Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SamS VIP Hostel San Gil

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2017
10.0

A great place: I booked a room without a bathroom, but since I arrived early and the room wasn't ready yet, the staff upgraded me to a room with bathroom, for the same price! They take really good care of the guests, and the staff is really friendly. So far, the best hostel experience I've had in Colombia. I also booked a few activities through the hostel. Great packages! And very convenient. I'm really impressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.7

Beautiful hostel right in the center of town, the balcony overlooks the plaza! Really comfortable and clean as well. I would stay here again no questions asked. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.4

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with booking activities. The hostel also organizes a free tejo and Colombian bowling night on Wed which was a lot of fun. We had a private room, which was spacious and clean. The terrace is nice to have breakfast on and people watch, and the pool is perfect for cooking down. The wifi was a bit slow but that would be my only critique. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
5.7

I am not sure why this is one of the most popular hostels to stay in San Gil. Positives: it's as central as it gets, the rooms are clean and there is a great balcony over looking the city... But that's about it. They could put some more effort into communal areas and making the host area area more comfortable. I am surprised there is not more competition in San Gil offering these basic am mentors most people look for in a hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for your review, we like good reviews and love the bad ones as well, I can see in your review most things were good about the hostel, great location, clean rooms beautiful views, did not mention the pool and the 2 kitchens ( one with marble island) not common at any hostel about the rest of social areas we dont provide sorry about but we are trying to build more however this is an small hostel for 28 people, thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Really helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
5.4

Poor hostel compared with others we stayed in throughout Colombia for the same sort of price...staff weren't friendly, we got a rubbish token breakfast of a small stale roll and cold eggs, no milk for coffee. Lots of rules displayed everywhere. Rooms were plain, bed was very uncomfortable, rarely any hot water and there was often no water at all (so we couldn't even flush the toilet). Good location but we were pleased to leave after 3 nights.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us, and we are happy you stay 3 full days at SamS VIP hostel, sorry about the poor breakfast, however YOU SHOULD NOTICE BREAKFADT IS NOT INCLUDED, tgis was just a free complementary and you could've go and have breakfast somewhere else, lot of rules like everywhere we have to print them and post them for law, and about the water you we are so sorry and happened recently we had 3 days without any water in town because a broken pipeline however we had reserve thanks and the water from the pool, however I can see sometimes people just see the bad things and dont understand that is hard to be perfect. Thabks anyway and thanks for the review, hope you have a great holiday and let us know if you have any question whithin Colombia to help you

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.4

Really great friendly and helpful staff. Ideal, central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review and hope you have a great holiday, any question or advices ask throuth whats app

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.7

We stayed in the 4 bed dorm which was clean and had windows unlike the 10 bed. The staff were really friendly and helpful with organising things. Nice little pool and in a good location overlooking a cute square.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, and thanks to this review we just open a window in our 8 pax dorm ( not 10 ) a / c as well, thabks for your review and let us know if you need any advice in your Colombian trip

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jun 2017
7.1

Stayed in the 10 bed dorm and it had a very bad smell, luckily we were able to be moved to a 4 bed dorm with outside windows and no foul smell. Location is good and the kitchens were well equipped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we just make changes and oppened a window on the 8 pax ( NO 10 pax dorm) this will help as well as a/ c , thanks to these kind of review we can make our hostel better everytime, have a great trip

  • timurjin1108
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jun 2017
7.7

Don't stay in 8 bed dorm. No windows and smells damp. 4 bed dorms are very good. Pool picture is a scam. Pool is tiny only for paddling, it's also very cold so not good to chill. Need comfortable chairs near pool. Nice hostel overall and good central location, I enjoyed it there but left for a nearby hostel with a pool and sun loungers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.