Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Located at 62 Jalan Muntri, Georgetown, Penang.
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Malaysia
Penang 10200 62 Jalan Muntri, Georgetown
92% 516
5.4200881 100.3356751
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jan 2017
9.7

We had a fantastic experience staying at Ryokan! The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable, and definitely helped us understand what to do and see. The location is fantastic for visiting Little India and the UNESCO core zone. It's also close to Love lane which has a lot of cheap bars. Also the breakfast had a good variety and was very yummy! Another plus is that each bed has its own light and outlet with two plugs and two USB ports, great for charging your phone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel. Can't recommend enough. Very clean, perfect location and very safe and secure. Loved my stay here. Wish I could've stayed longer. Mac and all other staff were extremely helpful. Free breakfast was a great bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
10.0

The BEST hostel I have ever stayed in. Rain showers, unique breakfasts, charismatic staff, and interesting travelers from all over the world created a wonderful experience for me at Ryokan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.6

Lovely new hostel in old Georgetown. The dorm rooms are small but have large lockers you can fit a decent-sized bag into. The beds are comfortable, however, I found blood on my sheets when I arrived - beware the bed bug! Bathrooms are nice. There are too few showers for the number of guests and I had to queue on occasion. The breakfast is great - really excellent coffee - and the staff more than happy to help with any problems. I enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Justdandeh
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

I have been traveling for 3 months and this is the best hostel I stayed at. It was really easy to make friends. The breakfasts every morning set the tone for a great day. Mac is amazing! If you go to this hostel you'll get to chill with him then you will know what I'm talking about. Location is perfect. It really feels comfortable like home but adventures like a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

The hostel is super clean and beds confortable. Mac was great recommending places to go. Saying that the rooms are EXTREMELY small. It was hard with 4 people and 4 backpacks. We did have a power socket but no lights in each bed as in other rooms making it hard to do anything while people were sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
10.0

This place was great. Staff was super friendly and helpful, the place was really clean and I never needed to wait for the bathroom. Wifi was also really good, and the people I was in the room with didn't keep the air conditioning on all night so didn't run into the freezing situation. The location is also great, a quiet street but not creepy, and there's a cute cat cafe down the block. I stayed there for 2 nights and would recommend anyone to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
7.4

The dorms are nice and the entire hostel is very clean. The staff are super amazing especially Mac. But not many common areas to hang out and the overall social vice is a bit low. Also, the showers and the washrooms can be better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.6

It's a good hostel forvthe backpackers as there are just essential things for the accommodation. The room was quite small, but there no problem to sleep in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.9

Once we had arrived and checked in.. Three hours later we found out we had been placed into the wrong room as a current guest came back in screaming and shouting that my friend was in his bed. The staff had accidentally cleaned out the wrong room. Once we were placed in the correct room, everything was great. The wifi was good, beds clean, air con working (although it made us both ill) and plenty of space. They also put on a good breakfast and had the football on downstairs over the weekend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.