Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ryokan Sanki

  • Shimabara Nishi-Shinyashiki-Shimono-cho, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
Ryokan Sanki Located at Shimabara Nishi-Shinyashiki-Shimono-cho, , Kyoto.
Ryokan Sanki
Japan
Kyoto 600-8829 Shimabara Nishi-Shinyashiki-Shimono-cho
94% 119
34.9926853 135.7436960
Ryokan Sanki
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Nov 2016
10.0

Terrific location near to the station and right in the middle of Shimabara, the old the designated courtesans' district and later also a geisha district, which is now a quiet neighborhood of households with hidden traces of its pass. The rooms and facilities are clean and well organized by the wonderful host lady. Sento (traditional public bath), nice cafés and small restaurants can be found nearby. Really recommend it for people who want to blend into the daily life rhythm of Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.6

Ryokan sanki is in the original entertainment district of Kyoto, which is now a fairly quiet residential neighborhood. My room was clean and comfortable. Very traditional, and the lady who runs it was very welcoming and helpful, but has limited English. There's a 'heritage listed' entertainment house across the street, which was absolutely delightful to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
9.1

Loved this place and the owner was very friendly and helpful despite speaking minimal English. My only criticism is the stairways which are very steep and difficult to negotiate with heavy luggage. Otherwise, great! There is a bar across the road owned by a young Japanese man who has an American wife - great place to relax. There is a great okonomiyaki restaurant a few hundred meters away (ask the bar owner for directions).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
9.4

a nice quite neighborhood "mom and pop" bed and bath place - good value for Kyoto

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
8.9

Quaint ryokan with very friendly host with limited English. We enjoyed our stay and it was close to a JR station making it a breeze to get to larger stations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.6

The host is a cute old lady who is super friendly even dough she doesn't speak a lot of english. The room was a typical Japanese room, but we slept ok. Bathroom and toilet are shared. At the time we were staying in the ryokan, we were the only visitors, so we had no waiting issues. The ryokan is near a station and situated in a typical Japanese neighbourhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

LOVED IT! The lady who runs the place is beautiful and sweet. The house is so lovely, you really feel like you're entering the real old Japan when you step through the door. The rooms are exactly what you'd expect from traditional Japanese accommodation, basic but everything exactly as it should be. The area around the Ryokan is very traditional old Japanese so again, you feel like you're a million miles away from home which is what you want when you book a Japanese hotel in old town Japan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.3

We enjoyed the stay at sanki and the welcome was lovely. Quite a long walk from Kyoto station but found local station only a short 5min walk and trains to anywhere. Not great shopping area but supermarket nearby and some restaurants for a good choice. Room was quite large and comfortable. only one bathroom but was not too busy so never had to wait.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.