Hostelworld.com

Ruca Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
3.1

Worst hostel we've been to. Small dorms, full of beds, barely space to put your bags (without blocking the way).Only 1 bathroom for seven rooms upstairs (and ours alone was 5 people). So I've been waiting for 20 mins to go to the toilet. No Wi-Fi at all during our stay. No warm water, so showering was cold! :( And worst of all it was gross! Most people in the dorm used their sleeping bags, because the sheets were full of stains and hairs. And in the morning the cat was "cleaning" the pots&pans

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
5.4

Unfortunately, Ruca overbooked our reservation and turned us away at 9pm (expected arrival time). They directed us to another hostel for the same price, but that room was booked during the 10 min walk over. We ended up paying 3x more than planned for a single bed in a hotel down the street. Not an enjoyable experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
7.4

Not a bad spot, was only here for two nights so didn't get the full Puerto Varas experience. The upstairs is small, especially the bathroom that's built into a slanted roof. No lockers in the room either, and internet was limited by the number of connections to the router, so if you arrived late you couldn't connect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Jan 2017
6.3

The hostel was ok for a couple nights stay. The beds were so uncomfortable you could feel the slats through the mattress, but other beds had bigger mattresses so maybe we were unlucky with ours. Toilet upstairs didn't flush and kitchen could be cleaner. No lockers but didn't feel unsafe leaving stuff there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Dec 2016
9.1

Great atmosphere in the hostel! Lovely staff who let us use our room early to drop our bags off before we went to the national park. Good sized kitchen with everything you need. Shower hot but the toilet in the upstairs bathroom didn't flush!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
9.1

I was travelling by myself and everyone was so friendly, it felt more like a home than a hostel. Really had a lovely time!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ashleigh1888844
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.7

The staff were super friendly as was everyone staying there, really great atmosphere :) very close to everything and very compfy beds - i even stayed an extra night! Thanks again for my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
6.6

The hostel is good located between the bus terminal and the city centre. The kitchen is well equipped and the beds were clean and really comfortable. Unfortunately there is a cat in the hostel and it peed in the bathtub, which was a bit gross. Furthermore the Hostel owner was really nice to us and did the best he could when we tried to book a tour at 9.30 in the afternoon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.