X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saigon Backpackers Hostel Reviews

373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
281 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Internet pictures should be updated or the facilities refurbished - Big difference - used up!


66%

Relaxed vibe, definitely not a party hostel. You will get a quiet nights sleep here. The breakfast is incredibly basic (bread and butter/jam).


91%

staff were really nice. try to take a room oon a lower floor. alll dors were locked in the late evening but we had no problem whatsoever entering the hostel late at night. Hue was very helpful. would reccomend.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Mixed dorm is nice and definitely worth the money you pay! It's right in the middle of everything so there is enough to see in the area. Very close to the backpackers party zone but because it's in an alley there is no noise at night ;-) would definitely stay here again.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The atmosphere in this hostel is amazing, staff is very welcoming and fun to be around. There are actually two hostels with the same name (even the staff doesn't know the reason why it has same name), but they are quite comparable and close to each other. Also it has awesome rooftop seating where you can meet people or just watch some movie.


89%

Really good hostel. Helpful friendly staff and good location. Also nice to have a tv to chill out and watch movies but there could be a better communal area to hangout in the evening, although there are plenty of bars nearby so doesn't matter too much.


97%

It was a really awesome experience to stay here. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities are also extremely up to date and worth every single penny. I would definitely recommend this place to every single traveller to Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything in the room is perfect until u open the toilet's door.


97%

Really friendly staff here very helpful. Location great. Nice beds.


97%

Fantastic hostel.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Even though stad was Nice, The breakfast was good, the rooms were okay i would for sure not recommend this place. I did not get the room that i had booked, but the badest thing was that one night i went back at 04.30 pm: the gate was closed and the guard was (i guess) in a very deep sleep because nobody did open the door! And luckely i had friends waiting to see if i got in and could sleep at there place.. Cause, waiting in a small, dark, scary street in not a good thing in hcm..

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The day trip was fun to the tunnels and very affordable, breakfast was better than I expected


74%

It would be good to update their brochure which states that the room has tea & coffee making facilities, this is not so. We were glad we had soap with us, as the new dispensers had not been filled and no soap was provided. The bed light had no plug on the end. Also upon leaving we were not taken to our taxi which created a problem with 3 different parties going into 3 taxis, to 3 destinations with no language skills between us. Our stay 2 years ago was better, which made us come back.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

Itwas quite dirty!!!!!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you had problems with dirty room in our hostel. We clean and check the rooms every day. However it gets a few minutes of a little dirty from check out time to finish cleaning the rooms. We hope we will have an opportunity to do better when you come back .We hope you enjoyed our other facilities regardless and had a great time in the city. We looking forward to welcoming back to Saigon Backpackers Hostel Best Wishes,

94%

Really happy that I stayed here - it was in a great central location and the common area meant that it was really easy to meet other travellers. The dorms are nice and quiet so I was able to get quality sleep. Only a 2 minute walk away from the street with all backpacker bars and restaurants, close to the central market and in the heart of District 1. Would highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a lovely review! thank you very much for your kindly words. We are so please that you enjoy your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We hope to see you again soon Best Regards

63%

The Place is ok: very good position in the center of backpackers area, so closed to the very center of Saigon. But a little bit noise and dirty: you can't suppose people walk inside without shoes if you don't clean the floor. Anyway, we had a very bad and noise room the first day and they changed it with a better one. At The end it was ok...

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place, on a back alleyway off Pham Ngu Lao, but has security guards at each end at night. The hostel is small and fairly quiet, but you're so close to the main backpacker area at night it's not a problem.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • awilli41
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great feedback. We hope you have a good trip! We look forward to welcoming back to our saigon Backpackers Hostel Best Regards



View all Ho Chi Minh Hostels

Please give us your feedback