X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
660 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

really enjoyed the stay! Very clean! nice breakfast!

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

We did like the location with many nice restaurants around as well as a supermarket & the nearby tube station. Still - we had booked the three bunk beds room of which the door unfortunately could not be locked properly. It was possible to open it even if it was locked by simply leaning against it with some pressure. This should be fixed as soon as possible.. Cleanliness was average for a London hostel & the atmosphere was quite nice. Breakfast could be improved. Great for a short stay!

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was very comfortable and welcoming. They also had a very lovable cat which I adored. Very clean and perfect in all ways. It was a shared bathroom but the showers were much nicer then other Hostels I had stayed at.


80%

Our dormitory room for 4 persons was on the 4th floor and there was no lift ! The staircase was very steep and narrow. It would be ideal if this was stated in the description so that folks are aware of the height of this room.....when they come with 3 or 4 luggage bags !

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were very friendly and the place was kept very clean. It was a very homely atmosphere.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A few small hooks on the wall to put towels to dry and some clothes would be easy.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great! We loved the private room (double bed, en suite) B, the joint facilities and the garden. We loved the food, Dana at the reception, the cat. Actually, we loved everything there and will come back again and again and again. I am so happy - finally I found my backpackers hotel in London. :)


40%

Just awful. Most hostels seem to strive to make your life as uncomfortable as possible and St James is no exception. It's dirty, loud and just generally disgusting. I have stayed in many hostels and you can't expect any luxury but this is the lower end of the scale. The worst thing are the hostel 'residents', i.e. the homeless people who live in this place and think they can just behave like they want without consideration for the people who should actually stay in hostels, so the holiday makers

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The double bed was very comfortable, wifi good, nice breakfast, clean bathrooms, warm showers, friendly atmosphere!

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel was very friendly and clean. They were a great help to me in extending my trip and i never had any problems with noise beyond what you would expect being in the city. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The only critique I have concerns the kitchen facilities. A few more knifes and peelers would be great if one wants too cook something more complicated than just microwave food.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Overall, it was quite okay. However, we expected a lot more from a hostel that's not really cheap. As value for money, the cleanliness wasn't to brag about either. Other than that, everything was rather fine, especially the staff whom were very friendly and cooperative.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Note that the checkout is at 10am, and they will try to charge you if you're late. We left our room at 10 and there was a queue for checkout at the reception. Thinking that it's ok to wait in the lounge, we came back 20 mins later and had to argue with the reception so that we don't get charged. Have in mind that this hostel also has a late check in time (3pm), which means you get much less than 24 hours of accommodation for your money.


1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(93 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback