Hostelworld.com

Salmon Weir Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.3
Salmon Weir Hostel Located at 3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay, Galway.
Salmon Weir Hostel
Ireland
Galway Galway 3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay
76% 1493
53.2763514 -9.0530347
Salmon Weir Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • calum_irvine93
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

Great hostel in a good location, within 5 minutes from the town centre and the main street. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There was a great atmosphere throughout the hostel. Everyone staying at the hostel was super friendly and outgoing which contributed to the atmosphere of the Hostel. The staff also help to create an inviting atmosphere to get people talking to make it easier to meet fellow travellers. 3 am lockout may be annoying but highly understandable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

We stayed in a twin private room and it was so small we had to go through the bunk bed to get to the lockers on the other side of the room since you couldn't walk around the bed. Otherwise it was a good stay, the kitchen(s) are great and the location was pretty good- very easy to walk everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.1

This was a very nice hostel; the manager was very and helpful. Wish we could've stayed more than one night to hang around with people. Would recommend for young travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • przemart2579
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
8.0

A very nice hostel with a great host. Guests coming back from pubs till 3am kept me awake

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2016
9.7

I spent two night at Salmon Weir in the room for two people. Location was great, there were 2 big food stores just behind the corner and it was a 4 minutes walk to the very center of Galway. The staff was very friendly. The hostel was quite small and everyone said hello to each other. The kitchen was perfect with free tea, coffee and spices for cooking. The laundry service cost 5 euros and was organized by the stuff. No self-service washing machines. There was a curfew (although late).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
2.0

It was the worst place I have ever walked into. After taking a shower in a small damp mould infested room I couldn't handle it any longer and booked elsewhere. I was suppost to stay 2 nights and didn't last 2 hours! Not only that but the place smelt disgusting and was so cramped I felt like I was sleeping on top of everyone- there was also little security with no locks on doors making it free for people to come into the room as they please! Overall disgusting

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
6.6

The rooms are too small. The reception close at 3am. If you want go out and come back later than 3am, you can not more enter. They dont give you a key of the main door to enter in the hotel, so if you go out you HAVE to come back before 3am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Mar 2016
8.6

Stayed twice in my 4 wks in Ireland. It is not the most fancy hostel, but the atmosphere is truly great. Saff Alberto, Dominique and Fabrizio were so friendly. The owner, George, provided an Easter supper on patio for staff when I was there and offered me to join in on the meal!!! Good Irish lad. The bathrooms are kept very clean. Good kitchen facility. The dorm room is a bit tight for space, but the 2-bed room on first floor was just fine. Beds are comfortable. Sue and Gab (Canada)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
10.0

Great Staff, Rooms ok, cleanliness ok. Good value for the price. Just a little noisy, because walls are thin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.4

Good location, nice staff and the room is OK, but there is no wifi in room and my friend and I could only connect the wifi in the public zone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.