X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Russell Scott Hostels Reviews

28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield, Sheffield, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
139 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Clean and comfortable hostel, in a nice location, situated just off of bus and tram routes into city centre. Nice kitchen facility with hot drinks 24hours, and free breakfast, and space to eat meals at a dining table. Bedrooms were ok, and could do with a few more facilities, like lockers/cupboards to store luggage securely, free towels provided would have been nice, bedside reading lights needed, aswell as hooks to hang coats, clothes up. Not enough bathrooms,toilets for the number of bedrooms.


66%

The location was a bit out of the way, as I was travelling with no car it was hard to find. The staff have me directions by tram but failed to mention the trams weren't running because of roadworks, so I had to catch a taxi. The wifi wasn't very reliable but was still good considering it was free. Staff were friendly and altogether helpful.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location ok, nice beds, wifi a bit hit and miss but staff willing to help sort it out. Nice breakfast room


83%

Lovely place.


80%

Thanks, I like your hostel!

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff were very helpful and looked after a bag of belongings that I needed to leave with them for collection at a later date which I was able to do. Unfortunately other residents did not pay full respect to the need for cleanliness in the toilet. Staff would do well to leave a notice for visitors that urges them to clean the toilet after use, if necessary.


86%

Definitely deserves more than current rating. For people who drive the location is very good - no problems with parking, traffic officers, congestion etc. Someone wrote in his comment it's in the dodgy area - definitely not true. Very pleasant and good looking kitchen. Hostel itself seems to be above UK standards which are generally average. Room was clean, linen fresh. Internet signal was very good. Recommended.


77%

No laundry facilities at hostel Could make it more desirable as a place to stay if available


66%

I enjoyed a one night stay in this hostel, and it really had everything I needed for that time. It was comfortable and clean. The location is a little out of the way, not too far from the city centre, but in an estate that doesn't feel like the safest of areas, especially when walking through it at night.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Nice building, but very difficult to find.


69%

The outside area was a complete disaster. There was trash and old mattresses next to the staircase leading to the hostel as well as many other things. If the area surrounding the building was cleaned up and decorated it would make the hostel 100 percent better.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

This hostel was really disappointing: The room they offered us was villainous, dirty and moldy. The reception seemed chaotic as well. The staff was really uninformed. He didn’t know anything: he phoned the owner for every question. He didn’t know either how much we had paid in advance, or the prices of the rooms. Its neighbour was scary, the other part of the building was a rookery. It was clear within a few minutes we wouldn’t stay here any moment. In one word: it was unacceptable.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is unfair to review the hostel when you did not literally stay with us. When you checked in you got a call from your friends and wanted to leave and when we told about our refund policy you were upset and left.

57%

The beds smelled odd, and the location wasn't excellent, but the kitchen was spacious and breakfast was free. Considering how cheap it was, you can't really expect much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt that the sheets smelled Odd we do change sheets for every customer and I think the fabric softener the laundry uses might be strong which we will make note off. Sheffield is a small city and we are just 15 minutes from the town center by walk and about less than 10 min by tram and the tram stop is 5 minutes from our hostel.

86%

The staff were super friendly and accommodating! The room was an excellent deal for the price- very comfortable and not at all cramped.


49%

Strange place in a very dodgy corner of Sheffield. Wouldn't go there again


57%

We were expecting breakfast but there were only cornflakes - no milk, bread or other cereal. The toilet roll had run out by the evening.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The bed is quite comfortable, and many students of the local uni stay there, interesting too. But the location is a little far away from the city center.


89%

The German reception guy is very kind and really helpful.

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

very poor hostel. Choose Couchsurfing instead, during DocFest many people are offering their couches to festival goers. Untrained staff, way too many people for 3 toilets, one of them having no light bulb (!). Breakfast? Tesco's cheapest jam, butter and white bread. A good 35min walk from the station. Poor privacy. Depressing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. As you would have read in our previous reviews our friendly staff strive to give our customers the best service they can. we only have 8 rooms for 3 bathrooms and toilets and since we are a hostel so we do not have en suite rooms. Sorry about the bulb but if you had informed us we would have replace immediately. The Tesco jam,butter and white bread are left by guests for other guests to have it free we do not shop in Tesco's as we buy from wholesale suppliers.

46%

This is an okay hostel for somebody who wants to save money. However, there are a couple of drawbacks: The location is very bad. It's in an awful part of the city and the connection to the city center is not the best. The cleanliness is very poor. This is not what you expect from a place where different people live together. Many things should be repaired there. I wouldn't go there again to be honest. The people were very nice though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review however as you know the city center is a 10 min ride for £1.50 by tram and the tram stop is 5 min from the hostel. You would have seen that we have a in house cleaner and we keep the place very clean. The bathrooms are brand new and we have been refurbishing the place. The problem is not all the guests keep the place clean even though we have posters aroung to advice customers to clean the facilities after use.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Sheffield Hostels

Please give us your feedback