Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay London Kensington Holland Park

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jun 2017
7.1

Beds are very low, almost gave myself a concussion from hitting my head on the bunk above me multiple times. The beds do have privacy curtains, which is nice. Lockers not big enough for bags. Large cafe and outdoor seating, good for picnics. No self-catering though. 10 mins from Kensington tube station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
6.6

Pros: Bunk beds each had a power socket, light, and curtain. Large outdoor garden for socializing and a room to play pool. Nice location near Hyde Park. Cons: Room was very stuffy at night. Simple breakfast should be included in the price for better value. No kitchen. Park is locked at night so you might be stuck outside. Large hostel so room was hard to find; staff only gave general directions. Shower stalls don't lock and some toilets were often not flushed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed our location and sorry for the inconvenience you had for your stay. Warm regards, Zahra

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.6

The rooms were very safe and clean, however it was very individualistic; most people were either on their phones or on their computers. The location however was beautiful, and the hostel itself was quite nice. The breakfast and food they served was quite expensive for a budget hostel though. You do get a lot of privacy at night though, what with the curtains around the bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. We definitely hope to host you again in the future! Kind regards, Zahra

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
6.6

Location was great, and apart from our room and the toilets, the hostel was really nice and clean! Especially liked the garden and the various lounge areas! However, very long queues to the reception on several occasions. The room was awful - extremely little space, too many beds squeezed in, no place for luggage. Smelled horrid and very hot (not able/allowed to open windows, no air cond it seemed).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you had enjoyed our location and sorry for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We hope that you will give us another chance and we will welcome you back any time soon. Kind regards, Zahra

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2017
5.4

The only good thing about this hostel is the location, every other aspect was pretty awful. Waited more than 30 minutes for check-in due. The staff appeared overworked and not properly trained as they could not handle some issues. The dorms are essentially sleeping cages where you can't sit up and the entire structure shakes when someone shifts in their sleep, awful when people check in throughout the night. I was denied a cup of hot water because I didn't buy breakfast with them - ridiculous!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for taking the time to bring this to our attention. The service you received is completely unacceptable and is not one that we pride ourselves on. We are very disappointed that you had such a bad experience in our hostel and you weren't happy with facilities. Apologize for any inconvenience. Best regards, Zahra

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
5.4

Best part of this hostel was location, set in beautiful Holland park. Travelers here mostly kept to themselves. There were long lines at reception and at times I was refused service at the bar because there were not enough staff and those who were working were overwhelmed. The room was terrible--crammed with bunks and, maybe because of the unusually hot weather for June, it was oppressively hot and stuffy, with no air circulation despite the cooler temperatures outside at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.6

They had 3 staff members on serving one single person while there was a line of 6 people waiting. Excluding first impressions, this place was pretty great. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and the staff were at least friendly. Right in Kensington park and close to all conveniences and a shortish walk to two tube stations. I'd recommend and definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
7.4

Nice location in park. Not exactly the place you'd go to meet other young travelers, there's more of a solitary mood/family based hostel. Clean, affordable, quiet, easy to navigate. I'd recommend bringing earplugs, as sleeping in a 21-bed room will increase the possibility of having a snorer in your room (I had 3, luckily I brought earplugs :)). If you forgot to pack something, they have some for sale in the lobby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words, thank you. We look forward to sharing your next London adventure with you. Warm regards Zahra

  • redrosebeetle
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

The location is awesome. In the summer, there is an opera in Holland Park and you can hear it from the hostel courtyard. The beds with the closable curtains are a definite plus and they block a lot of light. Each bunk also had the ability to plug electronics/ usb in and a reading light. The only real snag I had was that I extended a day after making this booking. Reception seemed to have a difficult time with it, and woke me up on the day of my original departure to try to kick me out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm delighted you enjoyed the hostel and its location. Regarding your extended stay we apologize if it caused you any inconvenience. I really hope that you will consider staying with us again next time you are in London. Once more we thank you very much Regards Zahra

1st Jun 2017
10.0

First rate hostel, honestly doesn't get better than this.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest Thank you very much for your lovely review. We were glad to hear you rate us as first rate hostel. Thanks again. Regards Zahra

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.