Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien Located at 241/32 Pham Ngu Lao, , Ho Chi Minh.
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien
Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh 241/32 Pham Ngu Lao
78% 467
10.7674596 106.6928672
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • AsiaAspirations
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Great location, backpacker central! We managed to walk to all the main tourist attractions! Planned on staying 1 night however stayed an extra 4. The staff are very sweet, they clean the rooms daily however quite early and you get a nice sized locker in your room! Definitely a good place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
6.3

Pretty average hostel. Beds were comfortable. In a good location, right next to the bus stop and main tourist area. The staff weren't particularly helpful but they did give us a map of the area. No breakfast in the morning - one free coffee in the morning though. The stairs were narrow and quite steep. The bathroom wasn't cleaned in my room and still a pair of shorts from the previous stay. The room was quite small too. But still not a bad place to stay, been In worse places!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Oct 2016
9.7

Very friendly and helpful stuff. Great location in the city. My bed was already used but it was clean as well as the toilets and everything else. Free coffe and bananas for the whole day. Good for one night and more stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
7.4

If you are searching for a good cheap hostel, it is a great choice. Staff very nice but small rooms. Good for short trips , located in the center, everything faisable by feet Bring soap and bed sheet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigon backpackers Hostel. Thank you very much for your recommend us as a top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our nice staffs.Please let us know when you plan to visit us again. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Oct 2016
6.0

I honestly don't know how this hostel got such a high rating. It's not very clean, the floor is quite dirty - and yet you have to leave your shoes at the entrance and walk in bare foot. Plus the bathroom door would'nt closed. However the staff was super nice, friendly and helpful and the location is great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
5.7

I really don't know why this place has such high ratings. Our room (401) was okay and the aircon worked well, but the toilet didn't work at all and there was excess plaster and grout everywhere. Whoever tried to fix up the bathroom did a really awful job. Excess grout was just left to dry in the corners and left all over the doors and walls. The bathroom didn't lock either.The kitchen was super dirty and felt as welcoming as a POW camp. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us in Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are sorry about your problems during your stay with us at the hostel. We really appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass on critical points you've mentioned. We hope you had a great time in Ho Chi Minh.

20th Sep 2016
9.1

Overall a great place to stay. The location was a bit hard to find, but it close to the Bui Vien and walking distance to all the attractions. The staff were super friendly and helpful. They arrange for a day trip to Mekong and airport transfer. One of the few hostels that has a kitchen. Pretty rare in Asia. I stayed in a private room which was clean, but the bathroom ceiling leaked on the toilet. It wasn't great if you were sitting on it. Atmosphere was okay, but that social.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your nice feedback! we are so happy that you are please with your experience at saigon backpackers hostel @ Bui Vien. We greatly appreciate that you fond out our clean room, friendly and helpful staff...Besides, we are sorry about the bathroom celling during your stay at the hostel. We really appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass on critical points you've mentioned. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay. It is very safe and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien ! It's always lovely to hear great reviews of our services. We looking forward to welcoming you back to our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Aug 2016
6.9

Very average. Small room. No window! Damp and foul smelling. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
10.0

Tiny little hostel in the best place possible. Close to everything a backpacker could want in HCMC. Also offers free coffee and banana in the morning. Very clean hostel. Despite being in a very noisy part of town the rooms were rather quiet. The staff was very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

what a pleasure to have your excellent review! we are so glad that you found out the clean room, friendly staff... We hope you have a great time in the rest of your travel and look forward to seeing you soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.