X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Salmon Weir Hostel Reviews

3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1362 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

the best hostel of galway ! nice place ,good atmosfere , and people are so kind and fun !

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly and family spirit hostel :) a large kitchen, perfect for cooking ! And a nice living room wit a very nice atmophere.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great service and clean facilities.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall the hostel was clean and tidy and the staff was quite friendly. However, you could not quite get past the feeling of being packed sardines. The rooms barely had any space between the various bunks. The hostel was still quite warm and welcoming though and the stay was well worth the price. I would visit again.


74%

love stay will comeback one day


86%

Great little hostel, with good vibes, a great manager (Dom), and great location. There aren't any locks/keys for the rooms, so definitely lacking in security, but they provide lockers and I never felt unsafe.


91%

Lovely! The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, this place feels like you're at home. Good beds, wifi works, lockers in the rooms, kitchen, free (!!) tea and coffee, and close to everything you need (Galway is pretty small, so distance was never an issue). Thank you!!


80%

Comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff. Good kitchen, location excellent and a great place for meeting new people. Would love to stay again!


86%

Super friendly and cosy. A little cramped in the bedroom, but makes it quick and easy to make friends!


80%

It was friendly, both the staff and other guests. Though the rooms were small and a bit cramped, and it could do with a couple more private bathrooms, the kitchen was well stocked and the staff were very helpful - this and the location made up for the size of space in the room.


97%

Nice, relaxing hostel with a good location. Friendly staff!


77%

Hostel suited our needs, the room was rather cramped but bathrooms were clean and staff friendly.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Needed some maintenance and cleaning in rooms and washrooms. Double room was very tiny and mattress not very comfortable to be worth the price we paid. Kitchen area was nice and well kept and staff and guests were friendly.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Love this place and would totally recommend it to anyone. The staff and the atmosphere were particularly good. Please note that the hostel is quite cramped and hallways, doorways, rooms are places that require a lot of negotiating when trying to get from one place to another inside. Otherwise, relax and enjoy.


86%

As general hostels go, the cost was quite high, but cheaper than almost all in the area

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Bit of a mixed bag, the staff were super friendly and helpful, it felt a bit more like you were staying at someone's giant house than a hostel - very relaxed atmosphere, free towels was awesome, location was great near Latin quarter but on a quiet street, laundry service was fast! The bad: bathroom was mouldy, getting a professional cleaner to clean thoroughly once a fortnight would make a difference, too many beds in one room. If they took one bed out it would be way more manageable!


94%

Very friendly owner Dominic, who personally shows guests around and makes you feel welcome. Not a place for stag parties or similar groups in my opinion. Lovely hostel.


100%

The staff are great!

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great value for money and very handy location wise. Wasn't impressed with the overall cleanliness. Nice back yard for having a few drinks outside of the weather is good. Found the hostel cold during the night but it didn't help that the workers had the back door wide open for ages. All in all good for 20 euro

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Overall, I stayed in 11 hostels on my trip to Ireland and I would say this one was OK. They don't offer breakfast, which is a bit of a bummer because everywhere else breakfast was just toast, cereal, and coffee/tea, so it really wouldn't be that hard to offer it. Also, most of the hostels I stayed in had poor plug situations, but this one was pretty good by offering a surge protector strip of plugs. My biggest complaint would be the no keys and thus no locked doors, I felt a bit unsafe.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback