Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saint James Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2017
3.1

Terrible beds, terrible atmosphere, bad facilities and very old building. Terrible value for the money. Do not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
4.3

The staff was very rude upon arrival we had people putting stuff on our beds and touching our things at one point we walked in on someone trying to take our beds. It wasn't clean at all bathrooms look like they hadn't been cleaned and smelled awful. They claimed to have an all female bathroom but guys were in it on several occasions. We avoided going back as much as we could would not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
9.7

The huge extensive high-definition cable TV hookup at Saint James Backpackers is so useful in the morning, especially when something is afoot. Also, it is surprising how near Kensington High Street is and always has been, with Traifinders, Waterstones and that entire upscale lot less than one mere kilometer to the north, potentially the more useful to come home to. Note too the addition of a brand new, needed, Cafe Nero that has just opened around the corner on Earl's Court Road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. Our staff is always willing to help our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have free breakfast and dinner too. We hope to see you soon at Saint James Backpackers!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2017
6.3

In overall the hostel was ok, a little expensive for a hostel that is located a little far from the main attractions. Free dinner was a big plus, though we didn't have time to join dinner. Room wasn't very clean. I had to ask for clean sheets from the reception because mine were dirty. Also no-one apparently cleans underneath the beds. Staff wasn't very friendly. They only talked to each other in reception when we tried to check out and one day a lady came to clean our room without knocking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry for any inconvenience. We learn from our mistakes. We will try to improve cleaning.The location is one of our best points. We are really close to Earl's Court Station. Sorry you could not enjoy our dinners. If you come back you will be able to enjoy our new swimming pool and a chiil out area. He hope to see you again at Saint James Backpackers.

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel has been my home for three months and I have had such a great time there! The staff is amazing and they really become a family for you. The hostel has big common areas such as a huge garden, kitchen, dinning room and living room with an enormous TV. They have activities at night which are really fun. They organise pub crawls, BBQs and all sort of crazy games that will make you enjoy your stay! They also offer free beakfast and dinner! The menu is delicious! Clean and spacious rooms!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment! We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We are happy to know you enjoyed with us. We hope to see you soon. :)

  • mango_smoothie1429
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th May 2017
7.7

Had a great stay here. Good location to the underground, but lots of stairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
5.4

Good: A walking distance to Earl's court tube station, Sainsbury's and various cafes and restaurants. Things that can be improved: Rules about noises after midnight. We stayed in a triple-decker bedroom and the support for the bed was curved and made a lot of noise. The room and the bed sheets were a bit dusty when we came in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
6.3

Seems like the new team is struggling with the place - though all the right services are there (free dinners, nice backyard, good location, wifi, ect). Definitely worth a visit once they get their act in order.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
10.0

Great hostel and staff. Close to a tube station making it very easy to get around London. Well equipped kitchen.. and free dinner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
3.4

TERRIBLE. A lot of problems, the room was never EVER cleaned, there was bags, glasses, leftovers of food that didn't belong to no one in the room. The smell was terrible, the window doesn't work, everything disgusting. The kitchen was in bad condition too. The toilets are mixed, there weren't hangers in the doors when taking shower and no place to put our things (soap, etc) Terrible experience, I will never go back there again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.