X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samba Green Hostel Reviews

Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
341 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We spent 4 nights in Samba green hostel and it was great ! The staff is really nice and always ready to help, the hostel was clean and safe, and there Were some activities offered. I totally recommand this place !


97%

This hostel is such a gem! Botafogo is a great area to stay in while in Rio, and Samba Green has the perfect location within it. It is close to the metro, bars, and the beach. But it's the staff that is beyond belief. They are so friendly and helpful; they were all angels when I got really sick and went above and beyond to help me. Stay at SambaGreen!


89%

O albergue é ótimo pra onde quer dormir com o preço acessível. Voltaria mais vezes quando eu for visitar no Rio.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We thought this hostel was great. First time in brasil


97%

Third time at samba green hostel and just like always, i had an amazing time! Carlos and his staff are ready to do anything possible for you to feel welcome and have a pleasant stay! will be definitely keep coming back!


91%

We had an amazong stay at the hostel. The staff knows nearly everything about Rio and can give you the directions to the places ypu want to see. Close to the hostel is a nice beach and it is not far away from a Metro and a bus station. the kitchen is small, but very useful!

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Não tenho do que reclamar. Localização ótima, funcionários incriveis e tudo de acordo com o esperado. Recomendo a todos!

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great cheap hostel, bus/walk to beaches, shops and sugarloaf mountain.


86%

Such friendly people! Gui, Felipe, Carlos and all the rest are great and make you feel relaxed and at home! Lovely relaxed and social atmosphere! Location is good, safe neighbourhood, close to metro and Copacabana! We'll be back soon!!!


60%

I think my expectations were high considering all the great feedback. Carlos seemed like a lovely guy and I think the people who had such great experiences probably stayed at weekends and went out with Carlos. I stayed mid week. I was in a non air conditioned room (I didnt realise some have air con). The room was quite dark, cramped, messy and hot. We did have fans going though and the mattress was comfy. It would be better if wifi was left on at night and maybe maps showing imediate vaccinity.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi GinsYates, I try to help everyone asking if you are sleeping well, if you are happy. It's hard to find out what you are thinking. I try to integrate all of you for partying every day.You should be more easygoing for meeting friends in a hostel and go out more often.The maps should be arriving soon and we have extra fans.The only room with aircon is the MIX 6 as you can see on HW. We have the best wifi in Rio, doesn´t mean that is as good as you home country.

86%

The location was amazing, close to the Sugar Mountain, the beach and all the right places. Although I met some pretty awesome people. the lack of a common room or perhaps a proper bar (the bar was in reception), it was hard to have an area to meet everyone, that I think would be the only downfall. I do have to say the reception staff were amazing, very helpful and very welcoming.


100%

Carlos and his team were superb. Located in a great and safe area of Botafogo with easy access to everything. The guys at the hostel will look after all your needs and queries. Highly recommend.


91%

Probably the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed in! Carlos and his Team (Filipe, Jeff, ...) are the kindest of their kind and very helpful with everything you need. The location is in a quiet and safe area of botafogo. 10 mins walking to the metro, 5 to the busstations and 15 to copacabana beach.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Ich wollte nur ein paar Tage bleiben, aber daraus wurden schnell zwei Wochen! Die Atmosphaere in diesem Hostel ist einfach unglaublich und die Mitarbeiter sind sehr Hilfsbereit und Offen dir gegenueber! Das Fruehstueck ist uebrigens auch ziemlich gut! Mit Abstand eines der besten Hostels in dem ich jemals gewesen bin, ich wuerde es aufjeden fall weiter empfehlen. Ein grossen dank noch mal an Jeff, Felipe, Guilherme und natuerlich Carlos die mir alle das gefuehl gegeben haben zuhause zu sein:)


91%

Nos alojamos 5 amigos, y realmente nos sentimos muy comodos todo el tiempo. El staff es increible, por trabajar ahi no dejaban de ser quienes eran! Muy buen ambiente, volveria.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Samba Green is the best hostel i ever been to! People from the stuff are great! Big regards to Felipe, Jeff, Guillherme e Carlos! they made our stay there something special! words are not enough to express how much gratitude I feel. All the best to Samba Green! Saludos desde Argentina!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fui al Samba Green Hostel a pasar los días de año nuevo. Estuvo todo excelente. No estaba muy segura con respecto a la ubicación del hostel, pero la verdad que eso no es un problema. El hostel se encuentra a 10 min caminando de la playa de copacabana, y el barrio es muy lindo. El personal del hostel es de lo mejor! organizan cosas para hacer cada día y recrean un muy buen clima entre todos los que nos hospedamos. Quería agradecerle a Jeff que desde el día 1 fue muy atento. Gracias Samba Green :)


100%

Top staff. Top people. Great atmosphere and good party. Would recommend!


100%

Melhor Hostel que eu já me hospedei! Perfeito!

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel's in a great location and Carlos and the guys there have created a really nice atmosphere so highly recommend it

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(51 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback