X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1231 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

nice rooms and facilities. Maybe add something to hang the clothes in the showers.


97%

When visiting London I highly advise to stay at this hostel ! Amazing venue met great people, very modern vibe ! Bus station across the street, train and tube are only a 5 min walk away ! Markets and corner stores all nearby as well international food locations. My only negative thing to say is that they should add soap in the dorms.. Hygiene is very important ! Other then that amazing stay. Def coming back there !!!!!


86%

The stay was great in general, I did not even expect the hostel to be so nice and clean for the amount of money paid. The only thing, the location is not the best one, it is possible to walk to the city centre, however, takes a lot of time and walking in the neighborhood is not safe. Overall, I would recommend it and definitely come back again.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent facilities with very welcoming and friendly staff. A well run clean and comfortable establishment.


31%

Don't waste your money here. Horrible location, pretty dodgy area honestly. Worst atmosphere ever, feels like a conference center with a few beds upstairs. Tons of school kids running around. Wifi only works downstairs and it's pretty slow. Breakfast is terrible they run out of everything in half an hour. Staff are completely unhelpful and charge for literally every single thing! Toilets constantly blocked, all bathrooms and rooms smell disgusting! Worst place I have ever stayed!!!


97%

It had a very peaceful sleep and everything was perfect for me.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

After 15 months on the road this would be one of the best hostels that I have stayed at. The only downside was their bathroom. Too tiny for the amount of people per room. Their extractor fans are not strong enough to pull away steam and bad smells fast enough. No hand wash. The shower..behind the door looked like a cat had barfed a hair ball and this is what let them down.. Anything I asked the staff was met with a warm answer. They were brilliant. Women's only dorms would be welcomed.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Highly recommended budget accommodation


77%

Really big hostel, almost like a labyrinth. My 8 person's mixed dorm room was really nice: big enough, comfy beds with curtains to give you more privacy and blocking disturbing lights, separated ensuite shower and toilet plus chill room air (easy to sleep and no sweating during night). But the atmosphere was really still and boring, which why I didn't want to hang around common areas. No wi-fi at rooms, only downstairs in bar/lounge. They charge for towels, padlocks, hairdryer etc.


91%

Cleanest nd nicest hostel ive been to. a bit difficult to meet people. breakfast is good and would stay again


100%

The Beautiful surroundings, cleanliness and professional attitude of staff gives this budget accommodation a classy experience. Access to outdoor space is huge bonus in the centre of London. Remarkable hostel. Great experience!


69%

The bathroom are always dirty and the beds with dust


54%

rooms smell of old unwashed clothes, should get rid of carpets. Saw a staff member lay bedding out on the floor (nasty) to fold it then put it directly on a bed.


94%

a simple kitchen would have been great otherwise a really good spot.


94%

The rooms were all incredibly clean, and the layout of the entire hostel gave off a nice atmosphere. It's definitely the most value for money, given the lovely rooms and the fact that there's free breakfast provided! Will definitely be staying here again :)

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stay here. I wish I would've stayed longer.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent hostel. Very good breakfast, laundry room and bedroom. The shower has a push bottom and the light in the bathroom is turned on by movement, except for those, we highly recommend this hostel.


86%

Stuff is very kind and helpful. I stayed in a 4 people room and the curtains is a perfect way to keep your privacy. The only thing I didn't like is that bathroom and toilet need a better ventilation system which would avoid bad smells. The place is near to main attractions and it's easy to get by bus and tube.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Security i think it was ok and the name of safe stay cover the idea of security so you could take my answer as excellent security!!!!!! Really good place to stay brand new as well, good in all the aspect even the atmosphere was good!!!!!! On little details side i m in hostel right now and they had the brilliant idea to put so plugging socket on the wall beside the bed, really small detail but really helpful and brilliant Also good breakfast, little croissant yogurt, really brilliant!!!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good located hostel. The breakfast could be bigger but in total it's a beautiful hostel and i would go there again.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback