Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 912 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
10.0

Despite an initial problem where we found other people asleep in our bed, the staff member on duty was very apologetic and nice, and found us another bed very quickly! Obviously it wasn't their fault at all, but I was very happy with how it was dealt with. The facilities seemed nice however we only stayed one night so didn't have use for most things available. The whole place seemed modern and clean, and the beds were fairly comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
6.0

In general the hostel was very unclean. The floors of the bedroom were filthy and could easily have been hoovered as a quick fix. The beds were fairly comfortable but my bedsheets smelled like men's aftershave, clearly not been washed from the previous evening. We weren't asked how our stay was when we left, therefore felt unable to mention the problems we had found. The staff were very unenthusiastic when we asked them any questions and appeared so uninterested in helping us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
6.9

The room itself was fine, but blimey the bathroom was gross. It smelt bad and there was mould growing on the shower curtain. I wasn't too keen on that. Can't say much about the communal areas as I didn't visit them. Pretty good location, stone's throw from most things. Staff were very friendly and were happy to give me tips on places to visit for the day. Overall, it was alright for one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.9

Other than the makeshift plastic showers /toilet combos that were constantly wet everywhere and kinda gross, this place was A M A Z I N G and the staff was so kind!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.9

Great location. Friendly and helpful staffs. Gorgeous decoration. There are curtians for 2 sides of your own bed making it more private. But none of plug for individual bed. Need to wait and see when roommate done using it. Shower room in shared section is not that clean and no bin in the toilet. Overall is fine and worth a spent to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
8.3

Spent two nights here after a few days stay in another (national) hostel outlet on the edge of town. Paid £25 for a 4 bed dorm which was a bit pricey especially as there was no on suite although there was a bathroom nearby. Breakfast is extra. Central location in old historic building. Well appointed hostel but there was not much happening in terms of events\social activity when I was there. If a central location is important to you then this is perhaps your best budget option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
8.0

Not great for solo travelers, no kitchen and not a great atmosphere. But it's super close to everything and seems very secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
8.6

Beautiful and clean hostel near the city center. Only complaints were that the bathrooms were cramped and felt a lot like airplane bathrooms and there were several large school groups of 10-12 year olds running around at all hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
6.9

Lovely building... room was nice but bathrooms very small and not great. Location was good. Didnt find the staff too friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
9.1

Very pleasant stay, good feel about the place, friendly staff and perfect location. However the Saturday night was very expensive, especially compared to the Sunday which wasn't ideal. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review! We will look forward to having you stay with us again if you're in York :) Carly

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.