Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Bui Vien

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Feb 2017
6.9

WiFi was terrible. Rooms small but good value for money. You get a free beer at 7pm and it's REALLY cheap to buy a beer from the hostel so get them in before the fridge is bare because when they're gone they don't restock the fridge. Location is perfect for the main backpacker area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.1

The location is absolutely perfect with lots of eateries nearby. I appreciate that the goodies could be stored in a fridge, however, I never saw any of the hostelguests in the kitchen (or maybe they were still sleeping around 8:30am) - it was mostly occupied by the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
6.3

Small private room not cleaned in over a week, outdated XP computers which cannot accept secure browsers was the worst...they are old and missing the USB pots could not log into my bank or credti card due to security issues with the browsers...Unacceptable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Great location to backpacker street and we walked to everything in the city from here. The road of the hostel is busy but quiet at night. There are lockers in the room big enough for the backpack and lockers in the 24h reception for valuables although we just used the lockers in the room. Would recommend for a chilled out/friendly atmosphere. Met loads of nice people staying here and we had a great night for NYE.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your excellent review! we are so appreciated that you recommended us as a top choice of accommodations and highlighting great location...Also, We greatly appreciate you recommend us to other travelers. We wish you have a great travels and look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.1

Lovely staff at the hostel, nice to have just a 4 bed dorm and beds are huge! Free tea,coffee and bananas all day was great and also 1 free beer in the evening :) in a good location close enough to walk to war museum, market and rooftop bars (chill was really good and did a happy hour!). Also lots of street food and spa/salons nearby!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What pleasure to hear your excellent review! we really appreciate that you recommend us to other travelers. We hope you have a great time in ho chi minh city and please let us know when you have a plan to visit us.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

I had a single room in this place for one night. It was really nice i came in late and they were there waiting for me. I had a coffee and banana in the morning and watched the little alley it is located on start to bustle. Close to the touristy area, but nice and secluded too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know when you have a plan to visit us.

  • AsiaAspirations
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Great location, backpacker central! We managed to walk to all the main tourist attractions! Planned on staying 1 night however stayed an extra 4. The staff are very sweet, they clean the rooms daily however quite early and you get a nice sized locker in your room! Definitely a good place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What pleasure to hear your excellent review! we are so happy that you highlight our great location and sweet staff. We really appreciate that you recommend us to other travelers. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know when you have a plan to visit us.

28th Oct 2016
6.3

Pretty average hostel. Beds were comfortable. In a good location, right next to the bus stop and main tourist area. The staff weren't particularly helpful but they did give us a map of the area. No breakfast in the morning - one free coffee in the morning though. The stairs were narrow and quite steep. The bathroom wasn't cleaned in my room and still a pair of shorts from the previous stay. The room was quite small too. But still not a bad place to stay, been In worse places!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Oct 2016
9.7

Very friendly and helpful stuff. Great location in the city. My bed was already used but it was clean as well as the toilets and everything else. Free coffe and bananas for the whole day. Good for one night and more stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
7.4

If you are searching for a good cheap hostel, it is a great choice. Staff very nice but small rooms. Good for short trips , located in the center, everything faisable by feet Bring soap and bed sheet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigon backpackers Hostel. Thank you very much for your recommend us as a top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our nice staffs.Please let us know when you plan to visit us again. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.