Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Russell Scott Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 217 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 217 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.4
Russell Scott Hostels Located at 28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield, Sheffield.
Russell Scott Hostels
England
Sheffield S6 3JU 28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield
66% 217
53.3908148 -1.4894843
Russell Scott Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
2.0

Fire alarm went off at 5 in the morning due to a leak. The hostel was very unclean and dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
7.4

Good place, a little too far but easy to walk from the city center. Can't complain too much, I'll stay there again. Staff very friendly and besides thenlitchen in the morning and the evenings the hostel its quite clean. Good wifi!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
2.0

They emailed us when we were on the way to stay in the hostel informing us that they had moved us to a budget hotel. When we arrived we found out about this and had to pay extra to stay in this place. Having rung on many occasions to get my deposit back using 10 different numbers we ain't able to get through as once they see the number they don't answer. Awful customer service skills and not recommended

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
5.7

Staff not friendly. My reservation was messed up both nights - I was supposed to be in a female only 6-man dorm. The first night, I was in a double (which admittedly was a nice upgrade) and the second a mixed gender dorm. While I don't really give a damn about the gender make up in the room, it would've been nice to get what I paid for. Absolutely no atmosphere - no common spaces other than small kitchen on the first floor. Super easy to hear people at all hours. Showers could be cleaner, but ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
8.6

Good little hostel, with really good facilities, and great staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
5.4

Atmosphere zero, only common area is the kitchen. Bathrooms and kitchen v dirty, the toilets needed a good brush. Signs in bathrooms say "ask for cleaning materials" suggesting you expect the guests to clean the bathrooms! Facilities below average - no lounge / place to relax in the evening - u can't take a cup of tea to your room so can't relax there either! Peeling paint and water stains on bedroom walls. Dorm 8 v noisy from bathrooms on either side. The woman on reception was really gre

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel, very quiet location. on top of a steep incline, so if that's a problem for anyone then I wouldn't recommend. Lovely staff, clean facilities, some rooms may need updating. lick of paint here and there, some beds are squeaky, could do with a tighten up or an oil. but overall really good for a one nighter

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
7.7

A bit beat up, but clean. Friendly staff, good location. Overall good experience. However, the kitchen would be greatly benefited by the inclusion of a toaster.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
7.4

Nice, if a bit basic; and the lack of a very effective hot shower wasn't great. Still, a good place to lay my head.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • snowy315
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.0

Good value for money. The atmosphere and the general cleanliness was okay. The bin of our room wasn't emptied when we checked in. But bed sheets, pillows, floor etc were all good. Day and night you can hear the footsteps of people walking upstairs, it's alright for us but it is definitely not for light sleeper. The shower wasn't hot and the water pressure wasn't good. We cannot lock from the inside of our private room. They provide lots of food for breakfast choices which was really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.