Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sakura Hostel Asakusa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Sakura Hostel Asakusa Located at 2-24-2 Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
Japan
Tokyo 111-0032 2-24-2 Asakusa, Taito-ku
86% 1452
35.7159426 139.7950065
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
9.4

Originally booked one night but after staying I realized it had good vibes and facilities so I booked the rest of the week. The price was more expensive over the weekend but they evened out the price a little since I was staying so long. Staff speaks better English than most and very friendly and helpful. No free shampoo or soap though for showering. Gotta buy my own.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
6.0

+++This Hostel is good for its location. ++ staff is mostly nice ( some are a bit not experienced and not patient and too direct, specially some of the younger ones). --- rooms too crammed and not well ventilated - smells so bad all the time --- the corridor is open windows to the street and open to the stairs , so you can imagine how cold it can be with air blowing from widow and stairs. to go to the toiled/bathroom you have to cross that corridor , a heavy door -10 m distance

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Nov 2016
6.0

For the price you can find something much better. For half the price it would be a great hostel! The dorm rooms were clean, but stuffy and smelly. The common space is not very inviting....the whole building is very old and in need of renos. It was a downside for me as well that the subway line closest is not on JR. I booked because they have a 24hr reception.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Oct 2016
7.4

+: Clean, has most facilities. Organize events sometimes -: Unhelpful and uninformed staff Stuffy rooms (esp B1) & bed, Unhospitable environment to make friends or meet people Everything has an add on charge - even borrowing an adapter for emergency because I couldn't find mine Overall I found it very not cosy or homely. For solo travelers, the hostel experience is quite important, and this didn't fit the solo backpacker experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
7.4

This hostel is okay for a couple of nights in Tokyo. The location is pretty convenient and within 5-20 mins of three different subway lines. It kind of feels like something in between a hostel and hotel, because the place is so big. It felt safe with key cards and lockers, and the beds are surprisingly comfortable with privacy curtains. I did see a few big cockroaches, so it could be cleaner. The common area is massive so I think you can easily meet others.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Oct 2016
8.9

This was my second stay at Sakura hostel, after staying at 5 other hostels around Japan. While still clean, it does feel more basic and inferior to other hostels I stayed in throughout Japan. One of the shower rooms on the 4th floor smelled a bit moldy (I stayed on the 2nd floor a few weeks ago and the bathrooms were better). Really great staff and location, though, and for Tokyo it's a cheap place to stay. Would still recommend overall as a budget option in Tokyo!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2016
8.9

Good hostel. The room was the best part - very spacious and clean and every bed has curtains/nightlight/outlets. So it felt private and comfortable. I wasn't a huge fan of the area outside our room though - it was all stone under construction with tarp and stuff, and was outdoors (like a motel). Bathrooms were just okay, the showers didn't feel very clean to me. Lobby was good, very professional and I like that it's 24 hours. Staff was nice. Location is good, it's about 5min from everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Cito336
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
10.0

I stayed at the Sakura and I must say that it is a gem. Traveling solo the 24 hour common room was perfect for meeting people. I made friends there literally everyday and within 10 mins of being there. The staff was awesome and very friendly. There English was perfect. The part of town is fantastic and one of the most beautiful parts of Tokyo. Walking distance from great restaurants and attractions. Also the trip into the city flys by. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
9.1

Located a bit out of center but close to Central train station : it is good only if you have JR or JR West Kansai pass and this way you can use the loop line to move around the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
9.4

Overall I thought it was pretty great. They do make you pay extra for a lock to use on the lockers, breakfast, and for a towel but it's not too much more. I met some pretty cool people also staying there and we played video games together on the hostel gaming setup so that was pretty sweet too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.