X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Saint James Backpackers Reviews

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
720 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The location was really bad. It was a 10 minute walk to the nearest tube stop and at least a 10 minute ride to get anywhere in London. So if you 're looking for a place from which to go out and explore London in a short period of time, this is not a good place.


69%

sThe decoration was like a ,prison and the bed was not so clean. The location was great Close to the Subway and maybe restaurants and coffee bar. However, not the room.


100%

The staff were friendly, atmosphere was great, the venue was clean and accommodating, would stay again

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Did not end up staying there. Was unable to make a cancellation with information available . Could not locate contact details - email or text messaging details from booking information originally provided vital Hostel World booking system


80%

It's a good place to stay. Except for the spotty wifi service and the lack of reading lights at the head of each bed.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Γαμάτο και πολυ καθαρό!

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great small hostel. Located right near a tub station, with a supermarket almost next door. Good common area with well stocked kitchen. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a slightly quieter stay in London.


100%

I would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone, specially those who never had a hostel experience before (like me). Saint James Backpackers has a great website with a lot of information about the hostel, and it helped me a lot to plan my trip to London. When I arrived in the hostel, I was surprised with the staff, which was absolutely kind and helpful. The ambients in the hostel are great as well. I chose to stay in the female dorm, which was very very comfy.


71%

The female staff was very nice, the male not so. The atmosphere was very good, friendly. The price is normal for London. The site in Kensington ist very good, near by the undergroundstation. We would book again.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

facilities are nice,but part of staff seems forget smiling. kitchen is good,breakfast is valuable. Generally speaking, this hostel is not bad,but not a place which will make you lovely.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A fantastic place to stay! It was clean, nice staff and an excellent choice for breakfast. Really good security, better than anywhere else I have stayed. Location was good, only 2 minutes walk from the tube station, and on the Picadally line from Heathrow. I would definately recommend a stay here.


80%

Overall a very good hostel catering for everyone with different options for all. Decent cheap breakfast in the morning if you like as well. Good common areas and clean bathrooms. Lockers for security too. I will return.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I enjoyed my stay in Saint James Backpackers!! I didn't expect that it will be clean and secure :) Next time I will probably come here again! :)

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Beds with iron frames were so noisy, we woke up many times each night. bathrooms were dirty. Good movies, breakfast was sober and ok.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, very close to the district line underground and at walk distance from High Street Kensington. Supermarkets and restaurants not far from the hostel. People of the staff are very friendly and always available to help. Free London maps available in the reception. The hostel is really clean, even if sometimes you can find hair in the shower or in the bathroom in general: but that's the customers' fault!


69%

The staff was not very nice sometimes

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel, Friendly staff, and good facilities in terms of kitchen bathrooms and the garden at the back. The hostel is easy to get to from the tube station, and there were locker boxes. Breakfast was also really good, with many cereals, toast and condiments and there were also boiled eggs one morning which was an added bonus! The only down side I found was that the lounge was more crowded in the evenings and reading lights for each bed would be helpful! Also I enjoyed playing with the cat!


83%

I very much enjoyed my stay at the hostel and extended it for another night. It's friendly, lively, clean and also has a good spacious garden with plenty of benches and a beautiful tree in the middle. The resident cat and black and white dog are a lovely additiion!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Place was great, staff good.


89%

We've stayed in 8 persons dorm with a group of friends. The hostel has a great location, good facilities and fantastic, open and helpful staff. Excellent value for money!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(104 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback