Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.3

Amazing food!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.4

AMAZING PLACE!!! Don't let the distance from the train station stop you from staying here... I have nothing but positive things to say about this place. Absolutely stunning location, best breakfasts (and dinners if you want them), and an incredible host who is dedicated to making your stay in Nikko the best it can be. 100% worth the price, especially considering the breakfasts, beautiful location and free shuttles.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
10.0

awesome place- don't let the distance from Nikko deter you, Scout makes it easy to get back and forth and the beautiful location is well worth it! The hostel building itself is really cool too- an old onsen with all the traditional tatami mats and sliding doors. The common room is great and a good place to meet other people/hiking buddies. It was beautiful in the fall with all the colors but I would love to come back in the summer when we could swim in the river! Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was awesome. The picturesque location by the river really was a world apart from the bustle of Tokyo, and a refreshing retreat from the hordes of tourists crowding the world heritage area. I had a cool time hanging out with everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.1

Really lovely place, is a bit far out but the shuttle service is brilliant so isn't a bother. Would recommend as a solo female traveller, is a mixed dorm but the atmosphere is very relaxed and you get to know your dorm mates. Breakfasts were really good and lots of it! Scout makes sure you've got evening food or a plan for food and is very happy to take you to the near by restaurant. Security could be a bit better as there was no lock on the showers and the front door wasn't locked at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

ALL SHOWERS have locks on the inside silver doors.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
10.0

Awesome place!! Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
6.0

The most beautiful location I have seen a Hostel in. The building itself needs a lot of work. The pick up/drop off service is great but if a time is agreed that doesn't suit you then you are basically screwed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2016
10.0

I wish I could rate "Staff" higher! Scout does an excellent job at running this special place and goes out of his way to make sure that folks enjoy their stay in Nikko. I don't know how he does it with so few vacation days for himself! During my stay people's schedules sync'd up naturally due to the way Scout runs the guesthouse. Everyone ate breakfast (hot, delicious, and included in the price!) together, then Scout would drive folks into town and pick them up after their day. Thanks, Scout!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
10.0

Scout is the man! Location is prime. Don't close your eyes! Driving to the property is an adventure in itself. Nikko is one of my favorite places in Japan, and staying here definitely contributes to that. Amazing views when you wake up in the morning. Came in fall, so it can be a bit cold when showering, but will definitely try to come back in Spring or Summer. Can't say enough about Scout. SPACE Riverhouse is the only way to experience Nikko!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.