X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
502 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A nice hostel, which was relatively quite. Nice mix of people as well (some tourists, some jobseekers).


91%

Great location and a very decent price for London. Tube stops not very far to walk. Convenience store around the corner as well as pubs and bars.


69%

This hostel is in a great location but thats about it, the bathrooms were small with no mirrors and freezing cold while the rooms were so hot it was hard to sleep. As a female it would be nice if there was more than one mirror that 8 girls have to share. Staff was unhelpful in answering questions. They cater more towards people on extended stays looking for work than tourists on vacation. Wifi was spotty at best even in the common areas and breakfast even for a hostel was minimal.

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly staff, quiet environment. Perfect for resting after a day of sightseeing. Great value for money too.

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Well, what I didn't like was that, at midnight while sleeping, a member of the staff entered to our room and turned on the lights just like that without saying nothing.

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

For the standard of the room and for still being a hostel, I thought 100 Pounds for a double room per night was definitely overpriced. But everything was fine, the location great and the staff very nice. So if you have the money, you can't go wrong on this one.


69%

Fist time in london. Felt St James was over priced, especially at Earls Court station where i saw a prominent ad for a hotel room around the corner for half the price. was with my partner so booked a private room with a double bed. the bed was tiny, think it may have been designed for kids. the room floor was on a noticable angle which was very offputting and the bit if cloth that apparently was a curtain was useless at blocking out the sun. do ur research before settling on this place.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

One of the last rooms on New Years Eve, good quality for the price.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice atmosphere with good organisation / management. the showers some small - hard to open door and physically get in and out off but clean. the wifi new system at time of our stay and it wasnt working well at all, breakfast great would stay again.


80%

I only stayed one night in this hostel but wished I could've stayed my 3 nights in london here because it's a very nice hostel. Great atmosphere, staff is friendly and helpfull. 8 bed dorm had a lot of space! Showers where rather small but clean. Very close to the Earl's Court tube station! I would definetly go back in the future.


94%

I stayed here for four nights, five days. I arrive fairly late in the night and had some difficulties getting to the hostel (because the trains weren't running), so I called the Hostel and the lady at the reception graciously helped me out there. As far as locations, it's located not too far outside of the center of London, so prices aren't as expensive as expected (which is great), and the Hostel itself is five minutes walking distance away from a bunch of great restaurants nearby.


86%

Hotel is very well located near the tube, my only complain was the room, that had one triple bed and was very, very small. The shower is also very small. Besides that, the hostel was really nice, the staff is very friendly and helpful and there's breakfast for free.


77%

Hostel stay was good and uneventful - reception was helpful and let me store my bags until check in, but the next day they would not store them until my next accommodation check in opened at 3pm - they charged me 2 pounds to do this. Bathrooms were clean, wifi signal was not very strong on the first level and the lounge/ kitchen area was extremely clean - there was a lovely Asian girl who was really friendly looking after the kitchen/lounge area.


100%

I was very happy staying here! The staff were very friendly, the building was nice and the room was excellent! Would definitely stay here again!


97%

Had a lovely stay at the hostel, meet lots of people and had a good time. The hostel staff was friendly and generous, there was plentiful food for breakfast and they shared their Christmas dinner and minced tarts too. Thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay as it's close to public transport and within walkable distance to Hyde park

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

At least in the third floor, there is no WiFi connection. Else it was a nice stay, very clean kitchen and social rooms, bathrooms could have been more tidy, but it was okay. Very nice staff!

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Apart from the sound proofing, (we can hear people walking in the hall or people just unlocking their door), this hostel is good. The personnal is welcoming, the breakfast is generous, the bathrooms are clean, the price is allright.


89%

Very nice hostel in an old victorian-style house in Kensington. Comfortable common areas with a chimney and big TV. Very good location, the Earl's Court tube station is just a five minute walk away. Showers and toilets are super small, but are being cleaned every day. Good value for the money in such an expensive City as London!!

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff. Was very impressed with this hostel. Will definitely stay again.

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

had a very comfortable stay, staff friendly and helpful and hardworking!

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(67 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback