Hostelworld.com

SamS VIP Hostel San Gil

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Feb 2017
7.7

Not sure what the hype was about this place. It's just an average hostel. Many better options in town where you can pay less and sleep in less crowded dorms. The dorms had no outside windows and smelt a bit like a men's locker room. Common areas were okay but didn't really help bring people together. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. After 1 night I moved to the other side if the square...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.7

Good place, breakfast is included which was fruit, eggs, bread and Frosties. The private room we had had air con. Balcony overlooked the main square and was 5 minutes by taxi (cop 4000) from the bus station which the buses from Bogota drop off at. The main gate/door is in the garage is on a buzzer for security. Staff spoke perfect English

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Great Location, Super nice hostel and clean, No atmosphere at night, no games and activities played. Staff are super nice and friendly.While we were sleeping at 8 am some worker came and made a lot of noise and came to fix the AC in the dorm, therefor I guess it was time to wake up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

We were given a deluxe room and was it great. Very clean, huge bathroom and exquisite view from the balcony. The staff was more than friendly and helped us book rafting and transportation. We felt at home, especially when the cook brought us very good breakfast in the morning. The pool is also a nice touch to the overall staying experience as it allows for some relaxation after a day of rafting! Would stay there again anytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

Best hostel I stayed in in Colombia. Great activities on offer and great ace to meet people, the rooms are really great too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.9

Great location on the square. The communal areas are Lovley and relaxed. Great breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

I enjoyed every moment that I stayed at Sams! It has a very friendly atmosphere and guests feel welcome to relax and enjoy their surroundings. There's a pool where I enjoyed many late afternoons in the sun, overlooking the town. There's also a stunning balcony overlooking the tree`-filled town plaza. And there's all the endless fun or relaxing activities that San Gil town and Sams hostel have to offer. I also enjoyed meeting all of the friendly townspeople in the plaza below! A great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
10.0

Defenitely best Hostel in town , visited the 3 most famous n hostelworld and this is the best by dar, location, facilities (pool, amazing kitchens) and cree breakfast, they organize activities like tejo and bolo night (games with explosiones) football games, pub crawl, etc, and the people working there are always happy to help you wtith all info, you can buy activities and bus tickets at the office, the owner is a local very friendly even took us to the bus station, try the steak at their resta

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
8.0

Good hostel but not sure what all the rave reviews are about. Staff were not that friendly and half couldn't speak any English so trying to book something with them was difficult. The interior needs some updating. No breakfast included, which is unfortunate. I really liked the rooftop terrace and that there were a couple of kitchens that were available for use. Location is superb. Showers were always full and never got warm water once.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel in a great town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.