Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Salmon Weir Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
Salmon Weir Hostel Located at 3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay, Galway.
Salmon Weir Hostel
Ireland
Galway Galway 3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay
79% 1633
53.2763514 -9.0530347
Salmon Weir Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.3

The rooms don't have key, but the are lockers inside and the front door is always locked (you ring the bell to get in). The kitchen has everything you need to cook, but can feel a bit crowded at top hours. Toilets and showers were very clean, the same with common areas and rooms. Great location, close to attractions and supermarkets

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
6.3

Really good location on the side of the city but the Rooms were ridiculously cramped. There should not be 3 bunk beds in the room downstairs, almost dangerous. Common room was really cluttered and cramped. Kitchen was nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
7.4

Kind of a weird atmosphere here. The beds are PACKED into the rooms, very tight - staff live in the rooms too. Not a big problem, but without individual lockers provided, people's stuff can be everywhere. The alleys between beds are so small there is minimal room for your own stuff. Good kitchen, but wifi is only available in common area, which is a few couches. Under my bed was stuffed a lot of "stuff" seemingly from those that live there...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bpibernat8561
  • Spain, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
5.7

Although the location is good and the staff is nice, the rooms are too cramped without doors and the bathrooms were really dirty and wet. There wasn't even the illusion of privacy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2016
4.0

The staff was quite lackluster and showed no interest in being accomodating. Had to wait 25 minutes to check in while one staff member did his cleaning duties and the other attempted a rubix cube with his friend. Bathrooms were quite disgusting with underwear strewn about and the shower heads not supported and spraying only at the wall.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
5.1

Unfortunately not the best experience. Place not very clean and difficult to sleep due to the noise from the street. Even asked to prepare our room for cleaning (strip bed and bring bed covers downstairs) when we were checking out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
5.1

The cleanliness is what turned me off the most. We got the private room with a double bed. It sat above entrance door, against window with literally 2 ft on one side to move around room. The room had to be aroun 8x9 with a double bed. The noise was insane, never slept. As one review stated it appears people are staying there long term. With bins with their name on them in the kitchen. Bed was horrible too. If you are looking for a dry place to crash after going out drinking this is your place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.4

The bunks are very small and cramped - you can't sit up on them but it suited us as we were literally only sleeping there. You couldn't stay very long in the rooms though as they stank. We could only open one window in our room :( However, I would have no hesitation to stay there again, as its such a handy location. For the weekend that was in it (Galway Races) they were clean and good value for money. Having keys to our room was also a great as we felt our bags were safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere, staffs are friendly n always ready to help. Enjoyed my stay here for 2 nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2016
6.0

The hostel has a great location, close to the center. This was perfect for our 2 night stay. However, we thought the hostel was ok, not much. The kitchen was not clean at all, there was a lots of food everywhere...Rooms were very small and bathrooms ok... This hostel is definitely good for the price and location but not very confortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.