Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Safestay Edinburgh Located at 50 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
Safestay Edinburgh
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 1NE 50 Blackfriars Street
86% 1379
55.9492719 -3.1859278
Safestay Edinburgh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Dec 2016
9.1

Very good hostel in a fantastic location within Edinburgh. Clean dorm and a good ensuite bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
10.0

So happy I stayed here. The staff was super helpful and friendly, the rooms were nice and clean, and it was in the perfect spot to get everywhere quickly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
7.7

Alcohol very expensive - I thought this was a student place - £4.40 a pint! Breakfast cold - chief blamed people opening the outside doors.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
6.6

Nice enough hostel and I wouldn't complain if I had to stay there again, but there is plenty of room for improvement, especially security-wise, cost-wise, and bed-wise (not comfortable and the springs were incredibly noisy, even at the slightest movement)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.9

Safestay has a great location just off Cowgate and adjacent to the Royal Mile. However, this hostel is not for the light sleeper. On Friday and Saturday nights especially, noise carries from both the clubs on Cowgate and the hostel's own bar. Be aware the clubs don't close until three, and on certain nights the time between 3am and 3:30am gets a bit noisey. The room's bathroom did have what appeared to be a large amount of mold on the ceiling. Otherwise, the hostel appears clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
9.1

The 8 bed mixed dorm I stayed in was a little smelly. Apart from that I had nothing to complain about.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
10.0

I had an amazing stay here. The facilities were clean, there were lockers provided, the staff was friendly and the main street was a vert very short walk away. I would highly suggest staying here. The kitchen was was equipped with everything you could possibly need with ample space, and the bar downstairs is fun to spend time in (I highly suggest open mic night if your there for it)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
9.4

Wonderful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.1

I stayed at the Edinburgh Smart City Hostel for a 3 days and really enjoyed my experience. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortablel. But on the other hand,it was too loud. There was like 2 big groups staying in the same Hostel and nobody did something against the screaming all night long. I was in a room just above the Bar,as a result of that,I couldn't sleep for 2 Days. So when you search a place for partying,you are fine here. Maybe I didn't chose the right one for me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.7

Quite loud being a bar downstairs (part of hostel) , they keep music loud until late in night. College students (University Nearby) keeps screaming until late. Very hot inside the room with 8 people in a room. No AC. Cannot open window because of noise. Bathroom had mold. Cannot beat the location. Staff is helpful. Find a other place if you like quite and well ventilated place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.