Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.3
SPACE riverhouse hostel Located at Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko, Nikko.
SPACE riverhouse hostel
Japan
Nikko Tochigi 321-1353 Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko
93% 291
36.6464885 139.6494054
SPACE riverhouse hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Nov 2016
10.0

awesome place- don't let the distance from Nikko deter you, Scout makes it easy to get back and forth and the beautiful location is well worth it! The hostel building itself is really cool too- an old onsen with all the traditional tatami mats and sliding doors. The common room is great and a good place to meet other people/hiking buddies. It was beautiful in the fall with all the colors but I would love to come back in the summer when we could swim in the river! Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was awesome. The picturesque location by the river really was a world apart from the bustle of Tokyo, and a refreshing retreat from the hordes of tourists crowding the world heritage area. I had a cool time hanging out with everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.1

Really lovely place, is a bit far out but the shuttle service is brilliant so isn't a bother. Would recommend as a solo female traveller, is a mixed dorm but the atmosphere is very relaxed and you get to know your dorm mates. Breakfasts were really good and lots of it! Scout makes sure you've got evening food or a plan for food and is very happy to take you to the near by restaurant. Security could be a bit better as there was no lock on the showers and the front door wasn't locked at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
10.0

Awesome place!! Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
6.0

The most beautiful location I have seen a Hostel in. The building itself needs a lot of work. The pick up/drop off service is great but if a time is agreed that doesn't suit you then you are basically screwed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2016
10.0

I wish I could rate "Staff" higher! Scout does an excellent job at running this special place and goes out of his way to make sure that folks enjoy their stay in Nikko. I don't know how he does it with so few vacation days for himself! During my stay people's schedules sync'd up naturally due to the way Scout runs the guesthouse. Everyone ate breakfast (hot, delicious, and included in the price!) together, then Scout would drive folks into town and pick them up after their day. Thanks, Scout!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
10.0

Scout is the man! Location is prime. Don't close your eyes! Driving to the property is an adventure in itself. Nikko is one of my favorite places in Japan, and staying here definitely contributes to that. Amazing views when you wake up in the morning. Came in fall, so it can be a bit cold when showering, but will definitely try to come back in Spring or Summer. Can't say enough about Scout. SPACE Riverhouse is the only way to experience Nikko!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Oct 2016
10.0

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Wonderful staff, stunning location, incredible breakfast, and great atmosphere. I can't recommend this place enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zuzanka286
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
10.0

We had a very nice time at the Riverhouse and would love to come back again. The shuttle bus services are very good and Scott was very helpful even though he is crazy busy most of the time. The food provided is very good and you get large portions so you won't go hungry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Oct 2016
9.1

The owner, Scout, makes fantastic soup and pizza. The location is approximately half-an-hour'a journey from the Nikko train station, however, the secluded location also meant that it is far from town centre and a very quiet place in the night. When the skies are clear, We had fun identifying the different constellations and spotting shooting stars. In the morning, swimming in the river is a great way to freshen yourself up. You can do a quick shower in the two large bathrooms after that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.