X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay London Elephant & Castle Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1667 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Beware the noisy laundry trolly with tiny wheels dragged over asphalt will keep you and your roommates awake from 3:45am to 4:15am every day (even with the windows closed). Beware non-stop slamming doors will wake you up repeatedly from around 7am onwards (they should dampen that). Friendly staff and nice facility overall, but you might not sleep well.


83%

cool location, cool security only except cant get wifi in the room

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the best hostels I have been so far. Very clean and secure. Staff is smiling. The rooms have bunk beds with curtains that you can draw so no one sees inside and above every bed there is a light source. Beds are very nicely made. My only issue is that there is no kitchen and the breakfast costs extra money.


60%

No kitchen, poor common area which closes at 12 and is the only area with internet. This hostel is fine to stay at if you want a sleep and a place to stay but severely lacks atmosphere and character . There are also large school groups who come through often that clog up the place and are a general pain.


86%

Was clean, a little expensive for a hostel, nice addition of curtains around the bed!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Absolutely brilliant place. The staff are incredible. Must must stay.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I've stayed here before and was happy to return. The hostel is quite clean, showers are fine, and I would stay here again if the price continues to be competitive. However, 3 issues: 1. no wifi in the rooms is very annoying, 2. weirdly, the shower really stank on the second day. There might have been a small problem with drainage. We just used a different shower. 3. It would be good if the mattresses were changed more often. Mine was so old and was like sleeping on broken springs.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review - it is always great to get feedback from returning customers! We only have wifi in the common areas so that guests can experience the atmosphere of the hostel. Sorry to hear about your shower and the problems with the mattress - we will take this on board. We hope you come and stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly Reception Manager

77%

It was a great hostel, the staff were mostly lovely and accomodating. There is no wifi in the rooms, but there is individual power sockets for each guest, as well as a small lamp beside each bed. The bunks are assigned so if you like to have access to power whilst in bed, i would suggest asking if a lower bunk is available on check in. The beds were comfy enough, and privacy in bunks was good. All in all a good stay, and would probably stay there again.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review - it is great to hear good feedback. We hope you do decide to come and stay here again. Kind Regards Kelly Reception Manager

74%

Great location and great staff. The staff was really friendly and helpful, for the most part. The building is a really cool old building that has been beautifully refurbished. It can be a bit confusing, but that's part of the charm. One major drawback is the internet connection. It's only accessible in the lounge/bar and the lobby and it wasn't the best connection. Cleanliness is an issue. It seems like some of the restrooms are not cleaned out daily. Overall, I would recommend.


89%

A great hostel to stay in ,clean and a great atmosphere. Internet can be improved. Could provide kitchen facilities like microwaves and hot water for tea. I will definately stay there again.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Surprisingly very good facilities for low price =)

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Hostel was clean and easy to locate from the city. Only issues is that the staff hate working there.. They are really rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel that way about the staff - I am sure that you must have caught them on a bad day! The hostel is very conveniently located so I am pleased that you benefited from that! Kind Regards Kelly Reception Manager.

86%

Our room shared for three family members was clean and of a high standard.The only disadvantage was the early reveille by the very noisy delivery trucks at 5am right outside our window

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is new and clean. It's almost like a hotel. The location is good, the neighborhood doesn't have a lot of options but it is well located. The problem is that this hostel is not a good place to meet other fellow travellers. They also accept families and big groups of children, so it can be quite annoying. Internet access is another problem: it only works at the bar area and they close it at midnight.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review - it is great to read such nice things about the cleanliness. I am sorry you missed out on some of the hidden gems that Elephant and Castle has to offer - there are some great places around! We hope to see you again at Safestay. Thank you Kelly

100%

in a great location and the hostel has a great common area


71%

It was very clean and offered what you need. However, if you're looking to meet people or to have the friendly hostel experience than this isn't the place for you. It's very corporate and being downstairs for breakfast felt like a mass cattle call.


89%

Bathrooms were a little dirty. Breakfast was pretty good. I liked the rooms and the curtains.


77%

We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of cleanliness at the hostel (as you never know when booking in London). The staff on arrival were very friendly and we were able to leave our luggage despite being early. Location for getting to the main tourist areas was excellent. The only thing we were a little disappointed with was the breakfast, though this was included in our price. As breakfast will be charged for from Monday this may need to be improved on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review - I am pleased the hostel clean, the staff friendly and the location convenient. As you mentioned, we have just started charging for the breakfast so this has meant an improvement in both the quality and variety. We hope you come and stay with us again next time your in London. Kind regards Kelly

91%

The Bar + Pool area should definitely be opne after midnight! Having a hostel where you cannot go anywhere to chill 24h00 a day in the center of london is a little bit of a shame. I think that could definitely be improved in the future. The quality of the hostel is fantastic, and I believe the quality of the breakfast should be matched! It wasn't the case during our stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review - you have provided us with some good and useful feedback. We have recently changed our breakfast offering to one of greater variety and better quality. However, it is no longer complimentary. We hope you come and stay with us again in the future! Kind regards, Kelly

86%

Blond girl in the reception very friendly and sexy ;-), Portugees barman very friendly. Had a nice stay :-) My fb Joël Hery Oostende belgium

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(108 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback