Hostelworld.com

Royal Mile Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Royal Mile Backpackers Located at 105 High Street, , Edinburgh.
Royal Mile Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1SG 105 High Street
90% 1700
55.9504132 -3.1862282
Royal Mile Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.1

This place had a really nice comfortable feel about. Great location! Not a party hostel but there activities on if you want to take part and meeting people is really easy if you're wanting to chat. Also easy to keep to yourself if you want to as no one is 'in your face'

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.6

Definitely worth the price. Friendly staff. Very happy happy that they were able to accommodate our 12:30am check in because of a flight. Cute names for rooms/beds! Beds felt a little unsafe, rocky and not easy to get on the top of bunk bed. Washrooms were a little tough to use as a female. Walked in around 9:30am and couldn't even open the door without hitting 3people. Luckily their were mirrors in the rooms or I'd have a lot of trouble trying to get ready. Good locker, safe space though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.1

Had a dead good time. Staff were super helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend to friends. Even had guitars in the common room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, glad you had a great time! Thanks for nice words and hope to see you again some time.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, really good price for the good location. Only downer was that the hostel staff did not know about the tram and therefore did not appear to be totally informed about the city and seemed a bit impersonal although they were friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a few words about our wee hostel. Really sorry our staff member didn't know much about the tram. Usually we all know quite a lot about the city we live in. But most people staying in the Old Town prefer the buses to the tram - they're more convenient as the stops are closer to the hostel, they're cheaper and go to lots more places. I hope that at least with the help of the internet we were able to help you. Apologies again and glad you enjoyed your stay with us anyway!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2016
8.3

Good hostel. Nothing to complain about :) small but really well located!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your lovely words - glad you had a good time in our wee place. Come back some time!

8th Apr 2016
8.9

Breakfast was not free but it was cheap. Not a lot of room in the female bathroom in the morning. I appreciated being able to leave mu luggage after I checked out but stayed in Edinburgh before my flight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a few words about your stay here! Some people prefer making their own breakfast or to going to one of the many cafes. This is why we keep the price for the beds low and give the option to buy a basic breakfast at the hostel. Sorry the female bathroom was so busy - it happens sometimes in the 'morning rush-hour'. We changed our male bathroom into a mixed one - that really seems to take the pressure of it. Hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Come back some day!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel, the staff are kind and helpful and the rooms are clean and secure. With a perfect location and very cheap and tasty breakfast, i'd recommend this place to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks so much for lovely words! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at our wee place!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.6

Hostel in excellent location and very reasonably priced. Lovely staff. Beds were fine but lacked invidual lights. Otherwise pretty basic facilities. Price + staff + location makes me recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for recommending our wee hostel. The reading lights are on our to do list - sorry your bed didn't have one yet! Maybe see you again some time?!

4th Apr 2016
10.0

The vibe of this hostel is spectacular-- cozy kitchenette, sofa by the fireplace with lots of books, cute themed rooms with comfy beds and just generally a nice place to stay. Spent three nights there and could have spent so much longer! It's on the Royal mile so it's a short walk from the Waverly station and very close to all the touristy things. I definitely recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for the kind words! Great to hear you had a good time. Hope you come back some day!

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I have ever live in! Every staff I met is so kind and friendly. The kitchen is extremely clean and full of what you need. We left our luggage there very safe. Thank you so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words. Glad you enjoyed our wee place and were so happy with us. Hope to see you again some time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.