Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.9
SPACE riverhouse hostel Located at Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko, Nikko.
SPACE riverhouse hostel
Japan
Nikko Tochigi 321-1353 Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko
98% 267
36.6464885 139.6494054
SPACE riverhouse hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

I had a really wonderful weekend when I stayed at SPACE Riverhouse. Scout worked very hard to make sure each of his guests were taken care of and he makes the most delicious NY pizza and veggie soup (definitely try them during your stay). He is very knowledgeable of the area and will make recommendations on how to best approach your stay in Nikko. If you're someone who likes being close to nature and being away from the buzz of all the touristic attractions, this will be the perfect place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
10.0

The location next to the river is breathtaking, hearing the river whilst falling asleep and eating breakfast right next to it. how will I go back to city life? And talking about breakfast, let me just say- Scout can cook! Wow.The breakfast. The place is far from Nikko station but no worries! Scout is super accomadating with driving the guests to and from the hostel and he's a very cool guy and very willing to help and give advice The stay was a highlight and would definitely stay again S.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Hands down, by far and away the best place I have ever stayed, that's including hotels, hostels, whatever you like. I find it hard to believe you could find an experience like this anywhere else. Hard to sum up in 500 characters but between the stunning location, the wonderfully chilled atmosphere of the whole place and the frankly mind-blowing breakfasts I can only give this the most glowing of recommendations. Simply amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • doyouwannadance
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.7

This place was awesome! I almost didn't book it because it's just a little over my budget, but I'm glad I did because it was so worth the cost. Sat right next to a beautiful river outside nikko, transfer service to and from the station every day, delicious breakfasts included (waaaaay better than your typical hostel breakfast), and Scout (who runs the place) will even make you dinner if requested (at a fair price). Gorgeous hostel with a great outdoor common room, worth every penny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 56 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

STAY HERE!! Don't be put off about it being far from town, that's what makes this place so special. It's in the middle of the forest right on a beautiful river. Scout is an amazing host and runs the place on his own. He makes an incredible breakfast every morning and does an awesome job to cater to dietary requirements. He also does several drop offs and pick ups throughout the day in town. And has a great range of maps for hiking in Nikko. This place was awesome!! I will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
8.9

Very inspiring hostel in a nice location near the river. You can see the water while taking breakfast and hear it from the dorm, very relaxing. Scout knows all about hike possibities, can recommend diferent options and takes you to the bus stop. Definitely a good place to spend several days! Rosa, Spain

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.7

Best hostel I've stayed in in Japan and I've been to a fair few. It's located in a lovely spot, next to a river with great swimming. The owner picks you up and drops you off, just call him, no problem. Hostel has loads of space and character, doesn't feel clinical but for me, that's the point. Lovely to sit outside or in the spacious common room. Decent beds too. Owner also makes lovely breakfast with fresh coffee, different each day, and great pizza for dinner, just let him know beforehand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
10.0

Scout, the host went above and beyond to help his guests with planning their stay in Nikko. I stayed in the dorm but I'd definitely book the private room next time. It looked nice from the outside and the view and the sound of the river from the private room were awesome! A lot of people would arrive early at the Nikko station, leave their luggage in the locker and explore the shrines before the scheduled pick up time. Easy place to travel! Scout provided great hiking recommendations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Franni2
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

It's a unique hostel, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

The hostel is a unique place. I loved the river next to it, the atmosphere and the breakfast and dinner served by scout!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.