Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 541 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

Great place! Comfy beds, clean loos and showers. Good breakfast (though I'd love it if it ran until 11am instead of 10). Really sociable, met lots of other travellers and had some good craic in the evening drinking beer from a cheap place round the corner. Good location. The only improvement would be selling tea/coffee more snacks at the bar. Staff were really helpful. Laundry is done very quickly and and well and they can book onward transport for you. Had such a good stay - thanks Ryokan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
8.9

Overall, very good experience. More could have been done to encourage a fun atmosphere, and wifi a bit spotty. Other than that, very clean facilities, towel provided, lots of common spaces, and friendly staff. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Fantastic place - very clean, good location, properly working facilities, safe. Only feedback would be to head down for breakfast early cause they start to run out of food after 9am. Would definitely recommend this for anyone travelling to Penang!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location. Helpful staff. Clean premises constantly maintained. Rooms fairly small could use bed screens for privacy. Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
8.0

Answered my emails prior to arrival, good location. Mac was very friendly. Rooms are loud; hallway is carpeted but you can hear people stomping above you during the night making the lockers rattle. Front staff assured me there would be no problems with the laundry service, but many items can back shrunken and they got bleach on a pair of shorts, staff said there was nothing they could do. Two nights were enough, found another place the last night there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Almost everything was fantastic! Wifi strength was poor and there were no 24 hour cookies as promised, but the security, cleanliness, staff, etc. made up for that. The bathrooms and showers were especially nice. The free breakfast changes from day to day and was tasty and filling. Key fobs plus room keys and lockers made for a very secure feeling, though the area feels relatively safe anyway. The location in Georgetown is wonderful and there are many places to eat, drink, and explore nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.6

Central location, fine facilities, nice free breakfast (although I wish it was available until 11, not 10), it was pretty quiet when I stayed there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
8.6

Really big, nice, clean hostel in a great locations. The bathroom stalls on the dorm floors only had toilet paper outside the stalls, and nobody was social in this hostel. Otherwise it was a great and comfortable stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed in all over SE Asia. Mac runs the show and he's the man. Can help with day trips, but also just a friendly guy to chat with and is willing to go out of his way to make everyone feel comfortable. Place is super clean, including the bathrooms. Breakfast is amazing as well. I don't often leave reviews, but I was really impressed here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Thanks Ryokan for good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.