X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samba Green Hostel Reviews

Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
285 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The rooms in the basement are really noisy because of the proximity of the street, it can be an obstacle to a good sleep. The location of the hostel depends on the trip you want to do in Rio, it's an easy access to the beach, Pao do Acucar and has a metro station not so far away. But for party, not the best location. Bad point : they completely exaggerated the price of the night during the world cup, it was a real larceny ...


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Only thing, the wifi is not good. About staffs, the kid in the early morning shift, never see him smile, when we aks something, it seems hard to him to move his mouth. The rest are nice.


100%

Samba Green Hostel was so perfect for my Rio/Worldcup stay. It was conveniently located near restaurants, markets, metro station, beach, ATM in walking distance from the hostel. The room we stayed in was perfect and even had a fridge in the room. The staff was absolutely amazing Carlos the owner was so helpful and nice. Gui another staff member who was so sweet helped me change my flight and speak to the airline over the phone. Overall great location, clean rooms, amazing staff. Great place!!!

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I didn't realize how lucky I was to have stumbled upon Samba Green Hostel!! Not until I was literally holding myself from crying 3.5 wks later, when I was packing up! Samba Green is that little haven every traveler looks for in an adventure, you could say. From the moment you walk in, you are immediately embraced, then showered with hugs and kisses from such a wonderful staff. My time at Samba Green was spectacular, thanks to Carlos' incredible team! You guys are my family! I'll be back soon! :)

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tanzania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Had an excellent worldcup stay at samba.thank you to Carlos and his staff from the crazy south africans who braaied and partied till the morn in the hostel.would recommend samba.great location.great staff.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel staff (Carlos, Felipe, Guilherme


66%

Superb staff (Felipi rocks) and great at organizing things for guests.


60%

My room was in the basement which was dark and dingy with hardly any space to put anything. Other rooms had 3 tiered bunk beds which looked awful! Theres a tiny kitchen and outdoor area both are quite small. About a 10 minnute walk from the metro in botafogo which is good. On the plus side, wifi was good as was the free breakfast. Probably wouldnt stay here again though, would be better to stay closer to copacabana where everything is happening.


94%

I had a fantastic experience both times I stayed here. The staff are brilliant and go that extra mile to help out, they chat and chill with you and advise you on the best places to go. The place is nicely decorated and clean, with good toilets and showers. Its location means it is in the centre of all the main areas and is very safe. Can't praise this place highly enough. Improvements would be bigger kitchen and less squeaky beds.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent option in Rio de Janeiro. Great atmosphere and staff!!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel with fantastic friendly staff who really go out of their way to help you. Good place to start if you are not sure what to do with your time in Rio, the hostel arranges both free and paid activities for the day and evening. Free caprinhas on a Thursday evening are very nice!! The location is a short walk from Copacabana beach and feels very safe. Also, free continental breakfast every morning that includes fresh home baked cake!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

An ok hostel, not much going on in the surrounding area but close enough to Copacabana and Sugarloaf mountain etc. the double room was very very basic. Kitchen facilities seemed ok. Very helpful staff.


91%

Carlos and his staff at Samba Green are awesome!! Carlos really cares about the feedback from his guests and he is always making sure everyone's experience is exactly what they wanted. The hostel has a great atmosphere, really easy to meet people here. Depending on the time of year, it can be a nice chill place, or on the busier times there is always a party near by. Not far from any beaches or metro. I would definitely recommend Samba Green :) MISS YOU GUYS ALREADY !!!!


89%

Great staff, fun and knowledgeable. Enes in particular is pretty awesome. Good atmosphere. Location isn't particularly close to the nightlife (except for the excellent Bukowski rock bar) or the beach, but is only a quick bus or cheap taxi away from both - 15 Reais to Copacabana - and there are many shops around. Safe neighbourhood, more traditional/residential, so it's great to get a good feel of life in Rio. There are better hostels, but this is a good place to stay in any case, no worries!


89%

We stayed in a private room, was homely and with great character. The staff are amazing, very helpful and take pride in their hostel. Would definitely stay again


100%

Great Hostel. Excelent atmosfere, and i loved the always well cleaned bathroom. Best spot in rio. I will come back :)

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I would seriously considering going back to Rio JUST so I can stay longer at samba green. AMAZING staff and fellow guests, so nice atmosphere, you feel so welcome. Carlos welcomes everyone with a big smile and is just wonderful (needs to practice his coffee-making thou;) ❤) Rooms are very clean and the staff always helps you with anything u might want (mosquitospray, hairdryer, additional fan..) breakfast is so good for the price you're paying. GO TO RIO AND VISIT THIS HOSTEL. NOW. Love- Moa ❤

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the place - ended up spending a month here. The owner Carlos is incredibly friendly and knowledgable about his city and understands what backpackers want. The staff are just as good and you do feel a part of something (big shout to Felipe and Rafael) :) The free caipirinha night and the Carlos`s very own bar crawl is something to be enjoyed!

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was so friendly!! It was my very first time in a hostel, what a great experience!!! Carlos and his staff are soo friendly and helpful!! The location is quiet, so don´´t expect a close walk to Copacabana or Lapa. I liked the feel. My only suggestion is to maybe have some board games or other things for guests to do on a slower, quieter night. I will be back !


97%

We had an awesome time at the hostel. The breakfast was really nice and it is easy to discover the city from there. The atmosphere is great at the hostel and we have meet nice people. We really liked the Caipirinha nights on thursday, because of the free and tasty drinks. Special thanks to Carlos who is such a nice guy and to the friendly staff who made us feel like home. We already miss the time we had and would definitly stay there again.


(147 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback