Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Salmon Weir Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,589 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Salmon Weir Hostel Located at 3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay, Galway.
Salmon Weir Hostel
Ireland
Galway Galway 3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay
81% 1589
53.2763514 -9.0530347
Salmon Weir Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jul 2016
7.7

It's small, in desperate need of a facelift but does what it says it will; you have a bed, access to sheets and toilets and friendly staff but, that's all, really

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.7

Low cost double room. Confortable bed, but very small room. I would recommend if your going to stay a couple of days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.1

Horribly noisy and scary on Saturday night. Loud drunk men came into the hostel dorm and we're hitting on one woman and cussing. They came in past curfew...the host should've locked them out or made sure they were being respectful. Other than Saturday night, the rest of our visit was nice. Great location, good/friendly atmosphere, and cluttered but clean. I would recommend this location on nights other than Friday and Saturday--too wild in dorms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Good place to stay for a night. Even the big dorm rooms were well kept. Good atmosphere and friendly staff as well as a good location very close to the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
3.1

A filthy, small, awful place.. I've never met staff so unpleasant before. There is a curfew at 3am so you have to be in before then or no admittance.. I was there for a film festival and the wrap party didn't end till 4am so I asked if there was any way I could come in an hour later. He was incredibly rude and completely unwilling to discuss any options for a late curfew. I ended up having to stay out till 8am, when he opens the door again. I then asked for a late check-out and was refused,

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Loved this place! Great location, although parking is a little walk away not a huge issue i this town though! Eating out is sooo easy here and the hostel has two great kitchens. Bathrooms were super clean and we were lucky enough to have a private room but in this hostel so not a big deal! Loved it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Jul 2016
7.7

It's an ok hostel. For the money you pay it's acceptable. However, rooms are so tiny and kind of smeally. Toilets and showers are also tiny and not really confortable. Commun area is full of staff. Every time you have to enter you have to ring the bell, the door gets lock at 3am so until then people rings the bell.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dimitrabasdani6778
  • Greece, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.3

We booked 2 beds in the 12 bed dorm. It could not have been any worse. They have squeezed 12 beds in an extremely small space. Their is a window in the room but it is not opening and it smells very bad (it smells like mould). My advice, pay 4-5 euros more and get a decent bed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • indy_winky2436
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.7

Nice stay for a couple of nights. The staff were friendly and the kitchen was small but good. Not heaps in the way of atmosphere but a comfortable stay close to walk to everything in Galway

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
9.1

Wonderful stay here, I had a blast. A home-away-from-home type of hostel. Short walk into Galway's center. Staff are super friendly and helpful, and wonderful to converse with as well. Showers were a little weak, but worked well enough. Fairly clean place overall. Good value for the money. Really not that much to complain about, I had a great time at a great hostel. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.