Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1896 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1896 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Good location, facilities and value for money. Only annoying part is it's quite noisy being on the main strip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review - great to hear you had a good time at our wee place. Sorry about the noise from the Royal Mile - unfortunately it comes with the super central location. Hope to see you again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

Warm and friendly hostel with super location. Attentive staff. Enjoyed staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for the kind words. Maybe see you again some time at our wee hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.9

Really good place to stay. It was a little annoying that between 3 and 6:30 am you have to go to high street hostel across the street to get into the hostel. Otherwise it was clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
9.1

This was my second stay here, and it was just as good as the first! The hostel is in an excellent location on the Royal Mile, but earplugs are definitely needed as it's always loud outside. I had a fairly good stay here, but I really felt that there was a lack of space in my room, even though the room itself was fairly large, as the room was a 10 bed dorm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Really cozy place with nice staff. The location is amazing, just in the city center. We enjoyed our stay in this cozy hostel and wonderful city :) Totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review - we're happy to hear that you had a great time in our wee hostel and in Edinburgh. Come back some time!

4th Jan 2017
10.0

Everything was fine for my stay. When leaving was told that I was welcome to leave my bag at the hostel until later in the day if required.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! Thanks for the nice words and the fantastic rating and we hope to see you here again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

perfect location and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
6.3

£10 a night what do you expect

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.1

Had a great stay here! The place is small and homey, best location you could want, great staff. Two pounds for a basic breakfast but free (instant) coffee and tea all day! Only weird thing to me was the two bathrooms- one "girls only" and one "guys and girls". Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the great review - we're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. The reason for the bathroom situation is that we usually have lots more girls staying than guys and quite often girls need a bit more time in the bathrooms. Our girls' bathroom was always full and the boys' was empty before we changed it to a female and a mixed one. Hope to see you again some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

The central location was perfect, the staff were great and the whole hostel was really clean. I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.