Hostelworld.com

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao Located at 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh.
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1
81% 420
10.7668061 106.6897237
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Apr 2016
8.9

Lovely, homey stay here in a private room with an ensuite bathroom. Good value. Breakfast was good and homemade, personalized for you (could choose from a variety of egg and rice or bread options). Right on the "backpacker street" near a ton of sights and food, but still tucked away and feels quaint. Not the place to come if you're looking for a party or social atmosphere, though... it was pretty quiet and mostly empty. But we appreciated the quiet and the sweet staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We're so pleased you had such a great time with us and made the most of all our facilities. We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
5.7

There was no ventelation in the bathroom and we couldn't figure out how to turn off the air conditioning in the room. You can't wear shoes of any kind in the whole hostel! The bunk beds were very cheap metal and when someone moved at night you could hear the whole bed creak. We moved to another place after one night stay there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Saigon Backpackers Hostel, we really appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass on critical points you've mentioned. We hope you had a great time in Ho Chi Minh and we hope to see you at Saigon Backpackers Hostel again in the future. Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.3

Very clean and nice hostel but very quiet when I was there (alone in 8 bed dorm)... no real common room so not recommended for solo travellers, but if you're with a group or wanna have a good night's sleep, then this is a really good hostel for you. Great location, great Wifi and nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We're so pleased you had such a great time with us and made the most of all our facilities. We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Really friendly, helpful staff. Really nice, simple breakfast (included!). Nice, clean rooms. Just a really nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We hope you enjoy other service and facility as well. We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Great place, better than many side road motels/hotels in the US.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigonbackpackers Hostel, especially your endorsement of our great place. We hope you had a great time in Ho Chi Minh and we hope to see you at Saigon Backpackers Hostel again in the future.

22nd Mar 2016
8.9

Breakfast is good. Staff did a great job organizing day trips to Mekong delta and the tunnels. Tucked away from the action, sitting on the 5th floor balcony smoking with my friend had the perfect vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We're so pleased you had such a great time with us. We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

21st Mar 2016
7.1

Decent hostel, big lockers for storing backpacks and big beds. Kind of a weird vibe throughout the hostel though. Everyone was a little standoffish.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We're so pleased you had such a great time with us We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

20th Mar 2016
6.0

It was just okay. Very quiet. Not much to do there except a pool table and a television, could do with a proper bar. Bathroom was decent... Not really much else to say

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Saigon Backpackers hostel in recent stay. We are sure that you will have so many things to do in Ho Chi Minh City. If you had asked our receptionists city infromation, they would have been always ready to give you the information. We hope you have a great travel

  • millazx
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Mar 2016
8.0

Lovely stay here at saigon backpackers hotel, staying in a private room with en suite. Great location with loads to do in walking distance as well as the hostel being able to book you onto some tours. Fab 3 night stay, clean rooms with good facilities. Would recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review! It always happy to hear that you enjoy your lovely stay at Saigon Backpackers hostel. we are so glad that you found out great location with loads to do in walking distance.... We hope you have a great time in Ho Chi Minh City. We look forward to welcoming back to Saigon Backpackers Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2016
9.4

The score would have been perfect if it wasnt for the bad open bus the guy from the staff sold me. DONT BUY IT HERE. It was more expensive than other agencies, he said it was because it was a good company. They are not!! As a good hostel they should recommend good companies. Feel scamed. Hostel: good price, clean (i saw how they cleaned every day), great location but out of the noise. Very quiet at least in female dorm. AC perfect. Breakfast basic but satisfying. Girl from staff very kind!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to send us a good feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigonbackpackers Hostel. We are sorry that you have problem with the bus and be sure to pass on the critical point which you have mentioned. We hope you have a great time in the city.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.