Hostelworld.com

Royal Mile Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Royal Mile Backpackers Located at 105 High Street, , Edinburgh.
Royal Mile Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1SG 105 High Street
90% 1725
55.9504132 -3.1862282
Royal Mile Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
9.4

Absolutely loved it here! Clean, everyone was so nice and friendly, and you're like, a 5 minute walk to anything in old Town which is awesome! And it was super easy on the wallet. Only complaint I have is that the top bunks are awkward to get into, but that's not even a big deal. Would totally recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.1

I had a good one night stay here. My only comment would be that the lockers were very small which made security an issue. It is in a fantastic location if you want to get out and about - but keep in mind that being in this location means it can get noisy. Our room was overlooking the street and we had a lot of street noise. Common area was great - we got free pancakes and the staff could not have been nicer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
10.0

Very pleased with my stay! A super friendly staff, small community atmosphere, and unbeatable location directly on the Royal Mile. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2016
9.1

Really nice and cozy hostel in the middle of the city. Bus stop to airport for nr 35 is just next door, very convenient :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
8.0

The location was nice and very centrally located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
10.0

This was by far one of my favorite hostels. The reason being was utmost the people and environment, and the location is incredible too. This was my first trip traveling by myself and I felt that it would be hard adjusting. However, throughout my three days here, I was pleasantly surprised by the charming family feel of the place. They really make sure you feel like home, especially if you try to get know to know the friendly staff. Loved the free pub crawl too on Thursday night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th May 2016
9.7

By far one of the best hostels in terms of value for money and some of the friendliest staff I've ever met. It was a really cosy atmosphere with the staff area, fireplace, open kitchen, etc. Rooms were large and nice, locker keys, hair styling tools, hot drinks, and books were all included in a relatively low price. The location too was perfect for most of the attractions. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a very friendly and comfy hostel at a low price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.4

The place is in a great location and staff are friendly. Lockers in the room are great The rooms were really small so when full it's hard to move around or get stuff out. Common areas are also small but you can use the other hostel across the road. The place is a bit old so some stuff looks like it's falling apart a bit but it's clean. It's a decent hostel but compared with the overall high quality of hostels in Edinburgh and Scotland it doesn't quite measure up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

Really good location, friendly staff, nice little kitchen. Everything felt nice and clean too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.1

This place had a really nice comfortable feel about. Great location! Not a party hostel but there activities on if you want to take part and meeting people is really easy if you're wanting to chat. Also easy to keep to yourself if you want to as no one is 'in your face'

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. It's the advantage of the smaller. homely places that you can easily meet people.Thanks for the nice review and please come back some time

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.