X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saga Youth Hostel Reviews

No,9 Shijia Hutong, Nanxiaojie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
910 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really good cheap hostel away from the main tourist area around Tiananmen Square. Location is close to the subway line for Lama Temple and Temple of Heaven, and connects to Summer Palace. Hostels in Tiananmen Square take much longer to get to these locations. Rooms are good with big lockers, lights, PowerPoint and curtains for the bed although the aircon was a bit weak. Staff are awesome and friendly. The bar has good food and drink at okay prices and had regular events to help meet people.


83%

Very awesome team. Very nice house and rooms. Fantastic rooftop garden.


86%

The beds are very comfortable, 5 mins to the metro station, the staff are amazing. So helpful and friendly. I stayed in a few hostels in Beijing but this is by far the best one yet!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.We hope see you again next month

91%

The staff are so helpful at this hostel, probably the most helpful we have had in China! The hostel is also really clean with good showers and spacious dorms (which seems to be a rarity in Beijing/Shanghai). The bar had events or discounts on every night so it was easy to socialise, and there was a nice roof top garden to lounge in.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.Thanks for your help here and we hope you had a nice trip in china

91%

Well located, awesome atmosphere. Had a small problem my great Wall tour but the young lady who does the put so much effort into it that she could find another agency within minutes. definitely recommend this Hostel .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay .We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and tour here.

94%

Saga Youth Hostel was great! The staff was very helpful and the place was exactly as it was presented on the website. I had booked a 6 person dorm and had to be changed to an 8 person dorm - it really made no difference to me, but they went above and beyond to make it up to me. The rooms were incredibly clean, the lockers came with a key, and the wifi worked wonderfully. The place was exactly what I was looking for during my time in Beijing and I would definitely recommend it!

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly staff, great location! Met awesome new friends. Will definitely choose this hostel if I ever come back

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your stay. Hope we will come back next time.

100%

I stayed a couple of weeks in Beijing and tried out many hostels, but Saga is my absolute favorite! The receptionists are extremly helpful and friendly, if you need any advice about where to go, what to eat, which trip to book or anything else. The hostel is very clean, has toilet paper and shower gel everywhere (which is not common in Beijing) and the beds are really comfortable. The hostel has a fantastic location to all the imortant sightseeing spots and the subway brings you everywhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay, hope you can come here next time.

77%

Hostel is a good choice for staying in Beijing! Location is good and not too far from a metro stop and only a few stops away from the main sights in Beijing! There are also lots of signs in the hostel that can give you some ideas on what to see while you're in Beijing and how to get there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.we will do better and hope you had a good time in china

100%

It's a fantastic hostel in Beijing! The staff is very nice and helpful, they also give you good recommondations where to go, what to see or which trip to book. There's always someone at the reception during the whole night, so you can checkin 24 hours. There's wifi in every room (which is not common in Beijing), toilet paper in all toilets (which is also not common in hostels in Beijing) and shower gel in the shower. I enjoyed my stay very much!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay. We all had a good time with you here and keep enjoying your next few days

100%

Great hostel! I love it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay. We hope see you again.

91%

The staff we extremely helpful and accommodating, the rooms and toilet facilities were also very clean and nice. Overall we had a great stay at Saga.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for y our stay,hope you have a nice trip in China

66%

We spent several nights here and found the hostel to be relatively clean and friendly. Average price rooms, separate male/female showers and WC's. Separate wash basin room, where laundry can be hand-washed - please note, these are the only sinks that provide hot water for washing your hands (westerners may appreciate this). The dorm rooms are quite spacious with large lockers, which can fit a rucksack. The beds are reasonably comfortable and free towels provided. Good access to local amenities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.we are happy that you had a good time here.we will improve more to satisfy all customs

89%

Nice hostel, 10 minute walk from metro. Bathrooms and showers were reasonably clean. Dorms were slightly crowded but ok. Mattresses were comfortable and each bed had a curtain for privacy. Wifi would disconnect frequently making booking something difficult. Nice bar/cafe area with decent food and lovely staff although they did mix up orders quite frequently.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.we will pay more attenetion to the problems you mentioned.

91%

Staff is really helpful and know the neighbourhood as well as the good tourist spots. Theres a big commons area with a different bar event each night. We went on the Mutianyu tour and the Peking opera tour. Both of which were very well planned and good. We stayed in a big double room ensuite. Floors in our room could have been cleaned better throughout our stay, and the neighbourhood isnt very exciting. Go to the peking duck restaurant they recommend! All in all great hostel, I would come back!


77%

Nice saff, i stayed in a two beds room with shared bathroom. The bathroom could be cleaner and there were quite a lot of mosquitoes. The beds also could be softer. I liked the location because is on a quiet huton, not on those noise and crowded streets close to tiananmen. Also there is a metro stop at 10min walking.


91%

One of Beijing's best! We stayed at 3 hostels in the Doncheng District and this was one of the best. Beds were comfy, rooms clean, bathrooms taken care of, and for the location, dorm beds were reasonably priced. Close to subway to travel around be city, close to restaurants and shops. Good food at the bar, a little pricey but at least it's tasty. Staff spoke good english and all were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and would stay here again.


51%

I paid at arrival by card. But, they said not done and asked me to pay. Finaly, i waste 15 minutes to dicuss and ask them re-check.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.We are so sorry about the touble we caused about that,because we had new staff here for internship.It wont happen again.

89%

+++ Staff V friendly and spoke excellent English. Lots of help finding tourist attractions. Cheap bar. Curtains on beds, with reading lights and chargers and lockers. --- Bathrooms could be a little better, food a little expensive but cheap local places nearby. Hostel is in a hutong, kinda hard to find at first.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.

89%

Very good hostel with nice staff. They offer big rooms, luggage storage for free, towels and even shampoo in the shower. But there is NO kitchen or even fridge or plate, they offer just a restaurant / bar on the ground floor - it's not possible to prepare anything by yourself.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.We will improve more here and hope you come back again

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(148 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback