X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1003 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Remarkable place! Fantastic staffs, bedrooms and bathrooms very clear and the furniture and the style are magnificent! A special thanks to the Italian guys Fabiaba and Aniello!


74%

Safestay is more like a hotel then a hostel. Rooms where very clean, beds where very good, but the amount of toilets and showers was 2:18. Breakfast was good, but only serves until 9. Location is good, neigherhood isn't touristic, close to subway station and quit safe.


89%

Our 2 night stay was very comfortable, there were 5 of us satying in a 6 bed doorm... it was spacious and clean. The staff where always happy to help, sometimes we forgot it was a hostel as it has more of a hotel feel too it.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

They ripped us off by forcing us to leave the hostle at 2am because they couldn't stop blaming us that our group have been smoking pot inside the room. They gave us a warning the first time we smoked and never smoked inside there again after the. But they ended up kicking us out just to make money out of it cuz it's 2am and there's no other place to go. Poor security service, they don't even know when an alarm has came on or off, they insisted it when on when it didn't

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahrain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in - and I've stayed in a lot!


97%

It was ridiculous to not have a proper front door for checking-in guests to get into the hotel.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel itself was great - very clean, nice accommodations and definitely worth the money. Only downside was the location as there really wasn't much to do around it. Have to walk 25+ minutes to get anywhere you might actually want to be, but it's a >10minute walk to the nearest underground station making it easy to travel the city - just have to pay for it.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is an excellent budget hostel. I particularly appreciate the clean environment throughout the whole place. They also offer satisfactory continental breakfast. It's not really in the city centre but it is easily accessible by the tube and buses. Will definitely recommend to others.


74%

Finding it from the directions was a nightmare and people in shops didn't know where it was, friendly man helped us find walworth and it's simple from there. Room was big (3bed) and tv was cool. Shower leaked onto the floor which was annoying. Good towels for rent for 2 pound. Wifi terrible that it's not in the rooms but they explain that. Worst thing was the thin walls and you can hear everything best thing was a comfy bed.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The beds are the best I've slept in, while staying at the 8 or so different London hostels I've tried in the last year. Individual reading lights and curtains round your bed space are a great idea. The communal area and courtyard on the basement level shuts at the same time as the bar, 11 or 12PMish, so that compensates for the lack of anywhere to read, watch movies on your tablet etc. As with most hostels, dorm rooms tend to be a bit stuffy at night, with window restrictors in place.


80%

A good mid priced, futuristic hostel with comfy beds complete with bed curtains for privacy. Easy key card system for the lifts and doors, as well as plenty of comfy seating areas for relaxing, eating and networking. This hostel isn't cosy or intimate and feels more like a hotel. A good place to stop off if you are looking for budget accommodation in a central location.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Modern, clean and comfortable


94%

A very modern decoration, clean and pleasant to stay. Good breakfast too and economical to those who wants to visit the nice places in London. Will surely come back again !

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

the slightly above average prices seem justified in this hostel, suitable for single travellers up to coach parties. The quite large courtyard on the basement level is a bonus, a sheltered area for smokers at this time of year, and no doubt extremely popular in summer.


86%

In gerenal we had a very pleasant stay at this hostel! :) One thing where there's still potential is breakfast. Breakfast (that means all food and drinks) should really be available until exactly 9 am as indicated.


83%

We didn't like neighboorhood too much but it is well connected by bus and underground. (Also close to several supermarkets and restaurants). Most of the staff is kind and helpful and they can point you to the right direction for your visits. Rooms are adequate enough for most hostel travelers (no luxury, just tidy and clean). Be sure to bring your own padlock, shampoo, bath gel and power adapters unless you're willing to pay additionally.


77%

I called in the morning to enquire whether there would be towels in the triple en suite and was told there would not be. In fact there were towels and we had packed extra luggage unnecessarily.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

After staying for many years in Picaddilly Backpackers hostel and since it is now closed we had to found another hostel for our visits to London. Safestay is great hostel, rooms are cleaned daily, bathrooms are incredible, staff is very nice and helpfull. To the center of London you have aprox. 15min with a bud ot sub. The bus station is right outside the hostel (bus 12) and it's 24 hour service. Safestay is our new home now when we visit London :)))) best regards


91%

I recommend!!! I'll go back when need!!


91%

Very comfortable. Good breakfast. Neat and clean. And I love the curtains around the bed. It was the only time I had some privacy staying at hostels.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(74 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback