X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saga Youth Hostel Reviews

No,9 Shijia Hutong, Nanxiaojie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
565 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It is very cold in room 305 (8 bed mixed room). I guess because it is at the corner of the hostel. Other rooms are fine.


91%

Great great hostel!!! Very helpful and friendly staff, the girls are so nice. The bar is also good, you can easily meet people in there and have a good time. Clean and neat, warm during winter, good showers. I stayed there twice, that's definitely my place in Beijing!!!! =)


91%

Excellent hostel: Very clean and comfortable, well-located, with a social but calm vibe. 10 min walk to Dengshikou (灯市口) station, 8 if you walk fast. Large lockers, hot showers, and one block from two cheap, delicious, restaurants with big portions (dumplings, noodles, fried rice for about ¥15). Also close to a tasty, well-priced Peking Duck place (¥138 for one duck serving 3-4 people). Laundry service. I stayed 5 nights, will stay again. Desk staff grouchy/rude, but still helpful.


86%

Great location in a quiet little hutong. You can easily walk or use the subway to get to the main sites. The 4-person dorm room was incredibly comfortable. The beds were soft and they were all ground level (not bunk beds). Cheap, good local food on the same street as the hostel and near the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kelly thanks for your review, we will do it better. hope see you next time.

97%

The staff is beyond excellent. The Wifi doesn't work well upstairs. The Wifi in the bar area is OK though and the speed is fast; Providing a good Wifi is muuuuuuch easier than a good service(staff). Losing points because of Wifi is something that makes me sad, given such a good Staff.


71%

We had a good stay here, 3 nights in a DBL bedroom with private bathroom. The room was nice and comfortable, the only thing was that the shower was working not really well. Kind and helpful staff, nice bar area (amazing cappuccino!), but should change the choice of music...The location is really good, convenient both for Gulou and Tian'an men area. Dengshikou Metro station is just 10 min by walk. Good value for what you pay.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was really helpful and spoke good english. The restaurant was nice but it was a little bit cold in the room (winter).


94%

I enjoyed in this hostel,the staff are very helpful and friendly ,everthing is great,the mix dorm very comfortable and clean,is just 7 mins walk from the subway station,near the supermarket and 24 hrs convenience store,I recommend to everyone.


91%

nice hostel with good bar facilities, large room, had a fun free dumpling party!


83%

Thank you very much for the great stay, I really enjoyed being at your hostel! It is clean, comfortable and within some walking minutes you arrive at Beijing Railway Station and a Subway station. The Forbidden City is also not that far. Staff spoke excellent English and was very friendly. I also booked a tour to the Great Wall, which was okay. More time at the wall would be great, the time schedule was very tight! All in all I can recommend that hostel! :)

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Probably one of the best hostels I've stayed at. The staff were great, the room very well equipped, towels etc provided. The cafe/bar is really good for food and drink. I don't think you can beat this place. Absolute bargain for the price.


94%

Stay was very good, as the support by the entire Hostel staff was very attentive and supportive. Location and proximity to the Subway (5 min to walk) as well as Forbidden City very good. Great support by planning trips and ordering cabs. Would definetly stay there again!!! Though, showers and particularly the drainage do need some update (i.e. shower heads were covered by chalk/scale causing almost no water to come out) Somehow our room had a serious Mosquito problem that should be resolved

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

we stayed here one week and had a realy good time! we would come back any time!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice hostel friendly staff beds are clean small but hot showers just that theres no lift so diff to carry luggahe on upper rooms not a bad deal in all.


89%

I would recommend staying in the twin or double rooms with en suite. Our original stay was in a double room with a shared bathroom. Although the room itself was OK, it was would always be covered in mosquitoes, as the main door to this block of the hostel was always left open to the outside world. The rooms in the main building are much nicer and of a high standard The hostel is in a great location, within reasonable walking distance to central Beijing and to the metro.


91%

the staff was so friendly and helpful. they would always right down what ibwas looking for in mandarin on a piece of paper so i could show people. i loved the location!


86%

Nice hostel. Staff mostly friendly. Fairly near a subway station.


83%

the staffs are very helpful and kind. they help us to get a train ticket from Beijing to Shenzen. and give some good information about local tourist spot. they good in communication. Location near with subway, nevertheless you have to walk about 20 minutes from your hostel. There is no kitchen shared. but they provide Bar inside the hostel. No regret to choose this hostel in my bucket list.


91%

Excellent ratio price/quality. Staff helps you a lot. Something bad: difficult to arrive


86%

This hostel was pretty nice. Good location, safe area, baggage storage, clean rooms. The shared bathrooms weren't the cleanest they could be, notably the shower curtain could be cleaned more. I wish there was more communal space. There is a balcony you can use when it's warm, but during the cold months, there's only a bar area that you need to buy from to sit there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review,We will try our best to clean the room and you can sit in the bar without buying anything. By the way,our balcony at the outside,it is really cold in the winter,but it's will be nicer in the summer.Lookingn forward to seeing you next time.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback