X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Samba Green Hostel Reviews

Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
248 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

My room was in the basement which was dark and dingy with hardly any space to put anything. Other rooms had 3 tiered bunk beds which looked awful! Theres a tiny kitchen and outdoor area both are quite small. About a 10 minnute walk from the metro in botafogo which is good. On the plus side, wifi was good as was the free breakfast. Probably wouldnt stay here again though, would be better to stay closer to copacabana where everything is happening.


94%

I had a fantastic experience both times I stayed here. The staff are brilliant and go that extra mile to help out, they chat and chill with you and advise you on the best places to go. The place is nicely decorated and clean, with good toilets and showers. Its location means it is in the centre of all the main areas and is very safe. Can't praise this place highly enough. Improvements would be bigger kitchen and less squeaky beds.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent option in Rio de Janeiro. Great atmosphere and staff!!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Pessoal bacana, clima excelente, e café da manhã com um bolo de chocolate excepcional!!! Obrigado pessoal

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel with fantastic friendly staff who really go out of their way to help you. Good place to start if you are not sure what to do with your time in Rio, the hostel arranges both free and paid activities for the day and evening. Free caprinhas on a Thursday evening are very nice!! The location is a short walk from Copacabana beach and feels very safe. Also, free continental breakfast every morning that includes fresh home baked cake!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

An ok hostel, not much going on in the surrounding area but close enough to Copacabana and Sugarloaf mountain etc. the double room was very very basic. Kitchen facilities seemed ok. Very helpful staff.


91%

Carlos and his staff at Samba Green are awesome!! Carlos really cares about the feedback from his guests and he is always making sure everyone's experience is exactly what they wanted. The hostel has a great atmosphere, really easy to meet people here. Depending on the time of year, it can be a nice chill place, or on the busier times there is always a party near by. Not far from any beaches or metro. I would definitely recommend Samba Green :) MISS YOU GUYS ALREADY !!!!


77%

Gostamos do hostel, a localização é excelente, o café da manhã é bom(tem frutas, pão, queijo, presunto, suco e café), os quartos(o nosso era privativo) era limpo e bem equipado. O que não agradou foi a limpeza, não haviam chuveiros com água quente(pelo menos não funcionando) e os sanitários masculinos e femininos serem juntos. No mais a galera do hostel nos recebeu muito bem, o recepcionista/dono foi muito simpático e nos deu várias dicas.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great staff, fun and knowledgeable. Enes in particular is pretty awesome. Good atmosphere. Location isn't particularly close to the nightlife (except for the excellent Bukowski rock bar) or the beach, but is only a quick bus or cheap taxi away from both - 15 Reais to Copacabana - and there are many shops around. Safe neighbourhood, more traditional/residential, so it's great to get a good feel of life in Rio. There are better hostels, but this is a good place to stay in any case, no worries!


89%

We stayed in a private room, was homely and with great character. The staff are amazing, very helpful and take pride in their hostel. Would definitely stay again


100%

Great Hostel. Excelent atmosfere, and i loved the always well cleaned bathroom. Best spot in rio. I will come back :)

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Os funcionários são simpáticos, mas dei azar de estar no hostel quando dois deles estavam começando no trabalho e estavam extremamente despreparados. Não sabiam dar informações básicas e nem como fazer o meu check out. Não é culpa dos funcionários, mas sim da falta de treinamento. Os chuveiros não tem água quente e os banheiros e a cozinha nem sempre estão limpos. Também senti falta de lençóis na cama. Como só fiquei um dia e o preço foi barato, ok. Mas, não ficaria mais tempo hospedada.


100%

O que falar do melhor Hostel que me hospedei: posso garantir que Samba Green Hostel tem a mesma vibe do Rio de Janeiro, cidade maravilhosa, porque é um ambiente bonito, charmoso, aconchegante, mega ultra divertido e cheio de opções de lazer... Lugar de gente bonita, para fazer novas amizades.Fui a praia, exposicao, pontos turisticos e ainda curti Pub craw na Lapa. Vale ressaltar que o conforto contribuiu para o dia perfeito com colchão confortável, chuveiro forte, net, tv e ótimo café da manha:)

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I would seriously considering going back to Rio JUST so I can stay longer at samba green. AMAZING staff and fellow guests, so nice atmosphere, you feel so welcome. Carlos welcomes everyone with a big smile and is just wonderful (needs to practice his coffee-making thou;) ❤) Rooms are very clean and the staff always helps you with anything u might want (mosquitospray, hairdryer, additional fan..) breakfast is so good for the price you're paying. GO TO RIO AND VISIT THIS HOSTEL. NOW. Love- Moa ❤

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the place - ended up spending a month here. The owner Carlos is incredibly friendly and knowledgable about his city and understands what backpackers want. The staff are just as good and you do feel a part of something (big shout to Felipe and Rafael) :) The free caipirinha night and the Carlos`s very own bar crawl is something to be enjoyed!

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was so friendly!! It was my very first time in a hostel, what a great experience!!! Carlos and his staff are soo friendly and helpful!! The location is quiet, so don´´t expect a close walk to Copacabana or Lapa. I liked the feel. My only suggestion is to maybe have some board games or other things for guests to do on a slower, quieter night. I will be back !


97%

We had an awesome time at the hostel. The breakfast was really nice and it is easy to discover the city from there. The atmosphere is great at the hostel and we have meet nice people. We really liked the Caipirinha nights on thursday, because of the free and tasty drinks. Special thanks to Carlos who is such a nice guy and to the friendly staff who made us feel like home. We already miss the time we had and would definitly stay there again.


100%

i really enjoyed the stayed in the Samba Greeb hostel,i have arrived on the carnival period and i had an amazing time,i felt the good vibe right away and thanks of the Personal staff i got to know everyone so quick,that is the first thing that i have noticed as i stepped in,they made me feel at home right away and always ready to help,the location it just great,near from both the beach and city center,and the cleaning staff is just the nicest person ever..i'd recommend to all,no doubts stay here

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

It is an OK hostel with friendly staff in a safe area of Rio. It is in a building that has been quickly renovated a couple of years ago, and looks like not much effort has been put into it to keep facilities well maintained. Rooms remain unlocked all the time, but provides good lockers (own lock required). People and staff were nice but not a very clean place. Too expensive for what it currently offers.


49%

VERY BAD EXPERIENCE! 1) the owner was under the influence of alcohol when we checked in! 2) Staff and guests very loud, late into the night. 3) Rooms so hot, impossible to sleep. 4) Bathrooms REALLY dirty, where people had been ill, plus blocked toilets, broken toilet doors and blocked sinks...disgusting!! 5) Breakfast was poor, not enough supply for all people staying. Worst place we stayed, in our 7 week trip around Brazil. we couldn't wait to check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Louise, Sorry so much to make you feel in this way. You have arrived in the day before carnival, during the caipirinhas night and all guests were too excited for the carnival. Maybe what happened was a consequence of the craziest caipirinhas night that we have ever had here. You were a more mature couple staying only one night with us and got this bad impression. So sorry. Hope to receive you in another opportunity. Big kisses, Carlos

(51 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback