Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.9
SPACE riverhouse hostel Located at Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko, Nikko.
SPACE riverhouse hostel
Japan
Nikko Tochigi 321-1353 Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko
98% 258
36.6464885 139.6494054
SPACE riverhouse hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.7

Best hostel I've stayed in in Japan and I've been to a fair few. It's located in a lovely spot, next to a river with great swimming. The owner picks you up and drops you off, just call him, no problem. Hostel has loads of space and character, doesn't feel clinical but for me, that's the point. Lovely to sit outside or in the spacious common room. Decent beds too. Owner also makes lovely breakfast with fresh coffee, different each day, and great pizza for dinner, just let him know beforehand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
10.0

Scout, the host went above and beyond to help his guests with planning their stay in Nikko. I stayed in the dorm but I'd definitely book the private room next time. It looked nice from the outside and the view and the sound of the river from the private room were awesome! A lot of people would arrive early at the Nikko station, leave their luggage in the locker and explore the shrines before the scheduled pick up time. Easy place to travel! Scout provided great hiking recommendations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Franni2
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

It's a unique hostel, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

The hostel is a unique place. I loved the river next to it, the atmosphere and the breakfast and dinner served by scout!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel by the river and in the mountains. The location alone is worth going to this place. Despite that facilities are excellent, with hot water, WiFi, and comfy beds (do remember to ask Scout for sheets when you reach though). Scout, the manager, runs a one man show. He will pick you up from and drop you off at the station and provide detailed information about hiking. Also he makes delicious breakfast every morning. Great for anyone interested in a nature getaway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Overall, I had a great experience at this hostel that has a gorgeous view of the river. My 1st morning there, it was super easy to meet new friends to go hiking with as we all chowed down on a delicious breakfast that Scout (the host) cooked up. I couldn't get to Nikko till the last train of the night, but Scout was still able to pick me up from the station and take me to the hostel. The relative location may seem intimidating at first, but Scout can be very accommodating with transportation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
10.0

We loved staying here. Scout helped us out with where to go during the day and what to see. He drove us to our destinations (within what he promises) and is very accommodating, not to mention a good cook!! The actual hostel itself is very unique and an overall good environment! We would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

Staying here is a must for any traveller with a love of hiking, nature and good vibes who is planning on going to Nikko. The building is phenomenally huge and sits right next to a running river which you can hear wherever you are. The facilities are clean and modern, and Scout makes the est breakfast you can imagine to fuel you up for a long day of hiking. 10/10 would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dolploy
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.1

We have a best time. We caught the quiet time of the year, good for us not good for Scout! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • allisoncassels720
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

This is probably the coolest hostel I've ever stayed in. The property is very large and interesting -- used to be an onsen guesthouse. It's in a beautiful, quiet location on the river. Breakfast is very high quality. It had a great community atmosphere and all of the guests were friendly. The staff tells you everything you need to know about what to see and how to get there. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.