Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SamS VIP Hostel San Gil

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • heleena
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

Good location, wifi worked in the common areas only. Ok breakfast, staff were helpful. Bathrooms could do with a bit of an update as starting to look grubby but overall a good base.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel ever, the private room is a real suite, comfy, huge and very clean even with jacuzzi! The atmosphere is outstanding, full of people of all over the world. The main room becomes a bar at night so it's so cool for chill and have fun. Hosts are incredibly kind. Don't hesitate to do your reservation here. Also the hostel helps you to find out the best companies for your extreme sports activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
10.0

Sam's VIP has been the best hostel I stayed at in Colombia. I loved having coffee on the terrace every morning overlooking the park. I knew nothing about San Gil upon arrival but the staff and other guests immediately packed my schedule full within the first day. This is the only place I would stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing location. Right in front of the town's Central Park. Staff is friendly and truly helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern. Anyone looking for a hostel in San Gil can stop looking and stay at SamS VIP. Oh, and the rooftop swimming pool has one of the best views in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel, well located, friendly staff, highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Great place, rooms with a/c, complementary breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
7.1

Eh. Rooms were musky and no windows. For what they're charging, could be better. Location is awesome though, but I stayed at another hostel the next night for way cheaper, had windows for fresh air, and also good location. The receptionist kept saying to every guest, "we usually don't do this, but for you we're providing a light breakfast" but it says breakfast included on hostelworld... so idk.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2017
5.1

We were disappointed when we showed up to Sam's after reading the excellent reviews for it. The location was fantastic and it was clean however the decor is very dated and rather it's tired looking inside. The girl at the host desk was rude and judgmental and we felt like we were inconveniencing her every time we asked her anything, For what we paid $64 CAD per night we expected at the very least a warm shower which was freezing and hospitality. Very disappointed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.9

Lovely place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
8.0

Wifi on the lower level never worked which meant no wifi in the rooms just upstairs. Other than that, a very solid hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.