Hostelworld.com

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 2224 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 2224 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

Rooms were spacious, the mattresses were good quality and very comfy. The beds have curtains which go round the bed for privacy and also keeps the space dark. The toilets and showers were always spotless. Staff were friendly. Lots of different communal areas, university esk. The location is also goodC, 5 mins from northern line.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
5.1

Very far away from the metro station. The staff was not rude but they were not super-friendly or helpful either. The doors slam shut really loud and woke everyone all the time, especially because we were next to a bathroom. There was a construction site right outside our window and it was loud too. Clean rooms and the wifi worked but we did, after one night, check in to a hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
8.6

Most importantly, it was very clean. Having a chance to use a kitchen would've been a pro, but if you're planning to eat out everyday, this hostel is a great option. It would've been good to have a table and a chair in the room, and normal lockers would be better than the cages under the beds, but those are just minor details to improve. The breakfast was not great, but ok, and it's nice to have a quick option for breakfast to try out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.3

When we arrived the key card machine wasn't working so for our night stay we did not get a card which wasn't a disaster but definitely not idea, it still wasn't fixed when we returned later that night. However it was very clean, comfortable beds with privacy curtains and the 6 bed room was really spacious. The location is fine, only about 20 minutes walk and then underground to central London, I would stay here again. The only other negative thing I would say is the reception smelt so bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Emily Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. I certainly empathise regarding the points you have mentioned in your review and have addressed these issues with the relevant department to ensure these do not happen again. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Guest Relations Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.0

Great value if you're looking for a quiet place, it didn't really have much of a party atmosphere though. Large lockers for luggage and key card entry. Like any hostels it depends on your roommates. I got there and it smelled like a dead body, but by 2pm for check in my room smelled fine. It's close to the metro and buses. There are also multiple supermarkets near by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Ben Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. I certainly empathise regarding the points you have mentioned in your review and have addressed these issues with the relevant department to ensure these do not happen again. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Guest Relations Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
7.4

I wasn't in the hostel very much so I don't have much to say. The curtains on the bed were very nice. The bathroom was fine but it didn't have any soap which would have been nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Brianna Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Guest Relations

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

Good central clean hostel, staff were lovely and helpful and beds comfy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Corin Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Guest Relations

27th Jan 2017
9.1

Great friendly staff all around. More of a modern feel than most hostels. Keycard access to everything-even the elevator so extra secure. Book lights for each bed. Common area is huge and theres a bar and light food until 10pm. Needs more outlets in the rooms or better placement for top bunk. The lockers sucks - under the bed, cage style, that aren't easy to access without waking everyone up. You can't bring in outside food AT ALL so it will add cost to your trip. Slight smell in rooms but clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Elle Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Guest Relations

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.6

Enjoyed this hostel, probably wouldn't stay again as the demographics and facilities aren't really what I'm looking for in a hostel experience, but overall it's clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Paige Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and hope to see you again soon (even though its not your normal hostel expereince) Guest Relations

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.6

The staff were very friendly and accommodating! When we happened to be there the hostel was pretty quiet but that ended up being really nice! The location is okay, its near enough to the underground but its not in the center of typical tourist locations. The hostel was very clean and I found no complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.