X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1339 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

When we arrive to the room (for 6 people, with bathroom) was impossible to use the shower (smelled to pee!). And the breakfast was awful. I had to buy outside something to drink and eat. Horrible experience, I won't get back there.


80%

Wifi is only working in the lounge. Wifi should work in each floor and room wifi strength is too weak for so many people

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a great hostel to stay in London. Very near to tube and bus stops. Rooms and toilets are very clean. We stayed in 4 beds ensuite dorm. Close attractions nearby are London eye, Big Ben and London Bridge.


100%

Exactly what I want / need from a hostel. Elephant and Castle is a great location, the hostel is clean and modern and the price is smashing.


83%

The locker is a cage under The bed so you have to put this cage in the middle of the room to access it. its annoying for The other guests. There is wifi only in the lower floor bar. In general, its a very good hostel near a subway station, with the problems above. A good value for what you get.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel was fine, however we found a very unpleasant blond girl at the reception, who made us pay for the bed of a friend that couldn´t come because was ill. We were ok with paying the first night, but we got really angry when she told us we had to pay the second one in bad manners. We won´t come back again because of her

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I found the hostel to be unduly hot and would have liked the ability to fill a water bottle The lighting in all areas was dim and this made it hard to read a paper or book, it also contributed to the generation of heat, especially in the lobby, conversely the basement lounge was often times Staff were genuinely friendly and the overall mood was quite good, very cosmopolitan The bunk beds had terrible metal ladders that really assault your bare feet, these could be padded.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location, near the tube station. The wifi connection didn't really work, so it's better to pay a pound for the good connection right away if you need the internet. Comfy beds and you can have your privacy with the curtains aournd the bed. Breakfast was ok, croissants, apples and corn flakes.


77%

Plus: very friendly staff, multilingual and welcoming, asked everyone about their origins and greeted everyone in their language, quick service and clear instructions, free maps of the city. Good beds, quite wide with curtains and bright lamp inside. Minus: kind a long walk from the city centre; no mirror in the shower; wi-fi only in the basement bar area, not even on reception; very poor breakfast which is included in the price, I'd prefer it to be optional; locks for extra fee.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

THE best hostel experience so far! This is what hostels should aspire to be.


100%

I have been in lot of hostels, Rio, Miami and NYC, Frankfurt, Paris, but I never been in a hostel like this one, no doubt this is the hostel ever !


86%

Good place really close to station. Very easy to find. Comfy nights stay here.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

WiFi was not working at all in the rooms and extremely poorly and sometimes not at all downstairs! Absolutely unacceptable nowadays. Breakfast was poor, too + it's really hard to get hot drinks sometimes. It was clean and the staff was alright.


80%

Loved it. (:

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved it, this isnt like any other hostel! It may be at the end of the line, but once you step inside the front door. Its a whole new world inside.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The value for money is awesome! I recommend this place to everyone who needs a great stay with low budget. For all those who expect a English breakfast - you won't get it here.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Overall my stay was pretty good. The hostel kindly provides curtains to block out light from the main ceiling light. The location was decent. It's about four blocks away from a metro station, which makes it relatively convenient. The shower water turns off after five minutes, but it's nothing too unmanageable. The free breakfast is very nice. They really offer quite a selection. The only truly unfortunate thing was WiFi not working in the dormrooms.


74%

It's a good hostel in general, except for the fact that it doesn't have wifi other than at the basement common area. Once it's night time, lots of people goes there for chilling and using their computers or smartphones, which makes the connection really bad. To make it worse, at 12am they simply shut the whole area and people must leave to their rooms or hang at the reception, without wifi. Toilets aren't that clean either.


97%

Everything was amazing although Wi-Fi gets shut down at midnight which makes it hard for a backpacker planning as they go and are out touring all day. Usually late at night is prime time to book future travels so I would suggest having Wi-Fi throughout the whole property.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback