Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.9
SPACE riverhouse hostel Located at Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko, Nikko.
SPACE riverhouse hostel
Japan
Nikko Tochigi 321-1353 Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko
98% 252
36.6464885 139.6494054
SPACE riverhouse hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

The hostel is a unique place. I loved the river next to it, the atmosphere and the breakfast and dinner served by scout!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel by the river and in the mountains. The location alone is worth going to this place. Despite that facilities are excellent, with hot water, WiFi, and comfy beds (do remember to ask Scout for sheets when you reach though). Scout, the manager, runs a one man show. He will pick you up from and drop you off at the station and provide detailed information about hiking. Also he makes delicious breakfast every morning. Great for anyone interested in a nature getaway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Overall, I had a great experience at this hostel that has a gorgeous view of the river. My 1st morning there, it was super easy to meet new friends to go hiking with as we all chowed down on a delicious breakfast that Scout (the host) cooked up. I couldn't get to Nikko till the last train of the night, but Scout was still able to pick me up from the station and take me to the hostel. The relative location may seem intimidating at first, but Scout can be very accommodating with transportation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
10.0

We loved staying here. Scout helped us out with where to go during the day and what to see. He drove us to our destinations (within what he promises) and is very accommodating, not to mention a good cook!! The actual hostel itself is very unique and an overall good environment! We would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

Staying here is a must for any traveller with a love of hiking, nature and good vibes who is planning on going to Nikko. The building is phenomenally huge and sits right next to a running river which you can hear wherever you are. The facilities are clean and modern, and Scout makes the est breakfast you can imagine to fuel you up for a long day of hiking. 10/10 would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dolploy
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.1

We have a best time. We caught the quiet time of the year, good for us not good for Scout! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • allisoncassels720
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

This is probably the coolest hostel I've ever stayed in. The property is very large and interesting -- used to be an onsen guesthouse. It's in a beautiful, quiet location on the river. Breakfast is very high quality. It had a great community atmosphere and all of the guests were friendly. The staff tells you everything you need to know about what to see and how to get there. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
10.0

I spent 2 nights at Space Riverhouse and wish I had stayed longer. The hostel is situated next to a river, which gives the hostel an amazing atmosphere. The regular shuttle service that Scout and his driver offers means that access to the main temples/shrines and bus stops is a breeze. Scout is extremely knowledgeable and offers numerous suggestions on things to do in the area. He also does a ridiculously good breakfast; I'm still trying to figure out what he puts in his eggs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2016
10.0

Tucked away in tranquil outdoor setting with the flowing river by your side is your own small slice of Heaven. This is a truly remarkable place which is matched only by the generosity and professionalism of the host Scout. Thanks again for everything and apologises for the late review!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
10.0

Set amid stunning scenery, with regular shuttle service into Nikko. Always the soothing sound of the river. The owner/operator, Scout, is a dynamo who works very hard to make his guests happy (and he makes really good breakfasts). I can't give enough points to this place. Already starting to plan my return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.