Hostelworld.com

Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location. Helpful staff. Clean premises constantly maintained. Rooms fairly small could use bed screens for privacy. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
8.0

Answered my emails prior to arrival, good location. Mac was very friendly. Rooms are loud; hallway is carpeted but you can hear people stomping above you during the night making the lockers rattle. Front staff assured me there would be no problems with the laundry service, but many items can back shrunken and they got bleach on a pair of shorts, staff said there was nothing they could do. Two nights were enough, found another place the last night there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Almost everything was fantastic! Wifi strength was poor and there were no 24 hour cookies as promised, but the security, cleanliness, staff, etc. made up for that. The bathrooms and showers were especially nice. The free breakfast changes from day to day and was tasty and filling. Key fobs plus room keys and lockers made for a very secure feeling, though the area feels relatively safe anyway. The location in Georgetown is wonderful and there are many places to eat, drink, and explore nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.6

Central location, fine facilities, nice free breakfast (although I wish it was available until 11, not 10), it was pretty quiet when I stayed there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
8.6

Really big, nice, clean hostel in a great locations. The bathroom stalls on the dorm floors only had toilet paper outside the stalls, and nobody was social in this hostel. Otherwise it was a great and comfortable stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed in all over SE Asia. Mac runs the show and he's the man. Can help with day trips, but also just a friendly guy to chat with and is willing to go out of his way to make everyone feel comfortable. Place is super clean, including the bathrooms. Breakfast is amazing as well. I don't often leave reviews, but I was really impressed here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Thanks Ryokan for good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jan 2017
9.1

Pros: Staff are very nice, patiently explain everything about the key/deposit/towels. Breakfast is beyond our expectation, toast, noodle, sausage... we stayed in double bed rooms, it's in an isolated area, quiet and safe. There is a big screen TV in common room, sitting on the couch and watch TV, chat with other travelers. Cons: The 1st night, there was no hot water for shower. The boss did concern this problem and pushed his staff in late night to get it fixed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

This hostel is perfect for backpackers in an ideal location in the middle of Georgetown. Mac at reception is great and always happy to help point you in the direction.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.3

Ryokan was a really nice place to stay - though I never saw any free cookies! The breakfasts were a fantastic morning mystery that left us wondering each evening what the next day would bring! After being attacked by mosquitoes in our room, the staff kindly gave us some insect repellent to spray around. The socially spade is quite small and there wasn't really much of an atmosphere so I wouldn't particularly recommend this place to lone travellers or somebody looking for a party hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.