Hostelworld.com

SPACE riverhouse hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.2
SPACE riverhouse hostel Located at Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko, Nikko.
SPACE riverhouse hostel
Japan
Nikko Tochigi 321-1353 Minami Okorogawa 2254-7, Nikko
96% 228
36.6464885 139.6494054
SPACE riverhouse hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing spot! The most unique hostel that we've been in Japan And the best pizza ever (:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel, it's far from the train station but its irrelevant because you're driven out to the bus station each morning and can easily acces the national parks and UNESCO sites from there. Then you can be picked up in the afternoons and evenings. The hostel itself is in a beautiful and secluded area on a lovely river, great atmosphere and lounge areas. The owner does a fantastic job taking care of everyone's needs and makes really good breakfasts. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Apr 2016
10.0

Space riverhouse is one of the best hostels that I've stayed in. SPACE reminds me of Howls Moving Castle. It's far off set in the mountains with no neighbors to worry about. It's on a freaking gorgeous river. The rooms are clean, cozy, and perfect for any group or solo traveler. breakfast(and dinner) is plentiful and delicious(vegan options!) Owner is super friendly, fun, knowledgeabl I would highly recommend SPACE to anyone going to Nikko. You would be stupid to choose anywhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

This is a great getaway spot in the heart of the mountains. Chilled, friendly and social atmosphere in a fantastic setting. Scout, the owner, will pick you up and drop you in Nikko, as well as cook some nice pancakes for breakfast or pizza for dinner. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

SpaceRiverhouse is a very nice place to stay in Nikko, where you can see the flowing river and pine forest directly from your window and it was a beautiful landscape. You can see the cherry tree lane along the way to the Riverhouse, as I visited on spring. Scout is a very good and helpful host, picking us up, dropping us off and considering elder guests. We'll recommend this to anyone looking for relaxing place to stay in Nikko. I would comeback to stay in this riverhouse if I visit Nikko again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Located up in the forests surrounding Nikko, the place calms the soul. There are kotatsu tables, an onsen converted into showering area, tatami floors and a river right next to the door, and such a warm atmosphere that everyone came out to chill in the evenings when we were there. While out of the way, Scout will help take you to Nikko or the surrounding area so it isn't a problem. Breakfasts are AMAZING, and there's an option of homemade pizza in the evening if one wants it. We had a lot of fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
30th Mar 2016
10.0

An amazing place to come back to after a day of sight seeing and hiking. Tucked away, this place is a much welcomed riverside retreat in Nikko. Breakfast is amazing, had french toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, bluberry pcakes and, bacon and egg muffins over 3 days. Didn't get to try the pizza but I hear it is delicious. Facilities are also great. Recommend anyone to stay here, it's a FUN place and the common lounge by the river is decked out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
10.0

I can not recommend this place enough. When you first arrive to Nikko it might be seem a bit dead ambiance and tourist driven economy. You might rethink about wether or not it was worth coming to this place; is it a tourist trap? Not at all, you just need to get to know the place - which is fairly big, don't bound it only for the area around the station because it is much more than that. Scout knows the place better than anyone. You can hear the river from the rooms, no other place can beat this

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2015
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The location provided the greatest view while eating breakfast. The homemade breakfast was amazing (the scrambled eggs!) and different each morning. The common area was a comfortable place to hang out with the other guests. Also, the transport to and from the hostel was a great perk. We were able to get recommendations for what to do during the day as well. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Nov 2015
9.1

For travelers: the hostel is quite far from the Nikko station (the best part), so make sure to organise prior and arrive for the three pick up times in the afternoons (or risk waiting or a very expensive taxi). Food can be delivered but still would be good to eat before getting picked up. Very cool friendly atmosphere, we played uno in the large common room, and hiked during day. For staff: I can understand it's annoying when people are late for pickups but a bit of leniency goes a long way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.