Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 827 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 827 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.4

This hostel is very clean and well put together. The staff were nice and willing to help. There were lockers where you could lock up your belongings if needed, but I didn't feel like I needed to on account of how secure it felt. The house itself was gorgeous and in a great location, only about 5 minute walk from the city center with the shambles, pubs, and restaurants. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.6

I had a really nice stay. The place was in a great location closer to the station. Beds were super clean definitely a value for money place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.1

Very nice boutique hostel, perfect location in the city centre and lovely staff. The atmosphere is particular and due to the old structure most of the rooms are wide (compared to other hostels). I have been for one night only and I would definitely recommend it to other travellers, provided the solution to two issues. 1. The water for my shower was absolutely cold, even if I waited 10/15 minutes there were no changes 2. Changing some mattrasses/pillows would improve the quality of sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
5.7

Well basically my bed in an eight bed dorm cost £19 and then factor in an extra £3.50 for an extremely bland continental breakfast so I'm figuring I really should have just paid an extra tenner, or so, for a B & B with a good breakfast and a room of my own. The big let-down, however is that the place could be so atmospheric but instead has absolutely none thanks to having no common area, no public kitchen and the rather tacky 'upgrade' done to a really cool old building.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.7

Loved this hostel! Great location for travellers as is located just near the train station. Although the area seemed very studenty on a night. The beds have curtains around so felt very secluded! And breakfast was only £3.50. this hostel was perfect for our night. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.6

Limited resources for self catering (ie microwave and kettle only). However, a lovely place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Great location within a few minutes' walk of the Train Station, the old City Walls, and the York Minster. In a beautiful Victorian building, the room was clean and quiet with an ensuite bathroom, and all the beds had curtains. Breakfast was cheap and had a good variety of food, better than many other hostels I've been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

Very lovely hostel to stay at, the staff is very friendly! Wifi connection wasn't that good, but there are nice communal areas to chill in and the rooms are very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.3

Overall decent experience, only main problem was the bathroom wasn't that clean, also the shower needs a little block so that the water doesn't spread over the entire food of the bathroom, also the room smelt a bit funny as well, but other then that, great staff, beds were clean and comfortable, and the bed curtains definitely gave privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
5.7

Here's what you DONT get when you stay here; Showers cold always,No stove,Can't go in kitchen until 11am cause there always cleaning it pretty annoying Bar/kitchen area closes early No laundry mat No power points near the beds pretty annoying No fridge! Omg. No cupboards to store any of your dry foods / salt etc they don't even have free coffee/sugar in the kitchen like most places. Bar was an absolute rip off! £2 for a CAN of coke.. that's just taking you for a ride STAFF WERE NICE BUT!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.