Hostelworld.com

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 503 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 503 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Just exactly what I needed. Perfect location. Had a 4bed dorm with the private bathroom next to the room. Clean, nice, quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eviatnyenrode6761
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.3

There's great access to the backpacker's bars, cafes etc, without all the noise or hubbub of being right on the main street. However, the hostel can only be reached down a pedestrian alley. Also, all of the rooms are upstairs, some of them up 4 or 5 flights of stairs, no lift. The staff are friendly and helpful, even using their own phones/apps to order cheap taxis to the airport; but the photo of the hostel is misleading: the pool table is in the way/unused, there's no real hangout area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
4.6

Very small hostel, not much room for socializing. Also shower/toilet a little too small. For me since the atmosphere was not as good it was easier to see the lack of facilities. Only stayed there one night. Staff was friendly, felt more like a home stay than a hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.7

Had a great time at this hostel,very clean, helpful staff ,good location and I was allowed TWO bananas for breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What pleasure to hear your excellent review! we are so happy that you highlight our clean and helpful staff,...We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know when you have a plan to visit us

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.0

Wasn't really worth what you pay. The ac leaked all over a girls pack and they didn't fix the issue 2 nights in a row. No eggs for breakfast...that was a deal breaker since most hostels in that area, and that are cheaper have eggs in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.9

There's a TV in reception that gets switched off at 10pm - to encourage guests to keep the noise down. It wasn't the cleanest place I've stayed, but neither was it the dirtiest by a long stretch. Word of warning - the air con in the female dorm leaks, towels are used to soak up the water. If you don't mind the sound of a dripping tap all night, this won't be a problem for you. I met some really nice people staying here and had a lot of fun. Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.0

Hostel was clean, beds were comfy and bathrooms were great. Staff, however, were a little unhelpful. Took ages to check in and confirm booking, and had to provide proof of all email correspondence. Was also moved from 4 bed dorm to 8 bed dorm without prior notification. Receptionist told us that airport transfer could be booked 30 minutes before departure, but when we tried to book the next morning (6am) we were told this had to be done the night before. Slightly annoying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Dec 2016
7.7

Pretty basic hostel. Good value for money and the air con inside the rooms were really good. A bit out of the way from things. But was nice a quiet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are pleasure that you found out pretty basic hostel.We hope you have a great time in ho chi minh city and please let us know when you have a plan to visit us

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.1

Nice little hostel in a very good location. Not a party hostel but still quite social thanks to the social area downstairs. Very clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • clara_simon
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.6

The hostel was really nice. We got a private room and the facilities were really good. The only annoying thing was that we arrived quite early and we could only check in at 2pm. The free 'breakfast' was also not great, as it was only a banana. The location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are so please that you found out nice hostel, good facilities. Actually, we used to have breakfast, but we do not have it anymore. We notified those in Hostelworld.com. Coffee and banana is complementary for guest. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know if you have plan to visit us again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.