Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
14th Sep 2017
9.4

Very clean hostel. The beds were huge and comfy! The room had it's own toilets and showers all separate. Great location as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
8.6

The room card was not great, I needed to get it fixed twice and I heard others had the same issue. A wee mix up with bookings had someone in my bed when I returned to the room. However, Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2017
7.7

I had a good stay here, there was nothing to complain about per say, they had all the things a hostel should, and I did feel that it was a safe place to stay. The one thing it felt lacking in was a sense of atmosphere that some of the smaller hostels had, but it was clean, warm, had all the amenities you needed/ wanted and was safe. I would stay here again, for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
8.3

nice place great location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2017
8.9

I had trouble getting in and out of my room as the door lock was faulty. However, everything else was okay and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the night staff who found me a charger for my phone. The peppered steak from the bar menu was a bit small for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Aug 2017
7.7

Really central and just off the royal mile which was ace. Friends had stayed here Week before. Lift was working for them and still wasn't working for me and I was on the 5th floor. No signage to say it was out of order either. Found out on last day there was another lift, but couldn't find it and no additional signs to Way grind it. Main staircase filthy. Generally good feel to the place. No socket by my bed. Found one in centre of room for all 5 beds. Nice that facilities were ensuite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
8.0

Great facilities and location but the staff are kind of bad. I'm sure they're not all bad, but everyone I interacted with or saw interact with anyone else was impolite and couldn't care less about whatever you were trying to accomplish. Also the locks in the lockers in the rooms did not fit a standard lock so you had to rent one of theirs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Aug 2017
6.9

There's no real common area except for a bar next door. The staff were friendly enough but not many of them seemed to know much about the city so it was difficult trying to ask for directions or things to do. Also a lack of charging points in the rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2017
7.4

Nightmare. Horrendously noisy. Hot and stuffy with no ventilation

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Aug 2017
8.0

It's all in the name! Felt like a very safe place to stay, perfect location for the fringe festival but also just for any visit to the city. Everything in the city is at max 25 min walk away. Breakfast is nice, beds comfy. Lacks the social atmosphere of some hostels without a main common area except for the food area. However, perfect for feeling comfortable whilst exploring Edinburgh!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×