Hostelworld.com

Samba Green Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Samba Green Hostel Located at Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
Samba Green Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22280-110 Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo
83% 516
-22.9572522 -43.1835973
Samba Green Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Samba Green is awesome, as is everyone in it. I only booked 2 nights but ended up staying for more than a week. Would recommend this hostel to anyone! Will not forget the BBQ's, the football and the Casacha! Thank you Carlos and team

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.7

Really cool hostel! The facilities are good! Fine breakfast, hot showers, good wifi, etc. But it's the staff that makes this hostel great! It's like a little family living there and really quickly you feel part of it! We went out with them and had a really good stay there. Not to mention the owner, Carlos, who knows everything about Rio - he is such a cool guy! I'll recommend this place to everyone I know who's going to Rio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th May 2016
4.3

Disappointing. Issues- Low quality inconsistent staff, lack of facilities and cleanliness. The staff are travelers who didn't provide sufficient info about Rio. They lacked passion for their role. There were more staff living there than guests, which felt strange. The bins were constantly overflowing. Fridge full of staff food and rotting food. Didn't see any travel staff assisting with cleaning. No common areas to hang out, such a downer. WiFi inconsistent. Tiny kitchen lacking basics.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed the 4 nights I spent here. Atmosphere was great, the owner made an effort to get all the guests together for nights out etc and had some great suggestions for things to do during the day. All the staff were really friendly and keen to help out with any questions I had. Location was great too, charming little street close enough to all the action but far away enough to relax and get a good kip. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maxcook908327
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st May 2016
8.0

Really nice friendly owner who can't do enough for you. Place is regularly cleaned and looks nice. Drinks are a fair price and breakfast is different. Close to the sugar loaf and easy access to Christ the redeemer and the city centre. Some bars close by and a large shopping centre. The only let down was the lack of communal area. However we booked more nights here as it was so good and reasonably priced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • markhinds2114
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

great atmosphere, helpful staff and convenient secure location, not far from beach! awesome caipirinhas too, recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
10.0

Probably the best hostel i've stayed in my life. Great localization, best staff. If you are going to Rio, stay at Samba Green. Thanks for all, I'll be back guys :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joaomiguelrodrigues
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Samba Green was an awesome surprise in my trip. The location, Botafogo, is the best in terms of accessibility and security (since you're not a target as you'd be in Copacabana and Ipanema). The Hostel a extraordinary atmosphere and a great staff and owner, fantastic to meet new people and to know the hidden gems of Rio. This is the place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Samba green easily takes the spot for best vibe I have experienced in a hostel. The staff were all great and were always eager to help, the hostel itself has everything you need, the owner was really helpful and clearly loved his hostel and its guests very much, plus it is in a really great location. My experience in other hostels has been up and down but at Samba Green the atmosphere was so great I will definitely visit again should I find myself back in Rio! Muito obrigado!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
5.7

The hostel meets all your basic needs, but there is no atmosphere, a disengaged staff and the breakfast was lacking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.