Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SamS VIP Hostel San Gil

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Feb 2017
10.0

Definitely best hostel in town. Met people staying in other hostels but i was surprised when I went to visit them they even swap hostel to go to SamS VIP, you get breaky, you have a/c in the rooms, the staff is very friendly, go to their restaurant they have great burgers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best hostes im Colombia, good breakfast, rooms with a/c, swimming pool beautiful terrace overlooking the main square, the staff is really helpful, totally recommended it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
7.7

Not sure what the hype was about this place. It's just an average hostel. Many better options in town where you can pay less and sleep in less crowded dorms. The dorms had no outside windows and smelt a bit like a men's locker room. Common areas were okay but didn't really help bring people together. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. After 1 night I moved to the other side if the square...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
8.9

Great location good facilities helpful staff. This hostel wasn't the most social, there wasn't much interest in the pub crawl activities on Friday and Saturday night, but that might be because most people come to San Gil for the activities and not the nightlife. Still met some nice travelers though. Clean facilities, A/C and computers provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Located on the main square of San Gil, the location is perfect. They have a big book with all the activities you can do (went paragliding - amazing! rafting is quite fun as well) around the area and you just ask the staff to arrange it for you. Wifi is relatively fast (skype did not drop out), the beds are very good and the swiming pool is nice although a bit small. The hostel doesn't have a lot of character itself, but everyone there was rather sociable. Staff is really helpful. Would go again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.7

Good place, breakfast is included which was fruit, eggs, bread and Frosties. The private room we had had air con. Balcony overlooked the main square and was 5 minutes by taxi (cop 4000) from the bus station which the buses from Bogota drop off at. The main gate/door is in the garage is on a buzzer for security. Staff spoke perfect English

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Great Location, Super nice hostel and clean, No atmosphere at night, no games and activities played. Staff are super nice and friendly.While we were sleeping at 8 am some worker came and made a lot of noise and came to fix the AC in the dorm, therefor I guess it was time to wake up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

We were given a deluxe room and was it great. Very clean, huge bathroom and exquisite view from the balcony. The staff was more than friendly and helped us book rafting and transportation. We felt at home, especially when the cook brought us very good breakfast in the morning. The pool is also a nice touch to the overall staying experience as it allows for some relaxation after a day of rafting! Would stay there again anytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

Best hostel I stayed in in Colombia. Great activities on offer and great ace to meet people, the rooms are really great too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.9

Great location on the square. The communal areas are Lovley and relaxed. Great breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.