Hostelworld.com

Safestay York

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Safestay York Located at Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate, York.
Safestay York
England
York YO1 6JX Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate
85% 713
53.9569440 -1.0894274
Safestay York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
21st Jun 2016
5.7

Super slick, but a really lame place to stay: one tiny bathroom for twelve people; it'd be super easy for them to have a kettle and a fridge and make life so much easier for guests, but they don't; the vibe is antisocial. In fairness, it is very clean and the curtains round the beds are ace.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.4

I've stayed in the room with 12 beds the only downside is that the bathroom is a bit dirty, the hostel is beautiful it's an old house so great for those of you who like historical places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.4

Very clean and has best location. Staff are very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel accommodation in York.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
5.7

We arrived to the hostel and they did not have a room for us even though we had a receipt for our purchase. Staff was helpful, but they seemed very understaffed and overwhelmed as apparently others had arrived the same day having a booking confirmation, but no room to stay as well. They made space for us after moving other occupants around, but as a result, the room was not very clean. We did not have hot water in our bathroom either. Too expensive for what we ended up with. Would not return.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.6

Good location, clean, a bit pricey

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.6

Someone shaved, what I hope was a beard, and left hair all over the bathroom (this is really out of the staff's control, but with just one cramped bathroom for the 10 bed room, I couldn't do much to avoid it either.) Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very nice to have privacy curtain on the beds, and this was the first hostel of my trip to have lockers that actually locked, so that was really nice too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2016
9.1

I enjoyed Safestay York, and especially enjoyed their interior decor and their under-the-bed secure cages. Also, the privacy curtains around the beds allowed for a more comfortable and anxiety-free sleep, despite staying in a room with 7 other people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mathew_r_brown6856
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.1

I was only staying the one night, as part of a group, from out of town on a night out, but the accommodation was fine, and no issues were encountered The location is convenient with respect to the city centre, and the main railway station. One feature I liked, compared to other hostel accommodation I've stayed at before, was the curtain screens on the bunks, which gives you your own space and a bit of privacy... It's a nice touch/good idea.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
10.0

Very nice. Good breakfast for a small price. Comfortable. Nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.