Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh Located at 200 Cong Quynh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh.
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh
Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh Ho Chi Minh 200 Cong Quynh, District 1
74% 251
10.7664583 106.6890746
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
2.9

This hostel is cheap, so if that is the number one priority then this hostel would suit. However, the room wasn't clean, there were hairs all over my bed and stains on the sheets. The room didn't lock either, and there was no key/card entry at the front door so anybody could walk into the hostel. The location is pretty good, but staff weren't really helpful in terms of saying where to go/holding a conversation. They offer a taxi service to the airport which is good. Overall would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
4.6

The photographs online are not representative of what the rooms actually look like. The bathroom was dirty and dingy. The door to the private room had a large gap underneath meaning there was no sound protection and we couldn't sleep. The bedsheets weren't clean and the room had a strange smell. Left after one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
6.6

Great location. However, overall disappointed. After a night out we returned to find that we'd been locked out on the street - receptionist had fallen asleep inside. But this is one incident. Even though we got discount and receptionist was very apologetic there were many bad things. Bedside lamps don't work and we got electrocuted trying to use it as they aren't covered. Reception is small so atmosphere was poor. Room was also small and cramped. Cheap, but there are better hostels nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
5.7

The photos sell a really modern place when it wasn't. The people I met there were very nice, but the bathrooms were dirty (the lights of which couldn't go off at night), and the staff wasn't very helpful, since on our last day the receptionist forgot to give us our passports back. We missed half of our trip to the Mekong Delta because of her.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jul 2016
6.9

Bathrooms without bins, made for an unpleasant toilet experience and having to deposit it outside the bathrooms. They were also always very wet/damp. Social area good and in a good location for backpackers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.6

Decent place, nothing special. Staff don't go out of their way or anything, just the bare minimum effort. Rooftop was pretty cool, got some solid reading in while I was up there. Needs to replace toilet paper throughout hostel more often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2016
8.3

Hostel was close to most of the attractions you would wanna see in Saigon, staff were pretty friendly and helpful, plenty of restaurants and pubs around. Had a very pleasant stay in this hostel, would definitely recommend it if you're looking for a place to stay in Saigon!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Kristen8055
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
24th Jul 2016
5.4

Paid for a female dorm and there were guys in the room, my bed was taken second night when I returned. Showers were not in proper working condition, chargers were stolen from power points (I didn't think it would be necessary to lock the chargers up so this is partly my own fault), replaced the chargers only to put them behind the front desk and when asked to get them back they had lent them out to someone else and had to retrieve them from another person.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jarrod_d
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.6

Never written one of these but just want to give a shoutout to my man Thuan, the male receptionist with short hair. Got into a bit of a potential sticky situation but this ledge pulled through for me. Owe you a beer when you come downunder big fella!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.9

Had an excellent stay here. Returned a week later after being stranded between night buses even though we weren't staying again, they let us come in use all there facilities including borrowing a charger. Extremely friendly and helpful, highly recommend as a cheap backpackers! Also perfect location and wifi!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.