Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2563 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2563 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • slpm
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2017
8.6

Nice comfy beds. Large storage cage foot my husband's pack and mine. Stayed in 8 bed dorm with ensure although plenty of extra showers and toilets. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2017
9.7

Beautiful place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mem482351
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
7.4

When I got there there was a problem with the system and they couldn't give me a key so I and everyone else that had checked in after their system was down had to go get someone from the staff to open the doors for us overtime we needed to go to the room. Also the room that I was in was extremely loud, I could hear everything thats going on in the street and the cars and drunk people talking. It was impossible to go to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • therandalls
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2017
7.7

It was a nice hostel, but I was disappointed that you couldn't bring outside food with you to eat. Rooms were nice but it was very loud outside the hostel window.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Bo Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
2.9

I was assaulted for having been woken up at night and taking exception of the fact. I called the front desk. They could not move me. I call the police, and head down to the front desk to wait for the police. While I was there the, the other front desk worker Josiah victim blames me, saying that I picked on the person who assaulted me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your email. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad night's sleep because of a guest in your room was snoring considerably during the night. Safestay Elephant & Castle is a hostel and whether you stay again next week or even later down the year you will always have roommate you like and dislike, snore or don’t snore, etc. I can see you have addressed this with my staff and unfortunately they were unable to help you on this occasion as we had no alternative room to offer, or even our free earplugs. I will be also be investigating the other issue that you have raised with the concerned party. As discussed, a goodwill refund has been organised and I do hope otherwise that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back with us again soon. Regards Bo Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • tats_m9960
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
8.6

I stayed there with my friend for three nights. It was the cheapest place we could find in such a central location but we weren't disappointed. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the beds had curtains to feel more private and after the check out you could leave your luggage as long as you wanted there for free.I totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Bo Safestay Elephant & Castle

  • Anonymous
  • France, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 112 reviews
8th Sep 2017
9.1

Pretty good stay there with 2 friends, during a long week end. Good location next to elephant & castle, with different connexion links. Historical center can be easily reached by tube or bus. Professionnel staff. New refurbished rooms, clean, confortable mattresses. IMPORTANT: Be aware that the 3p rooms get one double bed and one single, not 3 singles. Would certainly come back one day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your thoughts. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that we are keeping up with our standards. It is also nice to hear that our employees effort is recognised and appreciated by our customers. We commit to continue to work hard and ensure that every customer is given the best service throughout their stay. Kindest Regards, Helia Safestay Elephant and Castle

  • suzanne_barron236
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Sep 2017
6.9

Would recommend this hostel if you are looking for a quiet stay in London or if you are a bit older. Would not recommend if you are solo traveling or looking to meet new people, the curtains on the bunkbeds make it hard to socialise in the rooms and the common area was not very busy. We noted that it was mainly business people staying here and actually got talking to a few people who were living here short term!! Other than the lack of atmosphere it was in a really central location & very safe!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your review of Safestay. I was disappointed to learn that some aspects of your visit did not live up to expectations. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Again, please accept my apology and i hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay with us again. Kind Regards Helia Safestay and Castle

  • stephenhogberg7807
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2017
8.0

We paid 17 pounds for a bed. The hostel was nice, and we liked the privacy curtains around the bed. The facilities were clean enough. We had dinner at the hostel one night, and were not very impressed. The portion sizes were small. We had breakfast for 4 pounds per person, which was satisfactory. They have nice lounge areas to hang out in as well. We walked to the city center in about 30-40 minutes. Overall it was a good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Stephen, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Glad you liked it and look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards, Safestay Elephant and Castle

  • megan11vorster7816
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
4th Sep 2017
8.3

Convenient location, still have a fair walk or a train ride into the main part of the city though. I'm glad I wasn't particularly looking for an social hostel as there wasn't much atmosphere here. Good for a night or two

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Megan, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our hostel. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Helia at Safestay Elephant and Castle

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×