Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saltwater Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jul 2017
8.0

The Hostel facility is nice and close to a couple cool bars and cafes. It is only a short walk from the city center. Not much people so the atmosphere is kinda dead, but still had a nice comfortable stay there. The view at the beach is amazing, I would recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your fantastic experience. We are glad we provide you with an overall nice comfortable stay.It was our pleasure to host you and we really appreciate your amazing review. We do our best to give our guests a great experience.We wish you all the best on your future travels. Kind Regards Nachiket

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
9.4

We had a great stay in saltwater lodge for 4 nights in July. The hostel has great facilities, a large communal room and kitchen and outside eating area. They also supply free bikes which was a nice touch. The room was very clean and cleaned daily and the staff were very friendly with any questions and help. Unfortunately paihia is a little bit dead at this time of the year and I can imagine that the atmosphere would be great in summer. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking time to write review and recommending us. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our service. We would enjoy to host you on your next visit in the bay. Best wishes for your future travel. Kind Regards Nachiket Lodge Manager

22nd Jun 2017
9.1

The place was quiet and clean. It is just off the beach. The staff was helpful with suggestions about what to do in the area. In the private rooms there are fridges, microwaves, and hot water. Nice perk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about our Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our Kitchen facilities, rooms and location & thank you so much for your fantastic comments regarding the staff. Wish you safe travels and have a great time in New Zealand. Kind Regards Nachiket Lodge Manager

2nd May 2017
9.1

Just an overall great hostel. About a 5-10 minute walk to the main town centre, but that wasn't a huge deal for me. Everything was very clean, decent, but smallish kitchen, and each room had it's own bathroom. Even though the wifi was a bit unreliable, it was unlimited.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Sandwich88
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
8.6

One of my favorite hostels I've stayed at all trip. Very clean and open. The only downside is when I was there at least the atmosphere was dead but I could see it being more lively in the summer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your stay with us and for taking your time to write comments. Please be assured that atmosphere is all about guests - we have less guests staying through the winter, but as you mentioned summer in Paihia is memorable. We are glad that over all you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

The location is very convenient to travel around. The hostel is clean and well maintained.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your stay with us and your high ratings. Please be assured that we'll continue in our efforts to keep our facilities clean and maintained to high standards. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards, Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.1

Amazing staff!! Really close to beach, great common areas and facilities! It was really clean and had loads of socialising areas. Great kitchen, can be a little loud at night because it's next to bars but nothing unexpected from a hostel!! Also really easy to find/get to!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about our service, location and facilities. We are happy to know that our guests were satisfied and would choose us again in future. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

15th Mar 2017
9.7

Been in NZ for 5 months and this is the best hostel I have stayed at so far. Really modern and clean facilities, helpful and friendly staff, and comfy beds. Located on the same street as all the other backpackers but no too close to any noisy bars so you can sleep, only 1min from the beach. Would stay again and definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. Thrilled to hear that you found service helpful and liked our facilities. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and being your best experience. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.7

If you're going to Paihia, this is the place to be! The cleanest hostel I've been to so far. They clean your room, the kitchen and other facilities every morning. Stayed for 3 nights in a 4 bed room which was really good and had it's own bathroom. Totally recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your time to share this amazing review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We highly appreciate your recommendation to other travelers. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved it here, we stayed in both a 6 bed standard and a 4 bed deluxe and both rooms were great. Up there with the best hostels we've ever stayed in. All staff were very helpful, friendly and professional - couldn't ask for more. The hostel has a nice homely feel with a great kitchen and chill out area. All facilities were spot on, very clean and everything you could need. The location is also amazing, a minutes walk from the beach and not far from shops and bars. Would 100% stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, we are glad that you had wonderful stay and our lodge exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your valuable feedback about our rooms and service. We would love to see you again during your travels. All the best. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.