X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saga Youth Hostel Reviews

No,9 Shijia Hutong, Nanxiaojie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1159 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A huge thanks to all the crew at Saga including the bubbly Candice and Tara. The bar meals area is excellent. Close to metro and a healthy walk to the Palace Museum etc. I have already sent you a customer. Alan arrives tomorrow. Thanks.


94%

Our stay at Saga Youth Hostel was incredible. With great staff and great atmosphere at the downstairs restaurant/bar, we enjoyed each and every night at SYH. The hostel is located about 1.5 miles from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square and around a 15 minute walk from two of the train stations. The rooms were well spaced and clean with The expected amenities (hot water, etc.), and if we ever return to Beijing we will definitely stay here. S/O to Candice, Tara, Truman, &others - BEST STAFF!!

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff is amazing! Shout out to Candice and Truman for their outstanding service and making my stay feel like home.

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

A perfect hostel and staff combined with Beijing itself makes it a perfect trip for us all! Thanks all the wonderful staffs for the warm and beyond expectation hospitality :) Also, your help with our issues (delayed baggage, passport, and etc.) was so highly appreciated. The room is everyday tidy made and cleaned by the cleaning team - Very impressive. Great atmosphere at the bar. The Great Wall tour was brilliant as well. Highly recommended! Thanks for everything again guys :)


94%

Saga Youth Hostel is located near Dengshikou Station (Exit C) on Line 5. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the hostel, which is on Shijia Hutong. There is a really good hutong museum that has free admission that is about a 5-minute walk from the hostel. It is really easy to take the subway to see the main attractions in Beijing such as Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and Wangfujing. The staff are also very helpful. They help you book a tour to climb the Great Wall as well.


91%

Definitely the best hostel I've stayed in so far, and with regards to the rooms, every corner has been covered, comfortable beds, towels, shower sandals, lockers, plugs, curtains round each bed. Great location and friendly staff. Tours offered are relatively well priced too.

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay,we are so happy you had good stay here.Hope you have a nice trip

83%

1-2 km from metro station. Right in the center of city. And the best part is the staffs. Excellent people. Any help you need they are there.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The location is perfect!!


89%

Friendly and helpful staff, advice on site-seeing, tours, and transportation available, easy access to the subway and Beijing attractions! The restaurant was quite good, and the hostel is located in an historic area with a local museum across the street. So wonderful, I would definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your good review, hve a happy life.

80%

The staff was extremely friendly and able to answer all of our questions. The rooms are standard, and the shared facilities were good. The beds are a quite firm, and the restaurant is definitely overpriced, but all in all, it was a really nice stay.


91%

Excelent hostel! We lived in a 8 person dorm, the room was Big and clean! The common arear was really cozy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, Anne,thanks for your good review, have a nice day.

86%

During our stay the bathroom smelled a bit as well as the showers otherwise I enjoyed my atay


91%

The hostel covered all our needs. The staff was very helpful, location close to a subway stop and the room was also good for the money we paid.

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good reviews, have a happy life.

94%

We had an amazing time at this hostel, shout out to Candice and Tara who made us feel right at home! A great place to meet new people and have fun.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good review, we are so glad that you spend happy time in our hostel. have a nice day.

74%

Great location and helpful staff. Also held a great tour to the Great Wall. The experience would have been fine if it wasn't below 0 degrees C outside. There was no heater in the rooms which forced me to shorten my stay to another hostel with adequate heat and services.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome hostel with the nicest staff and travelers. Stay here. Stay here. Stay here. Stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay.You are always welcome!

83%

Loved this hostel! It was in a convenient location, which made it easy to get to the subway and all over Beijing. The atmosphere in the bar was great and the breakfast was decent. Would probably stay here again.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay,We are looking forward to seeing you again

91%

Connecting to Wifi annoying, apart from that everything marvellous! Spacious, bright room; super helpful and cheerful staff; nice bar/common area


89%

Great hostel in a traditional hutong with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. A very good traveler vibe here. Would definitely stay again.


89%

Only stayed for night, wish we could of extended out stay. Difficult location to reach- our taxi driver struggled and it was arranged by the hostel. Other than that not one complaint. The rooms were nicely decorated, modern, secure and most importantly clean. Friendly staff. Each bed had own locker, light and socket. Bar well stocked with an excellent range of foods. If I ever find myself in Beijing again, I will definitely be back! Best hostel I've seen and I'm three months in to my RTW trip!

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your stay. Hope you will stay here longer next time.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(167 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback