Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Saltwater Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved it here, we stayed in both a 6 bed standard and a 4 bed deluxe and both rooms were great. Up there with the best hostels we've ever stayed in. All staff were very helpful, friendly and professional - couldn't ask for more. The hostel has a nice homely feel with a great kitchen and chill out area. All facilities were spot on, very clean and everything you could need. The location is also amazing, a minutes walk from the beach and not far from shops and bars. Would 100% stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, we are glad that you had wonderful stay and our lodge exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your valuable feedback about our rooms and service. We would love to see you again during your travels. All the best. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel. In the superior dorm, there's an ensuite bathroom and a kitchenette which is ideal. Beds were comfy and there was plenty of space for us in the 4 bed dorm. Staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such a wonderful review about your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback about our facilities and service. We wish you nice travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • caraanderton
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.1

Really great atmosphere and kitchen facilities, nice and clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay. We appreciate all amazing feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Staff were lovely, atmosphere was upbeat and friendly. Only suggestion is to have more signs around reminding everyone to lock room doors after themselves and clean kitchen after themselves - other than that location is brilliant and everything else is fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate all feedback and we understand that sometimes guests are reluctant in following rules, but we can reassure you we do our best in reminding our guests to be considerate of others. We wish you nice travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.6

Probably one of my favourite hostels during my trip. Perfect location, very clean and nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. We appreciate the amazing feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Lovely hostel, great location. Really clean. Felt like more of a hotel than a hostel. The kitchen was a bit hectic when a tour was staying one night and is rather small in relation to the size of the hostel, but overall if you clear up after yourself and talk to your fellow chefs it's adequate.would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with others. We appreciate all great feedback, and are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels. Kind regards Lenka and Rohit

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

Absolutely brilliant!! It feels like a hotel. It is a gem of a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. We can't be more gratful for this amazing comments and high rating. We wish you nice time on your travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

22nd Jan 2017
8.3

Very good in general. The only negative thing is that wifi didn't work very well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your rating. We are glad to hear that your trip went well and we are sorry you had troubles using wifi. When we have that many people in hostel it can get slower. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

  • lcitton
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
9.7

This was my first stay in a hostel and while my anxieties were high, the staff, the facilities, and the atmosphere of the Saltwater Lodge made me feel at ease. Thank you for a wonderful time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are thrilled to learn that you had a comfortable stay and we helped to made your first hostel experience memorable. We are also glad to note that you enjoyed our facilities and was well taken care of by our team. All the best on your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Loved my stay here, the bunks are comfy and the ensuites clean! The kitchen is well kitted out and it's a great location in paihia!! The only thing I would say is if you want to extend your stay don't do it at reception they will tell you they only have more expensive rooms left which is a lie, I booked the same priced room online two minutes later after I spoke to them, "cancellation" they said, they did the same to other people extending their stay! It was a great stay but that was annoying!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments, it is great to hear that our facilities provided comfort during your stay. We believe that small things matters. Therefore let us reassure you it would be silly of us to lie about availability if you can easily see it online. It is great for us that we are fully booked every day as you could see yourself. That also means that we can't extend guests which didn't made reservation. Our priority is to make our guests feel comfortable and if it is possible to let them stay in the same room longer if they desire. It brings us pleasure to know you were lucky enough to booked cancelled bed. However we didn't force you to booked deluxe dorm, we simply provided option for you to stay with us longer. Option we offer many guests after all our standard dorms are sold. Hopefully this explains your concerns. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.