Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
Safestay Edinburgh Located at 50 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
Safestay Edinburgh
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 1NE 50 Blackfriars Street
87% 1396
55.9492719 -3.1859278
Safestay Edinburgh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sjohre3893
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.0

Characterless, overpriced stagnant. Staff ranged from officious but efficient to completely disinterested. Not recommended. There are other much better hostels in Edinburgh.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

I'm very happy with all aspects of the hostel bar one. The room I stayed in (10 bunk dorm) was directly adjacent to the entrance of BAR 50 and overlooking the smoking area. It was noisy until about 0200 on Saturday morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.1

The location is close to Royal Mile and Edinburg Castle. The kitchen is available and convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
8.6

Great location with just a short walk to see everything in Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.7

Really good, clean, modern hostel. Good value for money and very good location. Only thing I would have liked was a locker for valuables or a lock to rent (didn't want to buy one). Otherwise excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
9.1

Very good hostel in a fantastic location within Edinburgh. Clean dorm and a good ensuite bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
10.0

So happy I stayed here. The staff was super helpful and friendly, the rooms were nice and clean, and it was in the perfect spot to get everywhere quickly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
7.7

Alcohol very expensive - I thought this was a student place - £4.40 a pint! Breakfast cold - chief blamed people opening the outside doors.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
6.6

Nice enough hostel and I wouldn't complain if I had to stay there again, but there is plenty of room for improvement, especially security-wise, cost-wise, and bed-wise (not comfortable and the springs were incredibly noisy, even at the slightest movement)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.9

Safestay has a great location just off Cowgate and adjacent to the Royal Mile. However, this hostel is not for the light sleeper. On Friday and Saturday nights especially, noise carries from both the clubs on Cowgate and the hostel's own bar. Be aware the clubs don't close until three, and on certain nights the time between 3am and 3:30am gets a bit noisey. The room's bathroom did have what appeared to be a large amount of mold on the ceiling. Otherwise, the hostel appears clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.