Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Located at 62 Jalan Muntri, Georgetown, Penang.
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Malaysia
Penang 10200 62 Jalan Muntri, Georgetown
93% 367
5.4200881 100.3356751
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.7

The staff were so friendly and helpful, they are very knowledgeable and helped us with all of our bookings for transfers, directions and suggestions of what to do! The location was great and the place is massive, with plenty of space to chill out. Rooms are a decent size and well air conditioned. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel - good location, really clean, very helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
7.4

Great location although the lockers in rooms are unattached to wall and loud therefore you don't want to use. Also, walls are very thin so you hear neighbors as well as downstairs what's going on there. Great breakfast but for the price, would consider going elsewhere...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
10.0

Nice hostel, with proper rooms and very nice staff. Definitely would return. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.1

Pretty nice place, but was a little too loud some evenings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
8.6

This is really nice place. It has amazing beds and bathrooms. That being said it doesn't have much atmosphere... I don't think they want people staying more than a few days either, but they do like to make a good impression for reviews and I won't complain too much because Ryokan had the best showers I've used in Asia.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for the review and noted on the Atmosphere part. We are cracking our heads on how we could improve the Atmosphere factor and it is people like yourself whom we need to listen to as you have stayed at other places. Perhaps you could give us some ideas on what we could do. you can email us at enquiries@ryokanmuntri.com to give us some ideas if you don't mind. Fred

2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel on the whole. Modern with great showers, dorms, and eating area. Only complaint is lack of common area for lounging and interacting with other guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Jun 2016
8.6

Great chilled place to stay. Perfect location. No qualms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review .... we are on a mission to improve our hostel atmosphere. Fred

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
9.7

We loved Ryokan so much we came back a second time. Perfect location, super friendly staff, air conditioned rooms and VERY clean. They can organise transfers all over Malaysia and also to Thailand. Very well situated in regards to night hawker markets and lovely Love Lane. Hire a bike and Penang will be your oyster!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wonderful to see your review and thank you for staying with us the second time. Please recommend to your travelling friends .... Thanks, Fred

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jun 2016
7.4

Room 202 had a musty and damp smell, otherwise all were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thank you for your review. The musty smell has been dealt with. Thank you for letting us know. Thanks, Fred

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.