Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2017
6.9

Ok hostel but could be improved massively. The first night there was a cooking class, which was a lot of fun. Other than that it wasn't a lively hostel, minimal socialising and barely a social area. Other hostels on the street looked much livelier. The second night the aircon broke, which was fine as we could still get cold air and then turn it off, but nothing was done about it whilst I was there. The lockers were in a terrible state so only 1-2 of the four provided any security. Nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th May 2017
10.0

I have canceled the booking there due to my change in schedule so I do not have any review.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
6.9

Location could not have been better! Bed cozy and big. We had problem with a/ c but they fixed it in few hrs. Staff was nice at the beginning, but seemed after a while to be bothered whatever you needed. Bathroom wasn't the best solution, but they cleaned it good every morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! please let us know when you have a plan to visit us

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2017
7.7

Good Hostel in HCMC. Great location but hard to find at first. Rooms are great with big beds. Don't think you will get everyday a free beer...no it's just when you check-in. Discussed about 5 minutes with the staff about that and I should pay to call the manager of the hostel - what a shame!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.3

Good location, especially if arriving late from Phnom Penh on a bus. Less than 5 minute walk from the main drop off points.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels! please let us know when you have a plan to visit us

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.6

Nice enough place. Friendly staff. It is tucked away in alley off the main street and can be difficult to find at first. Quiet location given the busy street nearby and an easy walk to the market with great street food all around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy to hear that you find out our nice place, near the markets and friendly staff at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.We wish you the best with all of your future travels! Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.4

Great wide beds, very comfortable. Decent wifi. People at reception - a smile once in a while wouldn't hurt! But for this price it's great. Location is quite good, very close to the Backpacker street. Would come back. There is also a hidden rooftop on the hostel that nobody mentions so check it out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy to hear that you find out our great wide beds, decent wifi, good location. We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards

3rd Mar 2017
8.3

Has AC, no bed bugs. Located on a backpacker's street. Locker in bedroom. Staff are ok. But the environmwnt is very conductive to socializing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us your great feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigon Backpackers Hostel We hope you have a good trip and look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel. Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Just exactly what I needed. Perfect location. Had a 4bed dorm with the private bathroom next to the room. Clean, nice, quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay at Saigon backpackers hostel. We wish you the best with all of your future travels!

  • eviatnyenrode6761
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.3

There's great access to the backpacker's bars, cafes etc, without all the noise or hubbub of being right on the main street. However, the hostel can only be reached down a pedestrian alley. Also, all of the rooms are upstairs, some of them up 4 or 5 flights of stairs, no lift. The staff are friendly and helpful, even using their own phones/apps to order cheap taxis to the airport; but the photo of the hostel is misleading: the pool table is in the way/unused, there's no real hangout area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.