X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Royal Victoria Hotel Reviews

12 Lungarno Pacinotti, Pisa, Tuscany, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

49%

Rating
120 Total Reviews
  • 40%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 40%Staff
  • 20%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 40%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

I have stayed here before in a better room , this time I arrived with my daughter ,twins & bathroom ,we were told we had booked two rooms on internet (ibooked1)we paid for the morel expensive one . I have checked my mail,I had only 1 booking. The room was ok , we had askbathroom not too clean,but my problem was the noise ! shutters and windows didn't close properly ! I was awake more than I was a sleep ! I was shocked they had forgotten to take our deposit off the bill !! Lack of toilet paper

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

very central, with view of the river where many festivities took place over that weekend.

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff were extremely welcoming, professional and polite. Whilst the hotel room was dated and worn, it was very clean. We would prefer to trade slick facilities for character and welcome. A lovely member of staff accompanied us in our hire car from the front of the hotel to their hidden away entrance to the garage. A delightful extra was the upper, flower bedecked roof terrace where we had aperitifs before going out for a meal. The collection of bicycles was a quirky feature on the landing.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The wall was cracked in our room, the floor was dirty and the beds were like cots. The hotel uses old-style keys that are tricky to use. We got locked in our room and had to call the desk to have someone come up and let us out. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • 18th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Booked a superior room but was dismayed at the general condition of the room. The mattress was stained and mouldy, and had basically collapsed. The wardrobe was falling apart. There was a cigarette butt in the bedside cabinet. Wiring to the bedside lamp was dangerous as was the bathroom light. Public rooms very 1920s and pleasant. No visible fire precautions anywhere in the hotel. No bar or restaurant.

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

great location - In the center of historic Pisa, restaurants and shopping just around the corner


80%

Wonderful charming hotel, with very polite staff. We received a free upgrade to a river view and had the biggest bed I've ever seen! The original features and textiles made you feel you were travelling back in time. Loved it.


80%

Lovely hotel with historical interest. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good selection at breakfast. Only negative, a bit noisy at night as long corridors/rooms carried noise + noise from the street. Room very clean and comfortable and great value for money in the centre of Pisa


89%

Very nice building and decor inside. Staff are helpful and the breakfast is good. I good location between the the station and the tower.

  • 29th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice historic hotel located centrally to everything you may want to see while in Pisa! Staff was extremely helpful and nice. The hotel is old and therefore has some downfalls (such as :shared bathrooms /the showers are most likely not on your floor ..unless your are staying on the 4th) So ,if your staying here for more than a couple days, this could get frustrating...however, no problem for a short visit.Wonderful generous breakfast. Wifi is available for a price.Would stay again!


100%

Lovely staff helped us with information for our forward travel


60%

We booked this hotel for one night. It is an absolutely lovely hotel. However, when we go there the receptionist told us that the room we book have 'electricity problem'. So they sent us to hotel cecile which is closer to the leaning tower but the room and hotel itself is very old. The royal victoria hotel aplogized to us and said that we can come back for free breakfast (which it's far from hotel cecile!) and at least they paid for the ride to hotel cecile. Overall, im happy with hotel cecile.


89%

Great location right by many shops,bars & restaurants. We found the staff polite & friendly. We had read many reviews about the key being difficult to use in the door. It as a little tricky but you quickly got the hang of it. The building was lovely and a great first night in Pisa, (not much of a view, only of a brick wall) but we were in Italy so we were not in the room for long. If you have a shared bathroom there is toilet on each floor & one shower on the fourth floor.


100%

The hotel was great and nice, compared to the price, we didnt expect such an excellent service and environment. Very close to the bus station and easy to reach. We spent only one night there and it was a perfect night in Pisa. We would love to come back again if we visit Pisa.


86%

Full of character lovely hotel the only problem was working out the position of key in the old doors We were very impressed and would return if ever returning to Pisa


97%

this is an experience as much as a hotel. the staff were so accommodating, the character of the hotel is great - like stepping back in time with modern amenities - the breakfast huge and varied, the location perfect for both station and tower - really the best place to stay in Pisa.


100%

We had a beautiful stay at the Royal Victoria. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The room we had overlooked the river and was charming. The roof terrace was a welcome oasis. We were 3 weeks in Italy and this was our favourite hotel. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend.


94%

Great simple place to stay. Great value for money

  • 22nd Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The Royal Victoria Hotel is really close to just about everything. The train station is a ten minute walk away. There's a nice plaza just to the left which is apparently the "hang out" spot for everyone at night. The river is located right across the street and at night everyone sits outside and eats ice cream. The only thing is, there is only one shower for the entire hotel, so be aware of that if you need to be somewhere in the morning. Overall, very nice!

  • 20th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A lovely stay, and a great breakfast


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(104 results)


View all Pisa Hotels

Please give us your feedback