Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Salmon Weir Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mollygreenhood165
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Hostel was close to public parking which was very convenient and it was a quick walk to Shop Street and Eyre Square. The room was absurdly tiny, which would have been nice to know as it was very cramped and uncomfortable. Aside from that it was okay. For the price it was worth it, but for the lack of space, I probably wouldn't return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ignaciogonzalezv5830
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2017
10.0

Perfect place to stay at Galway. Great location, 10 minutes walk from bus station. Staff is very friendly and will help you out with any question you might have. Kitchen is very big and has everything you need

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.0

The dorms were far too small for the number of beds in them, the bathroom wasn't terribly clean, and the kitchen was very busy even though there are two stoves. Overall, I would spend a couple euro more next time and get a higher-rated hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
4.6

Lack of information about the "double room" I was put in, like the fact the only way to get into the bed was to crawl in and out as it was shoved in a corner. Lockers to store clothing instead of a wardrobe or drawers but also don't have a rail if you needed to hang anything. Bathrooms were unisex yet the showers were curtains not doors. Have to supply your own box for any dry food you store in the kitchen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
24th Feb 2017
7.4

No locks on dorm rooms, there are small lockers for valuables and rent able deposit locks, though 4 to a 6 bedroom. There are private rooms for groups also. Common areas and bathrooms were very well cleaned, lovely staff. Lounge/living room was relaxed and chill, as there were a few long termers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location and value for money! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the facilities were clean and met our needs for a short two night stay. They have a great kitchen with free tea and coffee and facilities provided if you want to cook your own meals. Wifi does not work very well outside of common areas, but again great value for the central location and helpful staff/facilities provided. I would recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
10.0

We had a short but very nice stay. The staff was super nice and the hostel is a lovely little place. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.9

The staff was extremely friendly and gave us amazing advice on what to see and do. Didn't get to interact with many people in the hostel cause our stay was short but we met the people staying in our room with us and bonded quite instantly. We're all still in touch and talk about our travels frequently.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
9.4

Very pleasantly surprised with the level of the facilities and the cleanliness. Easily the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Helpful staff that always leave you to your own devices. Location could not be better - walking distance to anything you'd need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.4

The workers were friendly, and they had a desktop computer which was nice. They also had two kitchens, so you didn't have to awkwardly cook next to someone if someone else was trying to cook. It served its purpose as a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.