Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Salmon Weir Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
10.0

Pretty small rooms, but convenient and good atmosphere .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
6.6

Not for the faint hearted.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
4.6

Smallest room I've ever seen. My partner and I couldn't stand in the room together without one of us having to be in one of the bunk beds. The doorbell rang late into the night, bathroom was dirty, and we're quite sure the other visitors were smoking weed in the neighboring living room, which was incredibly messy. We actually couldn't stay the whole night and got up, checked out and found a different place to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
7.7

It was a nice hostel, but you didn't get a key, so I didn't feel comfortable leaving my stuff in the room. The room slept 6 people but they only had locker space for 2. If you wanted in the hostel you had to ring a doorbell, which sounded threw out the whole building. The bathrooms could be cleaner, but the kitchen was great to cook in with lots of choice for pots and pans!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2017
9.4

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The guys that work there are really sweet and there was a nice community of people that had been living there for months and months so there was definitely a really nice family atmosphere there. Curfew is not until 3 AM which is nice if you want to go to clubs or to the disco or anything like that. Started to feel a bit more cramped over the course of our stay as more people filled up the hostel and shared the kitchen, but it was never a problem

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2017
7.4

A bit away from the main strip, so a better sleep. Still only 6 min walk from the bus station. The atmosphere is pretty dull if you're traveling alone, but fine enough if you either don't care or are only there 1-2 nights. Has a great kitchen area. Overall, an average hostel. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
9.4

This place is not very clean but not terrible either. Everyone there was very cheerful and friendly, staff and guests alike. The kitchen is large and well equipped, great place to share meals and drinks with new friends. Very close to the city center too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
4.6

Overcrowded dirty and smelly

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
4.6

It looks like war-zone. Mauldy and tiny. Good just for 1 night, it's very small and it can be dirty. Pepole are OK I guess and wifi is good. Didn't get that "home" feeling though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
8.0

Very friendly and helpful staff. Your standards on cleanliness and moderness shouldn't be too high, but that's pretty standard for not too expensive hostels. More important to me was the cosy and friendly atmosphere and the staff that will try to help you out with questions etc. in any way they can. Also very close to/in the city centre, but not right in the busiest streets (which is convenient if you want to enjoy some sleep after busy days ;)).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.