X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1002 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Positive: Great place to stay. Safe, clean and by the metro. Met some nice roommates. Negative: No microwave and hot water is 30p per tea cup

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place exceeded my expectations! I

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice hostel. Comfy beds. Was a bit confused getting there but it's relatively close to the tube. Most of the staff was pleasant but two of the women made it feel like it was a big inconvenience to answer our question. The wi-fi only works in the lounge which closes at midnight. They should make it available throughout the hostel. Overall, it was a nice place to stay. The underground is nearby so you can get to the city center and anywhere else with relative ease.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel itself is excellent, comfy beds, huge lockers, nice and clean showers, big communal places. Location is not the best but its very close to tube station and you can get to the center in no time. There is no kitchen so that a bit awkward but not a big issue. The big issue is staff as they were pretty ignorant, not proactive at all, and seemed annoyed all the time, especially the girls. (except maybe Fabiana). If you don't like people don't work in hostel...


74%

Sadly the window in my room was broken. It was taped to its frame and let noises from the street and cold air pass through. A problem with the gas supply resulted in no chance to have a hot shower on one night and morning on my two days-stay.


83%

Stayed down here whilst trying to get a job. Comfy beds, good lounge downstairs with internet and friendly staff. Would stay here again.

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

A decent place to stay for people on a budget in London. The location in Elephant and Castle is convenient to access many of the popular attractions in London, however the area has a kind of "sketchy" feel to it. I found the staff on duty to be rather rude and unhelpful, this may be because it was very busy.


89%

The hostel itself was amazing. Loved the decor, cleanliness, it really looked like a hostel! Staff was nice and everything really well organised. Fantastic value for money. BUT! I will not be staying there due to location - very skanky part of London with abandoned council flats around. I was scared to walk from the tube station to the hostel - and that was at 2pm, during the day. What a shame!


97%

Beautiful, clean and modern hostel. Can be in the city within minutes on the tube. Not much to do in the local area but you don't go to london to visit elephant & castle. Highly recommended place to stay, will definitely stay there again with no hesitation. A++

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

More washbasins would've been great, otherwise brushing one's teeth always blocks a toilet. But that's minor, really ;)

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The atmosphere, especially the bar, is excellent. The toilets are relatively clean. However, the bed that was allocated to me is not cleaned prior my arrival. Flakes and phone cover left by the previous occupier were found on the bed under the duvet.


94%

The bar on the bottom floor was a great way to start the night, I just wish that the bathroom availability was a good way to start the morning. With only one shower for 10-16 people, there was a bit of a waiting game involved in getting ready in the morning, which can be a tad frustrating if you are trying to get up and out. If anything, it probably just depends on the luck of the draw in terms of the plans of everyone else in your little area.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

I don't know if I'd stay there again. The staff was incredibly unfriendly The luggage store is very small, and you just leave you luggage there, with no lockers..so anyone can enter and take your bags, so don't forget your own padlockers. A lot of excursions, so you may find it very crowded some days. Very noise street. Without explanations, they moved the shelves in the luggage room and destroyed my padlockers. However, they gave me two new ones.


100%

Great hostel, everything working and clean. Staff are good and breakfast is good. Nice place to stay in London.

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good place where stay and know a lot of people from all over the world. I enjoyed the stay, the room was clean and the other rooms too. The staff is helpfull. I hope to return in London and I will be stay in this hostel again!

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We have not expected such a good service even to have a real breakfast. So thank you. We would like to know if a link exchange between our business (incoming in Bulgaria TO www.odysseia-in.com, very much focused on adventure travel) and that Hostel can be established. Thank you a lot we will definitely use again your service and recommand it Lubomir Popiordanov, Bulgaria lubo@odysseia-in.com

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

I didnt like the region the hostel is placed, too much constructions and abandoned buildings. The service was average, although it had 4 stars. The ambiance was too impersonal for a hostel. The wifi worked only in the bar at the basement, the breakfast was less than average, just couple of things.


86%

The hostel is clean and it has a very cosy feeling. The staff is kind to help with whatever problems or queries that we have.


77%

Big, clean hostel with (mostly) friendly staff. Internet room is a plus, as was the big common room in the basement. Room was fine, the curtains on the bunk beds were great for privacy. Breakfast was simple (croissants with jam and cereal, juice, tea and coffee), adding bread or toast would be a simple but valuable extra to the breakfast. About 5 mins. walk from the Underground Elephant and Castle, but through a slightly shady neighbourhood, wouldn't recommend this to girls travelling alone.


94%

Decent breakfast. WiFi was only available in the basement lounge but it's a very nice lounge with plenty of seats. The breakfast there was decent, not great but not that bad either. The beds all have curtains that give each person a little privacy, which is nice if you are sharing a room with 7 other people! The location isn't too bad, just a 5 minute bus ride from Waterloo and there is a bus stop very close by (a minute away). The Elephant and Castle tube station is like a 10 minute walk.


(75 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback