Hostelworld.com

Safestay York

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Safestay York Located at Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate, York.
Safestay York
England
York YO1 6JX Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate
86% 695
53.9569440 -1.0894274
Safestay York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
7.4

There was an error in the booking progress and they had no accommodation for us when we arrived. They resolved the situation as best as they could. It was not ideal and was very stressful as I was leading a group. Safestay have since refunded most of our money and I accept they have done everything possible to resolve the situation. Admin errors happen and we all had a bed for the night I found the room I was in clean and spacious. Bed comfortable. . i didn't like the shower toilet set up

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel with great location close to the train station and city center. Staff was great, room was spotless. Beds were comfortable and clean. Think for the price breakfast should be included

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • collyhmullin2756
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

Best location in York near the train station. The beds were very nice which had curtains which is a good idea in the dorm rooms! Staff were helpful and friendly and the hostel looks more like a hotel inside!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th May 2016
6.9

Bit expensive for what you get seeing as breakfast isn't included and there is only a microwave to use. Wifi very patchy also. However is clean and decently located and the bed curtains are nice. Bathrooms are the small ensuite type that flood easily after a shower. It was also fairly quiet (no street noise).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.0

Really lovely hostel in a gorgeous old townhouse. I was in a 12 bed room but the room was large so it didn't feel crampt. Each bed had a little curtain around them which was nice for a bit of privacy. Bathrooms were like little portable bathrooms installed in the room. A bit small but they seemed to be kept relatively clean. It may have just been the time I stayed but the hostel was very quiet so I didn't really have any company. Brilliant location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
8.6

As a Solo Traveller I can afford to visit places I would probably never have gone to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st May 2016
8.9

It was a nice place to stay, clean and the bunk beds had curtains (thick curtains) you could pull around, ensuite too. I only stayed one night but I had no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Excellent location with York centre. Decent room sizes, with beds having their own curtains as well. Would stay here again if in a large group

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

Good location, friendly staff, comfy beds. Water wasn't running in the morning, which was a big disappointment.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2016
7.4

Nice hostel. Helpful staff. But for 17 pound a night breakfast should probably be included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.