Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.0

The room was decent sized and the location was fantastic. The toilet and shower left something to be desired but it was nice they were ensuite. The location was great and the lady at the front desk was more than willing to answer my questions and give me suggestions since I had such a limited amount of time there. But like other reviews, I agree its not the best place for a solo traveller. It would recommend it if you are travelling with other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2017
8.9

Overall, the stay was very good. Facilities are very nice. beds are comfy and bathrooms are clean. Location is absolutely fabulous. Staff are very helpful. The lack of included breakfast is unfortunate, but overall a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alyshaharrold
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.6

Very hotel-like. Didn't meet anyone aside from those in my room. The floors of the hostel room were so creaky, even if treading lightly. So if someone is getting ready in the early morning, good luck getting back to sleep. Staff were friendly. Great location, close to the main street

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2017
7.4

Good place if you don't want to spend a lot of money on accommodations. It's centrally located and easy to get to. However, this hostel is not ideal for young people travelling alone or those looking for group activities. The vibe is more hotel than hostel, and hangout space is limited to the bar, that's not conducive to meeting new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2017
8.6

Safestays Edinburgh was an intended change for me and I am pleased to say that I enjoyed it: staff, guests, location and comfort were all satisfactory or better and (when the road construction ends) I'd happily stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
9.4

Just a little bit off High Street, easy access to bars, restaurants and cafes. Crowded location though, might be noisy at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

It's a cheap hotel more then a hostel! The kitchen is basic and more or less clean, and the dining area is the bar, so loud music every meal ;) the rooms are small but nice! The cheap price seems to attract night owl in the city to party over the week end, so a bit loud.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
9.7

This is an amazing hostel with great facilities in a central location. My fellloe guests were very friendly and the room was very quiet and clean. This is a hostel with finesse!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.0

Staff are friendly although check in was a nightmare prepare to wait at least an hour. Huge hostel easy to get lost. Rooms are decent size but 1 bathroom to 8 beds isn't the best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
9.4

High-quality hostel, with super good showers, comfortable beds, and a decent restaurant/bar on premises. Perfect location. I'd definitely recommend it but complain about three things: - I was in the check-in queue for 40 minutes (!) because whatever the receptionists have to do is so complicated - The breakfast (£5.95) is usually served until 10am but they put away the food really soon after 10am so be warned - The main social area is the public bar so you only meet other travellers in your dorm

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.