X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa Reviews

1-30-10, Asakusa, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
112 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent location with excellent atmosphere. Helpful and kind staff. It has an elevator,too. Many restaurants, conbini stores, shops around the hotel.


100%

Would stay here again for just the staff! They are very welcomming and friendly, even if you don't speak japanese. They will help you beyond expectations if you just ask. The rooms are cleaned daily (thoroughly, but they will leave your stuff alone). Free access to a decent sized japanese bath that you have to try! There is also a good wifi connection available and is right next to asakusa center, which has lots of shops. Will definitly stay here again if i'm ever in tokyo again.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

This hotel was spectacular. I can't rate it high enough. The room was a beautiful and spacious traditional Japanese tatami room. The staff was friendly and some spoke good English. There is an ofuro (hot bath) open for all guests staying there, though you can lock the door if you don't feel comfortable sharing. The location is perfect. Its steps away from Kaminarimon and less than 5 minutes from the subway. This charming hotel stole our hearts. We loved it so much we stayed an extra night.


100%

The Ryokan Kamagawa is in an excellent location, the staff were all great and most spoke some English up to very good. I would recommend it as a great place to stay and will return in the future.

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Just take few steps and you can reach hottest spot--kaminarimon.Excellent location without noise at night. Staff are very kind and english-friendly:) Although price a little bit high for me, overall i was satisfied my stay there. Worth recommending.

  • 31st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


87%

Great hotel, but the only reason we booked it was because there was a twin private available for only 1300 yen. Upon arrival, however, the hotel manager told us that was a typo - there was a 0 missing - and we had to pay 13000 yen. He refused to let us pay the agreed price, even though our reservation confirmation was very clear. Since we didnt have anywhere else to go we just paid and stayed, but false advertising just isnt correct. Hostelworld.com and/or the hotel are responsible for that.


83%

There is a curfew of 11:30, so this probably isn't the best choice if you plan to be out late partying. The room was very small (our futons took up nearly the entire room, and there was no storage place for them). There is internet in the rooms, but it is via Ethernet, so keep that in mind in case you are relying on a smartphone or tablet for internet access. The rooms were very clean and the location was very convenient for accessing the metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your staying and review. We have a curfew, but if you are going to go out later than that time, we can tell you a password for back door's key. Therefore we would like to know your plan. Please feel free to ask us. Thanks to your review, now, we are equipped with Wi-Fi. It becomes available at every room on all floor from last December, so that you can use your smartphone or tablet in your room. We hope we can make better staying at our hotel. Thank you.

90%

Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa was nice because you are really in Asakusa amongst the temples etc, not far from the metro and you can have some nice walks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your staying and review. We hope we can help everyone to have some better walks around Asakusa with our service.

73%

Great location. Step outside of the hostel and you are in the souvenir market and heading towards sensoji temple.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are hoping you spent wonderful time in Japan. And welcome your coming at any time. Cheers

80%

the bathrooms are really very small

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry for the small bathrooms. Our Ryokan is not big and has limited place for bathroom. I have to say it is difficult to improve in a short time. Instead of that, our ryokan located in the center of the tokyo city and very convinient to go to anywhere, and we supply the room in low price in this area. We are so appreciate for your understanding. By the way, we have a very big Japanese style bathroom for family, you are welcome to try it. Thank you for your feedback.

53%

I had booked a double ensuite room for my parents and upon arrival they were told it was gone. They only had a double with shared bathroom left but the lock on that was broken, so they had to wait around for a while before they could enter the room. Also, the place wasn't very clean. Considering the quality of cheaper hostels they certainly expected a higher standard after paying 10000 yen a night. They were very dissapointed and certainly would not recommend this Ryokan.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry to have made you feel so unconfortable. We had to inform you that all double rooms were already occupied. We apologize to you for our failure. And we are sorry to have troubled you because of the lock accident. We will improve the facility and the service of staffs.

90%

We really enjoyed your Ryokan and the staff in particular. Great place to visit. Greetings from Mike, Rotterdam The Netherlands

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you were enjoyed your stay at our Ryokan.

97%

We went to several places in Tokyo, and this was one of the best ! The public bath is just great, and you can use it privately ! perfect for couples... + the location is just great !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Asakusa is one of the most important places to visit when you come to Japan. And we recommend you that you should stay in Ryokan if you are in Asakusa.

90%

Not for the partyfreaks but perfect if you want to experience a ryokan. The staff is very kind and the rooms are beautiful. The yukata, green tea (they bring you a cooker / thermos with hot water that) is a very warm welcome. Highly recommended. Do make a printout in advance with the adress. Then it is easy to find.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Many guests are intereted in yukata. Wearing yukata, you will be enjoyed japanese styale life. Try it when you come to our Ryokan!

80%

Very nice and quiet hotel, not aimed at young party people. The locations is great and the staff very nice and helpful and the free breakfast was good too. The only complaint I have is that the rooms were a bit badly insulated. I stayed a quiet time (January) so it did not really bother me but if the hotel is fully booked I think it might have.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry for having made you feel uncomfortable because of room's bad insulation. We will make an effort to improve comfort of rooms.

90%

Lovely and homely ryokan situated in a touristy yet community-based area. Very accessible by subway, and great base to explore the neighbourhoods.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment! Asakusa is one of the most interesting place in Tokyo. And our ryokan is situated at the best place in Asakusa. We are hoping to see you again.

100%

The location was brilliant, staff friendly and extremely helpful and the room was very clean. I can't stress just how good the staff were and would recommend this place to anyone. Brilliant place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying and sending a kind comment! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Ryokan. Hoping to see you again!

97%

Excellent ryokan we stayed in Tokyo. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast each morning was really good. They were even nice enough to mind our luggage bag while we travelled to osaka. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your staying. We are glad to hear that you have been content with our ryokan. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

73%

this cute little ryokan is hidden on the inner streets before you hit the Senso-ji temple. it is in a great location as it is close to the train. i would be hesitant to stay again because the crowd is older and the stores are not as \"trendy\" as some other districts. when it gets dark, it feels a little scary because most of the stores close early. i would recommend this place for older couples


80%

A very good ryokan not expansive. I loved the bath and it s really near Sensoji temple (oldest Tokyo temple). Internet free, breakfast inclued. I was in a single room. It s smell a lot of I don t know what but not a good one...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your mail. Wa are very sorry to have been made you feel unconfortable by smell. We are careful to never cause such a situation future enough. Thank you for your comment.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(97 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback