Hostelworld.com

Safestay York

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 665 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Safestay York Located at Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate, York.
Safestay York
England
York YO1 6JX Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate
85% 665
53.9569440 -1.0894274
Safestay York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

Good location, friendly staff, comfy beds. Water wasn't running in the morning, which was a big disappointment.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2016
7.4

Nice hostel. Helpful staff. But for 17 pound a night breakfast should probably be included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
9.4

This was an excellent place to stay, the building itself is very clean and seems very welcoming as soon as you get there. The only negative I have is there is only one shower and bathroom for the 12 person room, which was not always convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.7

The only complaint I have is that there were not enough showers/bathrooms for the room, which would have been a problem if the room was full during my stay, but it wasn't.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
8.6

Excellent location, lovely decor, nice and clean. Only downside was no hot water, member of staff informed but wasn't really that interested, told we could use a shower elsewhere but what would be the point when you have paid for an ensuite room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
8.0

Loved the large bedroom, even the 12-bed one. Beds were super clean, the duvet and pillow were clean and smelt new and fresh. My only beef with the room was the bathroom, though, as it looked like as if it wasn't properly scrubbed. I'd recommend to provide a mat under the sink to help absorb water from the shower and make the floor look less dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.3

I really like the bed and the personal light and curtains. But the charging point is only for the bottom bunk bed and there isn't a proper kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • molearii
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
9.7

Amazing location and good value for your money. The beds were super comfy and clean and even had curtains for that little extra privacy. I paid for the breakfast in the morning and defiantly got my moneys worth best breaky ive ever had from a hostel. Ended up going back for another two nights the next week on my way back threw. Highly recommended !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
8.0

Great location, love that the beds have curtains around them and you have an individual light. The ensuite bathrooms are convenient but flood everywhere when you have a shower. Great history throughout the building too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
9.7

Great location, friendly staff and a beautiful building!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.