X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
882 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

St James is an adequate if basic accommodation. At first glance it appears expensive for what you get but of course this is London and nothing comes cheap. It has a handy location close to the tube station and there is a supermarket and laundrette nearby. The neighbourhood feels safe and we heard no street noise during the night. Our room was on the top floor and the shared toilet block was down two flights of rather steep stairs which was not a problem except in the middle of the night.


77%

It's close to the TLSContact. the location was quite good for me.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

My plane crashed in Fiji delaying my arrival so I had to pay for a night I didn't use. Not much compassion shown there! However the one night I stayed was very enjoyable. Showers are tiny but plenty of hot water. The kitchen was clean. The other guests were a great mix of different ages and cultures. Only weird thing were the very squeaky bunks in the dorm. When ever someone rolled over we'd all use the moment to roll over too while the silence was broken.


74%

Staf was excellent totaly happy with them. Just to many people s in same rooms. Which is create disturbance in nights.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was busy and the amount of people living there while working in London seemed greater than your average backpacker. Overall it wasn't a bad place to stay because of it's proximity to the tube station and central London. My main complaints would be that there weren't any storage lockers in your room, wifi reception was poor other than on the main floor, and that the female toilet/showers were located in the basement and there was really no place to put your toiletries.


89%

I really liked it although it was a bit annoying having to pay for towels and the beds were REALLY squeaky and loud but apart from that it was a really good stay, great location, good that breakfast was free and really helpful staff. Will definitely stay again!


66%

Not a super social environment, decent facilities but as with London it is overpriced...


60%

The place is pretty alright though the facilities are slightly aged. The bathroom I used has its drainage clogged and the water temperature settings were wonky. The staff are friendly enough as well as the other residents at the time. Location to Earl's Court station makes travelling to Heathrow relatively straightforward.


71%

Great atmosphere. Lots of people staying who'd been staying/living there for a long time - they were welcoming. Big room to watch tv, staff ready to help 24/7, self serving kitchen, individual lockers & complimentary breakfast. The issues are that there are loads of stairs, the beds make a lot of noise, and the biggest is that the smell of mould in the bathrooms makes you want to die! Location is great - very near Earl's Court station. Nice area. Only a few stops to main attractions on the tube


74%

5 minutes walking from Earl courts, the hostel is situated in a very good position. Staff is gentle and very helpful, but you have to leave a deposit for EVERYTHING, that means I left London with 20 useless £ in my pockets. My atmosphere is nice but almost everything is around a big TV, that is not the most exiting thing.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Beds were the worst-no point in the pillow. Unbelievably creaky so every move someone made in the dorms, the beds would creak very loudly. Not a place for a good nights sleep at all. Saw people cleaning the bathrooms but found them not that clean still. Bathrooms so tiny you rub against the toilet just to get out the door. Grubby kitchen. People in dorm beds eating food on the bed-not good. Should be a rule against this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are a backpacker hostel offering cheap accommodations and good standard comfort still. The basics are there as a hostel to welcome you and insure you have the comfort needed. No hotel pretentions, we are a value for backpackers and families as we offer communal areas and a big kitchen for the guests to cook their meals :)

97%

everything is nice except the walls is not available to deaden the noise from the corridor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for writing us a review! We are sorry about the noise and hope you could still enjoy the hostel. We are a big hostel with tourist and backpackers catching early or late flights, Still we apply a silent policy after 11pm!

89%

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel had an excellent location and felt relatively secure, due to the availability of lockboxes in the room. Overall, I would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review! Be sure our kind words will be forwarded to our team. You're always welcome at St James ;) All the best and take care!

89%

The sleeping areas were nice, the atmosphere in the kitchen and dining area was really friendly, and the TV area was really cool! And the wifi worked excellently

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Don't hesitate to come say hi next time you are in London ;)

83%

A very lively, atmosphere. Staff was very helpful and accommodating, for the most part.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to know that you staying with us was good! We hope that you enjoyed London as well. See you soon!x

83%

You need a code to enter the building and there is always someone sitting at the desk so I never felt insecure. In addition, they provide a lock box and key that was big enough for my backpack (normal size, not a travelers backpack) and belongings. It is located several blocks from the Kings Cross tube station (less than a 5 minute walk) and on the street that runs perpendicular there are many restaurantes and cafes.. The staff were helpful and even contacted a cab for me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Claudia! Thank you for your awesome review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay :) be sure to pop at reception to say hello anytime your are back in London! All the best ;)

80%

They location was really excellent - so close to the tube station, and with a Sainsbury's on the corner, it was perfect. The staff were lovely and cheerful, and the communal areas were nice and welcoming. The showers were a little dirty on occasion, but I think it was more to do with the volume of people using them, rather than the cleaning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this lovely review! We are glad that you enjoy the time with us, sorry to hear about the showers but we always striving to deliver the best services to our guest! We really hope to welcome you again in our Hostel!:D

86%

Nice house clean,One Big living area. there have tv and computer .but the room is small so you have no where to sit .or you can do anything on your bed:)

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy to welcome you and that you enjoyed your stay with us :) The size of our rooms and number of beds is determined to answer the high demand, also we are a family run Backpacker hostel , our accommodations are basic but the atmosphere is there ;)

100%

Awesome place to stay, has a good vibe to it

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your words! Its a pleasure to welcome guests and travellers as well as sharing the good atmosphere at St James!

54%

Hygiene is very bad, for example there is no any garbage bin in the room with sinks. Breakfast is especially bad and with poor hygiene standards - in a bacon I noticed remains of a paper...

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thank you for taking time to write a review about our hostel. We have bins in every rooms as well as they are emptied everyday during your stay. We offer a home-made English Breakfast and we are sorry if it doesn't reach your expectations. Also note we are a backpackers hostel offering accommodations at good standards :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback