Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 581 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 581 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • JamieGordon89
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.9

Good security, very clean and nice staff. Not much of an atmosphere though...... Good location next to all the bars

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.4

Can't say much as i was only there for a quick overnight stay. Staff were fine and it was really big. Nice and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

The good: great location, helpful staff, decent breakfast. The bad: rooms have no windows!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
8.6

The internet was horrendous - sooooooo slow. It was extremely frustrating waiting all time. Everything else was good. Breakfast included!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels we've stayed at in South East Asia. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast included. We would definitely stay again next time we were in Penang!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.4

Ryokan is a really cool hostel! The breakfast was a little bit different each morning and they actually give you options other than toast. Helpful staff and good location. The atmosphere is a little lacking. I would definitely go back here though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
8.9

Enjoyed my stay here. Super clean and safe hostel, small lounge area to meet people in but not a party hostel. Served roti canai for breakfast on my first day so 10/10 breakfast for me (toast and ham also available).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
7.7

Nice place to stay, but really not near anything. It is basically in the middle of Georgetown. If you like temples, there are several of them. If you like beaches, you are far from them. The facility is clean and the double room was quite nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.4

Really comfy quiet and big bunks, realty small room though. Great Inc breakfast, quiet place in a decent location. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

Great place! Comfy beds, clean loos and showers. Good breakfast (though I'd love it if it ran until 11am instead of 10). Really sociable, met lots of other travellers and had some good craic in the evening drinking beer from a cheap place round the corner. Good location. The only improvement would be selling tea/coffee more snacks at the bar. Staff were really helpful. Laundry is done very quickly and and well and they can book onward transport for you. Had such a good stay - thanks Ryokan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.