Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Aug 2017
7.4

This is not exactly an hostel, it's a hotel that has one or several room for dorms. So don't expect anything about hostels here. Facilities are good but I really missed a hall with sofas where to sit (not the entrance!). Another weak point is that kitchen hadn't even tea or coffee 24 hours. Breakfast is 4€ and coffee machines was unswitched during day. A little shame when you pay 39 pounds for a 12 bed mixed room, the highest price i've paid until now for a dorm. Staff is just correct.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
9.4

Great place to stay for visiting York on a budget, clean and well organised establishment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
9.4

I really liked the layout of the building. Everything was very clean and organized.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Aug 2017
6.6

Stayed here for two nights. Was very disappointed when we arrived to find there was no kitchen not even a fridge to store our milk in. The gentleman on reception let us store the milk in the bar fridge (which another employee ended up using so we didn't get to use it anyway) though we had to throw away our chicken for dinner. No kitchen needs to be advertised, or at least breakfast included. Rooms were lovely, ensuite not as much! Perfect for party weekends not so much backpackers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
5.4

The pictures are deceiving, there was no privacy in a 10 bed mixed room. No female only opt. I paid for 7 nights in an 8 bed room. no refund given except 1 breakfast @ £3.50 No curtains on beds, tiny bathroom and toilet for 10 people, no kitchen, no fridge, can't use dining hall (microwave and kettle) during there breakfast times as it becomes a restricted area.. overall was not happy with my stay. I did meet some nice people there even though there isn't much of a social scene at this hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
8.9

Very nice hostel, stayed for 2 nights, felt like a hotel almost. Very good beds on the dorms, en suite is a good addition as well. All areas were very clean. The outside lounge was a very nice surprise, overall the common areas were in good shape, clean and well maintained. Atmosphere was quiet and relaxed, not the typical hostel where you'd meet tons of people but that might be due to the town as well. I only missed a kitchen. Close to station and town. Very good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th Jul 2017
6.9

Booked the private double/"twin" after seeing pics on the site - turns out the double/twin is just two bunks stacked one over the other. Fairly basic for the price that they charge for this room, and very misleading with the amount of photos of a double bed next to a fireplace. Apart from that, the rest of the stay was alright, staff were nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel was like a dreamy oasis when I arrived. The location was so easy to find after coming off the train, the decor was absolutely spot-on with soothing colors and hilarious Victorian-style art that I got a real kick out of. My dorm room was extremely comfortable and had a lovely view from a third story pair of window seats. I really appreciated that the bunk beds had nice thick privacy curtains and a full bathroom. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
6.6

I absolutely hated the fact that I had no privacy, not even to change clothes....all mixed dorms. The bathrooms were so tiny that I could barely turn around. Also, didn't like the fact that there are no kitchen and/or fridge access. The only good thing was the location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jul 2017
10.0

Possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.