Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Saltwater Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
Saltwater Lodge Located at 14 Kings Road, Paihia, Paihia.
Saltwater Lodge
New Zealand
Paihia Bay of Islands 14 Kings Road, Paihia
91% 221
-35.2852403 174.0953098
Saltwater Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.9

The room was pretty dirty and the carpet was stained, but they seem to be remodeling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your stay. We are sorry for inconvenience during your stay. We have inspected the room after you checked out and couldn't located any stains on carpet. Rooms are cleaned or serviced every day therefore we are not sure what you meant by pretty dirty. We of course putting importance to your opinion and as you mention we are refurbishing all the rooms. We wish you safe travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2016
8.6

I enjoyed my stay at Saltwater. The facilities were clean and tidy. The kitchen was a good size with a large social area located beside it. The hostel was quiet, but that was due to the time of year. The free Wi-Fi was an extra bonus. The staff were friendly and went above and beyond to help me out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your time to write about your experience. We are very happy to hear that we could help to make your stay wonderful. Thank you for lovely comments. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
9.4

Super friendly staff, great location, clean room and good kitchen facilities. The only thing that didn't make it perfect was that the shower was a bit weak.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying at our Lodge and taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience. Our showers are set per backpackers standards, but we certainly look into this point and double check if there is no problems. Best regards Lenka & Rohit

  • nwillcox
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2016
10.0

We were originally only going to stay here for one night but as soon as we checked in decided to extend our stay as it was so nice. Accommodating and friendly staff with clean and large rooms. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking equipment and the wifi was strong. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. We are happy that our service meet your expectations and appreciate you taking time to share your opinion. We are glad that our fecilities provided all you need. We wish you safe travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2016
9.4

This is a lovely hostel to stay in, the fact that a few of the residents are working for accommodation gives it a very familiar feel! Everyone was lovely and the rooms and facilities very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for nice review, we are glad that you felt comfortable. All the Best! Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

7th Mar 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed this hostel. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Especially Rohit, he was very helpful in booking me a water taxi and he was a hard worker....always busy. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, we are happy that your stay was enjoyable and our services were helpful, We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Feb 2016
9.7

Such a nice hostel, super friendly and helpful staff, wish I could've stayed longer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for lovely review. We are happy that you were pleased with our service. If you will find yourself in Paihia again we would be happy to host you again. Safe travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

12th Feb 2016
10.0

Very clean, helpful staff, close to bus stop. Alittle noisy from bar next door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. A few of our rooms are closer to the bar next door which can resolve sometimes in having a bit of noise. We are happy that apart from that everything were in your like. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • rarnold612
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
8.3

Good location and atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and our location met your preferences. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Feb 2016
10.0

The internet was a little slow at night, but think that was due to so many people in the hostel. An excellent place to stay regardless as staff were very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our service. We are happy to inform you that we have upgrade our wifi and now there should be no troubles. Best regards Lenka & Rohit

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.