X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay London Elephant & Castle Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1941 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Very clean and had bathroom facilities right in the room. There wasn't any social area of us to drink our own alcohol and we had to go back to our room and do it silently as one of our roommates were already in bed for the night. I understand you don't want people getting rowdy in publics spaces but there should be a more appropriate are than our room which has the potential of disturbing other guests.


83%

We stayed in a room of 6 beds, big enough to be comfortable. Beds were noisy but comfortable. Toilets and shower inside the room were renovated and spacious. Personal was very helpful and kind. We talked mostly with a French, an Italian and a Spanish but all of them were nice people. The rooms and common areas were really clean, which is the most important to me. I have never seen such a good cleaning in a hostel.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased you had a pleasent stay with us at Safestay Elephant & Castle. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Jose

83%

Double/triple Room with ensuite was a good Deal for a couple!

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased you liked the room - with the private bathroom, TV and extra little bits they really are perfect for a couple visiting London. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly.

97%

The wifi doesn't work as good in some of the rooms but other than this is an excellent place.


46%

After 8 months on the road, I can classify Safestay as the worst Hostel I ever been. First this place is not a hostel, lots of excursion kids, very old people, big groups always... is more like a hotel with dorms, so expect a very commercial approach from the staff, the check in was made in 2 minutes with no information about the city and London life, badly helped me with bus information, they sell and adapter for 5 pounds, crosssing street the same for 1 pound, the just want to rip you off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay at the hostel but I would like to thank you for your feedback anyway. We do have some school groups that stay here but it is a big hostel and everybody is welcome. We have lots of information about London at reception - maps, flyers, etc. Also, as reception is open 24 hours we are always there to help :-) I would hope that you would stay with us again, or try one of our other hostels. Kind Regards Kelly.

100%

We thought our stay was fantastic location was exceptional for London to be do céntrical. We would have liked for our bathroom to have been cleaned more frequently as we were right people sharing a room and we didn't gave the facilities to clean it ourselves. The breakfast was excellent and good value for money. We were very happy with all of the reception staff staff but found some few of the waiters and waitresses downstairs in the bar a little rude and unhelpful.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

brilliant!! very happy with my experience. Room 317 was amazing. Thanks guys. i will defo recommend it.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving such a great review! We are pleased that you had a good stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

94%

All is good! Just left some USB keys forgot on the room sent an email but no response after two days...called and right away the email was there....overall service is very good!!!

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A curtain in the shower would be appreciated so water doesn't get everywhere.


91%

My third time staying here. Can't beat it for good value and cleanliness. It's very similar to a Travelodge in a good way that it's clean and airy and very professional. It's ideal if you want a good night's sleep. This is not a party hostel, but there are plenty of places to party just a short bus away. Breakfast is good value for money but I'd rather spend more and eat out.


74%

nothing really to say

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Democratic Rep. of Congo
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Hi, The Safestay London Elephant and Castle was recommended to me by a friend. It was a great recommendation - friendly, safe, reasonable and a very good location for seeing London. There are also plenty of good places to eat nearby. I'll be back! Chris

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

excellent but need a small table in the en-suite rooms and more hooks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate your feedback. I hope you come and stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

77%

the bed frame gives a squeaky sound when we use it.

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was awesome. There's a bus stop just across the street which has loads of buses that can take you wherever you want, such as downtown to sight-see. The Tube is also a 5 minute walk away. The staff is very personable and helpful, giving travel tips and telling you directions / transportation routes how to get places. The rooms are comfortable and the bunk beds have a little curtain you can draw for some added privacy. All in all, can't stay anywhere cheaper for such quality in London!

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and the staff. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you found the hostel to be so accessible to all of the major tourist attractions. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Kind Regards Kelly

57%

Staff were friendly, reception was open late, the hostel was centrally located and there were curtains around the beds. However, the common areas were not clean. Also, although this may be out of staff's control, the inconsiderate behaviour of some of the guests in our room made it impossible for us, or indeed the other guests in the room, to get a good night's sleep on the second night of our stay. We spoke to staff about both of these concerns and were told that they would look into it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments about the hostel - it is especially nice to hear good things about the staff :-) I am sorry that the cleanliness of the common areas were not up to scratch and that you got unlucky with the guests in your room on the second night. Thank you for reporting these things and I hope you would consider staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

74%

Very nice place, clean and comfortable. Only downside is the only food sold in evening was paninis and soup.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback about the food that we have on offer - we are currently looking at ways we can improve our menu items so expect to see some changes soon :-) Warm Regards Kelly

89%

We had a good time staying at the Hostel. In general everything was good. Only point I would like to mention is that on some beds on the metal rack there was indefinable substance on it which was sticky and smelled really bad. Maybe consider to clean the beds thoroughly once a month or so.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments about the hostel - I am pleased that you had a good time here. We will definitely look into your comments about the bed frames and get these cleaned up! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in London. Kind Regards Kelly

69%

When you want to have a Place to sleep, then it's OK. When you want to stay in the Hostel to spend your Time, you should find another one.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I hope you slept well here and got to go out and explore London. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

89%

Awesome hostel!!! Very good service from the kind staff. Breakfast could be better and it would be nice if you could choose if you want to stay with either only women or only men.

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review - your feedback is really important to us. We do now try and have a room that is allocated for females only so if you stay with us again just check and see what availability there is. Thanks again, Kelly

(136 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback