Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

“Would highly recommend” I came here because the reviews were so good. My expectations were all fulfilled. It was all very well. The airport service. Super friendly staff. Cleanliness outstanding. It is a cool hostel with very high standard. I can only recommend it..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th May 2017
6.9

Tiny rooms, not very clean. Beds are fine. Toilet/shower in each room with a very thin door/walls. Great location right by Bui Vien. Staff was nice. Quick free cooking class was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
10.0

This is the 1st time that I stay in a dorm, hence I only book one day to be change hostel if having any trouble. What a great surprise, it's better than my imagination: friendly staff, good location, clean bed with a cold AC for hot weather in HCMC,... Definitely I will come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maggymct
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.1

Quite small rooms, big beds and great location. Down a little side street buzzing with life. Not a lot of atmosphere in the actual hostel though. Staff friendly and helpful enough

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
6.9

WiFi was terrible. Rooms small but good value for money. You get a free beer at 7pm and it's REALLY cheap to buy a beer from the hostel so get them in before the fridge is bare because when they're gone they don't restock the fridge. Location is perfect for the main backpacker area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.1

The location is absolutely perfect with lots of eateries nearby. I appreciate that the goodies could be stored in a fridge, however, I never saw any of the hostelguests in the kitchen (or maybe they were still sleeping around 8:30am) - it was mostly occupied by the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
6.3

Small private room not cleaned in over a week, outdated XP computers which cannot accept secure browsers was the worst...they are old and missing the USB pots could not log into my bank or credti card due to security issues with the browsers...Unacceptable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Great location to backpacker street and we walked to everything in the city from here. The road of the hostel is busy but quiet at night. There are lockers in the room big enough for the backpack and lockers in the 24h reception for valuables although we just used the lockers in the room. Would recommend for a chilled out/friendly atmosphere. Met loads of nice people staying here and we had a great night for NYE.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your excellent review! we are so appreciated that you recommended us as a top choice of accommodations and highlighting great location...Also, We greatly appreciate you recommend us to other travelers. We wish you have a great travels and look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.1

Lovely staff at the hostel, nice to have just a 4 bed dorm and beds are huge! Free tea,coffee and bananas all day was great and also 1 free beer in the evening :) in a good location close enough to walk to war museum, market and rooftop bars (chill was really good and did a happy hour!). Also lots of street food and spa/salons nearby!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What pleasure to hear your excellent review! we really appreciate that you recommend us to other travelers. We hope you have a great time in ho chi minh city and please let us know when you have a plan to visit us.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

I had a single room in this place for one night. It was really nice i came in late and they were there waiting for me. I had a coffee and banana in the morning and watched the little alley it is located on start to bustle. Close to the touristy area, but nice and secluded too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know when you have a plan to visit us.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.