Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Safestay York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Safestay York Located at Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate, York.
Safestay York
England
York YO1 6JX Micklegate House, 88 - 90 Micklegate
84% 764
53.9569440 -1.0894274
Safestay York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.4

A good located hostel (not far from train station) with a nice staff. Only the bathroom was dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Aug 2016
6.6

We stayed in a private room and one of our friends stayed in a dorm room. They had run out of padlocks for our friend so she had to leave her stuff in our room as it was the only way to keep it secure. If we hadn't had a private room she would have had had to carry her valuables around with her 24/7. The price for the dorm was, I think, roughly in line with other hostels. However, the cost of the private room was pretty extortionate. We should have stayed at the Premier Inn!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.4

Not sure if it was just when I was there, but this place is quite big and there weren't many people staying there, and doesn't really have any atmosphere. More like a hotel. Facilities and staff etc. all good though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.3

Great place to stay, very clean and brilliant facilities, however, the atmosphere wasn't great. The bar wasn't really open and there wasn't any organised group events or anything... But overall a good place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.9

Staff were absolutely lovely, hostel was relatively clean (but the bathrooms got pretty messy as its a bad person to bathroom ratio, and the shower floods the toilet cubicle). Storage lockers under beds are refreshingly large and stored my big suitcase. Beds had curtains with lamps to read with which is a big plus. USB charger ports would be a nice addition, but as it was there were ample power ports. Was in a good location, and would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.0

Location is very good. The hostel is worth its money. The beds are very comfortable and the curtains around them make for a rather private stay, which you normally don't get in a hostel. The locker for each bed is big enough for all your stuff, but bring a padlock. The ensuite bathroom is a nice thought, but too small, not very clean and not enough for a room with 12 beds. There is no kitchen, but you can use the microwave in the breakfast area. Breakfast is worth its money. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.3

The hostel was pretty spacious, even with the mixed room I stayed at. One downside is the toilet, one toilet doesn't suffice the number of backpackers inside, 2 or 3 will do. The bar was closed at half past 1, too early. However, the hostel's very clean, good location and friendly staffs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahfreeman342
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
7th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved how the hostel was in a old Victorian styled house and the interior decorations were adorable. It was a cozy atmosphere and a great place for a nights sleep. Plus the dorm beds have curtains for privacy which is a definite bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.3

Great location, right price. This is my second stay and will do it again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hennarannanpaa3770
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
7.1

The shower/toilet in the dorm room wasn't my favourite. And I could only find one extra bathroom. Other than that it was an ok place for an affordable bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.