Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
8.9

super clean , nice people in the reception. bit expensive compared to the other hostels in that area, staff looks like they are overworked and underpaid ( one guy sleeps in the kitchen area at night on a matress) which is basically right next to reception , kind of noisy / bad insolated between the rooms , overall not what i was expecting , only spent one night there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
10.0

I had stayed in 3 hostels in Singapore and Malaysia before getting to Penang and staying here. Just fantastic - well run. Breakfast actually means Breakfast i.e. they dont just put out bread with spread and call it breakfast. You can get your laundry done here too and to top it all off - they have a jar with free cookies. Cannot recommend it enough. Only negative is they make you take your shoes off but thats just asia I guess :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th May 2017
8.9

Perfect location, right next to food court Red Garden and short walk to the tour of street art. Breakfast okay. Well decorated and toilets clean. Big lockers. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
6.3

I would not recommend this place. The location is good and it's clean but that's about it. The beds are wrapped in foil and the AC is blowing right on the beds, which made me alter between freezing and sweating. Thanks to that I'm having a quite bad cold now. As everything is made of cheap metal, the rooms are very noisy too. The breakfast includes more than just the usual toast but the days I was there it wasn't tasty. The staff was indifferent and the place didn't have a friendly vibe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
10.0

Really nicr hostel with an excellent price. Breakfast is pretty good and personal is very friendly. I totally recommend this place. If I have to say something bad it can be little bit noisy when people walk around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th May 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel about a 10 minute walk from the ferry. Close to lots of cool bars and restaurants. Beds were comfy, lockers really big, showers were good and the aircon worked a dream. Not much atmosphere around the place but I would stay here again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.6

The hostel is quiet. It is close to the city centre and the staff is helpful. There are not many people during my stay, so the toilet area is kept clean. It is good that clean towels are provided. The location of the hostel is close to a food centre, so finding food is not a problem. However, the blanket is very thin, and the pillow is quite stiff. The AC is blowing into my feet and it feels colder at night despite the temperature settings. Overall it was a nice stay at Ryokan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th May 2017
9.1

Had a great stay here for two nights. The only issue I had was that in the 6bed dorm i stayed in there were no privacy curtains on the beds - so maybe something to consider! Apart from that, definitely worth a stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th May 2017
8.9

clean hostel, great location, friendly staff. big downside, however, is how incredibly noisy it was. the walls are very thin, every time someone walks down the hallway my bed was shaking. to be fair, there was two extremely noisy groups staying at the hostel. there's "shhhh please be quiet" flyers hanging all over the hostel, but it seems no on cared. If I was to go to Penang again, I'd look for a more quiet place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
6th May 2017
8.3

A nice hostel with good breakfast and perfect location. Unfortunately there is zero atmosphere and it is very hard to socialize.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.