Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rumblefish Adventure

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff is amazing. I think English is their first language. Very friendly and eager to make our stay as great as possible. Lots of fans in our rooms, great wifi, great location in Kata Beach. Cold water refill for 5 THB. Not a party hostel. The first floor is almost entirely a dive shop. Perfect place for a quiet stay in Phuket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.7

We initially booked for 2 nights then extended our stay here due to really enjoying it. Great value for money, There is 2 separate doors to get to the dorm that are locked through the night. The beach is about a 15 minute walk away and there are plenty of restaurants to chose from, The night market is only a couple of minutes walk. The staff are all lovely and will help with everything they can. Bathroom was okay but could do with a little extra cleaning. Overall I would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate your stay and sharing some time with us. We'll try to see how to make the shared bathroom cleaner, it's quite a task to manage with many dorm guests using it all day. Unfortunately sometime we are not there to clean-up after everyone. Thank you for visiting our little quiet hostel. Dee, Au and the baby :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
10.0

It was a little difficult to find as there's no big sign that says rumblefish adventure/ hostel. However this was the only small detail wrong with the place, the staff are so friendly and have very good English! They're very helpful and we're helping us get taxis back to the airport and letting us stay a few more nights than booked. We had one of the private rooms which were amazing, clean, and had a really nice view of the town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying longer with us, and we hope your trip onward is safe and stress-free. The Rumblefish Hostel team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.9

A clean, quiet hostel in a good location - walking distance to the beach and bars/restaurants, but far enough away for a quiet nights sleep. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English, plenty of activities you can book through them, make sure you book a taxi to the big Buddha as the bus drops you off 6km away at the bottom of the hill! We headed away from the beach onto the main road, plenty of local's places to eat which were brilliant and cheaper than the tourist areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad you chose to stay with us, thank you for taking time to share your experience. Happy and safe travel. The Rumblefish Hostel team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jan 2017
6.6

Pros This is the first hostel I have stayed in since being in Thailand, where they really seem to be making a consistent effort to recycle and to reduce their carbon footprint A fridge provided to buy drinks 10-15 min walk to the beach 5 min walk to the 7/11 and other shops. Spacious dorms Hot shower Balcony in dorm Cons Uncomfortable beds!!! Toilet and shower room doesn't seem to cleaned daily and the floor is always wet. one shower between 2 dorms NO obvious sign when arriving

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you didn't like the bed, unfortunately at 6.55 $US rate per night, we can't change the mattress for every backpacker staying here to suit their demend, though it seemed to be fine for most travelers staying in our shared dorm. The bathroom is shared and used by you and your dorm mates. The bathroom is cleaned twice a day, obviously you were not there when we cleaned as we waited for guests to be done using before cleaning. Since it's a budget backpacker dorm, our staff couldn't wait outside the bathroom to follow every person to mop the floor after they use all day long. I hope you find a hostel in the future that always have 24/7 clean and dry bathroom floor. There is only 1 mixed dorm in our hostel, not sure where you found the other dorm?

5th Jan 2017
6.0

Very basic accommodation, facilities and cleanliness; good enough for one night but then you are required to book at least 2. Location is not bad in the area but Kata beach is not all that great compared to other beaches on the island. Note this is a diving center and not really a hostel: no real common area, no atmosphere at all. The special offers they have for guests as a diving center unfortunately are not good enough to make me stay longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes, we do have a two nights minimum clearly stated on HostelWorld when you booked. And we even stated clearly that the hostel is catered to divers, and very quiet (we prefer it that way) and recommend people looking for parties and non-adventure activities not to book. I guess you didn't read before booking?.. sorry, we won't change our policies for you.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Super spacious room and clean little hostel. It's actually a diving hostel, but we stayed there as the price was so cheap and definitely worth the value. Good facilities, location, and a quiet hostel as expected. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Only downfall was that staff are there only at certain times and we had to leave early (8:30 AM) to the airport and they weren't there to give us our key deposit back. Luckily a girl diving (I think) gave us the money and they paid her back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad you met our Divemaster for the suprised check out early :) we thought you planned to stay longer to enjoy the beach. Thank you for the nice comments, best wishes in the new year.

30th Nov 2016
6.3

The location is good (even if I think Karon is better as any other island than Phuket). You have lockers free coffee and fridge , water for 5 baht. Wifi is not bad .. And people are quite cool. Facilities are a bit old and it is not super super clean but for a few days it is good enough. They change the sheets for each guests which is not the case in others hostels in Asia..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well, as stated clearly that we are a quiet divers' hostel, so during the day, we were not hanging out, as our guests and staff were on boat trips to go diving the awesome top 10 dive sites in the world. Thank you for extending your stay with us. Not sure what is old in our hostel, but I guess we are not newly opened. We cleaned the mixed dorm daily, and bathroom twice daily. I guess for a budget dorm, we expect that the guests clean after themselves also. Couldn't be responsible for every person in a shared dorm. Happy travel to you.

18th Oct 2016
7.1

Checked in with my girlfriend as it was the best value hostel we could find near the beaches. We were greeted by a wonderful Vietnamese man who owned the place and showed us around. Really went out of his way to help, even gave us a map highlighting the cheaper, more authentic places to eat. location is good about 10 minutes from beach and rooms were clean and spacious. We did meet another member of staff the following day, who was rude, arrogant and douchey for no real reason, overall good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Will, thank you for visiting and stay with us. I apologize for the behavior of 1 person that affect our friendly environment. This is not how I expect my employees to behave. Please have a great trip and travel safe. Warm regards, Thien

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.