Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao Located at 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh.
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1
80% 493
10.7666098 106.6896875
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jan 2017
9.7

Had a great time at this hostel,very clean, helpful staff ,good location and I was allowed TWO bananas for breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.9

There's a TV in reception that gets switched off at 10pm - to encourage guests to keep the noise down. It wasn't the cleanest place I've stayed, but neither was it the dirtiest by a long stretch. Word of warning - the air con in the female dorm leaks, towels are used to soak up the water. If you don't mind the sound of a dripping tap all night, this won't be a problem for you. I met some really nice people staying here and had a lot of fun. Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.0

Hostel was clean, beds were comfy and bathrooms were great. Staff, however, were a little unhelpful. Took ages to check in and confirm booking, and had to provide proof of all email correspondence. Was also moved from 4 bed dorm to 8 bed dorm without prior notification. Receptionist told us that airport transfer could be booked 30 minutes before departure, but when we tried to book the next morning (6am) we were told this had to be done the night before. Slightly annoying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Dec 2016
7.7

Pretty basic hostel. Good value for money and the air con inside the rooms were really good. A bit out of the way from things. But was nice a quiet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are pleasure that you found out pretty basic hostel.We hope you have a great time in ho chi minh city and please let us know when you have a plan to visit us

  • clara_simon
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.6

The hostel was really nice. We got a private room and the facilities were really good. The only annoying thing was that we arrived quite early and we could only check in at 2pm. The free 'breakfast' was also not great, as it was only a banana. The location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are so please that you found out nice hostel, good facilities. Actually, we used to have breakfast, but we do not have it anymore. We notified those in Hostelworld.com. Coffee and banana is complementary for guest. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know if you have plan to visit us again.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, best staff. I was there for only one night but very hip and homey place and the staff is more than willing to give advice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What pleasure to hear your excellent review! we are so happy that you highlight great location and best staff, we really appreciate that you recommend us to other travelers. Thank you very much for your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know when you have a plan to visit us

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
10.0

The location is great, as you have the easy access to public transport very close to the hostel. The staff is very helpful and welcoming and assisted us wherever needed. We attended one of the free tours through the hostel and were lucky to get a great tour guide, who was every passionate and knowledgeable about the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We greatly appreciate you recognizing their efforts as all our team members work very hard to ensure each guest’s stay is memorable. I sincerely hope to see you again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
10.0

Very nice, clean, friendly atmosphere; I felt very at home. The staff is very polite and thank you for arranging me free city tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigonbackpackers Hostel Thank you very much for your nice review. It’s always a pleasure to hear our nice, clean and friendly atmosphere, enjoy your experience with Free city tours, particularly highlight polite staffs who want to ensure the guests have a comfortable stay. We wish you the best with all of your future travels. Please let us know when you have plan to visit us.

  • zupervit
  • Indonesia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.1

I really satisfied with this hostel because of its location, price, staff, bed and room. The bed is quite wide and there are 3 plugs next to each bed. The room is large enough for 8 people. The best thing is their location is very near to the Pham Ngu Lao bus station. Thanks a lot for the hospitality during my stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are please that you found out satisfied place with location, price, staff, bed and room at Saigon backpackers Hostel. We greatly appreciate that you recognize all our team members work very hard to ensure each guests have a memorable stay. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Oct 2016
6.3

Nice hostel. I would recommend - we stayed twice! Location is ok - 10 minute walk from bars and restaurants. Breakfast could be better. We expected a bit more than bananas. Air conditioning and big, comfy beds! Lockers were a great size. No problem with security in the rooms, but did have a pair of shoes stolen from the outside shoe storage. Booked a trip to the Mekong Delta for about £10 and had a good time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.