Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samba Green Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Samba Green Hostel Located at Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
Samba Green Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22280-110 Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo
86% 559
-22.9572522 -43.1835973
Samba Green Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel in the heart of Rio! The staff are really friendly and help create a great atmosphere in the hostel. The breakfast was a little bit measly but there is a great bakery next door where you can stock up and not expensive either. The host even organised a tour to a nearby favela for free just because he'd never been there before and that was a great day out. Would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Great location, great staff, great atmosphere. I hope to come back some day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
9.4

We had a great time at samba green - the staff were friendly, helpful and offered to take you out to party at every opportunity. All the rooms cleaned daily and the showers although basic were always clean and hot! We liked it so much we extended our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
9.1

I was a student traveling so wanted something that was fun and value for money. This ticked all the boxes. The owner Carlos, is an amazing human being and was one of the highlights. You will meet loads of people and party as much as you want. The beds were comfortable the showers were nice. Plus, Copacabana was only a 10min walk away. The breakfast was nothing special, but this seemed pretty standard across Latin America. All in all, book now.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

S.Green is incredible!! It doesn't need to be big & glam, as the staff will do anything to look after you/improve your trip. They love to party & make you part of the family. Perfect location, amazing atmosphere 7 days a week! Tom (the less handsome one) was a star, and couldn't have done more for us both Carlos (the owner) is simply the king of Rio! He comes out every night & looks after his guests personally, and taught me a lot about his beautiful city! See you at Carnival. Handsome Tom x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.7

It was really nice stay in this hostel ! I had a good time with everyone and enjoyed everything ! Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
9.4

Good Hostel! The only complain is about bed linen and pillow, they were pretty old and had some stains. The pillow was almost orange.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.1

We honestly had the best stay at Samba Green! Couldn't recommend it more highly. Walking distance from Copacaba beach and the metro station. Staff made us feel really welcome and were really knowledgable. Carlos (the owner) is an absolute hero. Only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Great people, great vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
9.7

A perfect 10! Neatly situated in safe Botafogo and a twenty minute walk from Sugarloaf Mt. This hostel offered wonderful tours, day trips, tips to getting around. I was there during the Olympics so it was a bit expensive, but so was everything else. The staff are incredibly friendly english-spanish-portugese speakers. They have plenty of parties most evenings and still you can rest easy if you want to stay in. Carlos is a Rio expert and so are his staff. Made some friends for life at Samba Green

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
7.1

I went in the olimpic games and there were not enough sheets to everybody and the staff was too small. When I did the check in the attendant was completelly lost, but in general the staff is helpfull and friendly. The ambient is agradable and relatively clean. The only thing that I really didnt like was the breakfast....I had payed 140 reais each night and there were only two sandwichs with ham and cheese per person ande milk... Come on.. You can do better than that!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.