Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Safestay York Located at Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate, York.
Safestay York
England
York YO1 6JX Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate
86% 812
53.9569440 -1.0894274
Safestay York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

Very lovely hostel to stay at, the staff is very friendly! Wifi connection wasn't that good, but there are nice communal areas to chill in and the rooms are very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.3

Overall decent experience, only main problem was the bathroom wasn't that clean, also the shower needs a little block so that the water doesn't spread over the entire food of the bathroom, also the room smelt a bit funny as well, but other then that, great staff, beds were clean and comfortable, and the bed curtains definitely gave privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
5.7

Here's what you DONT get when you stay here; Showers cold always,No stove,Can't go in kitchen until 11am cause there always cleaning it pretty annoying Bar/kitchen area closes early No laundry mat No power points near the beds pretty annoying No fridge! Omg. No cupboards to store any of your dry foods / salt etc they don't even have free coffee/sugar in the kitchen like most places. Bar was an absolute rip off! £2 for a CAN of coke.. that's just taking you for a ride STAFF WERE NICE BUT!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

This hostel seems like it was an ex hotel (the way it was set up). Definitely recommend staying here. The room was clean, I was upgraded as I went at a time when it was very quiet and only 40 people were in the hostel. The games room had a pool table and long benches to place laptops. I was only in the hostel for one night and was out and about seeing York. The only downside was that this hostel had a checkout time of 10 am, which after a night out was rather early in my opinion.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • whitney108
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Dec 2016
9.4

The location is safe and convenient, you can walk to most of the places you are interested to see at York... However, the bar nearby gets really annoying on weekends even after 2 am. I didn't sleep well at the last night (Saturday) because of that. The staff are pretty friendly, but there aren't a lot of activities to meet new people (maybe because there aren't a lot of tourists when I was there) Nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
9.4

Great location in a beautiful old building with lots of character. Updated with good spaces for eating, doing work, or socializing. Love the curtained beds and individual lights and sockets. The only possible improvement would be to encourage more guest interaction through pub nights or free tours or the like. Otherwise, the facilities, location, breakfast were excellent and I'd highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • WonkeyDonkey
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.4

Beautiful converted Georgian townhouse, clean and spacious room and very friendly reception staff. My only complaint would be the cold shower, however the view from the room and hostel location made up for this :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
5.4

Given the amount of people they were fitting in the rooms and the size of the bathroom (about the size of a London Telephone Box), the room was horrendously under-cleaned. Those bathrooms should have been professionally maintained daily. The drains didn't work well, so you were quickly standing in a pool of filth of 4-6 people. Additionally, there were no outlets dedicated to each bed or bed position, and the rooms were not centrally heated (instead opting for a small space heater).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Some problems I had: - Room was freezing, asked them to turn the heat up but stayed the same temperature both nights. Other people in the room complained as well - Bathroom in the room was cramped and flooded when you take a short shower Overall it was a nice place and the staff were great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.7

I felt very safe in this hostel & would stay again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.