Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 319 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 319 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
9.1

Loved my stay at this hostel that is tucked away in the mountains of Nikko! If you are looking for a perfect hostel that has a supportive staff to help you through finding hiking treks this if for you. We enjoyed hiking for two days, and every day upon getting back the owner was patient in getting us back to the hostel and preparing us delicious meals. The food is fresh and all recipes are made by the owner ~ definitely recommend savoring his meals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • asiti
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
10.0

Couldnt recommend this hostel enough! Scout is the best host anyone could ask for, and definitely knows how to cook up a feast! Very chilled yet very social vibes in the hostel, i will definitely be heading back to Space next time im in Nikko!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Best place I've ever stayed. The location is stunning, like incredibly stunning. Perfect house, great breakfast and a surprise is in store when you see the shower room! I need to go back ASAP It's great that they drive you places as long as it's in the designated time slots and the common areas are so chilled and lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Jun 2017
10.0

This was a nice hostel located on the water. The food provided was not what I expected at all - it was really delicious! I met some lovely people during my stay here. I advise you stay for 3 nights, that way you can see the shrines one day and enjoy the shops, and go hiking the next day - the owner was really accommodating and had many tips for hiking and exploring Nikkō. The premises were super clean and felt like I was at home. I'd really love to come back here again and stay longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
8.0

This hostel is located along a stunning river. It's got great views all around. The staff offers pickups and drop off plus meals which are a necessity considering how far away from everything you are. I was torn with my stay here. On he one hand a can't beat location with one staffer trying his best but clearly disgruntled or being closed to the tourist center in perhaps a not as great stay. If you do stay here make sure to have company and bring food. It's can get lonely and no stores around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Most of the time the hostel is a great place to meet and socialize. There is a the common room upstairs and the open air lounge outside has a music sound system, Apple TV, 150inch projector screen, BBQ and drinks for sale. There are several swimming tubes, snorkels for the beach and swimming area directly in front. Most of the reviews specifically mention the great atmosphere and social aspects of the hostel. Yes, it is quieter during the rainy season from the end of May until the end of June. The hostel was closed 3 straight weeks last year because of this. It isn’t unusual to have only 5 people stay like this guest’s 1st night and have no one check in the 2nd night since it was closed for a few days after; such is life during the rainy season in May/June. There is a delicious Japanese restaurant 4km downstream that delivers or you can rent a bike and have lunch and dinner there. They also have a “convenient store” attached to their restaurant. On weekends there is also a cafe open 600m upstream. I cook because I am good at it, enjoy it and want to give guests healthy delicious options. A healthy complete western breakfast is included. Backpackers are active people and need a hearty meal to start their days. At the hostel, lunch and dinner are available to provide healthy meals like the vegan vegetable soup and New York pizza with lots of vegetables. Guests can also cook in the guest kitchen and store food in the guest fridge. This particular reviewer only met the owner. They did not meet the front desk staff, 2nd driver or cleaner because during the quieter raining season it is not necessary to hire anyone else.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
26th May 2017
8.6

We purposely chose space based on the reviews and we're glad we did. While the location might feel out of the way the experience was fantastic, We were right on the river and the breakfast really does live up to the reviews, Scout really should make more of this on the site. The communal area was ideal for bringing travellers together and we imagine summers there would be epic sat outside having bbq. Don't let reviews of the facilities put you off, nothing beats showering watching the river.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
9.4

Really a super place to stay. Scout is a lovely host, making sure you get all the info you need for enjoying both the tourist spots and the different hikes that are available in Nikko. He picks you up at the station and cooks a really good dinner/breakfast. I would recommend staying for a minimum of 2 nights if not more. The hostell itself is located right with the river so you can enjoy some soul searching. It is serene and beautiful. If I go back to Nikko this hostell is my choice :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sboudjenah3105
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th May 2017
10.0

11/10 Amazing location,Amazing Hostel,Amazing Host,Highly recommended! Scout will make you feel at ease and will give you tips and advice and will serve you one the best breakfasts you will find in Japan! without mentioning the surreal nature around. TIP:" book a minimum of one week in this place"

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
10.0

So glad I booked this place over the hostels closer to downtown Nikko. Amazing location right on the river. Really cool outdoor open space overlooking the river that created a fun atmosphere at night with the other guests. Scout does everything he can to make sure you have an awesome stay including transportation in/out of town, great advice to take advantage of the hikes and history Nikko has to offer and can't forget the awesome breakfasts every morning. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.6

The hostel is great, good and clean facilities and great atmosphere. It's quite far from Nikko though, and you are 100% dependent on Scout, which is a great guy, but has to work on many different fronts at the same time. Thus, if you like being independent and defining your own schedule this may not be the place for you...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

in the mornings, a 2nd driver is always available. While you were here, your morning schedule fit with others, so there was no need to call the 2nd driver. If you are referring to "return from hiking/sightseeing" pickup up times in the tourist area, it is true... they are fixed at 4:30, 6:30 and 9pm which matches the check-in times for new arrivals. I am sorry you were not more happy with your stay and found the location less than perfect. This location is WHY the hostel is here, it is the most beautiful location for a hostel in Nikko.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.