Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2017
10.0

Staff here are super friendly and helpful and location is great too, in a busy neighbourhood with plenty of delicious local food available, and in walking distance to all of Ho Chi Minh's attractions. I had great time to join the Cooking class with owner :)). If I have chance to go to here I will come to you. Very nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2017
8.3

Good location. Friendly staff. Clean room. Lockers provides. Get discounts for the trips. Just very quiet no entertainment is on. I am a solo traveller so was a bit bored there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dougmacdonald96
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2017
7.1

A good hostel in a small alley off Bui Vien - a great location. However, the bed was uncomfortable and the room could have been cleaner. The staff are great though and the free breakfast is a nice touch.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2017
5.1

Not very clean, the whole room smelled horrible, uncomfortable beds and no elevator, and when I wake up my bed had many ants. No recomended

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
6.6

Room was like a cupboard. Had no windows and smelt musky. The bed are also hard as rock. There's no social room to meet other travelers. But very close to the main backpackers street so good for bars and restaurants, and down an alley so it's not noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
10.0

Homey, comfy beds, clean, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, good location, the decor inside is really cool! Staff were really helpful with planning trips and journeys. Truly appreciated it ... Highly recommend Saigon Backpackers hostel and are looking forward to returning very soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
8.3

I was here for about a week and a half. The staff was very sweet and accommodating. After a while I felt as if it was my home. They were very helpful with tour information as well. I enjoyed my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
3.4

There is nothing good I can say about this hostel. There was mold on the walls in my room. My bed sheets were stained, one of them looked like blood. They changed the sheets and they were just less stained. The bathroom was tiny, flooded when you took a shower, and was very dirty. Do NOT give them your laundry, not only is it overpriced they lost THREE items, and put the blame on us. Breakfast sucked. The Chu Chi tour is over priced. There are many hostels in the area, choose another one.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We would like to make this situation clear: We normally don't have problems because we change the clean sheets and check the rooms every day.What you saw on the sheet is just a small BB cream old spotting (not look like blood you thought ) so they are absolutely clean. Next, we think you should double check your clothes because you received the whole laundry back and didn't know why you lost some items after checking every thing in your room and accepting check-out process normally. We have free breakfast for everyone and almost okay, but might be not your suitable taste. Lastly, you thought our services is overpriced. Actually we always organize quality services and choose reputation company with the best deal in order to make satisfied guest in-house. We hope you had a great time in the city. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!

18th Jul 2017
8.9

Good location. Close to main strip but down alley so not noisy. Beds slightly hard. Breakfast good. Bathrooms good. Not a good hostel for meeting people though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigon backpackers Hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in your next visit to Saigon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.9

Was great for what we were looking for - a base to explore HCM. Staff very helpful, internet alright but they had two computers that could be used for free which were really fast. Breakfast decent, rooms clean, hot water, amazing location and a good experience. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×