Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Safestay York Located at Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate, York.
Safestay York
England
York YO1 6JX Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate
85% 726
53.9569440 -1.0894274
Safestay York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Great location. Right in the heart of York. Friendly atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.0

This hostel was fine. It would have been better to have a female-only dorm, and also some kind of common area to relax in. Wifi was irregular from upstairs, and only one bathroom between a room of 10 people wasn't great. Otherwise fine - clean and good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2016
7.7

The rooms are really nice but Im not sure if it is a good idea to have a toilet inside of the room with so many people using it, besides it was not very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.9

Located in beautiful old 18th century building only 5 min walk from train station and 10 min walk from historic sights - York really is a beautiful town. The hostel itself is nicely done up inside with plenty of space and good facilities except no self serve kitchen. Still recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
21st Jun 2016
5.7

Super slick, but a really lame place to stay: one tiny bathroom for twelve people; it'd be super easy for them to have a kettle and a fridge and make life so much easier for guests, but they don't; the vibe is antisocial. In fairness, it is very clean and the curtains round the beds are ace.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.4

I've stayed in the room with 12 beds the only downside is that the bathroom is a bit dirty, the hostel is beautiful it's an old house so great for those of you who like historical places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.4

Very clean and has best location. Staff are very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel accommodation in York.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
5.7

We arrived to the hostel and they did not have a room for us even though we had a receipt for our purchase. Staff was helpful, but they seemed very understaffed and overwhelmed as apparently others had arrived the same day having a booking confirmation, but no room to stay as well. They made space for us after moving other occupants around, but as a result, the room was not very clean. We did not have hot water in our bathroom either. Too expensive for what we ended up with. Would not return.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.6

Good location, clean, a bit pricey

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.