X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
932 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Clean the bathrooms better adjust the doors so they don't constantly slam and if there are people running through the halls take care of it before people have to take care of it themselves

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good base for a few days in the heart of London. Relatively basic amenities, but that was exactly what I was looking for, and it was excellent value considering the central location. Would not hesitate to book again.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Terrific location four blocks from the Earls Court tube station, lots of affordable restaurants around, a Sainsbury grocery store at the corner, very safe area. The hostel itself was only ok - clean but some of the bathrooms smelled powerfully of sewers, making them unusable. If you are staying in a dorm room, bring earplugs, as the metal bunk beds are extremely creaky (I suppose I should have expected that when I saw earplugs for sale at the check-in desk). Staff members are very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for writing us a review :) We apologise as we are in a busy period the hostel is pushed at its limits as we are fully booked most of the time. Still we are happy your enjoyed the hostel, staff and location :)

51%

Place felt very businessy. Not really a fan of hostels like that. The staff also felt like they didn't want to be there and meh. Didn't help that the people I shared a dorm with had never heard of the word "shower" before as I could smell the cigarettes and must as soon as they opened the door. Overall experience wasn't good. I've only stayed in 4 hostels in my life and I have to say, this one ranks the lowest.


74%

I had some narly stains in my bed sheets and the toilet facilities weren't very clear. However the atmosphere was good, with friendly staff and a very decent free breakfast.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we are happy you enjoy the hostel and our staff. We are sorry if the cleanliness didn't reach your expectations. Still we hope to see you again in London!

49%

The bathrooms were disgusting, not spacious and sharing with so many people that was necessary. But then I didn't even want to take a shower in there. The beds were too many to a room for a hostel that seemed more for people staying longer terms while looking for flats or jobs. And the beds creaked if you even moved a foot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry if our hostel didn't reach your expectations. We try our best to accommodate backpackers with low budget and offer a ''home away from home''. Also know that in summer it is very busy and the showers at pick hours are also. We are sorry if you fall into those hours and couldn't enjoy the hostel. We took in consideration your comments and strive for better thank you!

80%

The environment was excellent. Open enough that if you were willing to open up a discussion with someone in the hostel you could, but also small enough that if you were too tired you could always go to sleep in a quiet room. The evenings could get pretty loud in the common rooms, but once you were upstairs in the bedroom area, it was silent which was really appreciated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your amazing review! We are pleased you enjoyed the hostel and got time to meet nice people. As well as enjoying the quiet areas. Also you are always welcome to back when you pass by London

63%

There was a bit of funny smell from the bathrooms and they really need a bit of an update. It seemed that some things were falling apart. But the offered heaps of entertainment and the staff were friendly. The location is great. and for the price I would go there again

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you to write us a review! We are happy you enjoyed the hostel and the staff and sorry the bathrooms didn't reach you expectations. We have to do some extra work on it in fact, but as busy period right now we can not plan any work on those areas. This winter for sure! ;) Have a lovely summer and see you soon!

77%

Reasonably priced, and convenient location. The staff I encountered were pleasant, and there are many amenities. They do need more showers and better plumbing, but this is London. The hostel is a mix of holiday-makers and people in town looking for work. It can get really noisy, especially in the common areas, so I suggest bringing some earplugs if you need to work on something or are a light sleeper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and will forward your kind words to the staff :) We have the plan to change the bathrooms and toilets, but as it is a busy period we can not get this done in summer. But this winter we will make changes in order to improve our amenities. We are happy to welcome long term guests and backpackers, they make all the atmosphere of the hostel! Than you again and all the best!

69%

Very near from earls court station so it is easy to go to city attrations But the bed is really uncomfortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for taking time to write us a review, as low budget accommodation we offer the basic comfort to backpackers in a central location, We are happy you enjoyed and took in consideration your critic about the beds :) Have a lovely summer!

89%

0/2 on working showers.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This hostel is actually in the outskirts of London so it'll take you a while on the metro to get to the tourist attractions in the city. The staff are nice but there aren't enough of them for the size of the hostel. The communal bathrooms/showers get kind of gross towards the end of the day (again I just think they need more staff). Also either the walls are really thin or we just had a particularly loud group with us at the hostel because you can hear EVERYTHING that goes on in the hallways.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we took in consideration your critics and strive for better, also summer is very busy and as family run hostel being with us at this period of the year is a true backpacker experience! Thank you for your visit and All the best!

97%

The hostel is very tidy and clean and both the atmosphere and staff were great! They have a huge television and a PS4 to play for free and they also offer a free breakfast! Really enjoyed my stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Be always welcome at St JAMES!

97%

This is definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff was super kind, always there and willing to help. The rooms as well the shared facilities like dining rooms and kitchen were very clean and everyone was very respectful. There's also a huge screen with Netflix, all kinds of channels, PlayStation and everything you can think of. Check in and check out are done very quickly no matter how busy it is. Overall, a great place.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Todor, Thank you for your message. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all our facilities ! We hope to see you again at St James.

54%

i expected a lot more from this hostel, the rooms are tiny the bathrooms and showers are awful and not clean at all! Just as well we were out all day and most of the evening so we didn't have to spend much time there. The location was great. The staff weren't very good at running the hostel... Our food food was thrown out the fridge before check-out... There were lots of things we bought to eat during our return journey (no time to stop and eat on route), the result was 6 hungry kids 11-13!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, In terms of food we have to throw the products which have no names and no dates. This is a rule we explain on check-in day and especially to the groups. With 100 people a day we can not permit food to perish and turn wrong in the fridge for health and safety reasons.Also about our staff we have students and professional staff on board to welcome you, we can not comprehend your critic as ''the staff weren't very good at running a hostel'' as you were not here must of the time.

60%

Really nothing special here. Got the job done relatively cheaply. Close to the tube but not much else. Great kitchen and common area but the rooms were small and the bathrooms always smelled gross like old wet cigarettes (because the bathrooms overlooked the courtyard where people frequently smoked).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and take time to write. We are happy you enjoy the location of the hostel. We are sorry our hostel didn't reach your expectations. We strive everyday for better! All the best

77%

The only disappointment was that a member of staff was told off in front of other staff and guests by the owner of St James. Otherwise it's a very nice place. Maybe the owner could take the employee aside and talk with them face to face, privately.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are sorry you assist to such scene. It is a big hostel with many staff we try to communicate the issues and sometimes other guests can be around. Still we think you for your comments, we strive everyday for better!

80%

Perfect location, close to Earl's Court Underground with a Sainsbury's round the corner and plenty of other shops, pubs and cafes. The staff member's who checked us in were very friendly and polite and the room was basic but convenient - as anticipated for the price. Sink and a full length mirror in the room which was a bonus. Wifi was decent. Towels cost £2 to hire. We had 2 good night's sleep in this hostel. It's perfect as a base to explore London, although 10am checkout is slightly cruel.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed our hostel! We will forward your words to the staff ! Be sure to be always welcome at St James. Take care :)

89%

Located close to earls station underground stop, which is great! Lots of places to eat nearby! We recommend the GBK (gourmet burger kitchen)! The area was quiet which was great and the bed was comfy. Also their was a TV! The bathroom is small, but if you can deal with that than worth it. London is expensive - and this place was great for us while we were there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanking for taking time to write us a review! We are pleased our hostel reach your expectations! See you next time in London!

80%

I stayed in a private room, the bed was very comfortable and I would have slept well if it weren't for other guests being extremely loud and slamming doors! Also the communal bathroom was tiny and not very clean


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback