Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Samba Green Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
Samba Green Hostel Located at Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
Samba Green Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22280-110 Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo
85% 533
-22.9572522 -43.1835973
Samba Green Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jul 2016
6.0

quite dirty and greasy hostel. every breakfast is just filtercoffee and 2 cheese sandwichs. showers were warm but not all the time. blankets and sheets on the bed are not very inviting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Well coming from 9,674 kms distance from Cairo, Egypt to Rio De Janeiro I couldn't feel more home and welcome! I have stayed over a month at Samba Green and I absolutely loved everything about it! Carlos, the owner knows how to take great care of his guests and make sure they have an amazing day/night life in Rio to get the most out of it. If you are traveler looking for a great atmosphere, beauitful vibe, many nationalities and simplicity, don't even hesitate! Thank u Samba Green Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Samba Green was the best hostel we've visited yet! Carlos was an amazing host, extremely helpful and always taking the guests out during the day and night. He always made sure that we were looked after on nights out and would organise taxis to and from venues to ensure we arrived safely. The Samba Green staff are all very friendly and create a great atmosphere in the hostel. The facilities are perfect, a number of toilet cubicles and showers so you don't have to wait unlike most hostels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel!! The hostel is located very close to the beach and is in a safe area. 24 hour security makes you feel really safe! The hostel has great atmosphere with events daily, particularly good for lone travellers because there is a always a big group of people going out everynight ( including hostel workers) so you will never be alone!! Which is not the same in every hostel to be honest There is also day trips and day time tours available to see the sights of Rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.6

Good hostel, about 15 to 20 minute walk to Copacabana Beach. Great staff, friendly, ready to party. Clean enough. Cool layout.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.0

Great time in Rio, this hostel is an awesome location right in the middle of everything to see in Rio. Everyone very friendly and great for socialising. Maybe because it was a busy weekend but not super clean and a bit loud. Brekkie is basic but good, Carlos and the team are great and very helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sconnor76645
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jun 2016
9.1

This was one of the friendless hostels we have stayed in. Carlos made us feel really welcome and was able to give us advice on where to go and how to get there. Lots of the staff took us out both during the day and at night, and they were always up for a barbecue too. Rooms are good and clean, bathrooms were too. Only small suggestion would be more utensils, cups and plates etc in the kitchen area (there weren't many and the ones that were there weren't clean). Thank you - really enjoyed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Samba Green is awesome, as is everyone in it. I only booked 2 nights but ended up staying for more than a week. Would recommend this hostel to anyone! Will not forget the BBQ's, the football and the Casacha! Thank you Carlos and team

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
5.1

Carlos and staff were very welcoming & have lots of information about what to do in Rio. Good location about 10 min walk from Metro. Supermarket/ATM/restaurants all within 5 min walk. Place was very dirty, needs some TLC. Toilet/shower area always smelt bad. Our bed sheets and towels had stains and hairs on. Only one plug in our room high up on the wall, so not practical. Wifi only worked in the tiny Reception/Bar area. Breakfast was very poor - stale rolls and coffee/tea. Tiny kitchen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.7

Really cool hostel! The facilities are good! Fine breakfast, hot showers, good wifi, etc. But it's the staff that makes this hostel great! It's like a little family living there and really quickly you feel part of it! We went out with them and had a really good stay there. Not to mention the owner, Carlos, who knows everything about Rio - he is such a cool guy! I'll recommend this place to everyone I know who's going to Rio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.