Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Russell Scott Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.0
Russell Scott Hostels Located at 28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield, Sheffield.
Russell Scott Hostels
England
Sheffield S6 3JU 28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield
70% 223
53.3908148 -1.4894843
Russell Scott Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2016
8.3

Decent hostel not far from the main road with buses and trams in or out of the centre.Very good price for a bed.Safe area and shops etc nearby.Stayed in a lot of the hotels around the Hillsborough/west street area for lots more money so can definitely recommend this cheap place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
7.4

Use this hostel fairly regularly when stopping in Sheffield. Location is good and the hostel is good value for money with a large kitchen. Currently undergoing some renovations/decoration.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. The facilities were impeccable. The staff were excellent and with the beautiful kitchen and big tv added to the atmosphere of the place which was brilliant. I couldn't give higher praise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
6.9

It was an OK hostel, quite small with a friendly atmosphere. However, it is far from the city centre, so you have to walk ca. 25 minutes to get anywhere mildly interesting. I paid 15GBP for a night, which is a bit higher than I expected from Sheffield, but this is 1 of 2 hostels in town, so considering that there is virtually no competition, is was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.4

The management could be better, hope there will be less notices of room changes. The safety problem also need to pay attention, for some room only have passwords and some unlocked for the whole day. The location is not bad, there is a Tesco for 8mins walk and a tram station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
2.0

Fire alarm went off at 5 in the morning due to a leak. The hostel was very unclean and dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry for the inconvinence that was caused.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
7.4

Good place, a little too far but easy to walk from the city center. Can't complain too much, I'll stay there again. Staff very friendly and besides thenlitchen in the morning and the evenings the hostel its quite clean. Good wifi!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
2.0

They emailed us when we were on the way to stay in the hostel informing us that they had moved us to a budget hotel. When we arrived we found out about this and had to pay extra to stay in this place. Having rung on many occasions to get my deposit back using 10 different numbers we ain't able to get through as once they see the number they don't answer. Awful customer service skills and not recommended

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
5.7

Staff not friendly. My reservation was messed up both nights - I was supposed to be in a female only 6-man dorm. The first night, I was in a double (which admittedly was a nice upgrade) and the second a mixed gender dorm. While I don't really give a damn about the gender make up in the room, it would've been nice to get what I paid for. Absolutely no atmosphere - no common spaces other than small kitchen on the first floor. Super easy to hear people at all hours. Showers could be cleaner, but ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
8.6

Good little hostel, with really good facilities, and great staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.