Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saltwater Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
Saltwater Lodge Located at 14 Kings Road, Paihia, Paihia.
Saltwater Lodge
New Zealand
Paihia Bay of Islands 14 Kings Road, Paihia
93% 262
-35.2852403 174.0953098
Saltwater Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lcitton
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
9.7

This was my first stay in a hostel and while my anxieties were high, the staff, the facilities, and the atmosphere of the Saltwater Lodge made me feel at ease. Thank you for a wonderful time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Loved my stay here, the bunks are comfy and the ensuites clean! The kitchen is well kitted out and it's a great location in paihia!! The only thing I would say is if you want to extend your stay don't do it at reception they will tell you they only have more expensive rooms left which is a lie, I booked the same priced room online two minutes later after I spoke to them, "cancellation" they said, they did the same to other people extending their stay! It was a great stay but that was annoying!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.1

Nice, clean, modern hostel. Good WiFi signal throughout. Stayed in a deluxe all-female 4bed dorm with en suite and kitchenette. The beds were comfy and it wasn't too loud even though it is in a good district for bars etc. Had a good social area with books and games although didn't use it that much. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed this place. In some ways it is the best in town as reasonable space and bathroom is clean and rooms are a reasonable size. I did get bitten quite a lot whilst there but I think that is part of the joy of paihia. I feel in reflection it was quite good value for money and once they update the bunk beds it will be hard to beat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your opinion and we are glad you have nice experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and facilities. We wish you nice travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Absolute 10 out of 10. Can't fault it at all. Clean, secure, lovely atmosphere and excellent facilities. I could stay here again and again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What an amazing review, thank you so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • jean_lonsdale8620
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Dec 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing place...someone has obviously given a great deal of thought into what a backpacker may need. I paid an extra few dollars to have a dormitory that was really luxurious (for a hostel)...our own fridge, microwave (I think...have stayed in many places), cutlery, crockery...a table just outside the room (in addition to the ones on the next floor down, outside the kitchen). Tremendous value for money! If I return to Paihia, I will definitely stat in this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much! Blown away with your amazing review. So glad to hear our hard work is paid off. We hope to welcome you back somethimes. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.7

Great hostel, would definitely recommend :) What I really appreciate is having bathroom in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Have a nice travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

23rd Nov 2016
10.0

I LOVED this place, big, clean kitchen, nice rooms, comfy beds, heater in room which was awesome because it was pretty chilly outside. Little bit of a walk to downtown (10-15 min) if you have a car they have a parking area. Some people complained about the bar noise, but honestly it wasn't that loud at and didn't bother me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay at our lodge. We are pleased your had a comfortable stay and we wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards, Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2016
8.6

Bit disappointed! Booked for 14 nights but ended up having to leave. Stayed 2 night so and was told by the hostel that they can't do refunds as it was booked through hotel world. Hostel world said it was up to the hostel 🤔 Did not get anything back. Hostel was not full but because I did not book through them they could not refund. Hostel world said that it's not up to them and we're not willing to give me any of the money I paid back. Won't use hotel world again! Be careful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are sorry for inconvenience with your booking. All hostels and websites have their own cancellation policies. We try to help guests as much as we can with changes in their plans. We provide full or parcial refund if circumstances allows. We are happy to provide very good deal if you'll like to stay with us again just contact us directly. All the best, Lenka & Rohit

22nd Sep 2016
7.1

This hostel is a good hostel if you're just looking for a place to sleep and shower. It's located in a nice place in Paihia and has all amenities one would need. However, it's not super friendly or inviting. It feels more like staying in a big hotel rather than anything else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities, we are sorry to hear that you felt isolated. Please know that it was a quiet time in Paihia and now is more and more people around to meet. Thank you again and we hope your overall experience was still good. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.