X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Russell Scott Hostels Reviews

28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield, Sheffield, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
147 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Though there are no lockers, the reception do be able to look after valuable items (even if I didn't use this service). Tesco and bus stop are just within 5 mins walk. 10 mins travelling time by bus from Sheffield interchange. The most disturbing thing is only that it locates on the hill if you haul a heavy luggage. (So better to take bus 31, 31A or 10 to get there) But there's another advantage that you can see the nightshade from the room on the facade.


71%

The room was quite damp and cold and this resulted in the bedding being damp to sleep in.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a bit out of the way, but the friendly staff make up for that. Beds were comfortable and there was free breakfast, which you could eat whenever in the morning. Was good as I had a couple of early starts. Was a standard hostel, not the best hostel ever, but also far from being the worst! Would stay again if I was in Sheffield.


80%

Decent hostel in a safe working class neighborhood . Pretty much a house that has been converted to a hostel, and for the only hostel in Sheffield, they are doing a pretty good job. The street on the directions is not well marked but if you get off the bus/tram at tescos it will be on the right side if your facing tescos...after that I just asked a few people and sort of found my way there. Once there it's Nice little hostel.


77%

Clean and comfortable hostel, in a nice location, situated just off of bus and tram routes into city centre. Nice kitchen facility with hot drinks 24hours, and free breakfast, and space to eat meals at a dining table. Bedrooms were ok, and could do with a few more facilities, like lockers/cupboards to store luggage securely, free towels provided would have been nice, bedside reading lights needed, aswell as hooks to hang coats, clothes up. Not enough bathrooms,toilets for the number of bedrooms.


66%

The location was a bit out of the way, as I was travelling with no car it was hard to find. The staff have me directions by tram but failed to mention the trams weren't running because of roadworks, so I had to catch a taxi. The wifi wasn't very reliable but was still good considering it was free. Staff were friendly and altogether helpful.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location ok, nice beds, wifi a bit hit and miss but staff willing to help sort it out. Nice breakfast room


91%

Nice spacious hostel, a real breath of fresh air coming from all these cramped hostels in London, to finally have some breathing space, no bunk beds, nice spacious kitchen, big hallways... The location is a bit on the outskirts, but easy to reach by public transport. Big supermarket nearby and a tram + bus to the center. Would stay again if I ever visited Sheffield.


83%

Lovely place.


74%

They were painting the place during my stay so it was a bit uncomfortable, but upstairs the bathrooms were clean and proper all the time. It is a bit hard to find, and a bit harder at night because there's no great lightning, but it's a quiet area.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Thanks, I like your hostel!

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff were very helpful and looked after a bag of belongings that I needed to leave with them for collection at a later date which I was able to do. Unfortunately other residents did not pay full respect to the need for cleanliness in the toilet. Staff would do well to leave a notice for visitors that urges them to clean the toilet after use, if necessary.


86%

Definitely deserves more than current rating. For people who drive the location is very good - no problems with parking, traffic officers, congestion etc. Someone wrote in his comment it's in the dodgy area - definitely not true. Very pleasant and good looking kitchen. Hostel itself seems to be above UK standards which are generally average. Room was clean, linen fresh. Internet signal was very good. Recommended.


77%

No laundry facilities at hostel Could make it more desirable as a place to stay if available


66%

I enjoyed a one night stay in this hostel, and it really had everything I needed for that time. It was comfortable and clean. The location is a little out of the way, not too far from the city centre, but in an estate that doesn't feel like the safest of areas, especially when walking through it at night.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Nice building, but very difficult to find.


69%

The outside area was a complete disaster. There was trash and old mattresses next to the staircase leading to the hostel as well as many other things. If the area surrounding the building was cleaned up and decorated it would make the hostel 100 percent better.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

This hostel was really disappointing: The room they offered us was villainous, dirty and moldy. The reception seemed chaotic as well. The staff was really uninformed. He didn’t know anything: he phoned the owner for every question. He didn’t know either how much we had paid in advance, or the prices of the rooms. Its neighbour was scary, the other part of the building was a rookery. It was clear within a few minutes we wouldn’t stay here any moment. In one word: it was unacceptable.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is unfair to review the hostel when you did not literally stay with us. When you checked in you got a call from your friends and wanted to leave and when we told about our refund policy you were upset and left.

57%

The beds smelled odd, and the location wasn't excellent, but the kitchen was spacious and breakfast was free. Considering how cheap it was, you can't really expect much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt that the sheets smelled Odd we do change sheets for every customer and I think the fabric softener the laundry uses might be strong which we will make note off. Sheffield is a small city and we are just 15 minutes from the town center by walk and about less than 10 min by tram and the tram stop is 5 minutes from our hostel.

86%

The staff were super friendly and accommodating! The room was an excellent deal for the price- very comfortable and not at all cramped.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Sheffield Hostels

Please give us your feedback