X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1389 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

For the price we pay it would be better to stay in Primier Inn.


100%

Very good hostel. I think there's nothing like this in all London. The best I ever saw. Very very very recommended!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel, located close to a lot of tourist attractions but not much else as it's in a fairly rough neighborhood (not that your very likely to get any trouble your self but you will see more crime) if you want to have nice place to wander around probably not for you. The hostel it's self makes up for this mostly, very clean, nice facility with shower in most dorms and friendly staff who will happily help you out with any questions.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very slow internet that only was my problem


89%

I love how big the rooms are and the curtains around the beds. The bathrooms could be a bit cleaner.


100%

The hostel has an excellent location, 5 min walk to the tube and 1 min walk to the nearest 24 hrs bus stop that takes you to the down town. We stayed in a 6 bedroom mixed dorm, it was excellent, clean, safe and spacious. Its located in a quiet and safe zone of London, we had a good night sleep. The breakfast included was good, it included cereal, milk, juice, tea, fruit, bread. I really recommend it, we had an excellent stay.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I was really pleasantly surprised by this hostel. I was meeting my mum and brother for the weekend and there was no way I could afford £200 odd for a budget hotel. It cost £87 for the three of us to stay one night and it was perfect for what we needed. It was a little noisy outside at points (but what else can you really expect in London?) Staff were clear and helpful. Breakfast was also a nice extra!

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean, great value for money. Within a 10minute walk of Elephant

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall a good experience for a hostel. Everything was clean, modern and newly refurbished. Rooms were cleaned often. Only criticism would be that the rooms were rather stuffy and the water pressure in the shower was awful!


100%

Definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! Highly recommended for anyone! Location was great too with buses running constantly right outside the door and the tube station was only a short walk away! The rooms were really nice with curtains on the sides of the bed and all! Breakfast was included, staff was really really friendly, and the hostel was just great! Do stay here if you have a chance!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice place to stay and located not too far from attractions in the south. Enjoyed my stay and the free breakfast was good enough for a traveller ending his journey. beds are very private with curtains around bed


74%

Ok hostel, location is in apart of London that inst to crash hot but for the price you really cant complain!! friendly staff,


80%

Baths/showers are never an issue - between the en-suite and the additional facilities in the corridors, there's more than enough to go around. Curtains are great, though the metal beds are super squeaky, and those curtains seem to make some people feel they can chat away loudly at all hours.


89%

Clean and comfortable. The location is south of the river but less than 10 minutes from the nearest tube station. Great if you want a nice, clean, fun, and relaxing place to rest and hang out after a long day of sightseeing.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

nice rooms and facilities. Maybe add something to hang the clothes in the showers.


97%

When visiting London I highly advise to stay at this hostel ! Amazing venue met great people, very modern vibe ! Bus station across the street, train and tube are only a 5 min walk away ! Markets and corner stores all nearby as well international food locations. My only negative thing to say is that they should add soap in the dorms.. Hygiene is very important ! Other then that amazing stay. Def coming back there !!!!!


86%

The stay was great in general, I did not even expect the hostel to be so nice and clean for the amount of money paid. The only thing, the location is not the best one, it is possible to walk to the city centre, however, takes a lot of time and walking in the neighborhood is not safe. Overall, I would recommend it and definitely come back again.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent facilities with very welcoming and friendly staff. A well run clean and comfortable establishment.


97%

Great hostel. Bus stops right out front can take you all over London so easily.


94%

I enjoyed staying here. The bar and lounge area was a great place to socialise and use the free wifi. The dorm rooms were great, with curtains that could be pulled around each bed for privacy. The free breakfast was excellent! Not many bathrooms on each floor though, and they were often flooded after people had used the showers. Staff were extremely nice and helpful, particularly the men at the bar!


(120 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback