Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay Edinburgh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Probably the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. The location was really central, so much so we didn't realise until after we had taken a bus to the castle, that it was literally a 5 minute walk. I would have prefered if the security for the luggage storage room had have been a bit better, anybody off the street could have walked in and asked for it, but otherwise I felt very safe there. The friend I was travelling with said the breakfast wasnt very nice, but the kitchen facilities were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th Jan 2017
8.9

Good, But Bland. I don't mean that in a bad way. It's a big hostel, the facilities are very good indeed (comfy beds, big lockers, good showers), and the staff are friendly & helpful. The social space is either the bar or the lobby. If you're looking for a quirky and charming hostel to bond with fellow travelers in over movies in the lounge or long chats at the dining table, this isn't the place. If you're looking for a base to explore Edinburgh from, with it's own bar? Here it is.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Safestay was perfect for position: it's in the edimburgh old town and a lot of pubs and bars are near there. Room was perfetly clean, the bar in the hostel is cool and the atmosphere was calm and nice. Only one negative note: no common bathrooms except for the one at the bar (with no showers :\ ). Would definitely recommend!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sjohre3893
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.0

Characterless, overpriced stagnant. Staff ranged from officious but efficient to completely disinterested. Not recommended. There are other much better hostels in Edinburgh.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

I'm very happy with all aspects of the hostel bar one. The room I stayed in (10 bunk dorm) was directly adjacent to the entrance of BAR 50 and overlooking the smoking area. It was noisy until about 0200 on Saturday morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.1

The location is close to Royal Mile and Edinburg Castle. The kitchen is available and convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
8.6

Great location with just a short walk to see everything in Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.7

Really good, clean, modern hostel. Good value for money and very good location. Only thing I would have liked was a locker for valuables or a lock to rent (didn't want to buy one). Otherwise excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
9.1

Very good hostel in a fantastic location within Edinburgh. Clean dorm and a good ensuite bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
10.0

So happy I stayed here. The staff was super helpful and friendly, the rooms were nice and clean, and it was in the perfect spot to get everywhere quickly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.