Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sagando Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 80 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 80 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Sagando Hostel Located at Michamvi Kae, , Zanzibar.
Sagando Hostel
Tanzania
Zanzibar Zanzibar P O BOX 4116, Michamvi Kae
89% 80
-6.1406187 39.4926953
Sagando Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Nov 2016
7.1

Nice and quiet place in the middle of nowhere...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2016
9.4

Was such a nice environment. Very relaxing and we loved the atmosphere. The passion mojitos were class and there was nothing better than sipping cocktails in the hammocks or lying on the swinging beds next to a raging bonfire. Would love to go back for New Years one year! Amazing beach, amazing atmosphere and fantastic staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
7.7

Sagando is the ultimate budget option around michamvi. 3 minute walk to the beach where the sunset is simply ridiculously majestic. Basic yet comfortable bungalows and the staff is very helpful and will book any day trips for you upon request. Also, good food and great wifi. Make sure you bring enough cash from stonetown as credit is not available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
9.1

Nice place to stay. Beach was a 2 min walk from the hostel. Rooms were clean as well as the washrooms. Lots of hot water and the rooms had a good layout.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.9

A wonderful place to stay. It really has. Chiiled vide. It's the place to come and relax and there are loads of hammocks! The beds are big and they offer a free breakfast( toast), can't complain it's free. The beach is only 300 meters from the hostel. The staff are reay friendly and chilled. The hostel doesn't take card and the nearest cashpoint it 1.30 hours away. So make sure you bring some, or there is a hotel by the beach that expects card.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.4

We came here for 7 nights and liked it so much that we added another two! I don't know where to start: the food was very good, in the bar there is music- but not too loud, the staff was always friendly- although they worked very long shifts, the beach is only 2 min away and there you can see a great sunset (probably the best place on the eastern coast of Zanzibar), we often had the beach almost to ourselves, the staff organizes tours if you want to, there is a very nice friendly atmosphere...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel just a few hundred metres from the beach. Very relaxed vibe with hammocks and fires in the evening. Only downside is that it is on the other side of the island to Stone Town so taxi fares can be expensive if you're a solo traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.6

The only problem we did face were various visits of rats at night. But after we found out how to avoid that-- in keeping all food out of the room- the problem was solved. It is an amazing place. The fact that the rooms are cleaned only every 3 days and that not enough towels and sheets are available made is a bit less confortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.