X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1324 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The hostel was fine, however we found a very unpleasant blond girl at the reception, who made us pay for the bed of a friend that couldn´t come because was ill. We were ok with paying the first night, but we got really angry when she told us we had to pay the second one in bad manners. We won´t come back again because of her

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location, near the tube station. The wifi connection didn't really work, so it's better to pay a pound for the good connection right away if you need the internet. Comfy beds and you can have your privacy with the curtains aournd the bed. Breakfast was ok, croissants, apples and corn flakes.


77%

Plus: very friendly staff, multilingual and welcoming, asked everyone about their origins and greeted everyone in their language, quick service and clear instructions, free maps of the city. Good beds, quite wide with curtains and bright lamp inside. Minus: kind a long walk from the city centre; no mirror in the shower; wi-fi only in the basement bar area, not even on reception; very poor breakfast which is included in the price, I'd prefer it to be optional; locks for extra fee.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

THE best hostel experience so far! This is what hostels should aspire to be.


100%

I have been in lot of hostels, Rio, Miami and NYC, Frankfurt, Paris, but I never been in a hostel like this one, no doubt this is the hostel ever !


86%

Good place really close to station. Very easy to find. Comfy nights stay here.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

WiFi was not working at all in the rooms and extremely poorly and sometimes not at all downstairs! Absolutely unacceptable nowadays. Breakfast was poor, too + it's really hard to get hot drinks sometimes. It was clean and the staff was alright.


80%

Loved it. (:

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved it, this isnt like any other hostel! It may be at the end of the line, but once you step inside the front door. Its a whole new world inside.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The value for money is awesome! I recommend this place to everyone who needs a great stay with low budget. For all those who expect a English breakfast - you won't get it here.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Overall my stay was pretty good. The hostel kindly provides curtains to block out light from the main ceiling light. The location was decent. It's about four blocks away from a metro station, which makes it relatively convenient. The shower water turns off after five minutes, but it's nothing too unmanageable. The free breakfast is very nice. They really offer quite a selection. The only truly unfortunate thing was WiFi not working in the dormrooms.


74%

It's a good hostel in general, except for the fact that it doesn't have wifi other than at the basement common area. Once it's night time, lots of people goes there for chilling and using their computers or smartphones, which makes the connection really bad. To make it worse, at 12am they simply shut the whole area and people must leave to their rooms or hang at the reception, without wifi. Toilets aren't that clean either.


97%

Everything was amazing although Wi-Fi gets shut down at midnight which makes it hard for a backpacker planning as they go and are out touring all day. Usually late at night is prime time to book future travels so I would suggest having Wi-Fi throughout the whole property.


83%

The rooms were key access only including the elevator which made us feel very safe. The location was just a quick walk to the tube which we used all weekend to get around. It was very convenient. We had a hiccup in the booking and the staff member that I talked to was very accommodating but when we arrived the staff member on duty didn't know much english and just kept repeating himself when I would ask a question. Overall the rooms were spotless except the mounds of hair left in the shower.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We enjoyed our stay. Location good. Room comfortable. Should provide something other than squishy, greasy croissants for breakfast. How about nice buns or bread?

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Good job noisy people but not the hostel fault everything was excellent


97%

It is a very nice place! The rooms are clean and beautiful, the bar is great and all the people working on there are all cool. It is close than the underground and there are buses to the center of London right in front of the hostel. The only bad aspect was the shower. There is one room for the toilet and another one for the shower, what is good. But the shower is so small that we can not hang our clothes in there when taking a shower, otherwise they will get wet.


77%

Great place, I like it a lot. It is all new, elegant and cool! It was a pleasure coming back in the evening. The only pity is you can use WiFi in your room.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location near two tube lines and a shopping centre with many restaurants. The facilities are good, there are lockers under the beds (bring your own padlock!) and there are curtains on each bed. The breakfast is basic but it's fine. However 7 am to 9 am is a bit early for me and I often skipped it. What I didn't like was the fact that if you want to use the internet after midnight, you are asked to move to the reception area where the internet connection is not so good. Please fix that!


80%

I think that having wifi also in the rooms would be a good idea. I would also suggest to add close to every bed a shelter to put small thigs one likes to have close while sleeping (mobile phones, earplugs and so on)

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback