Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Saint James Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
Saint James Backpackers Located at 21 Longridge Road, , London.
Saint James Backpackers
England
London London SW5 9SB 21 Longridge Road
77% 1124
51.4935150 -0.1961231
Saint James Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
3.1

Overall, the worst hostel experience. Showers and toilets were "out of order" on all floors, and when we did find one available, it was scalding hot water. The bathrooms were always hot, damp, and musty. Mold flourished everywhere, and water dripped upon you from the ceiling-WHILE you were on the toilet. The mattresses were plastic and retained heat, there was no AC, and hot stale air lingered in the room. Drunken men were given room keys all night, to stumble in and wake everyone up.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.3

This hostel was perfect for me. Decent price, great kitchen facilities which made saving money a lot easier! The rooms and bathrooms were all fairly clean and good. My only real problem is that there isn't an age limit and my friend and I were very uncomfortable one night with 2 men probably around 70 in our room, just weird... Also none of the main staff were British so they couldn't help with questions about getting around. Great location though, except if you're going to Stansted airport!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2016
6.9

A pretty average hostel, bathrooms and rooms were pretty small but it was at a decent price for London I guess. Breakfast was standard but it was free which is good. Check the discount board to get some pretty good deals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
7.4

London doesn't usually get too hot, but there was no air con so my room was quite warm during the summer. Cool outdoor area and in a nice, less touristy area, but bathrooms were tiny and facilities weren't anything incredible. Good for a short trip.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
4.9

The first day i arrived at Saint Jame's there was water coming out of the roof from a over flow of either shower or toilet on the next level. This caused most facilities to be out of order. There was no available fridge space and looked like the fridge hadn't been cleaned for a while. When using the available shower's i tried 3 different ones, only one out of the 3 had a cold water option and was reasonably clean. Due to these problems i cut my stay short and continued on elsewhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.3

Staff, location, and common areas are brilliant. Facilities need improvement. Washrooms out of order, no cold water in showers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel, one of my favorites in London. The people are really friendly and you end up chatting with new friends for hours. I love that they give you a rolling locker under the bed with a key! The showers are a little cramped and there was no cold water for the 2nd floor showers while I was there which meant either a really hot shower or using the showers on the first floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

Location is absolutely spot on. Wifi is bangin & the staff are all lovely

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • coxsteve855792
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

Perfect for what I needed for the night without spending a fortune, really basic, not luxurious, but I wasn't looking for that. Would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2016
10.0

Had a great stay at this hostel; only stayed for a night, it was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a convenience store nearby and it's close to transport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.