X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay London Elephant & Castle Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1615 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Clean, comfortable and secure. Provided a cage to lock your bags in under your bunks. Free token for drink on arrival which was cool. Location is a short walk from the tube. Would recommend othere definitely

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean, safe, short walk to the underground, would definitely stay here again.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • kiranpage1221
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel. Elephant and Castle is not the most central area and it didn't feel entirely safe on the surrounding streets, but the hostel was very modern inside and clean. The bathrooms were spacious and clean as well. One bad thing was there was no WiFi in the rooms. You have to go downstairs to the bar/lounge, which was a little inconvenient. Pretty good place overall though.


80%

Good location near tube stations and everything! Staff were very helpful :) no wifi in rooms though :(


97%

Be nice off a night there was a Quiet Zone lots children .

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is extremely clean and stylish. Beds are very comfortable and the privacy curtain is nice to have. Ensuite bathroom was very nice . The WiFi is terrible. There is no WiFi in the rooms and signal is even patchy in the bar area.


80%

The best hostel in town, good people and easy to book!!!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It was just what i expected of a good hostel. We had a great stay

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel, but the wifi is really spotty and only available in the bar area. Other than that, the hostel had a very upscale feel to it, and resembled a nice hotel.


97%

This hostel was brilliant reasons are: Great looking place and very modern, Good Location as its near the elephant and castle tube (Took 45 mins to walk back from Leicester Square), Excellent bar area, Good social spaces, Modern Bath rooms and clean, Strong beds with curtains, McDonald's and a news agents on the same street, Shopping centre next to the tube station, Staff are professional, a good supply of plug sockets around, and great value for money!!! Just a couple of impolite guests about!


97%

Big rooms, clean, good facilities (bar and common room). Friendly staff.


89%

Comfy beds, friendly staff, clean facilities. Overall a good experiences. The only thing I noticed that could be improved is the number of power points available in the rooms. In a dorm room full of people with devices that need recharging, it got a little tricky with only a few power points available.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

You even have privacy on your own bed! That was excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're right - the extra privacy you get is excellent! We hope you come stay with us again soon! Kind Regards

89%

Increase the speed of the wi-fi. It's too slow.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Namibia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are currently reviewing the WiFi that we offer in the hostel so hopefully you will see an improvement shortly. Kind Regards

91%

Staff were very friendly and helpful! Clean rooms, secure building, close to all attractions. Breakfast is not worth the price, go to a cafe. Great place to stay on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review - it is good to hear all the good (and not so good things) our guests are saying about us! I am sorry to hear that you were not impressed by breakfast - we will consider this when we review it next. I will pass on your great feedback to the staff who will be happy to hear such lovely things about them! Thank you

57%

This hostel doesn't have a kitchen and charges for 4 pounds for breakfast. The wifi doesn't work in the room, you have To use it in the bar area which closes at midnight. For our stay the only other guests we could see we're adolescents, which was inconvenient. The staff also weren't friendly or very helpful. Although, the rooms were clean , comfortable and safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are currently looking at ways to improve the WiFi so hopefully you will see changes to this soon. I am sorry to hear your comments about the staff - I am sure that you just caught them on a bad day! It's nice to hear positive feedback about the rooms though so I hope you come and stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards

89%

It was a really really great place to stay. There were curtains on each bed, so you had your own privacy. The bar and lounge were really great, but there were a few concerns. There should be wifi throughout the whole hostel. That's our one way to talk to people, and we should be able to do it in our rooms. Also, the showers were pretty gross. There was water everywhere, and it was gross to even go to the bathroom.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the bar/lounge area and appreciated the extra privacy of having curtains around the bed. We are currently looking into putting WiFi around the whole building so hopefully this will be changed soon. I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the cleanliness of the bathrooms - we will pass this onto the housekeeping team and you should see an improvement! We hope you come and stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards

91%

Absolutely the best hostel I've ever stayed in in my whole life. Clean and freshly updated. A pleasure to stay in and highly recommended. Went alone but on the first night made friends, who I then went on to experience London with. The major downside to the hostel is that there was no air-conditioning in the rooms which was unbearable. Taking into account I did stay on the hottest days of the year so far. We all had to sit in our underwear until we were ready to go out it was that hot!

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall, my stay here was great. However a few things really spoiled it for me. My main issue was a large group of school children aged around 10-12. They were accompanied by teachers of course but they certainly were not supervised at all times. They were also allowed into the bar; when you're trying to have a quiet drink you certainly do not want a large group of children running around, screaming and generally behaving appallingly.


83%

The hostel is very nice and clean. Friendly staff, always helpfull when needed. Big cages under the bed can be locked for the safety of your stuff. Definitely recommend this hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback