Hostelworld.com

Samba Green Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Samba Green Hostel Located at Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
Samba Green Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22280-110 Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo
84% 505
-22.9572522 -43.1835973
Samba Green Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • maxcook908327
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st May 2016
8.0

Really nice friendly owner who can't do enough for you. Place is regularly cleaned and looks nice. Drinks are a fair price and breakfast is different. Close to the sugar loaf and easy access to Christ the redeemer and the city centre. Some bars close by and a large shopping centre. The only let down was the lack of communal area. However we booked more nights here as it was so good and reasonably priced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • markhinds2114
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

great atmosphere, helpful staff and convenient secure location, not far from beach! awesome caipirinhas too, recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
10.0

Probably the best hostel i've stayed in my life. Great localization, best staff. If you are going to Rio, stay at Samba Green. Thanks for all, I'll be back guys :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joaomiguelrodrigues
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Samba Green was an awesome surprise in my trip. The location, Botafogo, is the best in terms of accessibility and security (since you're not a target as you'd be in Copacabana and Ipanema). The Hostel a extraordinary atmosphere and a great staff and owner, fantastic to meet new people and to know the hidden gems of Rio. This is the place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Samba green easily takes the spot for best vibe I have experienced in a hostel. The staff were all great and were always eager to help, the hostel itself has everything you need, the owner was really helpful and clearly loved his hostel and its guests very much, plus it is in a really great location. My experience in other hostels has been up and down but at Samba Green the atmosphere was so great I will definitely visit again should I find myself back in Rio! Muito obrigado!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
5.7

The hostel meets all your basic needs, but there is no atmosphere, a disengaged staff and the breakfast was lacking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

My stay at Samba Green has been by far my favorite hostel experience in Brazil since I have been traveling here for the past six months. It has everything you need for a great price and the staff is awesome. Shout out to the owner, Carlos, for helping to make my time in Rio an unforgettable experience. He loves his city and wants to make sure all his guests leave Rio with the same love he has for it. Needless to say, he accomplished that goal and I look forward to coming back soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Mar 2016
8.3

Unfortunately kitchenette is very small, only 2 pots with residue on the bottom for cooking available. Only one working fridge for all the guests. This is not enough for the amount of people staying. Very good location right in the middle of all major sightseeing attractions

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2016
8.3

The house isn't the cleaner and newest one, but the staffs are very kind and willing! I felt to be in a old style youth hostel. It worth the price of the stay for sure! =) Thankful for the Samba Green Hostel for my short stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
10.0

Great staff and location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.