Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
8.6

Lovely location and beautiful building. Only problem is that not much room to move in the ensuite bathroom and the air con was too cold and drafty in my room. Everything else was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Mar 2017
6.3

Good location, close to city centre, no social vibes and no wifi in rooms. The guy at the front desk was new and pretty nice. The floor of the shower is connected to the floor by the toilet so when you shower the dirty water goes everywhere and stays there...kinda gross.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
9.7

I enjoyed my stay - the staff make this place. Carly and the new guy Andrew were helpful and friendly. Carly clearly takes care of everything that needs getting done. Breakfast is basic but plentiful. The rooms are clean and large. Bed, bedding and pillows were good. Liked the curtains. I was unaware that York was a bar town for the surrounding area so there is noise. But that isn't the hostels fault. The location though is perfect to walk anywhere in the city in under 15 minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Beautiful and clean building. Toilet in the room but also a common one. Close to both station and centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.7

My partner and I had a great stay at Safestay York. Very clean hostel locate within the walls of the old town. Only downside was that the wifi was a little slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
9.4

Great location, cool building, drapes around beds are great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

The only downside to our stay was the smell of drains in the bedroom, Room 1. We did report it and the receptionist said he would pass the message on. Very impressed with the hostel . Beautiful house with so much history and great for access to York centre. Also very useful for me to have free disabled parking just around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.4

This hostel is very clean and well put together. The staff were nice and willing to help. There were lockers where you could lock up your belongings if needed, but I didn't feel like I needed to on account of how secure it felt. The house itself was gorgeous and in a great location, only about 5 minute walk from the city center with the shambles, pubs, and restaurants. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
8.0

Safestay York had more of a hotel vibe than anything else, which wasn't bad for the one night stay that I had there. My only real complaint may be the en suite style of the room/bathroom. Only one bathroom for a large dorm can only stay so accessible and clean - this particular bathroom always seemed to have a wet floor and just didn't feel as clean as it could have been. For only one night though, it did the job!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.6

I had a really nice stay. The place was in a great location closer to the station. Beds were super clean definitely a value for money place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.