Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Sep 2017
9.4

I absolutely enjoyed my time at Space Riverhouse. Scout was extremely helpful in trip planning around Nikko and taking us where we needed to go (whether it back back to the station or for dinner somewhere). It was also amazing to be beside the river - the water was a bit cool but crystal clear. Would highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
10.0

Best place to stay in Nikko. Can't beat the location; it's beautiful and a nice experience in itself, rather than just being a place to crash after hitting up the usual attractions. Was glad coming back here to hang out in the evenings after the daily outings. Scout (owner) is a chill dude who really knows the area and can help a lot with planning advice. He also makes a great breakfast that's included with the stay. I would definitely choose this place again any time I come back to Nikko.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
10.0

A really great stay! This hostel was amazing with the variety of spaces to relax and socialise, the river right outside to swim in surrounded by beautiful countryside and the host, Scout, who was a decent cook, drove us into town and gave some great advice on the local area and travel in general.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.7

Easy to deal, great atmosphere, breakfast is awesome! Will come here again... great therapy in freezing cold river after a day long hiking, with fun wave and some snorking. Recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.3

Scout is a great host who gives very useful advices on hikes around Nikko and makes pretty good breakfast. The hostel is located in a beautiful area, which is very far from the touristic center and from the train stations, but the hostel team organizes convenient pickups and morning shuttles to those areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danielethanjones2327
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Had a great time at SPACE riverhouse hostel - the location is stunning, it's really well set up for meeting other travelers and the breakfast is just swell too. I may well head back to see the autumn leaves.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
9.1

Scout is awesome, such a great host. He's really helpful if you don't really know what you want to do yet too with recommendations. Try his soup it is excellent! You can't really walk anywhere from the hostel, but it's kind of nice being in the middle of nowhere on the river and Scout drives you to the town/bus station every day anyways so you can get around easy. Breakfast is also really good. No lockers in the rooms but it seems really safe even without. The showers are also cool

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • afedynitch5513
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2017
10.0

The stay in this hostel was absolutely amazing! The riverside location further away from any civilization is perfectly suited for everybody who wants to The host is very friendly and helpful with organization of your stay in Nikko area with hints, maps, routes, etc.. The common areas made it very easy to connect to other guest and team up for trips through the beautiful landscape. Highest recommendation!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Brilliant location. I was a bit worried when booking because it's not in the middle of town, but when I arrived it's such a beautiful place. You can swim in the river and chill out, or if you want to explore Nikko the owner can give you reccomendations and drop off/pick up from the main station. Highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
9.1

Loved my stay at this hostel that is tucked away in the mountains of Nikko! If you are looking for a perfect hostel that has a supportive staff to help you through finding hiking treks this if for you. We enjoyed hiking for two days, and every day upon getting back the owner was patient in getting us back to the hostel and preparing us delicious meals. The food is fresh and all recipes are made by the owner ~ definitely recommend savoring his meals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×