X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay London Elephant & Castle Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1957 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

the over all score would have been higher , there was one gentleman present , the only only other english man present apart from myself . inside the complex was bad enough , he was ovelry drunk and appeared to me to be bothering a couple of argentinian ladies . however the smoking area and bar was closed at 11 . unfathomable as to why . thats when things got worse . we naturally went outside the main door to smoke . not exactly the best environment in any circumstance .

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Your feedback is very important to us so we can strive to improve our services. As a hostel, we do have many different characters and unfortunately during your stay you did encounter some which were not to your liking. I can assure you every stay is different and do hope this has not put you off from staying with us in the future. Kind Regards Jose

66%

I signed up to pay a certain amount, but when I got to the hostel I had to pay ~10£ more for each night, which is about $20. I wouldn't have stayed here if I knew that because it was VERY expensive. The staff was not friendly to me and snapped whenever I asked a question. The room was nice & bathroom was nice. You have to rent a towel, £2, which is about $4, expensive just to RENT it.The location was far and supposedly not a safe neighborhood, metro tickets are expensive. I do not recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Your feedback is very important to us so we can strive to impove our services, especially customer services. I will look into the customer service issue and to why you was charge extra upon arrival. If we are indeed at fault then will organise a refund for you. Please contact us directly with your booking details so i can investigate this further. We do hope these issues do not put you off from staying with us in the future. Kind regards, Jose

80%

The hostel's organization was really good. The rooms were great. I liked a lot the lockers below the beds and the place in the living room. Staff was very kind and helpful. Generally we had a good time in safestay hostel.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased you had a pleasent stay with us at Safestay Elephant & Castle. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Jose

60%

Rooms could do with a better clean.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Your feedback is very important to us and have noted your comments about the cleaniness of the rooms. We hope you stay with us again in the future and will see a complete difference. Kind Regards Jose

97%

Everything was perfect - as always! Thank you for the pleasant stay!

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased you had a pleasent stay with us at Safestay Elephant & Castle. We look forward to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Jose

91%

Nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Very clean and had bathroom facilities right in the room. There wasn't any social area of us to drink our own alcohol and we had to go back to our room and do it silently as one of our roommates were already in bed for the night. I understand you don't want people getting rowdy in publics spaces but there should be a more appropriate are than our room which has the potential of disturbing other guests.


83%

We stayed in a room of 6 beds, big enough to be comfortable. Beds were noisy but comfortable. Toilets and shower inside the room were renovated and spacious. Personal was very helpful and kind. We talked mostly with a French, an Italian and a Spanish but all of them were nice people. The rooms and common areas were really clean, which is the most important to me. I have never seen such a good cleaning in a hostel.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased you had a pleasent stay with us at Safestay Elephant & Castle. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Jose

83%

Double/triple Room with ensuite was a good Deal for a couple!

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased you liked the room - with the private bathroom, TV and extra little bits they really are perfect for a couple visiting London. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly.

97%

The wifi doesn't work as good in some of the rooms but other than this is an excellent place.


46%

After 8 months on the road, I can classify Safestay as the worst Hostel I ever been. First this place is not a hostel, lots of excursion kids, very old people, big groups always... is more like a hotel with dorms, so expect a very commercial approach from the staff, the check in was made in 2 minutes with no information about the city and London life, badly helped me with bus information, they sell and adapter for 5 pounds, crosssing street the same for 1 pound, the just want to rip you off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay at the hostel but I would like to thank you for your feedback anyway. We do have some school groups that stay here but it is a big hostel and everybody is welcome. We have lots of information about London at reception - maps, flyers, etc. Also, as reception is open 24 hours we are always there to help :-) I would hope that you would stay with us again, or try one of our other hostels. Kind Regards Kelly.

100%

We thought our stay was fantastic location was exceptional for London to be do céntrical. We would have liked for our bathroom to have been cleaned more frequently as we were right people sharing a room and we didn't gave the facilities to clean it ourselves. The breakfast was excellent and good value for money. We were very happy with all of the reception staff staff but found some few of the waiters and waitresses downstairs in the bar a little rude and unhelpful.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

brilliant!! very happy with my experience. Room 317 was amazing. Thanks guys. i will defo recommend it.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving such a great review! We are pleased that you had a good stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

94%

All is good! Just left some USB keys forgot on the room sent an email but no response after two days...called and right away the email was there....overall service is very good!!!

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A curtain in the shower would be appreciated so water doesn't get everywhere.


91%

My third time staying here. Can't beat it for good value and cleanliness. It's very similar to a Travelodge in a good way that it's clean and airy and very professional. It's ideal if you want a good night's sleep. This is not a party hostel, but there are plenty of places to party just a short bus away. Breakfast is good value for money but I'd rather spend more and eat out.


74%

nothing really to say

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Democratic Rep. of Congo
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Hi, The Safestay London Elephant and Castle was recommended to me by a friend. It was a great recommendation - friendly, safe, reasonable and a very good location for seeing London. There are also plenty of good places to eat nearby. I'll be back! Chris

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

excellent but need a small table in the en-suite rooms and more hooks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate your feedback. I hope you come and stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

77%

the bed frame gives a squeaky sound when we use it.

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was awesome. There's a bus stop just across the street which has loads of buses that can take you wherever you want, such as downtown to sight-see. The Tube is also a 5 minute walk away. The staff is very personable and helpful, giving travel tips and telling you directions / transportation routes how to get places. The rooms are comfortable and the bunk beds have a little curtain you can draw for some added privacy. All in all, can't stay anywhere cheaper for such quality in London!

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and the staff. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you found the hostel to be so accessible to all of the major tourist attractions. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Kind Regards Kelly

(134 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback