Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samba Green Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.7

What an amazing place! The owner (Carlos) is so friendly and helpful! Any problems, questions or queries - he's your man. Free breakfast, plugs right by the beds - (even on the higher bunks) - which is ideal. The hostel gets cleaned everyday. Perfect location. I would happily come back and stay in the future! - thanks for having me Sambagreen! ❤

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
8.0

Amazing time here during Carnaval! Carlos and the rest of the staff were awesome and the atmosphere was amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
9.1

I loved it. The hostel is in a beautiful neighborhood. The guys working there are easy-going. The beds are comfortable. The breakfast is sufficient. Just book a bed already! Disclaimer: this experience was during Carnaval.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
8.0

I had so much fun. Stayed for a week during Carnival and would definitely come back any time. The staff make you feel right at home and Carlos goes the extra mile to make sure you are having a good time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
9.4

I loved my stay at Samba Green. Carlos and everyone else on the staff were really friendly and fun to hang out with leading up to and during Carnival. After two weeks at the hostel I felt like I had a whole new group of friends. Everyone was also helpful whenever help was needed, and there was a great atmosphere overall for all guests to feel welcome and to meet other guests and well as the staff. I'm so glad I chose to stay in Samba Green hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

Only stayed one night here but this is a great place to meet people and the staff here will bend over backwards to help you out. It's a pretty simple hostel but would definitely recommend it to anyone on a budget in Rio to stay for a few days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

The owner is what makes this place great. Don't miss the barbecue on weds. The only thing I would definitely change is that it does not have air-conditioning and that makes is difficult for Rio's weather. They just have a bunch of lousy fans. Anyways, I had a good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • meghass93
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
4.3

Very disappointing. I never write reviews on here but we paid high prices during carnival time - very high prices, even higher considering the state the hostel was in. Dirty sheets, dirty toilets, dirty showers. Staff with limited knowledge of the city - only knowledge of drinking. Room was in a basement, no window. A good location for carnival and a fun environment - but for the amount this place must be earning, more money could be spent on cleaning and facilities.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.4

Amazing atmosphere in a great, safe location in Rio. Run by a hilarious guy called Carlos. Me and my three friends stayed here during the run up to carnival, in an 8 man dorm which was basic but exceptional fun. I would recommend for anyone who likes to party as there are social events organised every night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • benmack
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
2.9

This hostel is in desperate need of a renovation or just simply a good clean. The rooms are ~3m x 6m and have 9 beds in them with out air conditioning and broken fans and are extremely hot. The social areas are very small. The wifi is confined to a small reception area at which everyone is trying to sit at. Its a hostel, and its cheap (however not during carnaval) but yet you are still not getting your moneys worth here. Look elsewhere. Trust me!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.