X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
953 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

My plane crashed in Fiji delaying my arrival so I had to pay for a night I didn't use. Not much compassion shown there! However the one night I stayed was very enjoyable. Showers are tiny but plenty of hot water. The kitchen was clean. The other guests were a great mix of different ages and cultures. Only weird thing were the very squeaky bunks in the dorm. When ever someone rolled over we'd all use the moment to roll over too while the silence was broken.


74%

Staf was excellent totaly happy with them. Just to many people s in same rooms. Which is create disturbance in nights.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, be sure your kind words will be forwarded to our staff :) we're sorry you found our hostel noisy. We have a strict noise policy where no guest is allowed to make noise after 11pm. Should you stay with us again please inform one of our staff members and we will ensure there is no noise near any of the rooms. Hope to see you here again next time you're in London! Lots of love from the team at Saint James Backpackers Hostel!!!

63%

The hostel was busy and the amount of people living there while working in London seemed greater than your average backpacker. Overall it wasn't a bad place to stay because of it's proximity to the tube station and central London. My main complaints would be that there weren't any storage lockers in your room, wifi reception was poor other than on the main floor, and that the female toilet/showers were located in the basement and there was really no place to put your toiletries.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for reviewing the hostel. We offer one locker per bed and this for all the guests. Still we apologies if your stay didn't reach your expectations. We try to give a good service and basic comfort to travellers. We hope to welcome you one day again at a less busy time so you can enjoy the charm of the hostel a bit more :)

89%

I really liked it although it was a bit annoying having to pay for towels and the beds were REALLY squeaky and loud but apart from that it was a really good stay, great location, good that breakfast was free and really helpful staff. Will definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We have to charge for the towels for the cleaning charges :( also we are sorry if the beds didn't reach your expectations. We try to offer cheap accommodations but with an amazing staff always here for you! Be sure to be always welcome at St James. Wishing you all the best!

66%

Not a super social environment, decent facilities but as with London it is overpriced...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Sorry to hear we didn’t reach your expectations. Thanks again for your stay.

60%

The place is pretty alright though the facilities are slightly aged. The bathroom I used has its drainage clogged and the water temperature settings were wonky. The staff are friendly enough as well as the other residents at the time. Location to Earl's Court station makes travelling to Heathrow relatively straightforward.

Owner Comment (Hide)
- Thanks for your feedback! At Saint James Backpackers Hostel we pride ourselves on having one of the cleanest hostels in London. All of our common areas are cleaned more than three times per day to ensure that cleanliness is up to standard for our guests. We apologise if our cleaning schedule affected your stay with us however we just want to make sure everything is perfectly clean for your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Lots of Love Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

71%

Great atmosphere. Lots of people staying who'd been staying/living there for a long time - they were welcoming. Big room to watch tv, staff ready to help 24/7, self serving kitchen, individual lockers & complimentary breakfast. The issues are that there are loads of stairs, the beds make a lot of noise, and the biggest is that the smell of mould in the bathrooms makes you want to die! Location is great - very near Earl's Court station. Nice area. Only a few stops to main attractions on the tube

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! At Saint James Backpackers Hostel we pride ourselves on having one of the cleanest hostels in London. All of our common areas are cleaned more than three times per day to ensure that cleanliness is up to standard for our guests. We apologise if our cleaning schedule affected your stay with us however we just want to make sure everything is perfectly clean for your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Lots of Love Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

74%

5 minutes walking from Earl courts, the hostel is situated in a very good position. Staff is gentle and very helpful, but you have to leave a deposit for EVERYTHING, that means I left London with 20 useless £ in my pockets. My atmosphere is nice but almost everything is around a big TV, that is not the most exiting thing.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We ask deposit as security simply as we accommodate more than 100 people and need to keep track of what we lean. Our guests like the TV but most of all the communal area around it lounge and garden are the important part where everybody can enjoy and socialise ;)

34%

Beds were the worst-no point in the pillow. Unbelievably creaky so every move someone made in the dorms, the beds would creak very loudly. Not a place for a good nights sleep at all. Saw people cleaning the bathrooms but found them not that clean still. Bathrooms so tiny you rub against the toilet just to get out the door. Grubby kitchen. People in dorm beds eating food on the bed-not good. Should be a rule against this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are a backpacker hostel offering cheap accommodations and good standard comfort still. The basics are there as a hostel to welcome you and insure you have the comfort needed. No hotel pretentions, we are a value for backpackers and families as we offer communal areas and a big kitchen for the guests to cook their meals :)

97%

everything is nice except the walls is not available to deaden the noise from the corridor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for writing us a review! We are sorry about the noise and hope you could still enjoy the hostel. We are a big hostel with tourist and backpackers catching early or late flights, Still we apply a silent policy after 11pm!

89%

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel had an excellent location and felt relatively secure, due to the availability of lockboxes in the room. Overall, I would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review! Be sure our kind words will be forwarded to our team. You're always welcome at St James ;) All the best and take care!

89%

The sleeping areas were nice, the atmosphere in the kitchen and dining area was really friendly, and the TV area was really cool! And the wifi worked excellently

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Don't hesitate to come say hi next time you are in London ;)

83%

A very lively, atmosphere. Staff was very helpful and accommodating, for the most part.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to know that you staying with us was good! We hope that you enjoyed London as well. See you soon!x

83%

You need a code to enter the building and there is always someone sitting at the desk so I never felt insecure. In addition, they provide a lock box and key that was big enough for my backpack (normal size, not a travelers backpack) and belongings. It is located several blocks from the Kings Cross tube station (less than a 5 minute walk) and on the street that runs perpendicular there are many restaurantes and cafes.. The staff were helpful and even contacted a cab for me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Claudia! Thank you for your awesome review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay :) be sure to pop at reception to say hello anytime your are back in London! All the best ;)

80%

They location was really excellent - so close to the tube station, and with a Sainsbury's on the corner, it was perfect. The staff were lovely and cheerful, and the communal areas were nice and welcoming. The showers were a little dirty on occasion, but I think it was more to do with the volume of people using them, rather than the cleaning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this lovely review! We are glad that you enjoy the time with us, sorry to hear about the showers but we always striving to deliver the best services to our guest! We really hope to welcome you again in our Hostel!:D

86%

Nice house clean,One Big living area. there have tv and computer .but the room is small so you have no where to sit .or you can do anything on your bed:)

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy to welcome you and that you enjoyed your stay with us :) The size of our rooms and number of beds is determined to answer the high demand, also we are a family run Backpacker hostel , our accommodations are basic but the atmosphere is there ;)

1 2 3 Next » last »
(56 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback