X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
649 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I enjoyed my stay in Saint James Backpackers!! I didn't expect that it will be clean and secure :) Next time I will probably come here again! :)

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Beds with iron frames were so noisy, we woke up many times each night. bathrooms were dirty. Good movies, breakfast was sober and ok.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, very close to the district line underground and at walk distance from High Street Kensington. Supermarkets and restaurants not far from the hostel. People of the staff are very friendly and always available to help. Free London maps available in the reception. The hostel is really clean, even if sometimes you can find hair in the shower or in the bathroom in general: but that's the customers' fault!


69%

The staff was not very nice sometimes

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel, Friendly staff, and good facilities in terms of kitchen bathrooms and the garden at the back. The hostel is easy to get to from the tube station, and there were locker boxes. Breakfast was also really good, with many cereals, toast and condiments and there were also boiled eggs one morning which was an added bonus! The only down side I found was that the lounge was more crowded in the evenings and reading lights for each bed would be helpful! Also I enjoyed playing with the cat!


83%

I very much enjoyed my stay at the hostel and extended it for another night. It's friendly, lively, clean and also has a good spacious garden with plenty of benches and a beautiful tree in the middle. The resident cat and black and white dog are a lovely additiion!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Place was great, staff good.


89%

We've stayed in 8 persons dorm with a group of friends. The hostel has a great location, good facilities and fantastic, open and helpful staff. Excellent value for money!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice place, well located. Loved to stay there! :)


94%

Very pleasant place to stay.


37%

Room dirty.The wardrobe without doors and drawers broken.Not even a chair in the room!Sheets weren´t changed in seven days.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The rooms are noisy during night. Every person walking around can be heard from anywhere in the hostel. Internet does not work in the rooms are work very poorly in the lobby, maybe it was just a temporary thing. This is not their fault, but during the night, a drunk guy woke up everyone in the room thinking someone was in his bed. Turns out, he was in the wrong room. But the staff was called and had to turn on the lights to check the bed numbers. Not the worst hostel I stayed but not the best.


71%

I was satisfied with the staff. The room was acceptable, however, I would have liked some more furniture in the room (1-2 shelves and/or a bedside at least). Also in my opinion, you should be more careful with the cleaning of the rooms (floor, corners etc). The bathroom seemed clear, but it was a bit disappointing, that it was two floors away from us.


71%

Got robbed during the night, as two other people in the 8 bed room. Surely, its not the hostels fault really.. but I have stayed in hostels before.. a personal and homely atmosphere could prevent such things to happen... its a nice place in a huge city... and we were just "usual" travellers who pull through london as many many others each day... thanks for the service but I wont come back...

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

really enjoyed the stay! Very clean! nice breakfast!

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

We did like the location with many nice restaurants around as well as a supermarket & the nearby tube station. Still - we had booked the three bunk beds room of which the door unfortunately could not be locked properly. It was possible to open it even if it was locked by simply leaning against it with some pressure. This should be fixed as soon as possible.. Cleanliness was average for a London hostel & the atmosphere was quite nice. Breakfast could be improved. Great for a short stay!

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was very comfortable and welcoming. They also had a very lovable cat which I adored. Very clean and perfect in all ways. It was a shared bathroom but the showers were much nicer then other Hostels I had stayed at.


80%

Our dormitory room for 4 persons was on the 4th floor and there was no lift ! The staircase was very steep and narrow. It would be ideal if this was stated in the description so that folks are aware of the height of this room.....when they come with 3 or 4 luggage bags !

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were very friendly and the place was kept very clean. It was a very homely atmosphere.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A few small hooks on the wall to put towels to dry and some clothes would be easy.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


(89 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback