X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Russell Scott Hostels Reviews

28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield, Sheffield, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
126 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 50%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The outside area was a complete disaster. There was trash and old mattresses next to the staircase leading to the hostel as well as many other things. If the area surrounding the building was cleaned up and decorated it would make the hostel 100 percent better.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
29%

This hostel was really disappointing: The room they offered us was villainous, dirty and moldy. The reception seemed chaotic as well. The staff was really uninformed. He didn’t know anything: he phoned the owner for every question. He didn’t know either how much we had paid in advance, or the prices of the rooms. Its neighbour was scary, the other part of the building was a rookery. It was clear within a few minutes we wouldn’t stay here any moment. In one word: it was unacceptable.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is unfair to review the hostel when you did not literally stay with us. When you checked in you got a call from your friends and wanted to leave and when we told about our refund policy you were upset and left.

57%

The beds smelled odd, and the location wasn't excellent, but the kitchen was spacious and breakfast was free. Considering how cheap it was, you can't really expect much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt that the sheets smelled Odd we do change sheets for every customer and I think the fabric softener the laundry uses might be strong which we will make note off. Sheffield is a small city and we are just 15 minutes from the town center by walk and about less than 10 min by tram and the tram stop is 5 minutes from our hostel.

86%

The staff were super friendly and accommodating! The room was an excellent deal for the price- very comfortable and not at all cramped.


49%

Strange place in a very dodgy corner of Sheffield. Wouldn't go there again


57%

We were expecting breakfast but there were only cornflakes - no milk, bread or other cereal. The toilet roll had run out by the evening.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The bed is quite comfortable, and many students of the local uni stay there, interesting too. But the location is a little far away from the city center.


89%

The German reception guy is very kind and really helpful.

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

very poor hostel. Choose Couchsurfing instead, during DocFest many people are offering their couches to festival goers. Untrained staff, way too many people for 3 toilets, one of them having no light bulb (!). Breakfast? Tesco's cheapest jam, butter and white bread. A good 35min walk from the station. Poor privacy. Depressing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. As you would have read in our previous reviews our friendly staff strive to give our customers the best service they can. we only have 8 rooms for 3 bathrooms and toilets and since we are a hostel so we do not have en suite rooms. Sorry about the bulb but if you had informed us we would have replace immediately. The Tesco jam,butter and white bread are left by guests for other guests to have it free we do not shop in Tesco's as we buy from wholesale suppliers.

46%

This is an okay hostel for somebody who wants to save money. However, there are a couple of drawbacks: The location is very bad. It's in an awful part of the city and the connection to the city center is not the best. The cleanliness is very poor. This is not what you expect from a place where different people live together. Many things should be repaired there. I wouldn't go there again to be honest. The people were very nice though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review however as you know the city center is a 10 min ride for £1.50 by tram and the tram stop is 5 min from the hostel. You would have seen that we have a in house cleaner and we keep the place very clean. The bathrooms are brand new and we have been refurbishing the place. The problem is not all the guests keep the place clean even though we have posters aroung to advice customers to clean the facilities after use.

66%

There was no one there when I arrived though the front door was unlocked I waited twenty minutes then called the number I had, I man answered and said there'd be someone they shortly. A friendly young guy arrived shortly after, everyone who was staying there was very friendly. It's a short walk to the tram which costs £1.50 to get into the city centre. I felt a bit uneasy about not having a key for the dorm room and the front door always being open but it was cheap and clean enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. sorry you had to wait our staff had to rush to the shops to get some bread and milk for breakfast. We used to give keys for the dorm but people tend to lose it and always argue when we ask them to reimburse however, as explained at the time of check in we have a secure storage room and you can leave your valuables in the reception.

20%

Booking cancelled two days before arrival due to water damage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the review as we explained it was unforeseen circumstance that there was a leak due the continuous bad weather that week and we were not able to fix it on time as we had to work from out side the building and was windy since we did not have any spare room to accommodate you we had to call you before 2 days and cancel. We have offered you a 20% discount for the first night stay when you visit us next and this offer is valid with no time limit. We apologize for the inconvenience.

91%

The only 'negative' and not a particularly strong one is the location. Not easy to find when walking if new to Sheffield, however you're looking at a taxi fare of about £5 - £6 to get there from the train station or town centre.


86%

I had a nice stay at this hostel. Staff incredibly helpful and polite. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and always smelt fresh. The breakfast room was clean and well stocked. The only problem was that the 4 bed female dorm does not have a lock on it so it felt a little unsafe at night. It would be nice if they could put a lock on the door and get 4 keys and give it to the guests. The location was a steep uphill walk but close to a tram station. All in all, good value for money. I recommend it!


71%

the staff is very friendly and kind.

  • 22nd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The internet didn't work, the shower didn't work and the heating didn't work - it was freezing! Quite cheap though!

  • 12th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review it is unfair to state this as we have our boiler working 24 hrs a day and the place was really warm, secondly the wifi works through out the building and as you would have seen we were upgrading one shower and the one was perfectly fine.

57%

Terrible experience. Reservation was cancelled due to some water leak on 2nd floor. Thanks to kind-hearted people in hostel, I didn't end up out on the Sheffield streets in winter time.


80%

The staff was excellent,nothing to complain about.It was a little bit far from the center but the view from the hostel is worth it.


74%

Apart from the location which is very difficult to find and probably like end of the world, all the facilities and service was good. This also caused a little concern for security, but in the end all went well. However, excellent staff.


77%

The staff is so kind and helpful. Er, I think the room is crowded for us. One of the bathrooms upstairs didn't work very well, it had no hot water, but the other one is OK.

  • 10th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Sheffield Hostels

Please give us your feedback