Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 864 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 864 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • gemmajwright3517
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
4.9

No hot water in the shower. Told the man at reception and he said he would get the cleaners to turn it back on and said sorry but nothing was done about it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.1

The place is very well located and we had a nice room with bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the overall price was good. I totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
8.0

Best beds ever! The place lacks a bit of atmosphere but its really clean and comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.9

The most beautiful hostel I've never seen. WIFI everywhere, excellent breakfast, good bedrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
9.7

Overall it was a really nice hostel! Rooms are large and very pretty, staff was helpful and friendly, there were several common spaces that were comfortably furnished. Each bed has curtains around it and a reading light, but no individual outlets which I would have liked. Lockers under the bed for your things. The location is not directly in the middle of the tourist area but is super close to the train station and everything is a walkable distance away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SpoolyMcBoostin
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Great experience. Felt extremely safe and welcome. By far the best hostel we've been to

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.7

Nice hostel. No kichen which was a bit strange. Nice beds and a locker underneath. Good location in walking distance to everything. Very close to train station too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.7

I loved this place, the staff was nice and helpful. I love the colour scheme of the place. Able to sit up in the bed ! The shower was at best lukewarm though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
10.0

I was so happy here with a really cohesive team that thinks of everything and that acts with such unity and class. My only issue is that the rates jump very dramatically on the weekends. The wifi is really good throughout and there is a lot of space to socialize and engage. I can't stress enough how good the staff is. Please be aware that there are not kitchen facilities so plan accordingly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
8.6

Lovely location and beautiful building. Only problem is that not much room to move in the ensuite bathroom and the air con was too cold and drafty in my room. Everything else was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.