Hostelworld.com

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.9
SPACE riverhouse hostel Located at Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko, Nikko.
SPACE riverhouse hostel
Japan
Nikko Tochigi 321-1353 Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko
98% 242
36.6464885 139.6494054
SPACE riverhouse hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
10.0

I spent 2 nights at Space Riverhouse and wish I had stayed longer. The hostel is situated next to a river, which gives the hostel an amazing atmosphere. The regular shuttle service that Scout and his driver offers means that access to the main temples/shrines and bus stops is a breeze. Scout is extremely knowledgeable and offers numerous suggestions on things to do in the area. He also does a ridiculously good breakfast; I'm still trying to figure out what he puts in his eggs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
10.0

Set amid stunning scenery, with regular shuttle service into Nikko. Always the soothing sound of the river. The owner/operator, Scout, is a dynamo who works very hard to make his guests happy (and he makes really good breakfasts). I can't give enough points to this place. Already starting to plan my return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
10.0

Genuinely the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The owner Scout does so much for every guest to stay at his hostel, providing them with the information, facilities and help to be able to enjoy the beautiful surrounding area. The hostel is located next to a beautiful river and whilst not in the tourist area, Scout goes above and beyond so people can visit the tourist areas, running multiple shuttle buses a day in addition to cooking breakfast etc. An amazing experience I can't recommend enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • scarydragon64
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
10.0

The most beautiful setting you have ever seen. The manager will pick you up from the train station for free and drop you off. He let us have a bonfire by the river with all our own booze. Best night of the travels so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing spot! The most unique hostel that we've been in Japan And the best pizza ever (:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel, it's far from the train station but its irrelevant because you're driven out to the bus station each morning and can easily acces the national parks and UNESCO sites from there. Then you can be picked up in the afternoons and evenings. The hostel itself is in a beautiful and secluded area on a lovely river, great atmosphere and lounge areas. The owner does a fantastic job taking care of everyone's needs and makes really good breakfasts. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Apr 2016
10.0

Space riverhouse is one of the best hostels that I've stayed in. SPACE reminds me of Howls Moving Castle. It's far off set in the mountains with no neighbors to worry about. It's on a freaking gorgeous river. The rooms are clean, cozy, and perfect for any group or solo traveler. breakfast(and dinner) is plentiful and delicious(vegan options!) Owner is super friendly, fun, knowledgeabl I would highly recommend SPACE to anyone going to Nikko. You would be stupid to choose anywhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

This is a great getaway spot in the heart of the mountains. Chilled, friendly and social atmosphere in a fantastic setting. Scout, the owner, will pick you up and drop you in Nikko, as well as cook some nice pancakes for breakfast or pizza for dinner. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

SpaceRiverhouse is a very nice place to stay in Nikko, where you can see the flowing river and pine forest directly from your window and it was a beautiful landscape. You can see the cherry tree lane along the way to the Riverhouse, as I visited on spring. Scout is a very good and helpful host, picking us up, dropping us off and considering elder guests. We'll recommend this to anyone looking for relaxing place to stay in Nikko. I would comeback to stay in this riverhouse if I visit Nikko again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Located up in the forests surrounding Nikko, the place calms the soul. There are kotatsu tables, an onsen converted into showering area, tatami floors and a river right next to the door, and such a warm atmosphere that everyone came out to chill in the evenings when we were there. While out of the way, Scout will help take you to Nikko or the surrounding area so it isn't a problem. Breakfasts are AMAZING, and there's an option of homemade pizza in the evening if one wants it. We had a lot of fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.