Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Royal Mile Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,793 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,793 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Royal Mile Backpackers Located at 105 High Street, , Edinburgh.
Royal Mile Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1SG 105 High Street
90% 1793
55.9504132 -3.1862282
Royal Mile Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Had an awesome stay here!! Great location, close to all the tourist attractions. Everything was really clean too. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
6.9

Not the best hostel in Edinburgh but you can't beat their location. Staff isn't overly friendly and they seemed annoyed when I would ask a question. Rooms are small but workable. Nice to have a locker to lock up some stuff (don't need your own lock).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

Would recommend the place to others. Pluses: great location, showers clean, friendly staff, double plug points by all beds, small so not too many people about, comfortable beds, lockers with keys for each bed, Minuses: due to central location some low level noise can come in off the streets, shows small but room to hang stuff without getting it wet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Staff was really helpful and kind. The rooms were fine, nothing special. The showers are incredibly small and there are only a few of them. The details page it says that luggage storage is available across the street at another hostel, I thought weird but okay so I went there first. They had no idea what I was talking about. No problems, y'all may want to update the information. Overall a fine evening stay. Perfect location!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a few words about our wee hostel! I'm sorry that the receptionist at our sister hostel was obviously misinformed. Our guests are allowed to store their bikes there for the time of their stay and luggage for a few days when travelling the country. But this is subject to availability - maybe the luggage room was as full as you were here in the busiest time of the year? Anyway, apologies for the inconvenience! For the day of the check-in and check-out all our guests are welcome to leave their bags in our own luggage room. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful and friendly.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

staff are very friendly, very good location, they have a convenient locker in the room, and I was happy to store my luggage after checking out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again some day!

  • luizareiscruz9061
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.4

Superb location, small but does the job perfectly. Clean and cosy. Kitchen is not fully equipped, but going to the "sister hostel" is easy and works fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words! Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

  • Anonymous
  • Bahamas, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed our stay in Royal Mile Backpackers. Our week-long stay felt safe, comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and facilities were good. Lockers and safes in the room were great. Although it's a small hostel there is a much bigger sister hostel over the road where you can hang out/cook. Location is unparalleled! Breakfast is basic but cheap!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review and the rating! Great to hear that you had a good time at our we hostel and in Edinburgh!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
7.7

Location was fantastic, right on the high street of Edinburgh. Bathrooms a little cramped and the shower can turn to a furnace after one use. Stayed in an 8 bed dorm, had adequate room for all occupants. Be sure to open window a bit or may bake while sleeping. Staff helpful and friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at our wee hostel. Hope you had a good time here in Edinburgh!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
10.0

This hostel was amazing! The staff were very friendly, the beds were comfy and the rooms were spacious. They provide spacious security lockers with an ID deposit. In a great location- 10/10 would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we're happy to hear that you had such a good time at our wee hostel - thank you! Please come back some time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
7.1

No window in the room, which made it difficult to sleep in during the night. Really good walking tour with Leo !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a few words. Unfortunately I think that you're mixing us up with another hostel - did you maybe also stay somewhere else in Edinburgh? All our rooms have windows and we don't know anybody with the name Leo. Sorry!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.