X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
931 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

During the first 2 nights, I'm not used bec of the noise. But it was quiet and fine for the succeeding nights.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice place and location, very clean and secure. very kind staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review, be sure your kind words will be forwarded to our staff! :) All the best!

97%

My search for a quality budget backpacker ended in St.James and found it to be run admirably well.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are happy we could fulfil your expectations! You are always welcome at St James. See you next time!

49%

The wifi was really good, and we were reasonably close to the metro. However, definitely not a young person hostel, it had a very minimal atmosphere. The dorm rooms were very average, and the lockers weren't the safest, and the bathrooms were not functional as the showers were extremely small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for writing us a review. We are a family run hostel and try to accommodate travellers of all ages and make them feel at home. We took your comments on board ! Regards St James.

77%

The only really big concern I had was the beds, they made so much noise even when only moving a small amount. Other people moving would wake me up so that was terrible but otherwise I had no issues

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Sorry to hear we didn’t reach your expectations but we have taken your comments on board and are constantly striving to improve our services. Thanks again for your stay.

83%

I wanted to be close to the airport. I chose an area near a station that had few bars around. However, in London- people don't need bars to be noisy. It was a great 'bang for my buck' the night before an early flight. I ended up leaving at 2:30am to catch the night bus anyways.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we hope you will come back to London and enjoy it a bit more :) We are happy you found the location of the hostel convenient! :) ALL THE BEST!

69%

St James is an adequate if basic accommodation. At first glance it appears expensive for what you get but of course this is London and nothing comes cheap. It has a handy location close to the tube station and there is a supermarket and laundrette nearby. The neighbourhood feels safe and we heard no street noise during the night. Our room was on the top floor and the shared toilet block was down two flights of rather steep stairs which was not a problem except in the middle of the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to write us an awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time you're in the city!! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Lots of love from Saint James Backpackers Hostel!

77%

It's close to the TLSContact. the location was quite good for me.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at Saint James Backpackers Hostel! We will be glad to welcome you again!

94%

My plane crashed in Fiji delaying my arrival so I had to pay for a night I didn't use. Not much compassion shown there! However the one night I stayed was very enjoyable. Showers are tiny but plenty of hot water. The kitchen was clean. The other guests were a great mix of different ages and cultures. Only weird thing were the very squeaky bunks in the dorm. When ever someone rolled over we'd all use the moment to roll over too while the silence was broken.


74%

Staf was excellent totaly happy with them. Just to many people s in same rooms. Which is create disturbance in nights.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, be sure your kind words will be forwarded to our staff :) we're sorry you found our hostel noisy. We have a strict noise policy where no guest is allowed to make noise after 11pm. Should you stay with us again please inform one of our staff members and we will ensure there is no noise near any of the rooms. Hope to see you here again next time you're in London! Lots of love from the team at Saint James Backpackers Hostel!!!

63%

The hostel was busy and the amount of people living there while working in London seemed greater than your average backpacker. Overall it wasn't a bad place to stay because of it's proximity to the tube station and central London. My main complaints would be that there weren't any storage lockers in your room, wifi reception was poor other than on the main floor, and that the female toilet/showers were located in the basement and there was really no place to put your toiletries.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for reviewing the hostel. We offer one locker per bed and this for all the guests. Still we apologies if your stay didn't reach your expectations. We try to give a good service and basic comfort to travellers. We hope to welcome you one day again at a less busy time so you can enjoy the charm of the hostel a bit more :)

89%

I really liked it although it was a bit annoying having to pay for towels and the beds were REALLY squeaky and loud but apart from that it was a really good stay, great location, good that breakfast was free and really helpful staff. Will definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We have to charge for the towels for the cleaning charges :( also we are sorry if the beds didn't reach your expectations. We try to offer cheap accommodations but with an amazing staff always here for you! Be sure to be always welcome at St James. Wishing you all the best!

66%

Not a super social environment, decent facilities but as with London it is overpriced...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Sorry to hear we didn’t reach your expectations. Thanks again for your stay.

60%

The place is pretty alright though the facilities are slightly aged. The bathroom I used has its drainage clogged and the water temperature settings were wonky. The staff are friendly enough as well as the other residents at the time. Location to Earl's Court station makes travelling to Heathrow relatively straightforward.

Owner Comment (Hide)
- Thanks for your feedback! At Saint James Backpackers Hostel we pride ourselves on having one of the cleanest hostels in London. All of our common areas are cleaned more than three times per day to ensure that cleanliness is up to standard for our guests. We apologise if our cleaning schedule affected your stay with us however we just want to make sure everything is perfectly clean for your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Lots of Love Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

71%

Great atmosphere. Lots of people staying who'd been staying/living there for a long time - they were welcoming. Big room to watch tv, staff ready to help 24/7, self serving kitchen, individual lockers & complimentary breakfast. The issues are that there are loads of stairs, the beds make a lot of noise, and the biggest is that the smell of mould in the bathrooms makes you want to die! Location is great - very near Earl's Court station. Nice area. Only a few stops to main attractions on the tube

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! At Saint James Backpackers Hostel we pride ourselves on having one of the cleanest hostels in London. All of our common areas are cleaned more than three times per day to ensure that cleanliness is up to standard for our guests. We apologise if our cleaning schedule affected your stay with us however we just want to make sure everything is perfectly clean for your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Lots of Love Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

74%

5 minutes walking from Earl courts, the hostel is situated in a very good position. Staff is gentle and very helpful, but you have to leave a deposit for EVERYTHING, that means I left London with 20 useless £ in my pockets. My atmosphere is nice but almost everything is around a big TV, that is not the most exiting thing.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We ask deposit as security simply as we accommodate more than 100 people and need to keep track of what we lean. Our guests like the TV but most of all the communal area around it lounge and garden are the important part where everybody can enjoy and socialise ;)

34%

Beds were the worst-no point in the pillow. Unbelievably creaky so every move someone made in the dorms, the beds would creak very loudly. Not a place for a good nights sleep at all. Saw people cleaning the bathrooms but found them not that clean still. Bathrooms so tiny you rub against the toilet just to get out the door. Grubby kitchen. People in dorm beds eating food on the bed-not good. Should be a rule against this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are a backpacker hostel offering cheap accommodations and good standard comfort still. The basics are there as a hostel to welcome you and insure you have the comfort needed. No hotel pretentions, we are a value for backpackers and families as we offer communal areas and a big kitchen for the guests to cook their meals :)

97%

everything is nice except the walls is not available to deaden the noise from the corridor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for writing us a review! We are sorry about the noise and hope you could still enjoy the hostel. We are a big hostel with tourist and backpackers catching early or late flights, Still we apply a silent policy after 11pm!

89%

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel had an excellent location and felt relatively secure, due to the availability of lockboxes in the room. Overall, I would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review! Be sure our kind words will be forwarded to our team. You're always welcome at St James ;) All the best and take care!

89%

The sleeping areas were nice, the atmosphere in the kitchen and dining area was really friendly, and the TV area was really cool! And the wifi worked excellently

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Don't hesitate to come say hi next time you are in London ;)

(53 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback