Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saltwater Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.1

Amazing staff!! Really close to beach, great common areas and facilities! It was really clean and had loads of socialising areas. Great kitchen, can be a little loud at night because it's next to bars but nothing unexpected from a hostel!! Also really easy to find/get to!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about our service, location and facilities. We are happy to know that our guests were satisfied and would choose us again in future. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

15th Mar 2017
9.7

Been in NZ for 5 months and this is the best hostel I have stayed at so far. Really modern and clean facilities, helpful and friendly staff, and comfy beds. Located on the same street as all the other backpackers but no too close to any noisy bars so you can sleep, only 1min from the beach. Would stay again and definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. Thrilled to hear that you found service helpful and liked our facilities. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and being your best experience. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.7

If you're going to Paihia, this is the place to be! The cleanest hostel I've been to so far. They clean your room, the kitchen and other facilities every morning. Stayed for 3 nights in a 4 bed room which was really good and had it's own bathroom. Totally recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your time to share this amazing review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We highly appreciate your recommendation to other travelers. We wish you all the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved it here, we stayed in both a 6 bed standard and a 4 bed deluxe and both rooms were great. Up there with the best hostels we've ever stayed in. All staff were very helpful, friendly and professional - couldn't ask for more. The hostel has a nice homely feel with a great kitchen and chill out area. All facilities were spot on, very clean and everything you could need. The location is also amazing, a minutes walk from the beach and not far from shops and bars. Would 100% stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, we are glad that you had wonderful stay and our lodge exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your valuable feedback about our rooms and service. We would love to see you again during your travels. All the best. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Brill little hostel, go for the deluxe second floor, really worth it. Felt like a hotel more so than a hostel. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We value all the feedback and we are glad you felt comfortable. We are happy that you had a great experience. We love to hear that our guests would return to stay with us again. All the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel. In the superior dorm, there's an ensuite bathroom and a kitchenette which is ideal. Beds were comfy and there was plenty of space for us in the 4 bed dorm. Staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such a wonderful review about your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback about our facilities and service. We wish you nice travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • caraanderton
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.1

Really great atmosphere and kitchen facilities, nice and clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay. We appreciate all amazing feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff were lovely, atmosphere was upbeat and friendly. Only suggestion is to have more signs around reminding everyone to lock room doors after themselves and clean kitchen after themselves - other than that location is brilliant and everything else is fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate all feedback and we understand that sometimes guests are reluctant in following rules, but we can reassure you we do our best in reminding our guests to be considerate of others. We wish you nice travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.6

Probably one of my favourite hostels during my trip. Perfect location, very clean and nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. We appreciate the amazing feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Lovely hostel, great location. Really clean. Felt like more of a hotel than a hostel. The kitchen was a bit hectic when a tour was staying one night and is rather small in relation to the size of the hostel, but overall if you clear up after yourself and talk to your fellow chefs it's adequate.would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with others. We appreciate all great feedback, and are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels. Kind regards Lenka and Rohit

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.