X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
916 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

There was a bit of funny smell from the bathrooms and they really need a bit of an update. It seemed that some things were falling apart. But the offered heaps of entertainment and the staff were friendly. The location is great. and for the price I would go there again

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Very near from earls court station so it is easy to go to city attrations But the bed is really uncomfortable


89%

0/2 on working showers.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This hostel is actually in the outskirts of London so it'll take you a while on the metro to get to the tourist attractions in the city. The staff are nice but there aren't enough of them for the size of the hostel. The communal bathrooms/showers get kind of gross towards the end of the day (again I just think they need more staff). Also either the walls are really thin or we just had a particularly loud group with us at the hostel because you can hear EVERYTHING that goes on in the hallways.


97%

The hostel is very tidy and clean and both the atmosphere and staff were great! They have a huge television and a PS4 to play for free and they also offer a free breakfast! Really enjoyed my stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Be always welcome at St JAMES!

97%

This is definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff was super kind, always there and willing to help. The rooms as well the shared facilities like dining rooms and kitchen were very clean and everyone was very respectful. There's also a huge screen with Netflix, all kinds of channels, PlayStation and everything you can think of. Check in and check out are done very quickly no matter how busy it is. Overall, a great place.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Todor, Thank you for your message. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all our facilities ! We hope to see you again at St James.

54%

i expected a lot more from this hostel, the rooms are tiny the bathrooms and showers are awful and not clean at all! Just as well we were out all day and most of the evening so we didn't have to spend much time there. The location was great. The staff weren't very good at running the hostel... Our food food was thrown out the fridge before check-out... There were lots of things we bought to eat during our return journey (no time to stop and eat on route), the result was 6 hungry kids 11-13!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, In terms of food we have to throw the products which have no names and no dates. This is a rule we explain on check-in day and especially to the groups. With 100 people a day we can not permit food to perish and turn wrong in the fridge for health and safety reasons.Also about our staff we have students and professional staff on board to welcome you, we can not comprehend your critic as ''the staff weren't very good at running a hostel'' as you were not here must of the time.

60%

Really nothing special here. Got the job done relatively cheaply. Close to the tube but not much else. Great kitchen and common area but the rooms were small and the bathrooms always smelled gross like old wet cigarettes (because the bathrooms overlooked the courtyard where people frequently smoked).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and take time to write. We are happy you enjoy the location of the hostel. We are sorry our hostel didn't reach your expectations. We strive everyday for better! All the best

77%

The only disappointment was that a member of staff was told off in front of other staff and guests by the owner of St James. Otherwise it's a very nice place. Maybe the owner could take the employee aside and talk with them face to face, privately.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are sorry you assist to such scene. It is a big hostel with many staff we try to communicate the issues and sometimes other guests can be around. Still we think you for your comments, we strive everyday for better!

80%

Perfect location, close to Earl's Court Underground with a Sainsbury's round the corner and plenty of other shops, pubs and cafes. The staff member's who checked us in were very friendly and polite and the room was basic but convenient - as anticipated for the price. Sink and a full length mirror in the room which was a bonus. Wifi was decent. Towels cost £2 to hire. We had 2 good night's sleep in this hostel. It's perfect as a base to explore London, although 10am checkout is slightly cruel.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed our hostel! We will forward your words to the staff ! Be sure to be always welcome at St James. Take care :)

89%

Located close to earls station underground stop, which is great! Lots of places to eat nearby! We recommend the GBK (gourmet burger kitchen)! The area was quiet which was great and the bed was comfy. Also their was a TV! The bathroom is small, but if you can deal with that than worth it. London is expensive - and this place was great for us while we were there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanking for taking time to write us a review! We are pleased our hostel reach your expectations! See you next time in London!

80%

I stayed in a private room, the bed was very comfortable and I would have slept well if it weren't for other guests being extremely loud and slamming doors! Also the communal bathroom was tiny and not very clean


77%

During the first 2 nights, I'm not used bec of the noise. But it was quiet and fine for the succeeding nights.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice place and location, very clean and secure. very kind staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review, be sure your kind words will be forwarded to our staff! :) All the best!

97%

My search for a quality budget backpacker ended in St.James and found it to be run admirably well.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are happy we could fulfil your expectations! You are always welcome at St James. See you next time!

49%

The wifi was really good, and we were reasonably close to the metro. However, definitely not a young person hostel, it had a very minimal atmosphere. The dorm rooms were very average, and the lockers weren't the safest, and the bathrooms were not functional as the showers were extremely small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for writing us a review. We are a family run hostel and try to accommodate travellers of all ages and make them feel at home. We took your comments on board ! Regards St James.

77%

The only really big concern I had was the beds, they made so much noise even when only moving a small amount. Other people moving would wake me up so that was terrible but otherwise I had no issues

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Sorry to hear we didn’t reach your expectations but we have taken your comments on board and are constantly striving to improve our services. Thanks again for your stay.

83%

I wanted to be close to the airport. I chose an area near a station that had few bars around. However, in London- people don't need bars to be noisy. It was a great 'bang for my buck' the night before an early flight. I ended up leaving at 2:30am to catch the night bus anyways.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we hope you will come back to London and enjoy it a bit more :) We are happy you found the location of the hostel convenient! :) ALL THE BEST!

69%

St James is an adequate if basic accommodation. At first glance it appears expensive for what you get but of course this is London and nothing comes cheap. It has a handy location close to the tube station and there is a supermarket and laundrette nearby. The neighbourhood feels safe and we heard no street noise during the night. Our room was on the top floor and the shared toilet block was down two flights of rather steep stairs which was not a problem except in the middle of the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to write us an awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time you're in the city!! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Lots of love from Saint James Backpackers Hostel!

77%

It's close to the TLSContact. the location was quite good for me.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at Saint James Backpackers Hostel! We will be glad to welcome you again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback