Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Russell Scott Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0
Russell Scott Hostels Located at 28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield, Sheffield.
Russell Scott Hostels
England
Sheffield S6 3JU 28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield
69% 238
53.3908148 -1.4894843
Russell Scott Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
8.6

Excellent overall. Helpful staff, and good facilities. Providing linen and self service breakfast much appreciated. It should be noted that the free parking mentioned on the website will tend to take up one of the hostel's neighbour's parking spaces, which is undoubtedly irritating for them. Just down the hill and turn right however were a few unoccupied spaces however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Oct 2016
3.7

Horrible, bleak, dire experience. 2nd worst hostel I've ever stayed at (by a thin margin). Reasons: - way out of town location (tram makes it passable) - not a nice area at all and no amenities worth mentioning nearby - absolutely no atmosphere - passable staff, but far from usual friendly travellers/hostel-types - loud noises and people coming & going & shouting until 3AM - only to start again at 5AM - beds & furniture worn through and threadbare - wifi not working

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Oct 2016
4.3

Terrible. Would never stay again nor would I reccomend it to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel, it's the second time there for me. There was a woman with disruptive behaviour though, but likely she was asked to change room on both occassions

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
9.1

The staff didn't have much English, but completely made up for it with their beautiful attitude and sense of hospitality along with the cleanliness, welcoming and safe feel of the hostel. As an older traveller this is all important to me. The house is old. Its a lovely location but a bit out of the way to get to (once you find the tram its a lot cheaper, but I had to take a taxi from the station which did add 7 quid to the very reasonable rates). Overall I would go their again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.9

I really really liked hostel. It was clean and the beds were comfy and it wasn't loud at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
8.3

Decent hostel not far from the main road with buses and trams in or out of the centre.Very good price for a bed.Safe area and shops etc nearby.Stayed in a lot of the hotels around the Hillsborough/west street area for lots more money so can definitely recommend this cheap place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
7.4

Use this hostel fairly regularly when stopping in Sheffield. Location is good and the hostel is good value for money with a large kitchen. Currently undergoing some renovations/decoration.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. The facilities were impeccable. The staff were excellent and with the beautiful kitchen and big tv added to the atmosphere of the place which was brilliant. I couldn't give higher praise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
6.9

It was an OK hostel, quite small with a friendly atmosphere. However, it is far from the city centre, so you have to walk ca. 25 minutes to get anywhere mildly interesting. I paid 15GBP for a night, which is a bit higher than I expected from Sheffield, but this is 1 of 2 hostels in town, so considering that there is virtually no competition, is was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.