Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao Located at 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh.
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1
81% 484
10.7666098 106.6896875
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • clara_simon
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.6

The hostel was really nice. We got a private room and the facilities were really good. The only annoying thing was that we arrived quite early and we could only check in at 2pm. The free 'breakfast' was also not great, as it was only a banana. The location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, best staff. I was there for only one night but very hip and homey place and the staff is more than willing to give advice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
10.0

The location is great, as you have the easy access to public transport very close to the hostel. The staff is very helpful and welcoming and assisted us wherever needed. We attended one of the free tours through the hostel and were lucky to get a great tour guide, who was every passionate and knowledgeable about the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
10.0

Very nice, clean, friendly atmosphere; I felt very at home. The staff is very polite and thank you for arranging me free city tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zupervit
  • Indonesia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.1

I really satisfied with this hostel because of its location, price, staff, bed and room. The bed is quite wide and there are 3 plugs next to each bed. The room is large enough for 8 people. The best thing is their location is very near to the Pham Ngu Lao bus station. Thanks a lot for the hospitality during my stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Oct 2016
6.3

Nice hostel. I would recommend - we stayed twice! Location is ok - 10 minute walk from bars and restaurants. Breakfast could be better. We expected a bit more than bananas. Air conditioning and big, comfy beds! Lockers were a great size. No problem with security in the rooms, but did have a pair of shoes stolen from the outside shoe storage. Booked a trip to the Mekong Delta for about £10 and had a good time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
8.3

nice and friendly atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.4

Good central location, staff very friendly and cleaned the dorm and shower room daily. A quiet hostel in the evenings which is nice when you want to sleep. Plenty of bars/other hostels near by which are busy all the time for nightlife.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
8.6

One of the hostel staff was extremely helpful! She called different bus companies for us when we arrived late in the evening hoping to go to Mui Ne the next morning and got us on one. Hostel is pretty good overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jul 2016
4.9

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's located in the back packers area but is hidden down a long alley which isn't the nicest to walk down in the dark and also makes getting a taxi difficult. There isn't really an atmosphere as it's rather quiet and the staff are quite unhelpful. The room itself was good, beds were comfortable. The door lock was rather temperamental and the shower was cold and the door didn't close. The only advantage was that it was cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.