Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sagar Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jun 2017
7.1

Good value for money, it was super cheap! Wasn't busy when I came so Sagar gave me my own room, a "honeymoon suite" on the roof, that came with its own padlock so I could leave anything in the room. He was super nice and helpful. Not filthy but not the cleanest place either. No common room and zero atmosphere, but it was off season so that may have been a factor. Wifi was spotty. No AC, so be aware of that. Close to Varanasi Old Town but not too close, a good walk after dinner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
3.7

One of the filthiest places I've stayed at in >5 mths in India.Multiple * stains all over toilet bowl/seat & old toothpaste trails in the sink from every person who's ever stayed there.The bathroom hadn't been cleaned for a long time.The room was spacious & decent,there were old empty beer cans in the balcony.If you dont mind cleaning the bathroom it could be OK but i've stayed at better places for less.Kitchen advertised but not available,dodgy streets.Booked 3,stayed for 1.Dark and dingy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
10.0

Very polite and friendly staff who are always around to help if needed. The room was spacious and clean and all the facilities you'd expect are provided. The guest house is quiet and relaxed. Also not far from the river and very close by to some good restaurants and lassi! Planned to stay for 3 days but ended up staying for 10 days. Very good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

This remains one of my favorite places I've stayed in India. The rooms are spacious, clean, and stay fairly cool in the heat, but the best part is the staff. I felt right at home staying at Sagar and would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.4

Amazing value! Had a nice, comfortable clean room with wifi for a really good price. Sonny, the host, couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and I felt very welcome. He recommended some good cheap places to eat and I was glad I went with his advice - most days eating well for only 100r! Couldn't recommend this place highly enough. P.S Don't try to find it using Maps.me - the location is wrong! Follow the directions provided and it's easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
10.0

We are very happy that staying in this hostel! We planned to stay for a couple of days, but the place was so cozy and comfortable that we decided to stay longer. Best recommendations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.4

I had an amazing time in Varanasi, and thanks to the owner Mr.sagar who is always there to help out the customer in every way possible. though this guest house doesn't sport a full backpacking style atmosphere, but still it's a nice and good deal to stay here, as it located in the centre of the market, unlike the rooms on the ghats where the lanes are cosy and dirty. the staff was very less, as it had majorly taken care by the owner itself on the front desk. definitely it's worth staying here..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.6

Great value for money. Spacious and clean rooms, hot water, and super friendly management. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.7

So friendly, tucked away in a quiet alley but easy to get places (including the best lassi in town). This was one one my favorite hotel experiences. The classic "planned on staying a night and stayed 2 weeks"! Really great family staff, experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.9

We had a great stay at Sagar Guest House. The staff are incredibly friendly and especially helpful, gave great tips for enjoying our time in Varanasi. They were also super flexible and made every effort to ensure we had a great stay. Only complaints are the location is little away from the river and the WiFi was often quite slow (common for places in Varanasi).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.