X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Safestay London Elephant & Castle Reviews

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1957 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel was awesome. There's a bus stop just across the street which has loads of buses that can take you wherever you want, such as downtown to sight-see. The Tube is also a 5 minute walk away. The staff is very personable and helpful, giving travel tips and telling you directions / transportation routes how to get places. The rooms are comfortable and the bunk beds have a little curtain you can draw for some added privacy. All in all, can't stay anywhere cheaper for such quality in London!

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and the staff. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you found the hostel to be so accessible to all of the major tourist attractions. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Kind Regards Kelly

57%

Staff were friendly, reception was open late, the hostel was centrally located and there were curtains around the beds. However, the common areas were not clean. Also, although this may be out of staff's control, the inconsiderate behaviour of some of the guests in our room made it impossible for us, or indeed the other guests in the room, to get a good night's sleep on the second night of our stay. We spoke to staff about both of these concerns and were told that they would look into it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments about the hostel - it is especially nice to hear good things about the staff :-) I am sorry that the cleanliness of the common areas were not up to scratch and that you got unlucky with the guests in your room on the second night. Thank you for reporting these things and I hope you would consider staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

74%

Very nice place, clean and comfortable. Only downside is the only food sold in evening was paninis and soup.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback about the food that we have on offer - we are currently looking at ways we can improve our menu items so expect to see some changes soon :-) Warm Regards Kelly

89%

We had a good time staying at the Hostel. In general everything was good. Only point I would like to mention is that on some beds on the metal rack there was indefinable substance on it which was sticky and smelled really bad. Maybe consider to clean the beds thoroughly once a month or so.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments about the hostel - I am pleased that you had a good time here. We will definitely look into your comments about the bed frames and get these cleaned up! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in London. Kind Regards Kelly

69%

When you want to have a Place to sleep, then it's OK. When you want to stay in the Hostel to spend your Time, you should find another one.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I hope you slept well here and got to go out and explore London. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

89%

Awesome hostel!!! Very good service from the kind staff. Breakfast could be better and it would be nice if you could choose if you want to stay with either only women or only men.

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review - your feedback is really important to us. We do now try and have a room that is allocated for females only so if you stay with us again just check and see what availability there is. Thanks again, Kelly

97%

Excellent hostel, always happy to be back, recently refurbished, does live up to its "4 Star Hostel" award due to very clean rooms with showers and wc, wonderful friendly and helpful staff, wifi in the rooms, lockers, convenient location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments about the cleanliness and standards of the hostel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

94%

Very helpful staff,excellent facilities,friendly atmosphere,,location very accessible to sightseeingEasy to get to .. All in all great value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay at our hostel and were able to get out and see all the sights of London. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

91%

Very good !


100%

Excellent hostel, always happy to be back, recently refurbished, does live up to its "4 Star Hostel" award due to very clean rooms with showers and wc, wonderful friendly and helpful staff, wifi in the rooms, lockers, convenient location.


69%

The definitely need some ventilator in the toilette . Staff can be more friendly , every times we were coming in they never said in word. Pillow to thin .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback about the hostel - we will definitely pass this message onto the staff so that they will be more friendly in the future. Kind Regards Kelly

49%

the most unfriendly staff that I've never meet , arrogant, nasty. the treating you like you are stupid, any question is been replied with an answer like "even a donkey knows that" with the exception of the colombian girl who was nice, friendly and very helpful, the rest of the staff 0 points from my part. I can't recommend this place ever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Rene Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, Your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding the lack of customer service you received from our staff and i will investigate this further. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. Kind Regards Jose (General Manager)

74%

Well organised and clean hostel, though felt more friendly and genuine in FEB of this year.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Big expectations, horrid reality. As others have mentioned, wifi signal is appalling. The bathrooms in my room never got cleaned once in my two night stay. It honestly felt like there were many older (50+) permanent residents. Not a welcoming environment. For all their claims of a Safestay I felt my belongings were less safe here than poorer looking hostels. Best to avoid, the neighbourhood also feels rough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your recent stay at Safestay. We welcome all guests for a maximum of a one month stay so we do get a wide range of ages staying with us. There are cages under the bed for you to keep your belongings in and if you are worried about anything in particular you can ask to leave your valuables at reception. Once again I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a good stay here but thank you for your feedback anyway. Kind Regards Kelly

100%

Every time we stay here we have an amazing time.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

for the cleanliness. the bathroom was a bit dirty without paper.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

Toilet paper? Nope. Slippery shower (dangerously slippery) yes. Worst part? Bathroom is tiny and water goes everywhere.. even outside the bathroom into the hallway. Very nasty. Also, location isn't good. Mice were spotted in restaurants. Security? Luggage room always left unlocked. Lounge? Locked after some time. Can't bond with others staying at the hostel.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and that the cleanliness was not up to your standards. Next time, please come down and tell reception any problems that you have so that we can deal with these straight away. Also, while the lounge does close at midnight, there is room for guests to mix at the reception area. Once again, I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Kind Regards Kelly

57%

The wifi connection was really bad and the smelling in the room also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you experienced problems with the WiFi - this is definitely something that we are looking to improve on. Kind Regards Kelly

80%

It was clean, friendly, a nice place. Would have preferred a lock on the door tho, even tho you had a key card. But overall was a really good place. Definitely use again and recommended .

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Clean, tidy and affordable, my stay was marred by ill health (severe cold), a poorly ventilated room (I couldn't breathe) and by the vituperative spite of some fellow guests (the caterwauling Spanish speakers & the guy who turned on the lights repeatedly... at all hours)


(135 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback