Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.6

Nice enough place. Friendly staff. It is tucked away in alley off the main street and can be difficult to find at first. Quiet location given the busy street nearby and an easy walk to the market with great street food all around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.4

Great wide beds, very comfortable. Decent wifi. People at reception - a smile once in a while wouldn't hurt! But for this price it's great. Location is quite good, very close to the Backpacker street. Would come back. There is also a hidden rooftop on the hostel that nobody mentions so check it out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

Has AC, no bed bugs. Located on a backpacker's street. Locker in bedroom. Staff are ok. But the environmwnt is very conductive to socializing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Just exactly what I needed. Perfect location. Had a 4bed dorm with the private bathroom next to the room. Clean, nice, quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay at Saigon backpackers hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!

  • eviatnyenrode6761
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.3

There's great access to the backpacker's bars, cafes etc, without all the noise or hubbub of being right on the main street. However, the hostel can only be reached down a pedestrian alley. Also, all of the rooms are upstairs, some of them up 4 or 5 flights of stairs, no lift. The staff are friendly and helpful, even using their own phones/apps to order cheap taxis to the airport; but the photo of the hostel is misleading: the pool table is in the way/unused, there's no real hangout area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
4.6

Very small hostel, not much room for socializing. Also shower/toilet a little too small. For me since the atmosphere was not as good it was easier to see the lack of facilities. Only stayed there one night. Staff was friendly, felt more like a home stay than a hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.7

Had a great time at this hostel,very clean, helpful staff ,good location and I was allowed TWO bananas for breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What pleasure to hear your excellent review! we are so happy that you highlight our clean and helpful staff,...We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Please let us know when you have a plan to visit us

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.0

Wasn't really worth what you pay. The ac leaked all over a girls pack and they didn't fix the issue 2 nights in a row. No eggs for breakfast...that was a deal breaker since most hostels in that area, and that are cheaper have eggs in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.9

There's a TV in reception that gets switched off at 10pm - to encourage guests to keep the noise down. It wasn't the cleanest place I've stayed, but neither was it the dirtiest by a long stretch. Word of warning - the air con in the female dorm leaks, towels are used to soak up the water. If you don't mind the sound of a dripping tap all night, this won't be a problem for you. I met some really nice people staying here and had a lot of fun. Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.0

Hostel was clean, beds were comfy and bathrooms were great. Staff, however, were a little unhelpful. Took ages to check in and confirm booking, and had to provide proof of all email correspondence. Was also moved from 4 bed dorm to 8 bed dorm without prior notification. Receptionist told us that airport transfer could be booked 30 minutes before departure, but when we tried to book the next morning (6am) we were told this had to be done the night before. Slightly annoying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.