Hostelworld.com

Russell Scott Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 4.8
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 4.8
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 4.5
Russell Scott Backpackers Located at 47A Well Close Rise, Leeds, Leeds.
Russell Scott Backpackers
England
Leeds West Yorkshire LS7 1HT 47A Well Close Rise, Leeds
53% 155
53.8076329 -1.5446895
Russell Scott Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
2.3

THIS HOSTEL OWES ME MONEY. I had the WORST EXPERIENCE a customer could ever have. IT IS NOT A SAFE PLACE, ESPECIALLY NOT FOR WOMEN. I was initially given a ROOM WITHOUT A LOCK, and the front door also doesn't lock so there was direct access from the street to my room!! I asked to be moved to a room w/ lock, this room cost less but I haven't been reimbursed yet despite being promised and following up 4 times. The hygiene state is deplorable, sheets smelled humid, depressing atmosphere. Horrible!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
3.7

Front door doesn't lock and was wide open upon arrival there is only one key for the dorms which were also left unlocked so not at all secure. It's cheap accommodation but stay here at your own risk.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
4.6

The hostel had a mediocre atmosphere and facilities. I couldn't find how to get a towel or turn on the hot water because the assistant did not understand much English. I was locked out of the dorm because one resident requested a dorm room key and she locked the door, I didn't have one and had to get her up to get in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.1

My roommates are so nice! A good small hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
7.1

The advert made it look a bit more 'polished' than it actually is. But the staff are absolutely wonderful. If you're looking for a friendly, relaxed place without all the bells and whistles, then this is perfect for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2016
4.9

You cannot lock the room's door, there are no locks and no keys, anybody can enter the room. There aren't locks for bags/valuable items. In the morning there were mountain of pillows and douvet on the floor just outside my room door: I had to climb the mountain to get out. The kitchen was a mess.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
10.0

Russell Scott Backpackers is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at, and last summer I traveled around Europe Backpacking staying at various hostels for 2 months. The staff where extremely welcoming, they gave me a free towel and let me off £4 because I didn't have enough cash, and recently Lost my visa card. Lots of Facilities to use, two bathrooms, kitchen, offering free food and drink! The bed was great single room with blackout curtains, overal was an incredible experience loved it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Mar 2016
6.9

Met nice people. Good location but interior is shabby - particularly bathroom. Room very basic - you can't turn off light from bed and duvet is thin ok for summer but not warm enough for March.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
4.6

The staff were fine, but this isn't a hostel. This is a house with bunk beds in it. Makes me question HostelWorld's judgement.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2015
7.4

the hostel was generally good, but the bathrooms need a little improvement.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.