X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Safari Inn Reviews

Band Street, P.O.BOX 21113, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
44 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good for one or two nights, like while waiting for a ferry. Right in the City Center.


46%

Our room was full of mold, staff was impolite and tried to cheat too much money from us and breakfast was bad.

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Love to be in the heart of bustling town like this, great restaurants and chai shops round the corner, Kariakoo markets fantastic, learn some swahili and enjoy!

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

The room is very small and not nearly modern, BUT : Internet access in lobby, hot shower and toilet and self regulated air conditioner in the room, window with good lockers (you can open and close yourself ), toilet paper and soup, not bad bed clothes and towels, small table with the mirror and chair – very good package for this money! In addition: located in the walking distance from Dar Es Salaam Ferry Terminal from Zanzibar ( 15 min), in the quit and safety place (inside the area with gate!).


80%

other then being a little hard to find everything was great! thanks!

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Friendly peple, very helpful. A good place for budget travellers who start their Tanzania experience. Thank you!


80%

The location is great and the staff very friendly. Thank you!


66%

I was staying in an individual room. It was small, but enough for me. There was a mosquito net in the window, so I had no problems with mosquitos at all. The ac was broken, but the fan was enough to keep the room fresh. The room was clean and the sheets as well. You have the impression everything looks very poor, you just have to get used to that in Dar. It is located in the very center of the city. The neighborhood is poor, so it can impress you if you've never been to Dar before.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Really scary place for a westerner

Owner Comment (Hide)
Can you be specific on what scared you? The hotel is in existance for the last 15years, and enjoys a regular clientele. It would be worth noting your fears.

69%

simple and basic hostel, suitable for backpackers who are not very demanding.


20%

The hostel wasn't good for the price. It is definitively too expensive for the service provided! The breakfast wasn't so good. Moreover, the owners are really unpleasant. I don't recommend this hostel.

  • 28th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

A clean and basic hotel. Ok to get a nights sleep but nothing to write home about.


74%

Stayed in Safari Inn for one night last December before my flight from Julius Nyerere Airport. You get what you pay for. The place is safe, rooms are with private bathroom and shower and the hotel provides mosquito net over your bed. The place doesn't have big "character" and I didn't meet other travellers on my only day there.


86%

Basic facilities and rooms (do not expect anything beyond a bed, fan and bathroom), friendly staff, very good location and excellent value for money.


77%

Friendly staff and great location. Hotel is located in a very safe area with a 24hrs security control at the entrance. Only minutes away by car from the ferry station and about 20 minutes away from airport.


54%

Whilst the staff weren't rude they were not friendly. Breakfast was expensive and poor value. There was no mosquito net in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Mosquitoe nets have already been intalled in all rooms.

66%

This place is fine for a transit visit. I was there as a solo female and felt fine. Helpful security guys walked with me to the ATM as it was getting dark when I arrived! Basic but safe!


20%

They were overbooked for the night, they moved us to Econolodge. They wouldn't refund our 10% deposit, claimed that we weren't familiar with how Hostelworld works, that HW takes the 10% (I have a gold acc btw). Also we had to pay higher rates at Econolodge. Maybe try reserving by phone, they haven't quite mastered the intetwebs!


86%

10 min walk from the harbour for people like us going to Zanzibar. If you want to buy some traditional fabrics, it's also very close to Uhuru street, which is the centre for fabrics. We had a very nice driver, Riz, who took us around town ans picked us up from the ferry. If you want a nice and reliable taxi driver, ask for him at the hotel reception.


100%

Friendly and helpful staff, great location, cheap. Never had the breakfast. If you are taking a bus further through Africa the staff will encourage you to take a cab to the bus central station for about $20-$25, however there is a local bus station called "Taqwa" a ten minute walk from the hotel, ask a local and they will show you, it is a $2 cab ride.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Daniel, The encouragement of taking a cab is to ensure your own safety.Many tourists have bee robbed while walking on the streets. moreover 'taqwa' is the name of a BUS going to mombasa daily, and not a Bus Station.

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Dar es Salaam Hotels

Please give us your feedback