would also make it feel less like Everest after a 3am toilet trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
9.7

My first hostel experience, and a great one. The staff were friendly, facilities clean and great, and the location was great as well. Could get a bit noisy at night but that's a given due to the area it's situated in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Brilliant hostel and very calm... the hostel doesn't inspire a party atmosphere as it is all on the same level which is great if you like calm and sleep! Windows do face the Royal Mile so be prepared to hear the drunken louts outside however, it is oddly calming. If you want to an coach tour or walking tour, everything is in a close proximity. The showers are clean but I wish there was bathmats outside them though. Free lockers are a great feature!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the fantastic review - great to hear you loved your time here at our wee place! Bath mats would be nice but can be a bit of a hygienic issue in a shared bathroom - this is why we don't have them. Sorry about that! Please come back some time!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Great customer service and friendly atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, glad to hear you likes our wee hostel. Thanks for the nice review and we hope to have you here again some time!

27th May 2016
9.1

Directly on Royal Mile, which is the place to be, just above an Indian restaurant. Pros: VERY friendly & helpful staff - even the girl who couldn't understand my accent tried her best to be helpful, clearly labeled bathrooms so you didn't wander into the boys/girls one by mistake if such things bother you, they even had a real fireplace that was absolutely wonderful on cold evenings! Cons: No stove (guests can use High Street Hostel's), long staircase to get in (Well, it *is* Edinburgh).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your friendly words and the great rating! Glad you enjoyed your time with us. We do have a cooker for our wee hostel but in 'rush-hour' people sometimes have to wait a bit or go across the street to use the ones in Highstreet Hostel - sorry about that! Hope to see you again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th May 2016
7.1

Top location right in the middle of Old Town, very friendly staff! This could be the be even a better hostel with better mattresses. I did not sleep well at all because it felt like I was basically lying on a wooden cutting board. An air mattress would be more comfortable...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry you didn't sleep very well! It's hard to find mattresses that everybody finds comfortable. Ours are quite hard and some people like it and some don't. Hope you enjoyed your time with us anyway!

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.4

The stairs to reach the hostel lobby is many. Location of hostel entry is almost unvisible. However the staffs are helpful to bring up and down our suitcases.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely rating. Like in most hostels in Edinburgh's Old Town you need to climb some steps to get into our hostel - sorry about that! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.