X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay London Elephant & Castle Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1465 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very clean, nice and good located hostel! Will come back again!


77%

Nice place

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good matrass. Nice bathrooms. Quite warm in the bedroom. Breakfast so-so.


83%

I was there on January 1st, so my review may be colored by that, but I got a real impression of this place as a party hostel. Also, wifi is only available in the basement bar, which was very annoying. Very modern, clean, and safe.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Roomies should have the common sense/intelligence/courtesy to leave the overhead light off when coming or going after midnight. And perhaps packing the bulk of their belongings prior to sleeping. The beds had privacy curtains, a great feature, but the harsh overhead lights were very disruptive at 4am and 6am! Sadly a poor nights rest was the result. There should be some verbal/written guidelines for entry/exit between 12am-6am And/or lower the wattage on the light bulbs.


89%

Aussie couple: We enjoyed our stay. Staff are friendly and eager to help. Good basic breaky get in early. Tube is close. Will stay here again.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Like all the london hostels, insanely overpriced on NYE. Wifi works only in the basement bar, not in the rooms. Staff took the remaining breakfast items at the exact end of breakfast and rudely refused to give any to several people who had been waiting in line for 5-10 min. Very nice decor. Curtains around the bunks for privacy and individual reading lights (more hostels should do this!).


86%

Completely nice. Very and very kind staff. Nice breakfast and bar in a lower floor. Very good location for taking bus. It does not located very close to city centre, but there are lots of buses in front of hostel door. And each bed has a curtain for privacy. It was grateful


54%

There were not enough bathrooms (especially considering that to even use the sink you have to use a bathroom). Even in the middle of the night it was hard to find one free. They also were often out of toilet paper and were completely disgusting. The wifi was very slow and only worked in the lounge. In some beds, there is not enough space for the lockers to be pulled out and opened. This means that you have to pull both lockers all the way out through the foot of the bed to open the second one.


80%

This hostel is simple but has everything you need. Close to Subway and next to the most briliant pub of London the Tankard. WiFi only available in restaurant.


91%

It's a beautiful place


54%

Not impressed by this hostel at all!! Not ideal for young students traveling because there are a lot of school groups, older people, etc. Backpackers - do not stay here!! Breakfast poor and only served until 9am, No wifi connection in rooms, we had a rude woman in our room who sat in her bed eating fried chicken until late hours and got her spray deodorant all over the floor. Terrible food at the bar. Staff friendly though, clean, cheap drinks. Not an ideal location, also.


43%

When we arrive to the room (for 6 people, with bathroom) was impossible to use the shower (smelled to pee!). And the breakfast was awful. I had to buy outside something to drink and eat. Horrible experience, I won't get back there.


74%

Clean the washrooms! Extremely dirty!

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice and clean! Highly recommended! Well located, bathroom very conveniant. Breakfast lacks of stuff, only negative point!

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I stayed there for two days, the hostel wasn't so busy and as it had not many bathrooms there wasn't any reason for finding the bathrooms dirty and wet for more than one day. After that, you just have wifi in the lounge room and after midnight the place is closed and you don't have any signal in the bedrooms. There isn't kitchen but the breakfast is good and the staff are helper.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Having stayed in many hostels around the world, I must say that this one is absolutely superb. It served my purpose very well and I made some new friends also. One slight downside was the knock on the door at 10.04am reminding me that I needed to check out 4 minutes earlier that I was very aware of and was just in the process of doing so. My fault admittedly, but a few minutes grace would not have gone amiss. Many Thanks, great service Clive

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Wifi is only working in the lounge. Wifi should work in each floor and room wifi strength is too weak for so many people

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a great hostel to stay in London. Very near to tube and bus stops. Rooms and toilets are very clean. We stayed in 4 beds ensuite dorm. Close attractions nearby are London eye, Big Ben and London Bridge.


100%

Exactly what I want / need from a hostel. Elephant and Castle is a great location, the hostel is clean and modern and the price is smashing.


(98 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback