Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
6.0

Excelent location, probably just the good point. Staff at reception rude, neither friendly not helpfull. At first, They gave me an used and dirty bed...no good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2017
7.7

Perfect location et super clean, but there's not any common room, so the atmosphere is a bit impersonal for a hostel. But overall, good stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear you found the atmosphere a little impersonal, we always try to may our guests as comfortable as possible and hope this will not affect you visiting us in the future .

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
9.7

Wifi even worked in the rooms, which often isn't the case. Great facility, good location minutes from attactions in the center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th May 2017
7.7

Overall it was good enough but the water tank in our wasn't functioning properly, despite telling this two times, it was not fixed. I wish they had a better approach to solve this problem. Location is great but I wouldn't recommend it to solo travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
9.7

Great quality for good price. Receptionist was super nice and friendly. Spacious rooms and everytjing super clean an tidy. Defo recommending and staying aggain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.3

The Hostel is more like a Hotel. The rooms are nice and clean. The kitchen is not well equipped and there is no place for eating own food. But, you can place some food in the fridge and drink a coffee in the morning. There is no common room for relaxing or getting to know other people. If you want to have a cheap but nice accomodation with hotel atmosphere with your friends, this is the right place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.7

Really nice clean hostel- one of the best I've been to. Beds were comfortable and clean. Toilets and showers are all in the rooms which is really nice. There is a bar area that has a kitchen for everyone to use with lots of seating. Only small downside is there isn't a TON of common spaces if that is something you are looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Perfect location, and it was very clean! The hostel bar had great deals for food and drinks! Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Loved it. Couldn't recommend a better hostel. Best location in the old town. Great rooms. Comfortable beds. Definite value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.1

The hoatel in perfectly placed within the old town, surrounded by little cafes and pubs. It's in between the castle and holyrood, so all main sights are within reach. Check in was fast and easy, the staff is nice and helpful whatever you ask them. I was used to adaptors for the plugs being integrated into the plug itself,so i had to buy a normal one vecause the hostel really only uses british plugs and has no usb station. I guess that's the only manko...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.