Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao Located at 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh.
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1
80% 451
10.7668061 106.6897237
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
7.7

This hostel is located down an alley but there are several others so it doesn't feel unsafe. Small social area so not really a place to party or really socialize. Beds were HUGE, definitely could fit 2 to a bed if you wanted to (or could!). Each dorm has its own bathroom inside the dorm with 1 toilet and 1 shower. It's 5 stories high and no elevator which was a pain if you needed to go out quickly and come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed staying in Saigon Backpackers hostel. We arrived before check in and were allowed to use the kotchen and the common area. There was a girl who told us about Saigon and showed us what too see in the city. The rooms were nice, the beds were a bit squeeky, but ok. We booked the cu chi tunnels tour and were very pleased with the guide and the tour in general. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

My favourite. as usual!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.3

A good location just off the busy backpackers street. Good wifi and really friendly staff. Only downsides were the beds were really squeaky and our shower door was broken, which were kind of annoying. There was no real social area (it doubles as reception) but not that much of an issue with the city right next to you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
7.7

Pros: LARGE, comfortable mattresses and pillows . Close enough to the main street. Quiet which was what I wanted. Bus station is less than 5 minutes walk so if you're arriving by bus to Saigon DO NOT get a taxi to the hostel (we were ripped off as we did not know the hostel was so close by and the taxi driver decided to go around in circles several times :)) Cons: -Stayed in an 8 bed dorm and it had a ensuite shower and toilet which we all shared I found quite awkward. -Bed frame WOBBLY

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.3

Hostel is near busy backpackers streets but far enough away for a decent nights sleep. Bed are large and comfy. Good area downstairs to be sociable but wasn't used much when we were there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.0

Pros: quiet location, relatively clean, within walking distance to pretty much everything. Cons: tours booked thru the hostel are a tad expensive, at least for the Cu Chi Tunnel tour it was, bananas provided were not ripe enough for three days in a row, beds a bit squeaky, people seemed to just chill in their rooms, not in the lobby. Overall it was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. We are so please that you found out our quiet location, clean...Actually, the price for tours depend on the service. the higher price you pay the better service you have. you only pay 6 usd for the Cu Chi Tunnel tri, but you have the english tour guide, pick up from the hostel, Your concerns about the bananas are quite valid and are very useful to us to offer the best service possible. We have already looked into the areas mentioned and we will certainly do our best to improve our services We hope you have a great travels and look forward to welcoming back to our hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Jun 2016
8.0

Great location but off a side road so still relaxed and quiet. No common area and not very social, but good big beds and the bathrooms were nice too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.3

Good hostel, in a great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are so please that you found out our good hostel and great location... . We hope you have a great time in your future travel. We wish we have another chance to serve you better. We looking ward to welcoming you back to our hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.1

Perfect location down a quiet "street" in the heart of the main backpacker area. Really easy to walk to anywhere you want to go. Were able to organise a tour to Cu Chi tunnels through hostel. Provided free Bananas and hot drinks all day. Big comfortable beds in airconditioned rooms. 24 hour reception. Unfortunately the common area wasn't very appealing therefore not much of a social atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are so please that you found out our perfect location, big comfortable beds...We hope you have a great travels and look forward to welcoming back to our hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.