Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saint James Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
9.4

Everything you would want/expect from a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
6th Aug 2017
7.4

Couldn't get the shower to work properly one day, was like warm water at best. Quite clean. Room door lock was almost hanging off and sometimes would take a few tries to open.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are aware we still need to improve and we try to do it little by little. Thank you for letting us know what we should improve at. Our staff is always trying to help. We hope to see you soon at Saint James Backpackers! ;)

  • ajfalcon
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
2.9

This was the worst hostel ever! It is way worse than advertised. Firstly we were taken to a room with eight beds and junk everywhere. It had been over run by permanent residents and was disgusting. Looked as though the room had never been cleaned. Then we were taken to another room which was better but still dirty. Room did not get cleaned throughout our stay despite people leaving. BREAKFAST IS NOT A FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST THIS IS FALSE ADVERTISING. ONLY CEREAL + TOAST. Lockers do not lock.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.1

Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast. A nice hostel to spend some days in London!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for reviewing us! We are happy to know everything wa sperfect during your stay with us. Don't take too long to come back!

31st Jul 2017
9.1

The hostel in my opinion was a fantastic value. The bathrooms were very clean and the rooms were comfortable. The best part about this hostel was the atmosphere. There were lots of people hanging out in the common room and outside in the large garden. The hostel also offered free breakfast AND FREE DINNER. My one complaint would be the location as it is a long walk from central London but for the price this is understandable. In London this is easily the best Hostel I have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your opinion! We are so proud of the atmosphere we have created at Saint James. We are always surrounded by young and friendly people. It is nice to hear you joined our free breakfast and dinner! We hope to see you again if you come back to London and you need a place to stay. Thank you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jul 2017
6.3

This place is great for backpackers - it has a friendly, social atmosphere, the staff are nice & they do free evening meals. If you're looking for somewhere cheap & cheerful to meet people, it's not bad. But its worth considering that if you're wanting somewhere to stay whilst between flats/whilst working, it's really not ideal. The rooms are incredibly basic, no privacy, v. small, the beds creek with the slightest movement & there are no charging ports for your phone if you're on a top bunk.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Yes, we are aware we still need to improve and we try to do it little by little. Thank you for letting us know what we should improve at. We are glad to know you joined our free dinners and you liked the atmosphere here and our staff! We hope you come back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Stayed here while in London; the staff where really nice, the rooms and toilets where all clean, and the atmosphere was really chill. There is no way that I can fault the hostel, at every turn they exceeded my expectations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review! We really appreciate it. Our atmosphere is really nice as the hostel is always full of young people willing to meet new friends. We are happy to know everything was clean and prepared when you arrived. We hope to see you soon over here!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
10.0

Great place to stay will back soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
10.0

The hostel has a really nice atmosphere with friendly staff and guests from all over the world. There are free dinners every day and also social activities. It is clean and the location is perfect! I definitely recommend this hostel and thank you for everything guys, it's been a pleasure! ❤ #peacelovecheese

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
10.0

Lovely place, clean and comfortable. I've been there this summer and it's been amazing. They have all the facilities that someone could imagine: swimming pool, chill out, wifi, huge tv, ... The staff is really nice, they will help you with whatever you need. Furthermore, they organize social activities at night where you can have fun. You can sign in the reception for a free dinner and the breakfast also FREE!! Thank you very much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are glad to know you enjoyed our activities and joined for our free dinners here at Saint James! We hope to see you soon again! ;)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.