Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Safestay York Located at Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate, York.
Safestay York
England
York YO1 6JX Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate
84% 794
53.9569440 -1.0894274
Safestay York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Dec 2016
5.4

Given the amount of people they were fitting in the rooms and the size of the bathroom (about the size of a London Telephone Box), the room was horrendously under-cleaned. Those bathrooms should have been professionally maintained daily. The drains didn't work well, so you were quickly standing in a pool of filth of 4-6 people. Additionally, there were no outlets dedicated to each bed or bed position, and the rooms were not centrally heated (instead opting for a small space heater).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Some problems I had: - Room was freezing, asked them to turn the heat up but stayed the same temperature both nights. Other people in the room complained as well - Bathroom in the room was cramped and flooded when you take a short shower Overall it was a nice place and the staff were great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.7

I felt very safe in this hostel & would stay again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Oct 2016
7.7

I spent there several nights there and the hostel is OK. The building itself is really awesome. The location is great and the staff is friendly. BUT the bathrooms aren't clean! I don't want to know how often they are cleaned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
8.0

A very average hostel. It has no real charm and is hard to meet fellow travelers. However it's clean, has comfortable beds and staff was helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
9.7

Loved the place. Great location, helpful staff and very clean in a historic setting. A nice refurbishment has been undertaken since I was last here ten years ago.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice hostel overall . Clean safe secure. Good location close to train and bus station and across the bridge from city center. Just need a self catering Kitchen. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
9.7

Favorite hostel ever! So beautiful and charming! I appreciate the extra care that went into preserving the history of the home! Only downside is no elevator and extremely tiny shower in my room. There is room for an elevator in the house. The shower curtain needs to be moved farther away from the shower head. You couldn't even turn around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
8.6

Nice clean, more of a hotel hostel. Had these amazing curtains around everyone's bed. Id visit here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.4

A good located hostel (not far from train station) with a nice staff. Only the bathroom was dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.