Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.9

Clean updated rooms/bathrooms, very nice and usable lounge, bar/food and patio area, friendly workers, and yummy breakfast! I was comfortable sleeping in the mixed dorm and breakfast offered the instant oatmeal tubs, meat and cheese, fruit, pastries, individual jams/Nutella, yogurt, coffee, etc. The location wasn't necessarily walkable from downtown London, but I biked there easily and I wouldn't have otherwise seen the area. Literally next to three bus stops. Thanks for an easy stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning Thank you very much for taking your time to advise us of your recent stay at Safestay Elephant & Castle. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Absolutely great to read such positive comments - always brilliant to hear from a happy customer! Especially glad that you liked the breakfast choices. Hope to see you again in the future. Warm regards, Bo

  • Adz24
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.6

Great clean and modern hostel. Cages for your luggage in the rooms. Only terrible thing was there was no air-conditioning in the room or a fan and being in there in July it was uncomfortably hot. Staff did open then the window for us. Downstairs bar cool but quiet vibe and snack choices were simple. Awesome little courtyard up the road for food on the right about 5mins towards the station. Good food and cafes. Can't miss it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Regarding the rooms, we do acknowledge that due to this freakishly good weather at the moment, it can get rather warm in the rooms. As such we do offer room fans for rent at Reception. We hope to welcome you back here again. Best regards, Bo

14th Jul 2017
8.0

The staff are a mix of really great and absolutely useless. I booked in with an arrival time of 12pm, arrived at 12:05pm and was told that I couldn't check in until 2pm and would have to wait, I asked if I could just do the paperwork and pay so I could leave and come back later but was told no, then while waiting seen another staff member suggested that very same thing to a customer that also arrived early so I went back to the desk to be told no... WTF?! Also, there's always school groups.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. I certainly empathise regarding the points you have mentioned in your review and have addressed these issues with the relevant department to ensure these do not happen again. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Bo

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.4

Great place, great location. Stayed here with a school group and then again solo, both experiences great. The beds all have curtains around them which is great for privacy. Only concerns I have are that the showers have no where to put your towel or clothes to keep them properly dry; and the lifts make a lot of noise. Proximity to public transport (both bus and train) is fantastic so getting in to the heart of London is super quick and easy. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning Thank you for such a lovely and informative review! Your feedback is of great value to us and helps us know what we are doing just right and also what we can improve on. Brilliant to read that you had 2 great experiences here staying with us. Thank you for raising the issue of the lift with us - we are currently waiting for it to be serviced and made a little less noisy! We really hope to see you again. Kind regards Bo

  • fcolella95346
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
3.1

Right from the minute we walked in the door the staff was rude and barely spoke English... they made us wait around for hours for our room and even came up to us in the lounge and told us to move because we couldn't wait there!! Staff also barged in our room and told us we had 10 minutes to pack our stuff because we had to switch rooms with no warning..This hostel seems a whole lot better online than it is in person. Full of kids under 18 and the location isn't the greatest. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve. I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. Regarding your check-in, you are only able to enter the rooms from 2pm onwards but are more than welcome to drop your bags and head out or to head downstairs to our bar area. This review surprises me as I have not had comments like this about my staff before - as a result I will definitely raise these comments with them to ensure this level of service is not passed onto any customers. We pride ourselves on having such a varied range of clientèle - from elderly couples all the way down to school groups. These groups spend all day every day outside of the hostel and only return at night to sleep. If there are any noise issues then we do have a 24 hour reception to deal with any complaints or issues that you may have. Best regards, Bo

  • taylorware
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
4.6

So many kids here! Not your average hostel (sucks for partying) for some traveling that's over the age of 21. Parents and kids all over and many adults complaining about noise at midnight. I'm glad I only booked 1 night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent stay at Safestay Elephant & Castle. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. We pride ourselves on our varied clientèle - ranging from elderly travellers all the way down to Primary School groups - everyone should come and visit the Capital and we enjoy seeing such a diverse amount of faces on a regular basis. We are Group friendly, and as a result we do have a lot of groups staying here, so you will see plenty of children around, however these groups tend to go out sightseeing all day every day and generally use us only to sleep! Regarding noise, we offer a 24 hour reception for you to report any issues so we can resolve them whilst you are here to make your stay more comfortable, yet nothing was reported. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Bo

11th Jul 2017
8.6

Muy bueno el concepto del hostal y el staff es muy buena onda y muy servicial. Los baños son asquerosos, siempre sucios y son pocos. Está cerca de un metro que es muy bueno para así poder llegar al centro de la ciudad, dado que está muy lejos si es que se quiere hacer a pie.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Buenos días Muchas gracias por tomarse su tiempo para dejarnos una revisión. Tu opinión es importante para nosotros. Estupendo para leer que encontró nuestra ubicación conveniente y brillante comentarios sobre nuestro personal aquí - voy a pasar estos a ellos. Me decepcionó al leer que los estándares no se cumplieron en lo que respecta a la limpieza. Por favor acepte mis disculpas y sé que he planteado estos problemas con los departamentos pertinentes para asegurar que esto no vuelva a suceder. Esperamos que no haya sido postergado una futura visita con nosotros. Saludos cordiales, Bo

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.4

Fast and easy checkin, only 5 mins from elephant and castle station. Rooms are spacious, comfy bed and good shower. Rooms may be a little warm but a big window lets plenty of air in. Good wifi, and nice chill area at reception. Also can buy shampoo etc from a vending machine which was handy. They organise bar crawls etc too but i was visiting for work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good afternoon Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Great to read check-in was such a pleasant process for you, and also that you liked the rooms and bathrooms. Our vending machine is brand new - we like it too! We hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Bo

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2017
7.7

Super cheap for a one night stay in London (far cheaper than a cab home). It's about a 10 minute walk from Elephant and Castle station and the staff were nice. The rooms were a bit on the dim side, and padlocks are not provided. Will stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning Thanks for leaving us a review - we appreciate your feedback. Glad you found us to be worth the money spent, yes definitely cheaper than a black cab! Great to read you found the staff to be nice - I shall pass that on. We do not provide padlocks free but we do sell these at reception - where they can be a sturdy souvenir for life! Hope to see you again. All the best, Bo

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
7.4

The hostel is really nice and clean. Really modern and nice bar/lounge area. The beds r really comfortable and u feel like u have you're own space. It has more of a hotel feel then a hostel. Sam was really nice. He was very helpful. I had no battery left on my cell phone before my flight, and he charged it for me :). Thanks Sam! You're a boss👍🏽.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad you enjoyed our bar area downstairs and that you found the beds comfortable. Especially great to read your comments about Sam - I will be sure to pass these onto him directly. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Bo

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.